Proin (Phenylpropanolamine) PRODUCT REVIEWS PAGE 1 OF 1

We cannot ship this product to the following states: AR/IA/IL/KA/LA/OR/WV

Options Available: 25mg per chewable tablet 50mg per chewable tablet 75mg per chewable tablet

Shop This Product

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 71 reviewers.

  • Benefits with no side effects
    My dog has used this for about a year, and it has stopped her incontinence. In fact, I missed a dose, and the effect was immediately noticed. Even better, I have not seen any negative side effects. by on 04/17/2019
  • proin for female dogs
    excellent product with perfect results. Our female dog Disco was leaking constantly and leaving little pee spots everywhere. Proin twice a day has completely stopped her leaking! PetCareRx was very professional....contacting our local vet for prescription approval. Prompt delivery of proin make PetCare Rx earn our 5star rating; by on 03/25/2019
  • Proin-much less expensive
    I've purchased Proin elsewhere, and this was the least expensive by far. Took longer to arrive than I expected, so I subtracted a star. I had order a few items in a single order, and all arrive on-time, except for the Proin - which of course we needed more immediately than anything. by on 02/14/2019
  • Effective controlling urinary incontinence
    At age 9 my 10 1/2 lb. Shnoodle developed incontinence. She was very healthy otherwise. The vet said it is common in dogs who have been neutered. I was very happy my pup would not have to wear diapers for the rest of her life. She does not have any problems leaking since she started taking Proin-about 6 months now. However, it can cause constipation. I was givien probiotics for that. It was treated once and hasn't occurred again. by on 01/11/2019
  • Helped tremendously! No more piddles
    Our dog has been on it for 2 years now and just recently started leaking again. She's gained a lot of weight since she has a new baby pup sister and since the weight gain she started leaking more. Dr uped her dosage to 3x a day to accommodate her new stature. by on 12/28/2018
  • It's working
    My dog is 11 and was leaking urine. She takes a 1/2 pill morning and night and it seems to be working. by on 08/15/2018
  • spay incontinence solution for my dog
    Our dog has spay incontinence. She is only 4 y/o and got to the point that we had to wash her bed every night. This medicine helped and it's much better price to get it from here than to buy from our doctor's office. She has been on it for a year and the only time she has accidents is when we forget to give her the meds. by on 07/09/2018
  • Works great!
    Our sweet Lola has been on groin since she was 1. It is highly effective for her bladder leakage. She takes a half pill in the morning and 3/4 at night and thankfully there are no messes to clean up. I love that these are chewable and easy to break into pieces for different amounts. by on 07/09/2018
  • Prion
    Seems to be working to stop my dogs incontinence. She takes it easily as it is chewable form. All in all pleased with the product. by on 12/29/2017
  • Saved my dog from the needle!
    My vet suggested PROIN for my 15 yr old standard poodle urine leakage issues. I was reluctant but when she started leaking large puddles I knew I had to do something or put her down. Within a few days of taking PROIN, this stopped. It is 2X/day and chewable but I just stick it down her throat so I know she got it and the other dog did not. She has been on this for about six months now with no noticeable side effects. by on 12/06/2017
  • Stopped the Accidents and dribbling but she wouldn't take the pills.
    Our 14 yo Dachsund was having leaking problems and was also wetting the bed at night and sometime during the day. The Proin worked like a charm! The only problem was we couldn't get her to take the pills even when we cut them in quarters and hid them in turkey. Our vet suggested grinding the pills up and mixing it with low sodium beef broth and putting on her food. Problem solved. She loves her food now and no more accidents! by on 04/12/2017
  • great value and effectiveness
    This product works great and the price can't be beat.The only thing i would change is its taste/size. I would give up on the treat idea. It either needs to be pure medicine and much smaller or taste much better. My labs are not picky eaters but they will not eat this "treat" It takes quite a bit of effort to hide a pill the size of nickel and 1/4" thick. cheese or braunschweiger work well after the pill is cut in 1/4's. by on 05/13/2016
  • The product works well.
    Consistency of supply has been a bit problematic.A dog so diagnosed is on this med.for life.Renewals of prescriptions should not be a factor. by on 05/13/2016
  • Sending in a prescription is not the best way to order.
