Vetmedin PRODUCT REVIEWS PAGE 1 OF 1

Vetmedin, when used in combination with other medications, is effective in the management of specific types of congestive heart failure in dogs. Vetmedin assists in improving the heart's function, as well as reducing the heart's workload.

Options Available: 1.25mg chewable tablets 5mg chewable tablets 2.5mg chewable tablets 10mg chewable tablets

Shop This Product

Rated 5 out of 5 by 66 reviewers.

  • Awesome service, the meds my dog needs
    Really loved the excellent service you guys provide. by on 03/22/2019
  • Vetmedin
    The medicine came on time and no issues when ordering. by on 03/21/2019
  • Vetmedin Order
    Had in stock fast and easy to order. by on 03/17/2019
  • Great Product!
    An amazing drug for my dog. And we can't find it anywhere else. by on 03/13/2019
  • Vetmedin
    Great medication; it is improving my pup's heart condition. PetCareRx is one of the few companies that has the product available in the strength my pup requires and they are very accommodating and helpful. by on 02/25/2019
  • Heart meds
    My dog has been on this med since April as part of his treatment for dilated cardiomyopathy. by on 01/17/2019
  • Vetmedin
    This product has made a big positive change in the quality of life of our Weimaraner Stella. by on 01/15/2019
  • Life Saver for dogs with MVD
    My 12 year old at the time was diagnosed with a grade 4 heart murmur and MVD. He has been on the medicine for over a year as well as three other heart medicines. His heart murmur down graded and he is doing so well! Vetmedin has worked wonders. by on 01/09/2019
  • Great Med
    My senior JRT with a Grade 5 heart murmur has used this medicine for almost 2 years with no side effects. He thinks it is a treat and easily takes it. They downgraded his murmur to a 4 at his last checkup and the vet was impressed with his progress on this medicine. by on 12/08/2018
  • Congestive Heart Failure Medication
    Medication works great for my dog and the Pet Rx company has been timely and efficient in providing the medication by on 08/05/2018
  • good product
    This is a good product for dogs with heart disease and heart failure,. This product works great I just wish it would do more to help prolong a dogs life expectancy then it does. by on 03/25/2018
  • Very helpful in maintaining her health.
    It is prolonging her life for sure at she is 17 now and still active and alert. by on 03/05/2018
  • She's so much better
    I seem to adopt animals that develop heart problems. Sage is about 8 years old (adopted) and is my third pet with heart issues. A strangling cough is usually the first sign, when Sage started coughing like this I was pretty sure I knew what it was. We went to the vet and unfortunately, she does have a significant murmur. She is om three meds twice daily and we got them tweeked pretty quickly. I didn't realize that Sage had been suffering until after she started taking the meds, because she came ALIVE. She had more energy and personality than ever. And I had no idea until then that she had been sick since I adopted her. Heart murmurs don't show up until they are somewhat significant. When they start coughing in a strangling way, its time to see the doc. The long and short is that she is SO MUCH BETTER, The only thing is that this med is kind of pricey. When they have to take a half to a full tab twice a day, it gets expensive.(BUT IT'S WORTH IT) by on 01/14/2018
  • Vetmedin - Life Saver
    My Prince is a 9 year old maltese, he is taking insulin for diabetic, He is on 6 units 2x a day. He was a twin with Princess, she died in Oct 2017 from Cushing Disease. She was also on insulin for diabetic. She was a lot larger and her dose was 15 units 2x a day. She just started meds for cushing disease and was on 1 pill a day but changed after two months. She was not as playful and drank a lot of water and had to go to the pottie a lot of fluid. She stop eating for us and wanted to go outside all the time. The breeder said she wanted to go to die. I didn't know what to do. She was blind in one eye and I think her other eye was started to become blind. She was weak and we took her to our vet and he recommend that she be put to sleep. SO I DID. We buried in our yard and let Prince see her before we did. Now he misses her so much that his heart is going back. He is broken hearted. There were together for 9 years. Prince is now on this meds and has been also taken a med call Enalapril, 1 pill a day and also Salix 1 pill at night. This is for the fluid around the heart is what I was told. The meds all seemed to be working great. Prince still has a cough in the morning and somethings when he gets excited. I noticed he doesn't bark as much when he tries. I am just happy to have him but I know he misses his twin sister. I ask the vet about another puppy or dog and he said because of his heart issue maybe not and tried to keep him away from a lot of dogs at once. He would be too much for him. I take him for more car rides and when the weather is good outside in our fenced yard.Once the weather is better, short walks. Thanks for a great product to help our pets live longer as companions for us. by on 01/14/2018
  • Vetmedin for mature dogs
    Our dog Ginger has been on Vetmedin for over 2 years now!! She still shows signs of weakness and has a cough that will never go away, but she is running around like a 13 year old champ! Thank you Vetmedin for such a great product. Our whole family is so grateful. by on 12/29/2017
  • this product is easy to handle and is an adequate size for my pet to take
    my dog's health has gotten better thanks to vetmedin. he takes the pill with no problems by on 07/10/2016
  • Gave my dog, literally, a new lease on life.
