Purina Pro Plan Large Breed Puppy Dry Food PRODUCT REVIEWS PAGE 1 OF 2

Options Available: 18 Lb bag 34 Lb bag

Shop This Product

Rated 5 out of 5 by 123 reviewers.

  • Love It!!!
    Coco loves it!! It's expensive but we'll worth it!! by on 07/04/2016
  • Very Satisfied Customer
    We started using Purina Pro Plan Large Breed Puppy with our black Lab at three months on his vet's recommendation. Captain is now six months old and is a very active, lean and healthy puppy. by on 06/28/2016
  • Love it!
    We have had our 5 month old chocolate lab on Pro Plan since the day we brought him home, it was recommended not only at the pet store and breeder but also by the vet. We get compliments on how healthy and strong he is all the time. He has great energy and great overall health! by on 06/25/2016
  • Wonderful Choice for GSD Pup!
    Switched my puppy to this food when we brought him home from the breeder... he liked it more than his old food immediately! He will work for kibbles of this food and cleans his bowl each day! by on 06/22/2016
  • Power for pups
    I have fed my dogs Pro Plan for the last 15 years. They are working dogs and have always performed well. The newest member to the pack is Harley, a 4 month old GSP. She is always eager to learn and has been easy to train. She has seemingly endless energy. I feed her Pro Plan Large Breed Puppy. The vet always compliments me on her development and coat. Thank you Pro Plan. by on 05/18/2016
  • Love it
    I run 2 rescues and we started feeding about 1 mo ago, after a adopter recommended it. We tried it on our 5 wk old puppies through the adults gradually changing their food over. They all love it, their coats look amazing and we'll we love that it has meat 1st ingredient and no food coloring. We now recommend to all adopters as its the only food we have found with both glucosamine and conjointin. by on 05/07/2016
  • Great food our pups love it
    I switched my Basset puppys over to this from puppy chow and they seem to enjoy it much more and stay fuller longer shiny coats and plenty of energy , I will be continuing this food for them for god after they switch over from pup food @1 there's also the same kind of pro plan for adults as well as moist and treats all in same product line ! WTG PURINA thanks so much your Fur-ever loyal customer C.K by on 04/19/2016
  • Great Ingredients
    After trying the sample we went and purchased this for our puppy. by on 04/18/2016
  • Love the Pro Plan line of food.
    Started using Pro Plan Savor for puppies then moved to the Pro Plan Focus for large breeds. Harper loves the taste and seems to be growing well with this brand. by on 03/29/2016
  • Forrest's Review
    The product is wonderful! As a vet tech it is one of the foods I recommend for large breed puppies that need specialized nutrition for their growing bones and joints. by on 02/26/2016
  • Great
    We have been feeding our lab mix ProPlan since she was 6 weeks old, she is now almost 4 years old. She is doing excellent and her coat always looks excellent. Six months ago, my wife was in Petsmart, an Iam's rep asked what we fed her, she told him and he even admitted to her not to switch her feed she is very healthy. We have a new puppy now so we have also started her on the large bred ProPlan and she loves it too. by on 02/13/2016
  • Good not great
    I have been feeding my lab pup this for 2 months now. He is growing very well on, however his energy level is not extremely high. by on 02/08/2016
  • Thorin and Castiel
    All I feed my two GSDs .I have started them on pro plan and will continue to feed them this as I have had nothing but good results from it. From puppy to adults it's the only dog food for my dogs. by on 01/25/2016
  • better flavor
    My dog started off enjoying it but after about a year lost interest in the taste. I had to keep switching flavored. by on 01/19/2016
  • Great puppy food!
    I have a black lab puppy and since being on this food, her coat and weight have improved. She also has very good bowel movements and I have no complaints with this product! by on 01/17/2016
  • Dinner time
    Bought this for Tinkerbelle our Hound and she just loves it by on 01/16/2016
  • Great Food
    I purchased the food according to our puppy's age,size and nutritional value of the product. Our dog loves it, we are going to try the recommended food according to the plan. by on 01/13/2016
  • Loves It!