    When I had a problem with the delivery of the product I ordered, customer service was quick to settle problem. My veterinarian will not fax in prescriptions, so it always takes a while to have it filled. However, when there is a problem, it is always resolved. by on 05/08/2016
  • No more dribbling
    At the age of 4, Bella was diagnosed with diabetes. With this, she also became somewhat incontinent, and dribbled on the floor before she could get outside to urinate. With regular use, Proin has alleviated these problems for her, and made our lives much easier. by on 03/20/2016
  • proin
    good product seems to be working .The product is easy to give. by on 01/23/2016
  • Wish it had more desireable taset for my dog
    It is an effective medication but I have to give it to my dog in a cut up hot dog 2x/day. Wish it had a more desireable taste like her heartworm pill so I can just get her to eat the pill by on 12/05/2015
  • Effective but dog hates it
    This product does work to control my dog's bladder control problem. However, she hates it so I need to give it to her with something every morning and night. Peanut butter and cream cheese are two things I use. I ordered it from PetCareRx to save over what my vet charges. One drawback is that it took at least 10 days to arrive. by on 12/03/2015
  • Seems to work 90% of time.
    Cut rate of accidents on my female GS. although she sometimes still leaks on a cold floor. Definitely improved her condition although not 100%. by on 11/03/2015
  • Pup incontinence
    I got a pup from a rescue at 3 mos old and she was already spayed. She always had a leaking problem, and most times as she grew, she would gt up and be in a pool of urine. I had her checked by 2 specialists and my regular vet, and all said it likely be a lifelong issue, maybe due to early spaying and lack of estrogen production. I have been giving her this RX for 2+ years, and it basically has correctd the issue. Rarely, doees she have a problem, unless I forgt to give her her meds. by on 10/12/2015
  • Proin has been a lifesaver to help my senior dog Ally.
    Proin has helped my just turned 15 year old senior dog Ally. The medicine has worked controlling her incontinence for the past 2-3 years and my Vet recommended it. by on 09/06/2015
  • It does what it's supposed to do
    Hard to write a review of a drug except to say that it works....it definitely controls my Husky's incontinence with no side effects. She takes the pill willingly, so we're all happy. by on 09/01/2015
  • Effective From The Very First Dose!
    I have a 9 year old boxer. It's common in female dogs to become incontinent as they age. My vet prescribed Proin. From the very first dose, we have not had one single episode. This stuff really works!! by on 04/03/2015
  • working well
    Product works well. Only few isolated incidents. Would strongly recommend. by on 03/09/2015
  • Great drug
    This drug is amazing. it took a few days to be effective but my female, 10 year old dog has had no accidents since. No side effects. She doesn't like the taste so I have to be creative but this drug is a God-send! by on 01/01/2015
  • Excellent Product
    We have tried over the counter bladder aids at PetCo and they do not work. This drug, Proin works. My dog hates the taste that is the only disadvantage but when I get it down her, it works. by on 11/09/2014
  • Works great
    Proin works great for controlling my female dog's incontinence. by on 11/04/2014
  • Chewable and easy to take
    Proin has kept my Aussie mix from leaking urine. She has been on it for years and continues to do well with no dosAge increases or side effects by on 10/01/2014
  • Great prescription for a weak bladder.
    Great product, great price. Easy to crumble and mix in wet food for my dog. by on 09/29/2014
  • great stuff when in the correct strength
    Our pet of 15 years has been on Proin for about 3 years and it works. by on 09/14/2014
  • Keeping my dog healthy
    My Westie, Blanche, is now 9 years old and has been on Proin the entire time we've had her (since she was a pup). It has helped us avoid 99% of accidents and shows no adverse side effects. by on 08/13/2014
  • Does the job as advertised.
    Great product. Our dog is now comfortable with her bladder. by on 08/03/2014
  • Very effective
    This product has done very well with my dog. She has had no accidents so her response with this medication has been excellent. by on 07/28/2014
  • Effective Product
    Our retriever has been on this product since she was a puppy, now 13 yrs, and it has helped in bladder control.M in San Mateo, CA by on 07/19/2014
  • couldn't live without it
    my dog has been on proin for six years now because of incontinence. i couldn't have a 113 lb dog in my home without this product. it worked perfectly for 5 years and now i've had to add hormones. but that's OK. by on 06/26/2014
  • All around, very good results.
    Proin is doing an excellent job controlling my elderly boxer girl's incontinence. She tolerates the Proin very well and no longer wakes up in the morning mortified at having wet her bed. by on 06/23/2014
  • Great for dog urine control
    We have a 180+ English Mastiff Male who after surgery could not express his urine. With the Proin, he can control expressing it and is a happier dog for it. by on 06/02/2014
  • Works excellent!
    I have a Husky that involuntarily leaks when she's asleep. This product and Bladder Strength keeps her completely dry! I definitely would recommend this product. by on 04/05/2014
  • Works well.
