Image of Hill's Prescription Diet k/d Kidney Care Canned Dog Food

A Dog's Guide to Hill's Prescription Diet k/d Kidney Care Canned Dog Food If a domesticated dog could speak human, digestive care would be top of the list. A dog's digestive health can be negatively affected by a great many things that upset their stomach, disrupt their normal kidney function, and generally their bodily system. It is a good thing that there are dog food brands that prioritize digestive health and kidney care. Hill's pioneering research and great nutritional formulas drasticall... Read More

Rated 4 out of 5 by 218 reviewers.

K/d
When you look up the claim that lower protein is better for urine care they say itโ€™s a myth.more protein is better in todays test and results and the idea of needing a perscription is only a sales pitch by on 01/30/2024
Perry loves it
My 15 yo Toy Papillon hv gain appetite again and definite improve on the energy level, hopefully better kidney function at his age. Amen. Thank you Hills. by on 08/08/2023
Something has changed
There seems to be more gravy/liquid in the can than chicken and vegetables. This is the second case where I've noticed the difference. by on 07/17/2023
I would never buy this product ever again
Lab tested for content...not dog tested for taste I can't even say its ____ ....my dog will eat that. Have you actually tasted this? I have. It is god awful. I have to mix this with so much stuff I might as well mix my own. And the K/D kibble...Desi won't eat stuff that touched it!! Huge fail. Great marketing. Huge fail. by on 06/08/2023
This food has made all the difference for my Husky
My Husky was diagnosed with kidney disease in 2018. Her creatinine was elevated, and she had to go on prescription kidney food, immediately. I chose Hill's for her, just hoping I could get her to eat it. Boy was I surprised to see how much she loves this food! She cleans her bowl, every time, and keeps licking the bowl to make sure she gets every drop! After 6 months on the food, her creatinine was back in the normal range, and has stayed there! She has no symptoms of kidney disease now, and I only have to have her checked at her annual exam, now! She is happy, healthy, and at 9 years, is still as playful as a puppy! I would add that this food is tasty, based on the fact my Husky's very finicky brother, my Golden Retriever, also likes it! Sometimes he will come ask for a bite, when I am feeding her, and on occasion, I have to get him his own bowl of it! by on 03/14/2023
Dog's condition improved
18 year old terrier appears have more urinary control. After an initial hesitancy eating this food, she now downs it completely. by on 02/14/2023
Love your Products!!
Great brand by on 05/30/2022
Vet's prescription food
My dog doesn't seem to like it much. So, I had to feed her a little spoon everyday so she would get used to it because I ordered a dozen. I hope she will learn to like it . . . soon. by on 05/12/2022
Science diet
Great product/fast delivery by on 04/05/2022
Kidney can
Itโ€™s very good and furkids loved it. by on 03/25/2022
Dixie Loves It!
My 8 1/2 yr Lab/Pittie loves this food. I mix a bit of the wet food with her dry, as the kibbles are very small and she has trouble eating it and keeping it in her mouth. The only issue I really have is that she has gained weight on this food. I am not overfeeding her but she is "food-motivated" and will eat just about anything, so an appetite enhancer added to the food seems to make her hungry all the time. This food honestly, well.....doesn't smell so great to me, but again, she loves it. by on 07/20/2021
Has kept my dog's kidneys from getting worse
My dog loves this and it is keeping his kidneys from getting worse. by on 05/27/2021
Best Tasting and Effective Kidney Diet
My 14 year old Chihuahuas kidneys were failing , she had to go out 2-3 times a night and vet suggested we try Hills K/D diet as a last resort as there was no "cure" BUT in less than 24 hours on this food our pups felt 100% better and peeing was refuced by 85%!!!! Thanks to Hills science diet! by on 05/13/2021
The produce is good but has now been discontinued
The quality was good and was a favourite of my dog. But without notice it has been discontinued. However as usual marketing is still catching up. They previously had a lamb version for renal that up until a month ago was displayed as a current product even though it had not been available in Australia for 2 years by on 03/13/2021
Why can't we buy this product in Australia
No supplies of this product in Australia and my dog is in desperate for it by on 03/04/2021
not a big fan
my dog has tried all the flavors, hes not a big fan of this one. by on 08/14/2020
Amazing
My 15 year old yorkie Diagnosed with kidney Failure earlier in the year, tried the pate formula with no luck at all, After several weeks of trying home made meals and worried about vitamin content, i came across the KD beef stew formula and was amazed at how he wolfed this down, his extreme water consumption has decreased to less than 1/2 ,we've only been on this for about 2 weeks but I have already noticed slight change In His energy level I am hopeful, I DK about the original formula but this is working awesome for us so far by on 07/31/2019
Keep the new if you want but BRING BACK THE OLD FORMULA
THE OLD FORMULA IS WHAT MY DOG LIKES. PLEASE DON'T CONTINUE TO FORCE US TO ANOTHER BRAND! by on 05/15/2019
Mu 15 year old Bichon hates it
My 15 year old Bichon was diagnosed with kidney disease and she was prescribed this food. She hates it. Like an other reviewer stated, she ran away from it. It may be nutritionally of good quality, but it breaks my heart we have to force feed her with food she hates. I hope they willd o something about the flavour. I still would recommend this food however if it has good results on the outcome of blood results. by on 04/10/2019
"Improved Formula" is NOT better than original formula.
My Westie loves the original chicken flavor canned food. After purchasing another case, he was able to consume only 2 cans before he decided he didn't like it anymore. I discovered each can is identified as "IMPROVED FORMULA" printed on the red band around the top of the can label. Well, my dog definitely doesn't like the formula change. So, I returned the remaining cans for credit. My vet only had 4 cans left of the original chicken formula. I was told no more is available. I strongly suggest Hills reintroduce the original chicken formula for sale. I will be searching out different brands of K/D dog food that my dog likes. by on 01/26/2019
AMAZING- Saved my baby girl
This product has been a MIRACLE for my 14 year old Shihtzu. She has been super healthy her whole life up until this point :( She was drinking lots of water and peeing non stop in the house.. I knew those were signs of kidney disease. Long story short, after about 2-3 days of being STRICTLY on this k/d diet she was doing amazing. People often don't understand that if you are giving your pet this food- and scraps or treats they shouldn't have this does not work. Zoey used to wake me up at least 3 times a night to go outside and get water. She has been on this diet about 5 months now and she hasn't woken me up once to go outside. She also loves when its feeding time! I would highly, highly recommend this to any dog/cat that is suffering from kidney disease. (Obviously use the feline food for cats). Also, with Zoey being older she does not keep weight on like I would like her too.. so i feed her 3 times a day but i put just one teaspoon of the wet on top of the dry k/d food and she eats them both. The k/d wet food has more water in it so she will not gain weight and has to eat more of that to do so. So i would recommend mixing them! :) by on 01/14/2019
My dog runs away from this stuff!