    My puppy loves this Focus Chicken and Rice! His fur is growing in wonderful and his energy is none stop. It's gone as soon as we put it down. by on 01/13/2016
  • Wouldnt feed my dogs anything else!
    I feed the large breed puppy food to all my dogs as soon as i bring them home and then move them to the adult formula once they've matured. They are toned, shiny coats and healthy teeth. They are at an ideal body weight and look amazing. My poodles coats are bright and and my Weimaraners silver coats shine! My dogs love the taste. I will not feed my pets anything else. I Will only feed my puppies the large breed formula and recommend the new owners continue to use this brand. I wish it was a bit lower in price or they sold 50 lb bags. by on 12/26/2015
  • Good food
    Bought this when we got our bull mastiff/lab pup and it is amazing I feed my labs focus adult all the time by on 12/22/2015
  • Godsend!
    Our lab puppy, Bella, had picked up an intestinal bug in September and was on 2 antibiotics. The medications resolved that issues but her system never fully recovered; she still had soft stool most of the time. We started her, on our own, on the FortiFlora probiotic and that helped but our Vet also switched her, cold turkey, to the Purina Pro Plan EN (for gastro). As soon as her stool became "normal" again, we took that opportunity to switch her from Eukanuba to Purina Pro Plan Focus. Not only does she love it and wants more all the time, even as treats, but her sensitive system cannot be any better. We will never feed her anything but Purina Pro Plan from this point forward! by on 12/01/2015
  • My breeder was using this; and now so am I
    My 9 month Labrador retriever LOVES this; his energy is up; his attention span is up. Price is not outrageous. good choice! by on 11/26/2015
  • Starting off right
    My Puppy, Ms. Shelby Vilvetears has been eating Pro Plan Puppy since I got her at 6 weeks old, she is now 4 month old and is a strong healthy puppy. She sweet, smart, and has a vilvet coat. My friends suggested to name her Black Vilvet because she was so soft, but my son had named her Shelby. When I registered her they recommend to have a creative name so I added Vilvetears because her ears are sooooo soft. by on 11/20/2015
  • great puppy food
    perfect for large breed puppies--they love it and the nutrition helps them grow at the right rate for their breed by on 11/16/2015
  • awesome
    3 DDB's LOVE this! Fed since pups and own 3 AKC champs! great food for growth and health! by on 11/16/2015
  • My Rotties Love ProPlan!
    All around great product!! We absolutely love the variety and stages for all ages! by on 11/16/2015
  • Great food - great coupons.
    Our Great Dane was 15 lbs at 8 weeks. She is now a healthy 37 lbs at 14 weeks. Without knowing what brand she was on before we got her, we were told to try Pro Plan puppy.It worked perfectly for her. She is now on Pro Plan puppy large breed. by on 11/13/2015
  • My puppies loved it!
    I purchased some of this 2 weeks agoa nd my puppies are cery happy with it and so am I. They seem to be more than ready to gobble it up at feeding time and they handled this brand quite well. by on 11/03/2015
  • Excellent food for golden retrievers
    i started using this food for dog who rolled and had no coat.this food worked in an incredible way. two siblings who used it have grown beautiful coat an do not roll. i am now using it for all my goldens.. by on 10/16/2015
  • Great product
    Keeps my dogs coat shinning, and in overall great health. by on 10/07/2015
  • Thank you ProPlan!!!
    She loved it and i loved watching her growing up to be gorgeous!!! by on 10/05/2015
  • Very easy on a puppy's stomach!
    We had a problem with the food that the breeder recommended for our Golden Puppy. After speaking with Purina's help desk, they guided me to the best product for her new and still sensitive stomach. It's wonderful to sleep through the night! by on 09/22/2015
  • I wanted the best for my Labrador puppy.