    My dog was already on Lasix, Spironolactone, and Benazpril due to severe heart murmur, but had little energy. However, when Vetmedin was prescribed, just after four days, our pet was back to his old self -- jumping around, barking and wanting to play. by on 05/17/2016
  • Same Product I get from the Vet's Office
    Good product, my only complaint was the shipping time from PetCareRx. It advertises 5-7 days, but to Alaska this product took several weeks. There is also no way to expedite the shipping, even if you're willing to pay for it. I ended up having to buy a month's worth from my Vet's office for almost twice the price to make sure my dog didn't go without. by on 04/06/2016
  • Medications are great for my dog
    Thanks Pet Plus I am saving a lot of money in medications for my dog Kenya. She has a heart condition and because of pet plus I am able to give her a quality life. by on 04/03/2016
  • Congestive Heart Support
    My 11 year old dachshund was diagnosed with CHF last fall and we were given the choice of Digoxin or Vetmedin to control heart rate. With Vetmedin there is not blood level testing. The tablets are very large however and two different vets told me that even though they are chewable, no dogs seem to chew them. They are impossible to hide in treats and seem to flavor food so that the dog realizes it has been added. The only choice is to force them down the throat. It is thus a little difficult to give but are worth not having to take your dog in for continual blood work. by on 02/20/2016
  • Very effective product!
    What a huge difference we saw in our dog. She's active and happy again! by on 11/17/2015
  • Great product. Only wish they had it in smaller pills
    Only medicine keeping my 14 year old maltipoo alive by on 10/28/2015
  • Good product, great value!
    My dog has been on this medication for about a year. It has worked very well to help maintain/control his congestive heart failure. I would highly recommend! by on 08/12/2015
  • great
    Meds work and shipping was fasts. Better than vet prices. by on 07/30/2015
  • Helps my baby feel better & that is all I need to know.
    I crush the tablets, sprinkle on strip of cheese , roll it in turkey cut in small pieces. by on 07/30/2015
  • Helps my baby feel better & that is all I need to know.
    I crush the tablets, sprinkle on strip of cheese , roll it in turkey cut in small pieces. by on 07/30/2015
  • My dog takes this medication with no problem
    My dog has heart disease and this medication helps with her ability to have a "somewhat" normal life. All of my pets medication is purchased through PetCareRx. It is easy and saves me a lot of money on prescription drugs by on 06/13/2015
  • My shih-tzu feels better!
    His heart is beating more regularly, I wouldn't have believed it! The only thing is my having to crush this med in order for my dog to eat it; such a pain in the butt!! lol. Also, add peanut butter, and sometimes put it down his throat when all else fails! Really messy for a just groomed dog!! by on 04/21/2015
  • Great product
    This medicine has given my dog a new lease of life. She even gets her toys out for a play now! The tablets are large and chewable but I prefer to crush them which they do easily. by on 04/20/2015
  • great for heart disease
    The medication is great I do not want to order from PetCareRx anymore because their customer service has went way downhill. when you order your medication now they take over a week just to ship it to you and then it takes shipping time they have started to use a separate company to contact with and they send out the medication for them and ever since they have moved to that system they are no longer good to order from anymore it takes too long to get your medication. by on 03/01/2015
  • Effective though expensive medication.