This stuff looks good enough that I would eat it myself! But as soon as my dog smells it, she turns away. If I put a little in her mouth, she'll spit it out...sad. by on 12/24/2018
I would not recommend this food
It appears that Hills has decided to change the once loved recipe of this food. I can agree with several others on here that my dog will not TOUCH THIS FOOD. The moment she smells the food she steps away and turns her nose up at it. The consistency is one of the worst that I have seen, it sticks to everything it touches. This is going back to PetSmart by on 12/20/2018
New formula is terrible
When the formula changed my dog stopped eating it. I have tried everything. It's so disappointing because my dog has ate the same food for almost 10 years. Please bring back the old formula. by on 09/18/2018
She is finally eating!!
My little doggie is a very finicky eater. One day she will eat something, the next day turn her nose at it. This is the only food I have ever seen her wolf down. So for our little dog, this is a WIN!! by on 08/27/2018
Bring Back the Old Formula!!!
My little maltese LOVED the old formula, and would "dive into it", as one reviewer stated. Now, he picks and just messes around with it. I have to put his medicine in his food for him to take it, and now it's a chore to make sure he gets his medicine down with his food, because he doesn't seem to like it. Also, because there is so much liquid in the new stew formula, I don't get as much mileage out of a can as I used to get. It's costing me twice as much, when before was already pricey enough. PLEASE BRING BACK THE OLD FORMULA! Keep them both on the shelves, that way everyone has a choice! by on 06/19/2018
My dogs won't eat this.
Two of our dogs have kidney issues, and we were told to feed them the k/d food. We have tried both the chicken and the lamb recipes, with minimal success. We have purchased the canned food to mix in, but the dogs sniff and walk away. They will try to eat anything else, so we know it's not their appetites. The vet said to doctor it up a little, but not too much as to minimalize the benefit of the food. As my vet said, a prescription food is only good if you are able to get your pet to eat it. It is literally a chore to get them to eat this. I've read the previous reviews regarding the old recipe, but had not been able to try that. Reading them and the success others appear to have had with it, I wish the old recipe would come back. We will be trying Royal Canin to see if we have more success with it. My other dog is on Royal Canin ultamino, and loves it, so hopefully these two will like the kidney formula. by on 06/19/2018
My dogs ate 2 cans then not interested anymore
I bought a case for chicken stew , the first day they ate all of the bowl then secant day ate half then no more interested . then I bought beef stew they just walk away . Is the wet one not stew will be better? by on 05/16/2018
My dogs love the KD stew
Cost can be prohibitive at $3 a day and my 15 pound dog is to eat a can a day times 2 because i have 2 dogs on it. But my dogs love the stew and one was not eating at all and that dog loves this and i am so happy she is eating. by on 04/07/2018
Samantha loves it!
Samantha has been eating this for a year and loves it! Happy that this product is available to extend her life. by on 04/06/2018
The best and she loves it.
This is what my dog was on when I adopted her. She is kind of finicky but will eat it. I like the texture and size (I use the 5.5oz) cans. I like the smaller can and it serves her well. I would like to know where I can get coupons as it is expensive, but worth it if it helps her. Thank you! by on 04/03/2018
The smell
I tried to warm this up with a little water to try and make it more appealing. The smell was so foul I almost lost it. Even my dog ran away. Had to get out the Clorox. Can't bring myself to open another can. by on 03/25/2018
Why screw with a good product?
Our 3.5 lb yorkie has been on the k/d lamb for over 5 years at least. We buy it by the case and just did have to go to the "new improved formula". Charlie can not stand the flavor nor consistency of the new formula. The use of more pork liver as the second most ingredient and no egg has changed the formula but not as an improved one. My wife has had to hand fed him to get anything down him. The food, stains most anything it gets on and the consistency is terrible. This food is not improved. by on 03/15/2018
The NEW formula is terrible!!!!
Our Jack Russell was doing just fine on the OLD plain KD food. He would eat it just fine. Now feeding him is a chore and he really hates this new formula. Why did you guys mess with the original formula? You have several other flavors available, you didn't need to mess with something that worked. We found a can of the older formula we had stashed and he DOVE into it like greeting an old friend. BRING BACK THE ORIGINAL FORMULA PLEASE!!!! by on 03/15/2018
Please bring back original recipe
My Maltese has eaten Hill's k/d for several years, after being diagnosed with Cushing's. She loved it! My vet can't get the original formula any more, only the chicken flavor, and my dog is uninterested. Please, Hill's, listen to all your customers and at least offer us a choice of original or newer flavors! Thanks. by on 03/14/2018
New and improved don't think so
I have to switch brands, my dog has been on k/d lamb for years and loved it , soon as new formula came out he has lost 10% of his weight, the other day I walked into a store and found a case of the old formula so I bought it brought it home And he almost ate his plate Not sure what needed to be improved but it didn't work and you lost a loyal customer by on 03/12/2018
New formula is terrible
My dog is almost 10 years old and just like the reviews below he will not touch the new formula. His health is getting worse by the day because he refuses the new food. I have 4 unopened cases and have been resorting to feeding our dog rice. Please bring back the old formula. by on 03/03/2018
RATING "0"
I was so happy when I found a taste that my little yorkie would eat. That was the ORIGINAL flavor. I would buy a lot of cans at a time. Out of the blue, my vet said that they could not get it anymore and I panicked. The new formula is horrible. The smell is really strong and my dog LITERALLY ran away from it. There was nothing I could do that would make her eat it. She is old so her teeth are not too strong, so she prefers the can food. PLEASE bring the old flavor back. Listen to your customers. If I could give a ZERO rating I would. by on 03/01/2018
Please bring back old formula.
Please bring back old formula! My maltipoo won't touch it now. She needs this kd formula. Her blood work numbers are getting worse because she won't eat it. New formula looks awful and smells awful. Admit you've made a mistake and just change it back. I'm sure a lot of dogs' health is being impacted by your decision! by on 01/20/2018
Please bring back old recipe.
My dog needs this food to combat kidney disease. She doesn't like the new formula and I am having trouble getting her to eat it. by on 01/14/2018
Please bring back the Original flavor!
My dog will only eat the Original formula, and it's not being made anymore. She won't touch the new "improved" chicken flavor. I have tried both flavors of stew, as well as the KD plus Mobility just to see if it might be more flavorful, but no luck. Is there any chance the Original formula will be coming back? by on 01/14/2018
Ditto - Please Bring Back Old Formula
We had two different bags of food - old vs new formula. After finishing the old formula and switching to the new formula, we have had difficulty getting our dog to eat. She has had lyme's disease for years and this food is what is keeping her alive. Now we can't get her to eat it. Please bring back the old formula. by on 01/12/2018
Please bring back the original k/d formula!
As other individuals have stressed in their reviews, their pets do not like the new formula. My pet will not eat the new k/d formula either. She NEEDS to eat - her health depends on it. Everything the other individuals have said is true in our case - the smell, taste, and color are all different than the original formula. Please listen to the consumers and their concerns for pet. by on 01/09/2018
is there a zero rating for the NEW formula??
Dog hates the new and improved original....bring back the ORIGINAL original!!! by on 12/30/2017
PLEASE GO BACK TO THE OLD RECIPE!!!
My 15 year dog has been eating the original formula for about 2 years and will not eat the new "chicken" recipe. PLEASE go back to the original formula as it seems I'm not the only person having this issue. by on 12/18/2017
Please bring this back! My dog needs it.