    I wanted the best for my new Labrador retriever puppy, so I was greatly pleased by all the options and upgrades available. We plan on putting our two year old lab on pro health. We also have a healthy ten year old miniature poodle so we want to keep an eye on his food too for a long and happy life. by on 09/21/2015
  • well digested and great balance in growth
    Largest boned puppies I had and very well balalnced growth. Pups are happy and healty by on 09/21/2015
  • Good product
    Been feeding my puppy this food for 10 months. Good growth and excellent coat. by on 09/19/2015
  • Purina for life
    I start my puppies on Large breed puppy and always recommend it to my buyers. I find they have a steady rate of growth and beautiful coat. Happy health puppies are what it's all about. by on 09/17/2015
  • Awesome Food
    I switched too this 2 weeks ago, and im glad i did, puppies love it by on 09/09/2015
  • Pro Plan Focus large breed puppy formula
    I decided to keep our active growing golden retriever puppy on the large breed puppy and his skin, health and activity level are great!!! by on 08/28/2015
  • Am feeding SAVOR /Purina employee recomended
    Beau looks great, exercises well, and loves this food... by on 08/24/2015
  • Great great food period
    My St. Bernard loves this food. Its well rounded and just what he needs. Once completed he will be moving on to the Pro Plan Giant Breed, by on 08/20/2015
  • Vet Recommended
    I've been buying ProPlan Puppy for a couple months now, after my vet recommended it. He said it was the brand he feeds his dogs. It is good quality dog food. by on 08/18/2015
  • Great food that pups love!
    Been feeding my puppies for over 5 years with this formula and provides everything they need to grown up in a healthy way without cutting corners. by on 07/21/2015
  • Grat features!
    I bought this a month ago and I'm so glad I did wonderful product puppy loves it by on 07/19/2015
  • Love this food....My puppies thrive on it!!!
    This food produces less stool and they love the taste. by on 07/19/2015
  • Perfect for Bloodhounds Health
    I've used purina focus for large breed dogs since day one, I love this product his hair has good shine, have no ear troubles with him and at just 5 months old now he is weighting in at 68lbs! Will definitely use this brand the rest of his life. by on 07/16/2015
  • GREAT FORMULA!
    I've had my AmStaff puppy on this for two months now and love the way he's responding to it. He's got tons of energy, coat is healthy and shiny and his body composition is consistent. When it's time to feed him he gets super excited. He loves it and I love the results. by on 07/09/2015
  • pro plan is awsome
    Im a boxer breeder and all my dogs get pro plan I start my puppies on pro plan large breed puppy and recomend it to all my puppies new owners .I won't feed anything else my cats also get pro plan by on 06/14/2015
  • My dog's food forever will be purina.
    The only food my puppy likes and can digest. Wonderful coat and finally gaining some weight with. Kailey came to us very skinny and constant loose stools. My vet recommended this food and wow what a difference. No issues only happy puppy. Thank you Purina. by on 05/10/2015
  • MY BEAUTIFUL COCOA LUNA LOVES PRO PLAN FOR PUPPIES
    I slowly switch Cocoa Luna from the food that the breeder was giving her to Pro Plan Puppy. From the very beginning she ate every little bit faster than a "speeding bullet". Now she eating only Pro Plan and she loves it. She is gaining weight, has lots of energy and her coat is soft and shinny. Cocoa Luna is a " Fifth Generation" Chocolate Lab in the family. Her Great-Great Grandfather was my first chocolate lab and he had a lot of skin problems. My Veterinarian at that time suggested that I switch him to Pro Plan. His skin problems disappeared and he ate nothing but Pro Plan after that.... Thank you Pro Plan for providing my dogs through the years with such a great product. America by on 05/08/2015
  • Ate every bit!
    My little Sallie absolutely loved this product. We switched her from the Purina beneful to this without any problems. She would sometimes pick at her food or not eat it immediately, now she eats it as soon as we put it out. by on 05/05/2015
  • Zeus review
    Bought 6 weeks ago for my large breed puppy that was not filling up nor filling out from basic dog food ...now he's filled up and out! by on 05/04/2015
  • Great product,great pups.
    I have been feeding Pro Plan Large breed puppy, to all my litters and send the owners home with a Large bag and follow up to have them feed it till 1 yr and then have then transition to Proformance or Shredded Blend. by on 05/01/2015
  • Great puppy food
    I use Large Breed Puppy, and my puppies are always in great weight. German Shepherd puppies are very active, and I have no problems. Sometimes it is hard to keep weight on active puppies, but not when I am using this dog food. by on 04/29/2015
  • Great Food Just expensive for us breeders.
