Anipryl PRODUCT REVIEWS PAGE 1 OF 1

Anipryl is a prescription medication that is used to treat Canine Cognitive Dysfunction Syndrome (CDS), also known as, Doggie Alzheimer's. Anipryl is also used to treat conditions caused by pituitary tumors.

Options Available: 2mg, 30 pills 5mg, 30 pills 10mg, 30 pills 15mg, 30 pills 30mg, 30 pills

Shop This Product

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 16 reviewers.

  • Sadly, dog got worse but not sure due to medicine
    My dog has CCD and has been on this for 3 weeks. She is a 16 year old Jack Russell. Either A) I was given a placebo or B)It has made her worse because sadly her condition is declining rapidly since the start of the pills. Or C) It hasn't started working yet? People say to give it a month so I bought more from another company just in case to see. She is getting lost constantly now, runs rapidly pacing through the house worse than before. And wakes up multiple times a night(now immune to melatonin and as usual pees everywhere in site constantly. by on 03/27/2017
  • works well- BE PATIENT
    i have some tips for users of this medicine that i haven't seen online yet. your dog may not be able to tolerate the full dose at first;my dog got extremely dizzy where he was unable to stand up and was circling non-stop. i cut his dose in half for an entire month, by the second month he was able to get the full dose and BAM-he started getting better. the first month he stayed the same but the purpose was to get his body used to the medicine. he is now looking us in the eye again, aware of our presence, napping in the day like he used to, stopped endlessly pacing, etc. etc. . he is a 17 year old chinese crested and it's good to have him back!!!! (still peeing on the floor, but we'll take it! ) by on 01/16/2015
  • ShihTzu Cushings-
    My pet was diagnosed with Cushings at 5 years old- Anipryl has done wonders. Since he's so mild mannered I was afraid to use the harsher treatment, and he is now 14 years old and still doing well. PetCareRx has saved me so much money, as Anipryl is much more expensive at my vet. by on 05/31/2011
  • Miracle Drug
    My 14-year-old German Shepherd mix has been on selegiline (Brand name: Anipryl) for six years now. It is a miracle drug. He was doing all of the typical "doggie Alzheimer's" behaviors mentioned in other reviews, but once he started on this drug, he was back to his old, sweet self. I really believe this has contributed so much to his quality of life. I would have put him down at age nine when he started to get aggressive and did not recognize people he knew, but my vet suggested this medication. It was a miracle! I am so pleased with this product. Here's a tip: It is often back-ordered, and his behaviors and symptoms regress within two days, so I always keep it stocked up at the house so he (and we) do not suffer. I highly recommend this prescription. Give it a try if your dog has been diagnosed with Canine Cognitive Dysfunction. by on 03/21/2010
  • Improved Quality of Life
    I was hesitant to start using Anipryl in my 13 year old Lhasa Apso, Sadie. I didn't want her to experience any side effects, but I decided to take the chance because her quality of life was suffering. It was breaking my heart to see her so "out of it." I noticed improvements in her immediately. She wasn't staring into space any longer and started showing me more affection. She seemed less confused and stopped isolating herself. It's not a miracle, but if your pet is suffering, take the chance. You may get your old dog back! by on 03/12/2010
  • Cushings Disease Treatment
    My Australian Terrier has been on Anipryl since Sep'08 to treat a somewhat mild case of Cushings. This, plus other nutritional supplements, has been a big help. It has moderated her hunger, drinking, wetting and ability to sleep thru the nite (rather than waking up at 2:30am barking for food!). Her skin and coat also improved after taking the drug. Although some vets do not deem it as effective as other, stronger drugs, it does not have the side effects of the others....I recommend trying it if your dog suffers from Cushings , particularly if other conditions are not present. As one other owner noted, over time, it may cause the dog to lose appetite and even become anorexic.....but this is not typical. Just keep an eye on your dog's eating behavior and you should be fine. by on 05/28/2009
  • Cushings Disease Treatment
    My Australian Terrier has been on Anipryl since Sep'08 to treat a somewhat mild case of Cushings. This, plus other nutritional supplements, has been a big help. It has moderated her hunger, drinking, wetting and ability to sleep thru the nite (rather than waking up at 2:30am barking for food!). Her skin and coat also improved after taking the drug. Although some vets do not deem it as effective as other, stronger drugs, it does not have the side effects of the others....I recommend trying it if your dog suffers from Cushings , particularly if other conditions are not present. As one other owner noted, over time, it may cause the dog to lose appetite and even become anorexic.....but this is not typical. Just keep an eye on your dog's eating behavior and you should be fine. by on 05/28/2009
  • Helped Cushing's Disease Symptoms But May Be Cause of Loss of Appetite