Please please please bring back the original flavor. My 14 year old Shihtzu loves it. He is not liking the new chicken flavor and when I can get him to eat this new chicken flavor it gives him bad indigestion. Very disappointed in the decision Hills made in removing the original flavor. Looks like I need to shop around for a new kidney care diet for my shihtzu. by on 12/07/2017
Please please please bring back original flavor!
They tell you it's the same formula different labeling. It isn't. The new formula is dark in color and lacks a great deal any moisture. My 16.5 poodle that needs a k/d diet won't eat it. She is losing weight she can't afford. Why change a food that is so important and not make the original available. We need the original formula back. Found an old can in the closet and she ate half of it like I have never seen her eat before. BRING BACK ORIGINAL FORMULA! by on 12/07/2017
New and Improved, NOT
The new and improved k/d with lamb is darker in color. My dog is 12-14 years of age. He's been eating the formula for 3 or 4 years now. This so called new and improved gives him bad gas. Please bring back the old formula. This is not good for older dogs that have been on the old formula for a long time. New is not always better! by on 11/27/2017
KD with lamb
I have been feeding my Yorkie KD with lamb for about 8 years now because of a liver shunt. Now that the formula has been changed he doesn't eat it. I am now buying and cooking chicken for him. Please bring back the old formula this one smells terrible and know matter what I try he won't eat it. by on 11/27/2017
Please change the formula back
My 15 year old dog loved the original flavor KD. I was so pleased to find a food that he gobbled down. When I purchases a can and discovered the formula had been changed I was terribly disappointed he took a bite and walked away. He would not touch it. I've tried other flavors and even another brand of food and he is hardly eating anything. I hope that you will consider my request and others to bring back the original formula. by on 11/24/2017
New formula lower calorie
The new formula has fewer calories per can. After the new formula came out my dog started losing weight rather fast. I took her to the vet and had all her labs run and they were fine, her kidney values were great, but she lost 2.5 pounds in about a month because there was no announcement that the new food was 15 or 20 calories less than the old formula. by on 11/21/2017
Please bring back Original Flavor
My 14 year old Pomeranian switched to k/d a couple years ago and it has changed her life and she is so much healthier. We feed the canned food as a way to mix in other liquid medicine she is required to take, it's the only way she'll take it. She will not eat the reformulated w/chicken recipe and not too fond of the other flavors. Please consider bringing it back. by on 11/18/2017
Please bring back the original flavor K/D care for canines
I have been having difficulty in finding the original flavor kidney care canned dog food and have now just discovered that it is no longer being made. I tried the "new" chicken flavor on my chihuahua and she hates it! She is very picky and I don't know what to do since I've been feeding her the "original" flavor for her morning meal and the Beef & Vegetable Stew for her evening meal. By the way, she doesn't like the Chicken stew either. Both the chicken products smell and she won't touch them. Please bring back the "original" flavor. by on 11/17/2017
My 3 pound Yorkie needs this food but hates new formulas
I had to call our vet in Seattle area and they still had regular flavor so my daughter is mailing a case to us. I am going to have to talk with our vet and see if another brand would work for our 3 pound fragile dog. by on 11/12/2017
My dog won't eat the new chicken formula
My 3 lb dog has been on the original for the past year and has been doing wonderful considering her diagnosis. I can barely get out of her eating area before she has eaten every bite. This has been true since she had her first feeding. SHE WILL NOT EAT THE NEW CHICKEN FORMULA. I have left it out until the next time to feed her and she hasn't eaten the previous feeding. One time I accidentally bought the stew and she wouldn't eat it either. The vet is out of the original flavor and I don't know what I am going to do. by on 11/12/2017
My dog thinks the new formula is NASTY
Like many others, I'm looking all over the internet in hopes of finding the original flavor so that I can feed my dog without having to literally shove food down her throat. She HATES the new formula. It is so stressful for both of us because I have to use my fingers to shove it down her throat and hold her mouth closed to get her to "eat" it. So much of it ends up in her hair, my hair, on the floor, on the walls, etc. Bring back the original!!!!! by on 11/07/2017
Original now has Chicken?
Having a dog with kidney disease is hard, having one allergic to most proteins is impossible to feed. Until I was lucky enough to find Hills RX Original. No chicken! Exception of chicken fat which is edible for those with allergies. Now, out of nowhere with no warning of the change received an "improved" formula. With chicken. Please bring back the original Original so dogs with food sensitivities can have food again. PLEASE! by on 11/02/2017
PLEASE CHANGE BACK TO ORIGINAL FLAVOR RECIPE
My golden Lou began kidney care a year ago and has done beautifully on K/D. He is now 14 1/2 and I truly believe his switching to K/D gave us an additional year with our boy. Recently the Original Flavor was reformulated now called Chicken. I can tell it's a new formula and so can he. He will not eat it and when I found a leftover can of the Original flavor., he gobbled it up. please please please change back to the Original flavor!! by on 10/27/2017
Flavor change may be difficult for some dogs
I have a finicky dog who seems to hate the new formula for k/d. I have tried the stew and the lamb but he's not liking them, either. So I will try to force him to eat by insisting that he do so or go without supper! The point is that a flavor change has little to do with medicinal support and now I have this to worry about. by on 10/18/2017
Please bring back the original flavor!
Now that this new formula has come out, my dog will not eat it very well. She use to devour the previous formula and literally go crazy for it before feeding time. I have also tried the stew flavors and the lamb and she will not eat those very well either. She is 15 years old, blind and almost completely deaf and we are doing all that we can to make her last year's with us enjoyable for her. Please bring back the original flavor. by on 10/15/2017
My dog hates this new formula.
My dog started on the 'original' KD and ate with gusto for nearly the first time in her life. (She is 14 years old). I bought a case of this new and improved formula and she hates it! Frankly, it smells terrible to me. I thought something was wrong with it. I'm not sure what I am going to do because she needs the food but she will only eat it after it has set out for six or more hours. I don't think that can be healthy for her. Please bring back the original. by on 10/10/2017
Used this for years, but my dog hates new formula
This product has worked well for my Shih Tzu. However, they just changed the formula, and the "original" flavor is not being made anymore. It has been changed to a "New Improved" Chicken flavor, which he does not want anything to do with. This is not a bad rating for the KD food at all, as it has worked well and he likes it. This is a bad review for the new chicken formula. I really hope that they bring back the original flavor, as that is what my furry baby wants and needs. Not sure why they stopped this formula, and replaced it, instead of just adding a new flavor. Please bring back the original flavor! by on 10/06/2017
KD new and improved
My dog HATES the new and improved flavor and i personally thinks it smells horrible. It is a shame since my dog has to be on this for the rest of her life.....I have tried everything to get her to eat it and she will not......force feeding seems to work but she does not like it! by on 10/03/2017
Boxer Likes It
Have to say that my Boxer does like this food. Me, not so much. It looks awful, and my boy is never totally satisfied after eating. I keep in mind that is a "prescription diet" for a medical condition. I am grateful that such a diet exist for dogs who need it. I just wish it was more satisfying, and had a better appearance. by on 07/27/2017
Changed ingredients not good
Our whippet Chloe loved the original kd, ate it with gusto, and we were so pleased to see the improvement in her. Unfortunately for Chloe and ourselves, Hills changed the ingredients without our knowledge, we bought a carton of the changed food and our dear whippet hates it, it looks and smells completely different, revolting! by on 07/04/2017
My Review
My dog just had to start being on a kidney supported diet. She loves this stuff. It is unfortunate how expensive it is, but that is all brands. Also, if it is what I have to do to help her,I happily will. I reached out to Hills and asked if they would send me coupons, and they did. I was so appreciative and would welcome more! Again I was extremely appreciative. Hills was happy I reached out to them. I'm more than happy to take time to write a review. My dog can't gobble the food up soon enough. That is a relief, because she isn't allowed to have protein anymore and I want to make sure she is eating. by on 03/30/2017
He will eat it.