    Good and I recommend it too all of my puppies new owners and always give them the sample bags. Alot of them stay on it. by on 04/28/2015
  • good food!
    we have been using adult pro plan for years and weren't thrilled when they went to shredded - but this puppy food is GREAT. Nice crunchy bites both puppy and adult dogs can devour. by on 04/24/2015
  • Focus Puppy
    All our litters are fed Pro Plan Puppy formula. They love it and perform well. We feed it from 4 weeks up to 1 year with great results. by on 04/24/2015
  • Puppies love it.
    We feed this to every puppy that comes to us for training. Those who have not been on it before they arrive have no problem adjusting to it. They have shiny coats, gain weight, look and act very health. We would highly recommend the product. by on 04/24/2015
  • Great Puppy food!
    We have been feeding our Neapolitan Mastiff puppy the large breed focus pro plan. She has been developing into a very attractive dog. We get compliments on her where ever we go. She loves it! She can't wait until mealtime. She lets us know when it's time to fill her bowl. by on 04/23/2015
  • Puppy loves the taste.
    Switched my puppy from another competitor brand that he was started on with the breeder. He PREFERRED the Pro Plan Puppy food so much more. I have a older Vizsla on Pro Plan Dog food from the time he was a pup and he is doing fantastic! Purina is a trusted brand with our family! by on 04/23/2015
  • Pro plan focus puppy
    We breed and show Dobermans and all of our puppies are raised on the large breed puppy food. by on 04/23/2015
  • use always
    Have been using this product and recommend to all our puppy buyers. by on 04/23/2015
  • Have used for years
    I have been using the ProPlan Large Breed Puppy for years, and have been blessed with Healthy active puppies. I would not use anything else. by on 04/23/2015
  • Puppies love it!
    We breed Labrador Retrievers and Golden Retrievers. They are raised on Pro Plan - Large Breed Chicken & Rich Puppy formula. All pups leave us happy and healthy when they go to their new homes. We recommend to our Puppy Owners that they continue with all Pro Plan Stages of dog food. by on 04/23/2015
  • INTHESON'SSHADOW
    THE RESULYS ARE OBVIOUS SKEYES COAT AVTIYITY AND GROWTH. by on 04/18/2015
  • pro plan is amazing!!
    I bought this puppy food about a week or two ago. It is amazing on my puppy's belly. He absolutely loves it by on 04/03/2015
  • american pitbull puppy
    I adopted my pup at 9 weeks. My vet feeds her dogs pro plan so it is what she recommended me to do for my Ryder. He is kind of picky until I make him his bowl of pro plan. He is extremely healthy and has great listening skills. He is now a quick learner it seems like. Every vet visit every 4 weeks he is told how healthy how shiny his fur is and how healthy his teeth are. And for you pit bulls owners I feed him one raw egg on every Saturday mixed with his focus puppy large breed chow. Definitely recommend to all large breed owners and breeders. by on 03/29/2015
  • She loves it and is growing beautifully!
    This food was recommended by our breeder. Our Rottweiler is growing beautifully, and is almost a year old. by on 03/18/2015
  • Excited to see results
    We just adopted a German Shepherd puppy from the animal shelter. We have had such good results with our other German Shepherds and Pro Plan. We are excited to see our new puppy's coat look healthier, gain weight and watch him develop into a healthy dog. I love that you have a puppy food specific to large breed puppies and dogs. by on 03/15/2015
  • Puppies love it!
    We feed all our puppies the large breed Chicken and Rice formula beginning at 5 weeks old. We highly recommend it to all our new puppy owners. by on 02/27/2015
  • Dog look and feel grest
    We love pro plan , have used for all our dogs for 25+ yrs by on 02/25/2015
  • Great Dane Great Results
    My dogs have always been raised as puppy chow babies but I was researching a possible alternative when bringing home a pup before the standard 6-8 week weaning. After reading many reviews the choice was clear I was still going to raise a Pierina puppy I was just switching to the pro playing in line by on 02/25/2015
  • Great product.