    Vetmedin is very effective in my mid sized dog. It is easy to break up and put in food. It is an expensive prescription but there seems to be no good alternative. by on 01/13/2015
  • Very effective
    My Lucy cannot do without Vetmedin. It clearly makes an impact on her health. by on 12/02/2014
  • Price is very good
    I have no way to know exactly how effective Vetmedin since my dog cannot tell me. However, I trust the Veterinarian recommendation. The price is excellent from PetCareRx.com by on 11/11/2014
  • This is working well
    Our dog looks like he lost weight and he actually has in fluid around the heart. he has more energy and it is extending his life. by on 11/04/2014
  • I is great and Taz likes them
    We where glad we found Taz Med on your web site.... now we can have it ship to the front door...... thank you all by on 10/08/2014
  • Great value
    So happy I stumbled upon this site.... it has saved me a LOT of money. I highly recommend it! :) by on 08/05/2014
  • Has worked great for my dog
    My dog Clarence is in heart failure...the Vet prescribed a combination of Vetmedin & Digoxin... In a matter of days, he started acting like himself again... The Vet thought that he had 3 months to one year left to live... It's already been 4 months and he's doing great... I hope this product will continue to extend the life of my 12 1/2 year Dalmatian! by on 06/17/2014
  • Great product
    Any product that helps to keep my baby's heart working better has my vote! She's 14 and has heart disease and she's been on this medicaiton for almost 2 years. She's doing great!! It's expensive and I do wish there was a generic version THAT WORKED AS WELL!! Because I'll pay the price as long as my girl is with me... :-) I suggest doing whatever you can to get coupons or points on the site you order it from, It really helps with the high cost.This product helps my heart too.. because it would break if I lost my girl! by on 03/05/2014
  • Best to buy from PetCareRx
    I was so impressed with the customer service and response here. First off, you save money, second they keep you in the loop and tell you constantly the status of the order.Next is the product itself. I started it on 11/2 (well my kid did) and it's now 1/8/14. I'd like to think it's helping him. Vetmedin has rave reviews and considering he wasn't feeling so hot before, it must totally be helping.Be sure to buy here. It's well worth it. by on 01/08/2014
  • My pet eats it right out of my hand, just like a treat!
    Loves his medicine! I love the $avings! Would definitely buy anything I need from this site. by on 07/23/2013
  • The product I order is the exact same as I get from my vet, no generics.
    I like the product because it the very same as I get from my vet. It is not a generic. Therefore, I can give my dog the exact dosage the vet writes on my dog's prescription. by on 07/08/2013
  • It works!