My dog get a quarter can at night, and cup of dry in the morning. He will usually finish it, unless my parents feed him beef, chicken, and cheese. I tell them he has a kidney issue and it may put him, for the third time, in the vet on the brink of death. They do not seem to care. When he gets the trimmings from a fillet or sirloin, he doesn't want any of his prescription diet food. by on 03/17/2017
Awesome
My lil girl was loosing weight rapidly......she had no energy she was nothin but skin an bones.....we couldnt even pick her up without hurting her......i took her 2 the vet did all the tests........an now shes on this food an medication........an between them both within 24 hrs...she was her old self again......she has put on almost 2lbs....in the last month an doin so well......this is great food for her issues......thanks 2 yall an my vet 4 giving me back my lil Bessie Mae..... by on 03/09/2017
New forumula
I have bought the k/d with lamb for my dog for about 2 years now. The last 2 cases I purchased had a printed red label around the top. It touted a new formula, with better texture. The first case was very moist, definitely different than prior cases. This current case is almost overfilled, and not moist at all. The consistency is very disheartening. Why change the formula and not be consistent. by on 03/08/2017
New improved KD formula lamb
This new improved version is not going over well with my dog. He's barely eating anything. Please bring back the old original version! by on 02/10/2017
My dog will not eat the new formula.
My dog has been eating the k/d prescription canned dog food for approximately 2 years now. I have fed the same food to other dogs in the past. Last week I bought a new supply and noticed a difference as soon as I opened the can. The color is much darker and the smell much stronger. My dog will not eat this product at all. I have even tried mixing it with other food but the minute he smells it he won't touch it. by on 01/30/2017
Great experience
I receiveda sample from my local vet office and my 2 year pup loved it!! His kidney counts have stabilized and he is much better!! by on 01/01/2017
She Loves It!
Joile was recently put on prescription first and we started with a competitors brand which she wouldn't touch. As soon as I opened the Hills k/d Chicken and veggie stew she couldn't get enough! I love that you use high quality ingredients and she's getting the best food to help her with her condition! by on 12/07/2016
My dog loves this product
Since my dog was diagnosed with kidney issues she could not stand eating the dry dog food k/d. I have been making her food and she's been very finicky. She like somethings then gets tired of other things so I decided to try the chicken and beef stew and she absolutely loves it. So that she doesn't get tired of it I give chicken one day and beef the other. I have a much healthier and happier dog and that makes me happy by on 11/17/2016
Nice.
This is the only food I feed my pet. She eats about 1 1/2 cans a day. by on 09/21/2016
She loves the lamb especially!
We get the mixed case of lamb and original flavor. And the dry bag as well. It has brought her numbers down and she's doing great! Only thing is the original flavor seems to have changed some ingredients, no more egg whites and also changed texture. She still loves it but I'm wondering why it was changed? It seems more sticky/gooey, then the lamb and what used to be Original flavor. by on 09/15/2016
Warning - main ingredient has changed
The main ingredient in this was "Egg White," very good for a kidney diet, and that is what I was feeding my dog with Hills Kidney Care "Original" until this week. This week I received a new case of Hills Kidney Care "Original Flavor," and it's main ingredient is "Pork Liver" - not a speck of egg white. I am afraid that my dog will not have as good of results with this completely new food. The can looks virtually identical, but what is inside is completely different! by on 09/09/2016
My Review
Our dog has been using Hills k/d RX diet. The new beef stew recipe mixes better with her dry food than the original k/d recipe. Also, our dog eats all her food when mixed with the beef stew. by on 08/03/2016
Fussy Eater
6 months ago our Molly, 19 almost 20 years old, had to switch to K/D. It's been interesting getting her to eat, she's always been fussy, the suggestions of tuna liquid and low sodium chicken broth helps. She prefers the chicken and beef stews over the original flavor. We mix a little K/D dry kibble over the top of the wet to give her a little crunch. At her annual checkup, 2 weeks ago, her blood panel showed a vast improvement, our vet said she's seen 12 year old's not doing as well. Molly will be a K/D dog for the rest of her life. Thanks! by on 08/02/2016
ingredients on webpage are incorrect
Hills have changed their ingredients and k/d no longer contains egg white. My dog who needs this kind of food will no longer eat it, since this has changed. We had the one with the egg whites and she ate that. We picked up new food and my wife noticed that it looked different. She then looked at the ingredients and discovered that this has changed. There is nothing on the label stating that this has changed. It seems very haphazard for a company to change a prescription diet knowing that animals have very particular tastes and need the ingredients that are in the food. by on 07/22/2016
Dog won't eat food now
My dogs been on kd original can food for 7 years and has been doing good, blood works good and he likes food. Since the past month he hasn't been eating it so i find out they changed the ingredients in the food to where it's real soft and mushy, now he won't eat it. I don't know what I'm going to do now. by on 07/12/2016
Helps to keep my dog alive
I have been feeding my little Yorkie with bad kidney problems KD canned and dry food for 9 years .It helps to keep her system running smooth. I am so thankful for this food. by on 07/04/2016
Great Product
I Purchase This Yesterday, 6-28-2016..{Pet Smart in NJ}. My Dog Loves This Flavor Lamb Prescription Diet . Hills Special Offers Helps Me With The Cost.{Coupons}...Thank You Shirley by on 06/29/2016
Feedback
My dog won't touch either the dry or the wet food no matter what we do to enhance the appeal. When we take into consideration that astronomical price, I would have thought that the flavor would be appealing to the dog who eats anything except Hill's K/D. I'm glad that others are having such a success with the product. I with that were the case for us. by on 06/10/2016
Wish it came in a smaller size!
I have a Papillon who is on this kidney diet and I only feed him a small amount of canned food with the dry and I end up throwing some of it away every week (and the cans cost a lot to begin with!) since they only offer one size of the canned. They have the over the counter Science Diet in different size cans, why can't they do the same for this veterinary diet? by on 04/29/2016
Try baking this!!
We needed a "treat" to put our dogs pills into since he could no longer have any high protein treats. Our vet suggested baking the entire can of food (out of the can of course) at 325 for about 15 mins to firm up the dog food. We keep it in a container in the refrigerator and use it as treats for our dog. He will stand in the kitchen and whine for us to give him a treat. :o) by on 04/10/2016
k/d food is a big hit!!