    I have been feeding this product, to my Rottweiler puppies, since it came out, and I am totally satisfied with the results. I feed it to my puppies until they are two years old, and then I switch them to Pro Plan Large Breed Adult formula. We have been receiving great OFA results with this product, and it helps to keep the puppy weight trim for large dogs. by on 01/09/2015
  • Our puppy loves it!
    When we decided to get a puppy, I knew deciding what food to feed him would be a decision that could affect his entire life. After weeks of research, we decided on the pro plan large breed chicken and rice formula. Our golden retriever puppy is thriving. Now 5 months old, he is healthy, energetic and growing like a weed. Thor loves this food. He gets so excited at meal time. If your undecided on whether to buy this food or not, buy it, you won't regret it. by on 12/25/2014
  • Best dogfood ever!
    We have a 6 month old Rottie and we started him out on Pro Plan just like we did our three other Rottweilers. We switched his food due to extreme skin dryness. It didn't take us long before we switched him back. We will never switch from PRO PLAN again! by on 12/21/2014
  • My Lab Loves Pro Plan!
    My 10 mo. old chocolate Lab LOVES Pro Plan Puppy Large Breed Formula! She is healthy, has lots of energy and has a beautiful, shiny coat. I've been feeding her Pro Plan since she was 8 weeks old. My vet recommended it, and told me about the importance of specialized food for large breed puppies and dogs. Thank you, Purina! by on 12/19/2014
  • Our girl loves it!
    We got our puppy in June 2014, it is now November. We started her out on this from the day we got her (weaning her off what they were giving her at the shelter of course!) She has such a beautiful coat, and is in wonderful form. We always get compliments on how shiny she is. The vet has said how great condition she is in the few times we have had her there. Once she is ready, we will definitely make the switch to a Pro Plan adult formula! by on 12/03/2014
  • amazing
    I recently adopted a puppy from the local shelter her name is bella and to say she is a preppy dog would be an under statement. I tried all kinds of dog food and the only one she will eat is pro plan. by on 11/26/2014
  • Well liked by a litter of 11 Golden/Lab puppies
    We hosted a litter of 11 guide dog puppies a few months ago. They loved this food from weaning until 8 weeks of age, and did really well on it. No diarrhea, and they were the picture of health. They currently eat this puppy food with their volunteer puppy raisers. by on 10/28/2014
  • pro plan puppy all the way
    This is second dog raised on pro plan food. She just had first litter of puppies ten to be next generation. by on 10/20/2014
  • Awesome Puppy Food
    Started our Newest family member on this about 6 weeeks ago, He loves it and I love that it does not upset his stomach. We had an issue with loose bowels with several other High End Foods but this food has what he needs. He is growing like a weed and his coat is soft and shiny. by on 09/30/2014
  • 5 Dogs
    I've had 5 dogs in my lifetime. All of which have only eaten Pro Plan. The dogs have never had an issue with reactions to the food and since it is free of a bunch of dyes and such it is perfect for them. Their skin and coats have all looked great and their energy levels are awesome as well. Like other dog owners I've never had any of the dogs reject the food. Different flavors help as well. Thanks! by on 09/26/2014
  • ProPlan the best doh food
    I raised rottweilers on proplan performance and had very good success with health, muscle, and brain power. Im raising 2 blue pitbulls using the focus and same thing. Excellent health, steady growth, and so smart. I will always buy ProPlan. Plus I live in St.Louis and buying purina supports local people's jobs. by on 09/12/2014
  • Solid Brand
    Dogs love it. We are able to free feed with proplan. by on 09/11/2014
  • good name
    recommended by Pro Trainer so I tried Purina Pro Plan Puppy Large Breed I will stay with this food by on 09/11/2014
  • Best puppy food on the market
    I raise pups for a service dog foundation, so I buy this food on a yearly basis. All of the pups had shiny coats & eyes and were the picture of good health. They all ate the food with gusto without GI problems (unless they ate something outside of mealtime). by on 09/11/2014
  • puppy large
    good for them. Been feeding our dogs pro plan for years by on 09/11/2014
  • He isn't loving it.