    Very few incontinence problems since I started using the Proin. by on 02/05/2014
  • This product does what it says
    Proin has been good for my pet. It helps keep her from urine leaks. by on 01/18/2014
  • My dog can sniff out a pill...
    She actually comes up and wants these. Much easier than a pill you have to try to hide... by on 11/06/2013
  • This product works for our dog.
    Some time after Ginger's operation to keep her from having puppies, we discovered her urinary problem. She couldn't keep from wetting herself and anything close to her. Our vet recommended Proin. We tried it, and had to keep changing the dose and when we gave it to her. When we finally got things right it was a miracle, No more wet spots. That was many years ago and we are still satisfied with the results. Ginger is a happy dog. We had trouble at first getting her to take the Proin. We tried the pill pockets, peanut butter, cheese, and finally Cottage cheese. Ginger loves it and no more problems. We give her (3) 75 mg tabs a day. Ginger is a 100 lb. Lab mix and a happy dog. We recommend Proin for leaking problems. by on 10/17/2013
  • Works for us!
    I read the pros and cons on using Proin. For my girl, the natural product just wasn't effective and we returned to using the Proin. She does much better on it and I just put it in her morning meal and she eats it right up. We are both much happier with the results. by on 09/22/2013
  • urinary control
    Works well at helping our 10 year old Bulldog keep accidents to a minimum. by on 07/24/2013
  • This has been a lifesaver
    I have a 12 year old Corgi that I rescued about a year and a half ago. She didn't have much use of her back legs when I got her. She also weighed about 40 pounds and had to be carried out to potty. Her muscles have further atrophied and she now can't even crawl(she used to be able to drag the back legs behind her#. After recurrent UTIs and her urine scalding her skin just from contact, the vet finally suggested this med. I remember when it was a prescription decongestant for humans but it was pulled from the market due to the same side effects that ephedrine had. It is a weight based medication, we started at one 25mg tab twice daily, but that didn't work. The dose is 0.91mg/lb twice daily. My vet increased my dog to 37.5mg#1 and a half of the 25mg tabs) twice daily and she can now hold it as long as you want her to. One piece of useful info, I found out the hard way: If my dog misses a dose, the flood gates will open up. If she misses a dose, she will have several accidents. My dog ,according to vet, isn't able to concentrate her urine so whaqt she drink just goes through her. As long as I don't miss a dose, she's good to go and can go morning, midafternoon, and evening. She sleeps on incontinence pads, the kind used in hospitals for people. This drug is a lifesaver for her. I don't mind cleaning her up as many times a day as necessary, but even if she only lays in urine for a few minutes before I clean her and change the pad, it causes her skin to get red and sore and her girl parts look like a strawberry they are so red. The med is worth every penny by on 04/21/2013
  • Preventing Accidents +++
    After the usual test with the vet and a couple of months supply from the same vet, we had to find a better, cost effective source for this needed medication. As we are retired and low income, and everything else in life is high overhead, price is why we came to PET RX, receiving fast courteous service and quick shipping, and the price that works for us !!! by on 12/11/2012
  • Easy to use
    It works great for our 11 year old lab. She has been on it for 3 years and when she doesn't take it we know it within a few days. by on 12/09/2012
  • Carpet saver
    My 5 Yr old GSD mix started leaking urine. After lab tests showed no infection or other issues her vet prescribed Proin. Great product! She is now leak free. Petrx is saving me almost 1/2 the cost if purchased through my veterinary office. by on 10/28/2012
  • Great Product!