My dog loves this food! He is excited to eat it every time and licks his bowl clean...on the inside and the outside! by on 02/03/2016
Picky pup likes it
The vet put my Spaniel on k/d when her kidney levels were off. Since eating the k/d her levels have started to improve. She is picky but she likes the Lamb flavored and now this one, so she has 2 flavors she will eat. She did not like any of the k/d stews and the dry food she tolerated but tired of it quickly and then refused to eat it anymore. by on 01/27/2016
Great taste
I use the veg. stew as a topping to his dry k/d,w/d food and he really loves the taste by on 01/23/2016
Totally has my appreciation
My 17 year old toy poodle Aero (translate VERY picky eaters) was down to 7 pounds from his normal 12. With my experience (old poodle #5), I thought he wouldn't make the winter. The vet suggested kd renal. Aero started prancing like a pup within a few days. His weight crept back. That was two years ago. He LOVES the most unsavory looking type in the regular renal health can. The lamb not so much, and he really doesn't care for the stew type at all. He is deaf and blind, has a hard time keeping upright on slippery floors, and sleeps 20 hours a day, but I still get the nose rub treatment every morning, and it is amusing to watch him find a "barrier" like a garden hose, and leap over it. I believe this food has kept him alive for two extra years. BTW His kidney function is perfectly normal. I find very few air bubbles. by on 01/12/2016
Has helped my dog's kidneys
My dog has been on this diet for 5 years and it has helped bring down and keep my dog's kidney levels within normal range. by on 12/16/2015
Sample Product
It was great to receive a sample from the vet. Jenna, who had stopped eating, seemed hesitant at first but has started eating again. Hooray! The only negative was the coupon included with the sample has expired. by on 11/28/2015
Our dog enjoys this food
We used all of Hill's kidney care products but this one seems to be our dogs favorite. The product is pricey but our dog needs it. It would be great if you offered more coupons or discounts! by on 10/30/2015
Product is healthy for my older dog
I feed my dog K/D Prescription Diet kidney care. He is older and this product is healthy for him. I'm happy with your product but Hill's Prescription Diet is expensive. If you had weekly or even monthly promotions that would assist the repeat customer. Coupons or discounts for regular customers would be an effective business model for Hill's. For example: 1: if you bought a case and were a regular customer you'd get 10%-20% discount. -Or- 2: if you emailed coupons directly to the regular customer by on 10/11/2015
Great food for my dog.
My 11 year boxer was having kidney problems and my vet recommended K/D wet and dry for my dog. the food has not only helped his kidneys but has brought back his spunk and playfulness. Great product! by on 10/06/2015
Need to wait until she goes off the Prenedsone to determine
Thus far this brand has helped her digestive problems. Getting coupons will be helpful with the expense of this product. by on 10/06/2015
my dog loves it
well made product - my dog loves it - wish it was a little cheaper though! by on 10/05/2015
Appears to be helping my dog
My 12 year old dog is not the fondest of the texture of the canned food and sometimes will not eat it (and totally refuses the dry version). I have found ways to "doctor" it up in order for her to eat it. Since on the K/D Renal she has maintained her weight and appears to be doing okay. We will know for sure when she has blood work done in November and can compare her results. by on 09/30/2015
very costly
really costly for someone on social security - she eats before I do - the chicken? in the stew is sometimes tough for her to chew - also purchase the dry k/d food would like to get coupons more often then 90 days by on 09/25/2015
My dog loves it
It's expensive especially for a large dog that has a big appetite. But he likes it and if it helps him, I will continue to get it for him. Please send out more coupons by on 09/24/2015
This product is great!!!
My dog seems to love the lamb flavor more then any other flavor. by on 09/23/2015
Dog does not like food.
The dog that is prescribed this food does not like it. Other dog that does not need this product loves it. Can't get the dog that has the prescription food will not eat any of the other flavors (wet or dry). I have to cook people food from a pet cookbook to keep the dog eating. by on 09/22/2015
my dog loves the can food
I wish there was a few more different flavors to be offered. by on 09/20/2015
Only food my yorkie will eat
My yorkie has a liver shunt. She is now 3 years old. The only food she will eat and does digest is k/d with lamb. I hear that the k/d with lamb is no longer available. She does not like the stew recipe. I will have to use k/d with chicken and I hope she eats it. This formula is the only one that she will eat and strive on it. by on 09/18/2015
k/d prescription diet canned beef and vegetables
Excellent product and it has helped keep my dog going. I am retired and the cost of this food is really expensive for me. It is the only food that he will eat. I wish you would offer more coupons as every little bit helps. He eats about 2 1/2 cases per month. I know it is helping to keep him (he is 15 1/2 years old and part of our family). I just don't know how long I can afford it. I am sure there are other retirees in the same boat. Thanks for making a great product. by on 09/12/2015
Dog had acute kidney failure
I used the K/D food exclusively for 5 months after my dog had leptospirosis induced acute kidney failure. Today I found out my dog's kidneys have returned to normal. He loved the canned food which came in 4 flavors.I also was able to get some coupons on line to help pay for the food which was a wonderful help. I thank Science diet so much for providing a scientific food so my dog could recover. I am planning on continuing with the wet K/D food along with other food since my dog likes it so well. by on 09/11/2015
Would like to see more flavors
My dogs tire easily of the same flavored food, so I would like to see more flavors of the wet/stew type. by on 09/11/2015
Quality Product
My dog is diagnosed with kidney insufficiency. He's an 11 year jack russell. Since using the product, he's had much more energy. I can tell he feels much better. by on 09/10/2015
Excellent product
I use to feed the original k/d my dog really did not like it so I switched to the Chicken and stew vegetables about a month ago and she loves it. My dog has been on the k/d for over a year and her kidney function is almost back to normal. by on 09/05/2015
My Shih Tzu
No problem in adjusting my Shih Tzu to this new food. So glad she likes it. Just wish I could buy on line to save a few dollars. by on 09/02/2015
Good product
Like availability of this food for my older dog. Wish more coupons/discounts were available. by on 09/01/2015
Don't forget the can opener
My 15 year old pup had been diagnosed by our vet with severe kidney failure October 2014. We started him out on Hills KD original but had to doctor it up with tiny pieces of chicken breast to get him to eat it. Along the way we tried another flavor that would come out like lamb or the stews. He would eat them for a short time and then lose interest. I tried him back on the original without the pull-top and he loves it. He eats a meal 5-6 times a day and without any doctoring it with chicken. Tre is doing his best now in August 2015 and loves life again. Excellent dog food along with the proper meds and a ton of love and attention are keeping my baby boy going strong. Thanks Hills! by on 08/15/2015
necessary item
Our dog was not a happy camper when she was put on a restricted diet, but she really "took" to the k/d lamb formula. She is not happy with either of the "stew" varieties, but if I mix in one of her favorite treats, she will eat it eventually. So we are anxiously awaiting the replenishment of your stock later this year. Please give us a "heads-up" when it becomes available again. by on 08/05/2015
my dog has just started on your product so haven't seen the
my loves this food. she is a picky eater and i was concerned when we had to switch her food that there may b a problem. but fortunately there wasn't by on 08/01/2015
This product has been a life saver!
My large mixed breed canine (Daisy) was diagnosed with kidney failure and my wonderful vet put her on this diet and she LOVES the wet and dry dog food! I think she would love it regardless. If you're looking for healthy options for your animals check out Hill's products! by on 07/31/2015
My dog loves the food.