    My 16+year old CrackerJack was really responded positively to this drug. Labs came back this Wednesday and everything looks good. by on 06/28/2013
  • Works Well with other Medications
    I like that it's a chewable and can be broken up. It makes it easier to administer since my dog is on 2 other heart medications that has to be taken along with Vetmedin. I've seen great improvement in his health since taking this along with the other medications (lasix and enalapril). by on 10/27/2012
  • Great Bargin
    Very convenient and much cheaper. Definitely recommended. by on 10/12/2012
  • Vetmedin
    these meds seriously saved me cats like when she was diagnosed at 3 yrs old with advanced heart disease. 3 months later and she is still fighting the battle! Thanks PetCareRx by on 08/28/2012
  • 3 Yr. Old Cat
    My cat started looking a little off a few months ago, her breathing was severely labored. After a quick panic attack I rushed her to the vet and was told she was in the advanced stages of heart disease and the chances of her making it through the next few days were slim to none. After a costly vet bill and a lot of crying, all I could do was hope her meds would do the trick. We just passed the 3 month mark and hope for many more happy healthy months ahead of us! by on 08/27/2012
  • yorkie
    My prince Joshua aka Justin is a Yorkie. only weight 4 to 6 lb depending on the water accumulation. He was dx as having Pulmonary hypertension. Idiopathic reason. He is only 9 going on 10 in December. He's a great dog. He had water build up from the right side enlarge heart worked so hard for the lung. The enlarged right side heart was the secondary dx to the primary PH dx. Vetmedin along with furosemide, sildenafil (Viagra), Ventolin albuterol helps in all. Great meds!! by on 07/11/2012
  • A miracle
    My Italian Greyhound's heart is severely enlarged due to degenerative valve disease, causing him to cough from pressure on his windpipe. In the 3+ months since he has been prescribed this medication, x-ray films show that his heart is smaller due to pumping more efficiently. It has been nothing short of a miracle drug, giving him quality of life for longer than I imagined possible. by on 09/11/2011
  • Miracle drug
    I have a 15y/o pom mix who has been on Vetmedin for 3 years; my vet prescribed it when she started showing signs of congestive heart failure, such as coughing, decreased energy level and appetite, wheezing when she got excited and renal insufficiency. She is still doing well, has had a couple of episodes where she had to have Lasix added for a short time; the vet says the Vetmedin has slowed the progression of her heart failure because it was started early in her disease. 1, it can be expensive, but if you've ever sat up all night with your dog struggling to breathe, you'll do anything to make them feel better. I am grateful for the very good years she has had while on this medicine, and sincerely hope for more. by on 04/24/2011
  • Lifesaving drug for my poodle
    We have a twelve year old toy poodle that was diagnosed with congestive heart failure 4 years ago. We started out on endipril and lasix and then he was put on vetmedin. The Vet had given him about six months to live, but here it is 4 years later and he is still going strong. He knows when it is time to take his medicine and wil go to the table and sit until he is given the meds.I hope that he will be with us for a long while yet. His mother had the same problem and lived to be 18. Vetmedin is truly a miracle drug. by on 04/02/2010
  • Worth every penny!
    Duke is our 11 yr.Terrier mix...looks like Toto in the W of Oz but a bit bigger. But really could be his twin. In mid-December, (Dec of 2009) we were out for our morning walk. I got a little ahead of him and looked back and he was down on the ground and out cold. I freaked, thought I had lost him. Well, a few seconds later (seemed like hours!) he came too. Well, he had passed out. The reason...pulmonary edema (fluid of lungs) due to conjestive heart failure. Basically, because of the fluid in and around his lungs, he couldn't breath and passed out. Later, the EKG confirmed the heart condition and the Doc informed us of the reality...maybe 6 months to a year to live. We immediately got him on Benzopril and Fuerosomide. He improved pretty dramatically within a day or so. His breathing was less labored. We stopped walking him and outdoor activity was limited to our back yard. His mood was fair. His sleeping was pretty good and he was able to sleep on his side fairly comfortably. His breathing was pretty good, not great. I could still here him wheeze a tad during his sleep but he was ok. We have three other dogs, so he wasn't lonely but its was a struggle keeping him calm. We even put a sign on our front door saying "please don't knock" because he would bark himself to death