    Bought this for the high fat and protein content for our one year old golden retriever who has a very bad heart murmur and is super skinny. He just doesn't want to eat it. He would rather eat the smaller dogs food, purina little bites!! What a stinker! by on 09/11/2014
  • limited appeal
    I have had my mastiff puppy on the large breed formula for a year. Unfortunately it is limited to just coming in chicken, and I happen to have a beef lover. I have had to mix the puppy formula with the adult shredded beef to keep him eating the puppy food. by on 09/11/2014
  • Great food for puppys
    I used pro plan for my last litter of puppy's and they did great no problem. They had great coats and vet said they looked great. I will use this product in the future. by on 09/11/2014
  • Excellent results w/ our German Shepard Puppy
    Unknown to us when we bought our GSD, he had pnuemonia and almost didn't make it. However, once we got him well he started gaining weight and his energy is all go, all the time. I'm certain that switching him to the Pro Plan- Focus Puppy Large Breed Formula had a lot to do with his recovering so well. His weight is perfect, he doesn't lift his head till the bowl is empty and his coat is beautiful.  We've even switched the cat to Pro Plan because of how well the puppy is doing on it! by on 08/14/2014
  • Great Food!
    We started our doberman on this food when we first got him and continue to give it to him at 9 months old. Nothing compares to this food. He loves it. by on 08/13/2014
  • Love the Pro Plan Choice
    We obtained our black lab puppy a couple of months ago and immediately switched her to Pro Plan. She loves the taste and we love how beautiful her coat looks and feels. She is a healthy, vibrant puppy and we couldn't be happier.  by on 07/28/2014
  • Best puppy food ever!
    We purchased focus large breed puppy for your English lab when we adopted her at 8 weeks old and she is 7 months old now and at a fantastic weight beautiful coat.thank u pro plan :) by on 06/13/2014
  • Great Puppy Food
    We have had our lab mix puppy on this food since we adopted him a few weeks ago. Our vet highly recommended Purino Pro Focus for Puppies. Our dog loves this food and he has been very healthy since beginning this new food!  by on 06/12/2014
  • Great Food
    I have a 10 week old lab puppy and i got her at 7 weeks and she was eating Science Diet Puppy food and they gave me a bag of that food. I was wanting to switch her to Pro Plan but I figured i would use the bag they gave before i switched. About two days later i noticed she would eat her food but she would more or less play with her food so i went and bought a bag of pro plan puppy food and she will not pick her head up from the bowl now until it is all gone. A buddy of mine who had her sister was doing the same thing so i gave him a bucket of Pro plan and his lab will not pick up her head either until the food is gone. by on 06/09/2014
  • A true blessing
    I tried going towards an "economic" brand food for my Great Dane but it proved to be a huge mistake, potty training was next to impossible, switching over to Purina ProPlan Large Breed puppy food took care of all of that in a few days, now running like a swiss watch ! Thank you Purina :-) by on 04/28/2014
  • dog does well on it
    I switched my GSD onto pro-plan after having trouble with all supposedly better brand foods.  He did the best on the sensitive skin and stomach.  My only regret was not doing it earlier.  After he passed my new dog is on is the puppy formula.  Happy and healthy.   by on 04/11/2014
  • pit bull puppy
    My pit puppy absolutely loves this and hes a very picky eater I would definitely recommend this! !  by on 04/04/2014
  • TO SNOBBY TO TRY
    Well my puppy was to picky to eat it so I gave a sample to the neighbor and her pups loved it. My picky Chihuahua only eats canned chicken but it was a good try..gg by on 04/03/2014
  • My puppy is loving life!
    This brand was recommended by a family member. We adopted a lab two months ago and since he was a shelter dog, he was so scrawny and his coat was dull. Now, he is a hyper 4 month old chocolate lab who is strong, rambuctious, and has a glossy coat. We know he is thriving because of feeding him the ProPlan brand. by on 03/31/2014
Page 1 of 2 1 2