My dog needed a change in her diet. She can be picky with different food choices. She loved 'Prescription Diet' the first try and licks her bowl perfectly clean each time. by on 07/28/2015
Great flavors and variety of different textures for animals
My senior dog really enjoys the K/D Chicken & Vegetable Stew. Licks his bowl clean every time! by on 07/24/2015
My dog loves this product
My dog Lola, has a liver issue and needs to be on a very low protein diet. I've tried so many different diets that I've lost count. She did eat these foods okay, but was never really in love them. Because of her diet, she is also not allowed to have treats, so she mostly eats veggies like green beans and carrots. I have always felt bad because she didn't like to eat her low-protein diets and she couldn't have any "cookies". So when the K/D stews came out, I took a sample home and tried it. Why not? The reaction I got to this food was amazing. I put her bowl down and she ate every last drop, the bowl was clean and even wanted more! It would usually take her all day to eat those other diets. So the next day, as I was getting her breakfast ready, she was dancing around the kitchen and was so excited to eat. She has never had this reaction to a low-protein food before. Again, she ate every last bite. Thanks to this food, I feel so much better because Lola is actually happy and excited to eat again! I feel like her quality of life has improved because she is still eating the low-protein, quality nutrition she needs, but she is happy again. She is not just slowly eating because she has to and knows there is nothing else. She has been on this food since it came out and let me tell you, she is still dancing around the kitchen for breakfast and dinner. And if I'm late, she is there to let me know! If my little Lola is happy, then I'm happy too! Thanks for making this wonderful food. by on 05/20/2015
Product is amazing
My mother-in-law's dog is an older female fox terrior. She was always a very picky eater but she has been having a lot of issues lately that made her an even pickier eater. She has been prescribed this canned food by her vet and wow what a difference it has made for her! She has actually gained weight and looks healthy after starting this food.The dog is so much healthier and spunkier! I am very happy that her vet prescribed this food for her. If I would win the gift card it would go straight to my mother in law to help pay for more of this wonderful food! by on 05/19/2015
This product helped get a pet who refused the k/d
Great palability! Helped to get a picky dog onto the right diet. by on 05/19/2015
Fabulous
Yesterday i went to my vet to pick up dry Hills K/D food and was given this sample. My pup LOVED it! However the coupon in the sample box was expired! (3/31/15). Will buy again but need a coupon because it is expensive. by on 04/30/2015
Short story
Our dog ate the k/d beef stew really well for a few weeks, but suddenly refused to eat it again. We've mixed with other foods that he likes, but he eats everything but the stew. by on 11/20/2014
My dog loves it.
My dog likes all four of the kd canned food flavors. I alternate the different flavors so he doesn't tire of it. It also refrigerates well and so far his health is excellent. I do however get the monthly coupon to help with the cost, but with the benefits my Little Bit is receiving from the Prescription Diet is worth the extra money I am having to pay. I highly recommend this product, especially if your dog has health issues. by on 10/29/2014
My Dog Loves This Product
I tried this product today and my dog would eat another can if she could. Seeing that she has to be on a strike diet I am glad that she loves her food. That makes me happy and her happy so all is good :-) by on 10/24/2014
Thank you for this healthy yummy k/d diet food
My vet prescribed the kidney diet for my golden retriever, Ayla. I was at wits end because she didn't find this diet very appetizing but she needed it for her health concerns. I was so glad you formulated the beef and chicken k/d stews. Ayla finds them very yummy and I am so glad that I no longer have to beg her to eat. She especially enjoys the beef stew. Thank you, Thank you. Its the best!!!! by on 10/21/2014
Something different that my dog loves!
We have been using Science Diet products for 16 years, and have always been very pleased with the results. However, for the last month, we were unable to get our dog to eat her k/d dry, or wet, food any more. This new stew is just what she needed - a change for her taste buds. Now she is eating, and seems to be feeling better. Thanks Science Diet! by on 10/19/2014
My dog loves it.
My dog really enjoys this food. He can't get enough of it. When it's from the fridge, I cut it up into pieces for him. by on 10/15/2014
My dogs love it..
Both of my 14 year old dogs have been on both the dry and the canned formulas for several years now. When their doctor first prescribed it I was concerned about getting them to eat it as they were both very picky eaters. I am pleased to say they both love it and are doing great on it. Thank you Hill's for keeping to keep my guys healthy and happy. by on 10/12/2014
excellent quality
Dog would not eat orginal KD but will eat KD chicken stew he loves it by on 10/07/2014
My dog loves it!
I was not sure how my dog would like this, but he really loves it. I've never seen him so excited to eat! by on 10/03/2014
finally she's eating!!!!
We started with the ground lamb...she just wouldn't eat it! So thankful we found the stew!!! It smells & looks just like OURS and Maggie LOVES it!!!!! Anything for our "first born!!!!" \(^o^)/ by on 10/03/2014
Easy to use and good for her renal problems
My dog has no teeth so the canned and dry foods get watered down. I recently ran out of the canned for a day and the dog would not eat the watered dried. I can get more tomorrow and she will be glad. by on 09/28/2014
Our dog didn't like it
The first few days he ate it with no objection. After about a week he started eating only part of it. Now he won't eat it unless I mash it up with his preferred food. by on 09/23/2014
K/D Chicken Stew
I cut up pieces of regular K/D can and added two spoonfuls of the chicken stew over the cut pieces and my dog loved it. I now keep both in the refrigerator and just slighly warm it up and she begs for her food. by on 09/21/2014
Finally a kidney diet my dog loves!!
This is what we have been waiting on! My dog loves it! I have not seen his appetite this good since he started to get sick. The only request is that is becomes more available. by on 09/19/2014
Dog loves this product!
I was worried that my dog would not like the new diet the vet prescribed. Wow, was I wrong. He cannot get enough. by on 09/15/2014
Happy Abby
Abby LOVES the lamb and regular K/D. She cannot get enough and her overall health has improved. by on 09/14/2014
My dog loves this food!
My 13 1/2 year old bichon's health was declining rapidly. She was not eating. Once we switched her to this food she regained her appetite! by on 09/06/2014
This product has helped my dog immensely
I am so thankful for KD Diet as my dogs blood test results are within normal ranges if he remains consistent with the KD Food. I am thankful my Vet recommended you as my dog Bullet and I are very thankful. Thank you again for a quality product. by on 09/05/2014
General Professional Opinion
PLEASE do not make Hills into a company that uses gimmicks to sell food and tries to fill every niche! Please get the peas and carrots INTO the food and not trying to make it pretty! by on 09/05/2014
Sunshine will eat it.
Some concerns about the age of the product. It has left a dark discoloration on the inside lid of the can. It pulls away from the can making it look like it is old. Sunshine will eat it, but often later in the day. She likes the lamb. Thanks for all your work in finding products that help. by on 08/29/2014
This Product is good for my dog
The food has extended our dogs life as he is in renal failure and needs a low protien diet that gives him the nutriants he needs by on 08/26/2014
First wet food my dog would ever eat.