    My dog has leaked since we adopted her (at about 9 mos old). Vet put her on Proin to help her leaking. Within 24 hours her leaking had stopped and her anxiousness subsided. She used to leak when she slept and when she got really excited. After 3 years of being on the medicine, she has not leaked once! We give her half a pill (50 mg) twice daily. Vet said this is common in spaded female dogs. by on 07/24/2011
  • Actually does help
    We have a 7 year old dobe that leaks on occasion. We started her on Proin about a year ago, and we have seen quite an improvement. It does take a while (a week or so) to start working, but keep at it. She has had a few times where she has leaked while on the medicine, but she has another health issue that might be contributing (going to a surgeon today for that). One thing I did notice shortly after she started taking the Proin was that she was so gassy!!! This did subside after some time. Our vet said this is not generally a side effect of Proin, but our dobe didn't smell that bad until after taking the pills. by on 06/14/2011
  • For certian situations only
    My lab leaked when asleep ever since she was a puppy. She started on one pill, three times a day. Decreased her to now one twice a day for 14 years now, she's perfect. If we tried to take her off it she would immediately leak while she slept and her bed would have a wet spot. Start her up again on the Proin and back to perfect. It does happen more in female spayed dogs. It has to do with hormones. This is not for every leaking situation. by on 01/29/2011
  • helps with effects of degenerative myelopathy
    I dont usually write reviews but i really believe in some cases this drug could save a dog's life. Once an elderly dog starts losing control of their bladder, most people will start thinking their time has come. This is a really hard thing to deal with especially with a big dog! My 14 yr old female german shepherd has DM and is losing feeling in the back end. She doesnt know she is going or if she does, its too late. On top of that, her difficulty in getting up and walking makes her not want to go out as often. We used a 3 pronged approach to deal with this: 1)Proin 2) rewards for going out and 3) a committment from everyone in the family to be sure she is taken out every few hours whether she asks or not. we realize we cannot rely on her judgment as to when its time to go out. She was having accidents once or twice a week. the drug took awhile to work but I honestly cant recall when the last time was. For now, its working and that has given us more quality time with her. by on 08/10/2010
  • Has worked well
    Our mixed breed pup would leak when she relaxed, usually in the evening. After she matured some, at vet's recommendation, we started her on Proin 50, giving her a half tablet, twice/day. Has worked like a charm. by on 04/15/2010
  • Not totally satisfied
    My 15 year old Lab Scout has been on this med for 10 days and still has accidents. THE FREQUENCY OF HIM HAVING THE URGE TO GO HAS DECREASED, BUT ONCE HE GETS UP HE STILL LOSES URINE ALMOST IMMEDIATELY. by on 12/26/2009
  • worked for awhile
    we've increased the dosage to (3) 50mg pills per day but she's still leaking. Proin worked for several months though, about 90% effectiveness then decreasing. by on 09/23/2009
  • Works Great!
    Our lab began leaking almost as soon as we brought her home at 10 weeks. After treating her for UTI's, the vet recommended we try the PPA. The results were immediate and 4 years later (25 mg a day) we can see no side effects. She does still occasionally "leak" in warm weather shen she has chugged a lot of water but otherwise, it seems to do exactly what it promises. by on 04/06/2009
  • no more leaking works great so far
    so far it has worked I have a 14 year old min. schnauzer and she has been leaking and she felt bad to the vet said to give her this med and sure does work after just 2 days.... by on 04/03/2009
  • Only thing that works for us
    Our German Shepard, Brady, has had a "leaking" problem since we first got her at 6 weeks old. The vet did a surgery b/c her kidneys were not connected to her bladder. This still didn't make a difference. The vet put her on Proin shortly after and now it's not nearly as bad. She still has a problem every once in a while, but we're just happy we don't have to buy anymore carpet :-) Has anyone else noticed that this condition seems to be happening in female dogs? I wonder if there's a connection. by on 10/29/2008
  • neutered male
    My 12 year old black lab would drip on the floor whenever he got up.The vet warned that it doesn't always work on neutered males.Cody stopped leaking in less than 24 hours and has now been taking it for almost one year.We are very pleased with this product. by on 10/16/2008
  • No more accidents!
    I had to return to work full-time, after many years at home dealing with my own health issues and now a divorce. I had to hire a mid-day pet walking service for my almost 14 year-old Golden Retriever, Callie. She was recently diagnosed with Kidney disease, after many weeks of accidents in my home. My Vet changed her diet to Science Diet K/D and also prescribed Proin twice a day. She has stopped having the incontinence problems and seems to be doing much better. I am so pleased and so is she. I had no idea that such a product existed and it sure beats doggie diapers. She has very sensitive skin and the accidents were causing rashes and she was distressed by it. by on 08/30/2008
  • WOW!!!!!!