otherwise. Nevertheless, the Benzopril and Fuerosomide were working pretty well, but still you could tell he wasn't 100%. His appetite was ok. Most of the time he was sort of hungry and he'd eat, but then some days he wouldn't eat at all. By the end of Feb (roughly 2 1/2 months later) and within 1 day, I noticed an immediate and dramatic decline marked by labored breathing and wheezing, discomfort laying down on his stomach and some coughing. Well, again, my wife and were preparing for the worst. Well, that's when the Doc said it was time to put him on the Vetmedin (along with the Fuerosomide and Benzopril). Well, folks, WOW, what a turnaround! He is like a puppy and his appetite is voracious! It's just incredible. In fact, I have to feed him by hand now because he was enhaling his food soooo fast, he truly almost passed out. And it wasn't a heart-related thing. He was just sucking down his food! Well, today is April 1, 2010. It's only been 3 1/2 months since the original diagnosis and only a month since we started the Vetmedin. But, I have to say, these past 30 days have been worth every penny of the cost and a true joy! Initially, and sadly, the reality was, we were basically watching Duke die, day by day. But now, since starting him on Vetmedin...he truly acts like a silly, young, loveable puppy! The reality...we don't know how long this will last. And we take our "gift" one day at a time. But so far, every day has been wonderful! He does cough a couple times a day, usually when he's been lying on his side and wakes up too fast. But he sleeps so peacefully now (and while on his side). His breathing is silent and calm. 1, I guess Vetmedin is expensive (around $70ish), but our 15 year old Golden is on Deremaxx for his arthritis and it is equally as expensive. My point...it is worth it. If I felt like we were simply pumping Duke with drugs to satisfy our selfish needs, I would not let it happen. I highly reccomend it. by on 04/01/2010
  • More Time
    My Akita/Malamute mix has been on this miracle drug for 6 months. The left side of his heart is enlarging and will eventually take him, but there has been no enlargement in the past 6 months, he is breathing better and has so much energy that I can hardly keep up with him! He is also on Enalapril, Furosimide and Digoxin. I can't believe the change in him since we added Vetmedin. by on 03/12/2010
  • Miracle drug
    Our beagle was diagnosed with congestive heart failure at the end of May 2009. He was put on a 10 pill a day regime. Five in the morning and 5 at night. We have been told he will only be with us for less than a year but now he is showing no signs of letting go. All he wants are his pills and his treats. He has to have his blood checked every 3 months to regulate it but the doctor says he is doing fine. Very fiesty for a beagle. Hoping to have a few more years with him. by on 01/27/2010
  • Mollie (Miss Magusila)
    I have a 13 y.o. cocker spaniel (adopted her about 2 years ago). After about 6 months she started wheezing and coughing. Took her to the Vets and she was diagnosed with an enlarged heart (so much fluid, you could barely see the heart in her x-rays). The Vets started her on Lasix and Enalipril which worked great for about a year. A few months ago she started lagging and wheezing and the doctor up her doses (1 x daily to 2 x daily) and added Vetmedine. WHAT A DIFFERENCE!! She is also on Thyroid meds. She is so energetic and happy; The Vet is alwyas saying how much energy she has and how happy she is. I had never heard of this medicine prior to a few months ago but am very glad it is available. by on 01/22/2010
  • the miracle drug
    A miracle drug! My griff now over 14 was put on vetmedin in Nov 2007 at the time he wasn't expected to live more than a few hours. what a change within a few hours he was breathing better and improved dramatically within a couple of weeks. He is holding his own with no coughing or struggling to breath. I have had two plus years more with him and may have many more days. Each day is a blessing. My shih tzu 13 has been put on it now and is doing much better with no coughing. I reccomend it highly even with the cost. It's worth it! by on 01/06/2010

  • My baby boykin spaniel started on enalapril and vetmedin with lasix 2x a week. She is wonderful now, but had us very scared, when we found out it was her heart. I still worry everytime she acts different though and wonder how long this will work for her. by on 05/20/2009
  • Product Review
    My baby boykin spaniel started on enalapril and vetmedin with lasix 2x a week. She is wonderful now, but had us very scared, when we found out it was her heart. I still worry everytime she acts different though and wonder how long this will work for her. by on 05/20/2009
  • Fabulous Drug for Severe Heart Failure