This food is like real food. It really is a stew and it has a good scent as well as looking appetizing. My little girl eats it right up, unlike other wet foods she'd never touch. by on 08/24/2014
Abby Loves It!
Abby was still feeling ill when I had her on the dry perscription food, but soon after I switched her to the can, she has felt wonderful! by on 08/23/2014
This product worked well fro my dog.
I thought this dog food was a little pricey. My dog seems to digest it well and health wise she has been well. I wish I had known from the beginning that there were coupons you could print because this has been a great relief to me. Thank goodness my dog only eats one can a day. by on 08/21/2014
Great product however extremely expensive
Products have been great for my dogs however the price point is extremely high. Very difficult to obtain coupons Food quality excellent by on 08/17/2014
Keeps my dog healthy!
My pup suffered chronic kidney failure. Now he will be on k/d for the rest of his life. At first he didn't really like the taste but he quickly got over that and loves it now. I always warm it up for about 10 seconds chopped up. This product is just so great! I'm so happy that there is a product that works to keep my dog happy and healthy! by on 08/13/2014
My dog loves Hills Prescription Diet KD canned food.
Overall I love your canned food. After the first couple of failed attempts of trying to scoop the food out of the can with a spoon and getting it to an edible consistency, I found success with a fork. Have only been using your products for a month, but I'm hoping your food will help my dog to live a healthier and longer life. by on 08/07/2014
good but would like coupons
good but would like coupons because I have 2 dogs on prescription diets. I cannot afford this and may need to buy something else without some help by on 08/07/2014
Well beyond my expectations!
I must admit that I was skeptical about moving my 10 yr. old Chihuahua onto this prescription food. She had just been diagnosed with early signs of heart failure and was not feeling well at all. Our vet suggested she go on a low salt diet. I thought -- great, now it will be a battle to get her to eat on top of her health failing. Not the case at all with this food. She absolutely the taste -- has from day one. She feels so much better since I switched her off of the other food she had been on -- which had lots of sodium in it apparently (I couldn't tell that b/c dog food pkgs. aren't required to carry that info). She has very little if any water retention and is actually back to playing and jumping around. She begs for her food when it is feeding time. Hill's Prescription Diet k/d canned was the answer to my prayers for her honestly. by on 08/07/2014
Great new food my dog loves
I have been feeding k/d to my dog for a couple of months now and she liked it but now that she has tried the stew, she absolutely loves it. She jumps around like a young pup when she thinks it's meal time. by on 08/07/2014
This product is worth every cent
Our senior dog has been on this food now for approximately three months. Not only is the taste appealing to her, but her health issues are under control now. I attribute this to the quality food she is now getting. by on 08/06/2014
New can
Product is a good product but putting a pop-top on it causes a tremendous amount of waste. It's expensive to begin with--but, adding the pop-top, means you can't apportion it between meals. It's really quite maddening. And, when you've got a dog who's already suffering from kidney issues, you're already putting out a great deal of money. by on 08/06/2014
Hill's Prescription Diet K/D
There were only two prescription choices for my dog and he definitely prefers Hill's. I'm not sure why, but he goes through spells where he eats this fine - at first like it was dessert - and then he doesn't want to touch it. For his health sake, I refrain from giving him anything else and he will eventually eat it. It seems the quality of this product is very good though. I just noticed there is another flavor available so I'm going to see if the variety helps his appetite. by on 08/06/2014
This product has helped our family pet to be happier and
I would recommend this diet to other owners whose pet is having the same health issue. by on 07/25/2014
Excellent product
Having a dog who was diagnosed with kidney issues last year, it makes it necessary to ensure he eats low protein food. K/d takes care of that issue and he enjoys eating it, recognizing when I pull the can out. It has helped him enjoy a better quality, longer life than was once thought possible. by on 07/21/2014
This product has prolonged our dog's good lifestyle
Our Shitzu-cross was diagnosed with advanced renal failure in October 2013. He was not expected to live much longer. We switched his diet to Hill's k/d and his health, looks, energy and attitude changed almost immediately. It has now been 10 months since he started dining on k/d and he is looking good and even has "puppy moments" from time to time. Hill's k/d is a great product that has extended the life of our wonderful pet. by on 07/21/2014
Excellent product..
I have a little doxie that has been using this product for the past eight years. I am so happy you have added another flavor KD-Lamb. I just started getting this and she seems to like it quiet well. Thank you for your excellent products. Joyce S. Palmer by on 07/20/2014
Recommended by vet for my dog's declining kidney function
Don't know if the change in diet is working for my dog yet. He seems to enjoy the taste. Would love a canned food that was a little easier to get out of the can. The texture is very jelly-like. One other suggestion- make all cans with pop top. I cannot find the lamb flavor in pop top by on 07/17/2014
Great product and pet loved the taste
Our pet received a diagnosis requiring a special diet of which Hill's Prescription was recommended. After 3 weeks of following product feeding recommendations she exhibited a remarkable decrease in BUN and Creatinine numbers. Our pet finds both the original and Lamb based canned food to be very palatable. We have no problem with making sure she eats it all--- and she is a very picky eater. She has not experienced stomach upset with this product. Since being on this diet she has been able to maintain her weight and stay hydrated. The canned Lamb formula seems to have more moisture and is easier to use for administering pills if needed. Thank you Hill's Prescription team for helping our pets to live quality lives! by on 07/16/2014
even picky dog likes this
wet dog food very palatable to picky eater, even when mixed in with dry food. good for kidney problems by on 07/15/2014
My babies love it
They love the taste and my old girl is much better! by on 07/08/2014
Great benefits, horrible texture
I have a tiny yorkie (1 lb / 15 oz) who has a portosystemic shunt & a protein losing enteropathy. We have bounced between the K/D and I/D low fat based on which condition is acting up - but both (in combination with some prescriptions) have really helped extend his life expectancy and quality of life. The main issue we are experiencing with the K/D however is that its so thick, he has a really hard time eating it. He will spend 20+ minutes and not get through half his food. Any advice??? Help! by on 07/07/2014
This product has helped to prolong my dog's life.
It's expensive, but worth it! I believe it's helped to prolong my dog's life. Also I think the med's have kicked in:-) by on 07/03/2014
It's the best thing for his kidneys to heal.
It is expensive, but he likes it and it's helping him heal, so that makes me happy. by on 07/01/2014
Great product
My little bitty Macy has been eating canned K/D for 8 years, she LOVES it. I mix it with warm water and use a fork to mash up the food making a gravy. Plus it helps keep her healthy. It is expensive, but she is well work the expense. by on 06/22/2014
Eats it fairly well
My long coat chi was recently diagnosed with kidney failure. She will not eat the dry version of this product, but is eating the wet and seems to like it fairly well. by on 06/08/2014
My Picky Yorkie Loves It!