    I CANT'T BELIEVE HOW THIS INSTANTLY WORKED!!! THE DAY AFTER I GAVE MY 7 YEAR OLD BORDER COLLIE THIS MEDICATION, SHE WAS INSTANTLY DRY!!! SHE HAD PROBLEMS LEAKING ALL OVER EVERYTHING IN THE HOUSE. WE HAD TO THROW AWAY HER BEDS AS THEY WERE CONSTANTLY SOAKED AND WERE ABOUT TO MAKE HER "AN OUTSIDE DOG ONLY" :-( WHEN A NEW VET RECOMMENDED THIS MED. ALL I CAN SAY IS WOW!!! THE DAY AFTER I STARTED HER ON THIS, NOT ONE TIME HAVE I FOUND ONE SPOT ON MY FURNITURE OR HER BED. I EVEN RAN OUT OF IT AND DIDN'T GET MY ORDER IN FOR 2 DAYS AND STILL NOTHING. THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU. SHE HAS BEEN DRY NOW FOR 2 1/2 YEARS. by on 07/14/2008
  • No more embarassing moments
    My little yorkie, Tina, has spaying incontinence. It's definitely not as bad as it could be and the Proin has helped. She's been taking it since she was about 8 months and she's now 7 years old! She goes through her on and off the medication spells but as she gets older, it's a regular part of her life. When she wets herself ... I swear she gets embarassed. She hides, she mopes, she's miserable. She takes her proin and no more wetting herself and she's back to being a happy girl. I highly recommend this product! by on 06/28/2008
  • works well and she loves it.
    My dog is 13 years old and has a lots of health problems. she takes many medications on a daily basis. This is the only one that she is eager to take and wanting more. I recommend this medication although the cost is higher that other's in this class. by on 05/31/2008
  • No more pee
    My dog Molly is 13 years old and was having a problem leaking urine (incontinence). I took her to the vet and he prescribed Proin and it works beautifully by on 05/27/2008
  • what a difference!!
    my baby is a 11 year old mixed mutt who has been diagnosed a diabetic. She started dribbling and leaked at night and I thot it was just something I would have to put up with and clean up after. When I mentioned it to my vet, he told me that he could help me with that!! After putting her on one 50 mg tablet in the am and pm, she only has rare accidents (usually if I forget to give it to her). I would definitely recommend this to anyone that is having a problem such as mine!! by on 04/19/2008
  • Excellent product
    My 10 year old dog "Blinky" began to sporadically urinate on the carpet for no apparent reason. I thought it was a problem I'd just have to put up with because of her age. But the vet has her taking 1 Proin pill a day and there has been no problem! It's a great product! by on 03/29/2008
  • Formerly Wet Whippet Has Been Dry For Years Now
    Our Whippet Zoey started leaking where she was sleeping at a relatively young age (7 years old). The vet suggested we try Proin or a hormone. We opted for Proin (since we have to medicate Zoey daily anyway for other issues). She takes 25 mgs. in the morning and 25 mgs. at night. No more leaking. However, if she skips a day or more of the Proin, she starts leaking again. No apparent side effects. Zoey's dignity is restored and our furniture is dry. by on 03/07/2007
  • PROIN - They WORK!
    Our Chow Chow "LAICA" is 15 years old and has been taking Proin 50mg for 5 years. She began with 1 tablet a day and as she grew older her condition became worse (leaking all over herself and all over the place) so the vet increased the dosage to 3 a day. The tablets work incredibly well and stops the leaking instantaneously. The only side effects have been that she does get overly excited every now and then. However, anytime she misses her dosage she begins leaking again. These pills have been a life saver for us, our pet and our furniture, floors and rugs. I highly recommend Proin tablets.Richie Montalvo - Drums, PA*This is a prescription item by on 09/14/2005
  • Helping my German Shepherd
    I've got a 10-year old German Shepherd (Freida) who started "peeing" on herself while sleeping. My vet initially prescribed this as a twice daily pill, used until gone. With Freida, I found that if I gave her the pill for a couple of days, she would be fine. No problems for several months. Then it would happen again. I am working with my vet to figure out the correct dosage to give to keep her from having this problem but not over-medicating her. I write this review to urge anyone considering this product (and it does work) to work with your vet to determine the minimum/correct dosage to use. Or just work with your dog to see what's needed. Every dog is different.*This is a prescription item by on 09/01/2005
  • Spayed Female Lab is Helped Greatly By This
    The vets tell me it's rare for a dog as young as Bali to get spay incontinence but it happened. Wetting her bed when she sleeps a couple nights a week was frustrating and heartbreaking for us both. My Vet recommened this brand and we started out with the smallest dose we could and went up from there until we got a response. We tried another brand that cost a little less and switch back to this one because the other one was not potent and she required almost twice as much to get the same response. This product restored happy nighttimes again and I never noticed a side effect but Bali is very mellow naturally also.*This is a prescription item by on 08/24/2005
  • Proin eliminates incontinence in neutered female dog.
    Starting with a small dose twice a day for a week with no improvememt, we increased the dose to 1/2 tablet 2 times a day up from 1/4 tablet. We noticed an improvement very soon after that, and side effects do not seem to be a problem. by on 02/03/2005
Page 1 of 1 1