    Our terrrior mix is 16 and we added this to her furosemide/enalpril mix in June and she has done well for the past 4 months. Just now have started to notice her breathing is a bit labored, so I'm sure the vet will adjust her dosage.We are thrilled to have her active and enjoying our time left with her. by on 10/29/2008
  • WONDER MEDICINE
    THIS MEDICINE HAS SAVED OUR CHICHUA! Rambo was already on Lasix and Enalapril, when he had an attack one evening. We thought he was having a heart attack. His vet added the Vetmedin to his routine and has been great ever since. He has had a noticeable improvement in his breathing and coughing. Must take as prescribed. Expensive through the local vet though! order on line! by on 07/21/2008
  • Scruffy is like a puppy
    My 13 year old cockapoo was diagnosed with Congestive Heart Disease over 15 months ago. He was coughing constantly and having difficulty breathing. He also has Addison's disease, which he has had since he was 6 years old. and being treated with monthly injections. Our vet said we could try some meds and see if that helped the CHF. In addition to Vetmedin, he is on Analapril, Enlophidine, Digoxin and Lasix. It sounds like a lot (and it does cost!) but he is like a little puppy now. People can't believe all the health issues he has! I truly see why they say a dog is a man's (in this case, woman's ) best friend! by on 06/07/2008
  • Great Results
    in March of 2007 our 12 year old mix was diagnosed with Congestive Heart Failure, the Vet gave him a prognosis of 6-12 months...15 months later the Vet is now more concerned with his arthritis....in terms of his breathing function I'd say he has only declined about 10% since diagnosis, and his quality of life is still pretty good. :-) by on 05/31/2008
  • Don't wait
    We had an older dog, a Shih Tzu mix, who had a congestive heart failure only after 6 months we adopted him. We were told by our regular veterinarian that we should prepare ourselves for the 'end'. Upon recommendations, we took the dog to a vet. cardiologist, and along with other medicines (including Viagra), he lived 2 more years before he succumbed to the disease. About 3 years ago, this drug was not approved in USA, so we were ordering it online, from overseas. The drug increases the quality and longevity of the animal. We have another dog with the same disease, and he uses the same drug now. Dogs with mitral valve disease may live up to 2 years or more if they are taken care of, although it gets really expensive to take care of such a dog. by on 05/30/2008
  • More Time
    My 9 y/o Dalmatian, Bandit, was diagnosed with degenerative mitral valve disease in 2007.He was put on CQ10, Taurine, Enalapril, Spironolactone, L-Carnitine and Salmon Oil Caps. Progression has been rapid. The Cardio Vet said I may only have a couple of weeks, maybe months with him as he was categorized severe at the end of Dec. 2007 from the leak being bigger. In Jan 2008, Vetmedin and Lasix was added to the routine by our regular Vet practice. It is now mid-May, and he is doing as well as can be expected. His energy levels are moderate compared to before. And his being on Vetmedin has given me ( and his sister) more quality time with him. I count myself lucky to have another day with him! by on 05/15/2008
  • A miracle!
    Our 13 year old Brittany Spaniel, "Brittany" has had a heart murmur for several years and last fall she was diagnosed with Congestive Heart Failure. We were certain we were going to lose her pretty quickly but our Vet worked with us adjusting medicine, adding medicines, etc. when he said we could try Vetmedin. He hadn't used it on any other dogs but was reading good things about it. I'd say it is close to a miracle how she responded to it. Her breathing and coughing have greatly improved and while she isn't out pheasant hunting like years ago, her quality of life is so much better. And most of all, it is giving us all more time to spend together. by on 05/02/2008
  • Don't wait to start it
    A newer medicine for congestive heart failure(CHF). Our Cavlier Spaniel, age 7 with leaky valves couldn't even get up. After 2 days on it he can run around again. Studies show adding this drug early once CHF is diagnosed prolongs life. Our first vet said could start it if we want, but with his severe disease, it was no choice. Its used in combination with Enalapril and Lasix. by on 04/26/2008
  • A life saver
    In only 6 days there was marked improvement in my dog's energy. His breathing was not as laborious as it had been at times like after walks and simple feats like climbing on his favorite chair. In combo with the famous heart cocktail furosemide and enalapril, the prognosis looks promising for now. Although quite expensive, this particular drug has to be considered if you choose to prolong life with quality. Hoping for many more months and years if he's willing to keep me company. by on 03/06/2008
Page 1 of 1 1