I was skeptical about this food, having had a disastrous experience with Z/D a year ago (vomiting and projectile diarrhea). It's only been 4 days, but it's 4 days my 11yr old Yorkie hasn't vomited bile. She was on Reglan, Pepcid, and Sucralfate for several weeks, but it didn't help. A friend gave me a can of K/D to try, (I purchased several cans afterward) and I'm thrilled so far. My dog actually begs for it--a first. I mash it with a fork and add a little warm water. I was surprised to read that it's best stored in the original can, covering with a lid. I'm hoping she continues to like it and doesn't develop any side effects. by on 06/03/2014
Has helped his kidneys tremendously
My vet put my 12 year old Brittany on the Kd wet food because she was worried that his kidneys were Starting to fail. After one month of feeding him the KD wet food. His kidney counts were cut in half. Thanks for a great prescription food that has improved the health of my long time pet. by on 05/26/2014
Helps his kidneys
My boy has been eating this for 1 and 1/2 yrs. now. His kidney's have improved and his lived longer they the vet had expected. But after 1yr. now he is tried of the taste, I don't blame him. I would not like to have to eat the same food over and over again. by on 05/19/2014
Happy with product
My dog's health has greatly improved since I have been feeding him this food recommended by my vet. I would definitely recommend this product. by on 05/05/2014
Our precious baby's condition has seemed to improve.
We are so happy that our precious baby's condition has seemed to improve with the use of this food and a supplement the vet prescribed. We can't imagine life without her. by on 05/03/2014
Awesome product
My dogs kidney levels increased within 3 weeks on this food. Her kidneys are now healthy enough for surgery. by on 05/01/2014
THIS PRODUCT SEEMS TO BE GOOD FOR MY PET
MY PET ENJOYS THE TASTE OF THIS CANNED FOOD, AND I WAS WORRIED SHE MAY NOT LIKE IT. IT SEEMS TO HAVE GIVEN HER MORE ENERGY. by on 04/29/2014
My yorkie needs this product.
I am glad that this canned food is helping my 15 yr. yorkie. However, it is quite pricey. I am buying12 cans every 2-3 wks. and it is expensive that often. My vet has excepted my coupons when I am able to get one printed. (not too often). It has increased in price several times. I would like to get a little more help from Hills and get a few more coupons. Other than the price. this food has helped my pet a great deal. thank you, Gerri by on 04/27/2014
My dog loves the taste
My 13 year old Shih Tzu has always been a picky eater.I would have to hand feed him most of the time to get him to eat until he was put on this food. He loves this and eats it all up by himself! by on 04/26/2014
Does the trick!
My 10.5 y.o. Airedale was put on this diet after being diagnosed with renal failure. I mash it up in his bowl with a potato masher and add enough boiling water to make it a porridge consistency. Add two ice cubes to cool it off and he LOVES it! He was on a kibble diet prior to his diagnosis and so I was a bit concerned how he would react to this new food. NO PROBLEM! He can't wait for his breakfast and dinner of K/D :-) by on 04/22/2014
This food has saved by dog's life
My maltese, Mystery was diagnosed with Renal problems before she was one year old. With proper medication and K/D as part of her feeding, she has managed to maintain healthy kidneys. She is now 9 years old and all her kidney check ups have been excellent. I also give her the Prescription dog treats (also for K/D eaters) and she enjoys them as well. by on 04/15/2014
The new Science Diet Wet Dog Food with Lamb
My Miniature Schnauzer has been on you KD for about 4 years. I was so glad to see you develop another flavor with Lamb. He does seem to enjoy it very much. I also give him some KD dried food with his mail... by on 04/06/2014
GREAT ADDITION TO FEEDING
This is a great addition to the dry prescription K/D we feed our Choc Lab, Mindy. I always have canned food on hand to aid in giving our 2 dogs their meds. I usually buy the brand that I have coupons for, as this is not their main food. This was a nice option to add to the dry prescription food, and I truly believe Mindy enjoyed it greatly! by on 03/30/2014
Has helped my 17 yr old dog tremendously
The Vet told us to give it a try because my dogs Kidney number was 87, which is near total failure. He said if my dog didn't like it, we could return it. Dog thought it was a real TREAT in beginning, because he's never had canned food. Still eating it fairly well after a couple months. The food along w/daily antibiotic & bi- weekly fluid therapy has brought the kidney number down to 27!!! Totally normal. Can't thank you enough. by on 03/26/2014
Prescription k/d Renal - one healthy dog - one happy dog
Good veterinary care and k/d food is helping me keep my dog as healthy as she can be. Since my vet isn't close by, I would like to be able to order it online. The only downside for me since I have a small dog is the 13 ounce cans ...she loves her k/d best when it's fresh, so I would like to be able to use a fresh can each day. I do know Hills offers other canned dog food products in smaller size cans, and I would love to see the k/d offered that way as well. I'm sure the many small/toy dog owners out there would appreciate a smaller can as well. I do appreciate how helpful your customer service is..always friendly..and always willing to do whatever they can for me. by on 03/18/2014
This product is so easy to use!
Our little girl really seems to enjoy the original. I've tried the lamb and she won't eat it. So, if you have a finicky eater, try to introduce the original & lamb together. by on 03/18/2014
Keeps my dog alive
My little Yorkie has medical problems and without this food she would not be here today. She has been on this diet for 5 years now.Hoping to keep her alive for at least 5 more. by on 02/25/2014
Taste
After struggling to find a kidney product that Giggles would eat, I found this one. I had to use KD flavored with tuna water which worked, but its so thick, I had to run the food thru the blender. She's much more excited with this product, which seems to have more flavor and not as dense. She runs to her bowl when its time to eat ! by on 02/22/2014
Canine Renal Health
My dog loved the can dog food. Unfortunaly, she only lived a week after being diagonised with Renal Failure. by on 01/12/2014
Doing great so far
Our Cindi is 12 and just recently went through a weeks long stay at the animal hospital. She's eating the k/d can and seems to love it, has put back on a little weight. Sometimes she eats it no problem, sometimes when it seems a little dry for her I'll add some water and mash/mix up, no problems so far. We feed all our Rat Terriers 10 of them, ranging in ages from 1.5 yrs old to 16yrs old. Hill's Science dry and wet food. They love it, switched once and switched back within two weeks. It's just good food, good for them and they love Hill's. by on 01/11/2014
Good Results
My 11year old Brittany was having some issues with her blood pressure and kidneys . She has been on several different medications, but her kidneys continued to produce large amounts of protein which is not a good thing. It was recommended by my veterinarian , who is a specialist, that a strict KD diet was necessary along with her meds. There were a few different kinds to chose from. But I decided to use Prescription KD. I have always fed my dogs one of the Science diet formulas from puppy on and have been pleased with the outcome. I know the taste of the KD could be a little bland..but my Brittany loved it. I mixed the canned with some of the KD dry food ..and she gobbles it up. After 6wks of being on the KD diet plan,,,her lab values have become more stable and she is doing pretty good. I really trust Science Diet /Prescription diet food for my dogs. I don't think there is a better product out there. by on 01/11/2014
My dogs love this and I use it as a treat too!
When I open a can both my dogs run to the kitchen the smell is delicious and I know good for their kidneys compared to regular canned food. Great value too!!!! by on 01/10/2014
So far, so great!!
My 15-year-old retriever was diagnosed with early renal failure on New Year's Eve. She's been on canned K/D for 4 days now and is showing a marked improvement. She isn't nearly as thirsty as she was, and isn't urinating so frequently. Every day's a gift with a dog this elderly, but so far, I'm very happy with the results. She likes the taste too! by on 01/04/2014