    I have a dog approximately 10 or 11 years old who started wetting inside the house at about age 9. He was also nervously pacing, drinking excessive amounts of water, shaking for no apparent reason and panting in the middle of winter. It was heartbreaking. After some bloodwork, our vet diagnosed our dog with Cushing's Disease (spelling?) which is an adrenal gland malfunction which can cause all of the above symptoms. After being on 30 mg of Anipryl for one and a half years, while the original symptoms are under control (it only took a week for improvement), our dog is hardly eating anymore and has lost some weight. The vet has recommended giving this dose of pill every other day instead of daily. Talk to your vet if your pet loses his/her appetite after being on these meds for a while. by on 03/24/2009
  • Old dog - new life
    My 13 yo standard poodle would just stand facing a door and scratch on it. She was disoriented and anxious. She's been on anapryl for 1.5 years now, and I feel that time has been a gift. She has many days now where she's as bouncy as ever, playing with the other dogs and coming out to the stable with me. Worth the money!SS by on 07/14/2008
  • Seems to work!
    I know the veterinary community is not entirely sure of this product's effectiveness. However, after months of my dog pacing and being awake half the night, a couple of weeks after beginning this pill, he sleeps through the night. My dog now settles down at around 9 or 9:30 and stays asleep (most of the time)! it was horrible seeing him in that type of distress, and in all honesty, the lack of sleep was really rough on us. This pill is the only answer as to why the pacing stopped. I think it is amazing. by on 05/12/2008
  • Seems to work!
    I know the veterinary community is not entirely sure of this product's effectiveness. However, after months of my dog pacing and being awake half the night, a couple of weeks after beginning this pill, he sleeps through the night. My dog now settles down at around 9 or 9:30 and stays asleep (most of the time)! it was horrible seeing him in that type of distress, and in all honesty, the lack of sleep was really rough on us. This pill is the only answer as to why the pacing stopped. I think it is amazing. by on 05/12/2008
  • Used Also For Canine/Dog "Alzheimer's Disease" Lifesaver!
    Also used for Canine Cognitive Dysfunction Disorder which is a type of canine Alzheimer's Disease. Absolutely saved my dog's life by slowing and reversing many of the symptoms and behaviors associated with this disease in aging pets such as: disrupted sleep wake cycle, agitated, barking, pacing, crying at night/very deep sleep during daytime, confusion including walking in circles and becoming "lost" in familiar places in residence, not recognizing his name at times, skittish about being petted, confusing inside and outside for bathroom, depression/agitation, etc. He is 1000% improved in all of these areas! I almost had to have him put down because he was so miserable. This medication was unfamiliar to my vets. I did the research, and I showed the information to my vets on this disorder and this medication, and I'm so glad that I did. This medication has bought us more time together. I have my old friend back again! by on 06/28/2007
  • Used Also For Canine/Dog "Alzheimer's Disease" Lifesaver!
    Also used for Canine Cognitive Dysfunction Disorder which is a type of canine Alzheimer's Disease. Absolutely saved my dog's life by slowing and reversing many of the symptoms and behaviors associated with this disease in aging pets such as: disrupted sleep wake cycle, agitated, barking, pacing, crying at night/very deep sleep during daytime, confusion including walking in circles and becoming "lost" in familiar places in residence, not recognizing his name at times, skittish about being petted, confusing inside and outside for bathroom, depression/agitation, etc. He is 1000% improved in all of these areas! I almost had to have him put down because he was so miserable. This medication was unfamiliar to my vets. I did the research, and I showed the information to my vets on this disorder and this medication, and I'm so glad that I did. This medication has bought us more time together. I have my old friend back again! by on 06/28/2007
  • Every dog is different. Just like us humans.
    My dog Sissy who is 14 yrs old has been on Anipryl for 3 months now and I saw an improvement after 1 month. Having concerns with the price but I scrape so my dog can have an easier life. She was put on it cause she was having problems with wetting inside the house not realizing inside from outside. She has had none of the side affects and her inside wetting is decreasing which makes me happy. by on 04/29/2007
  • Kim is right be consistent!!
    My 10y greater swiss mtn has been on Anipryl 30mg. SID for 1-1/2 years except for a lapse during the FL hurricanes last fall. After approximately 2 months his symptoms reoccured. Including aggitation, aggresion, moodiness, psyco seizures,and disorientaion. This medication can take anywhere from 2 to 6 weeks to see full results so be patient and consistent for a fair trial.*This is a prescription item by on 06/21/2005
  • Be Consistent
    Many other people with elderly dogs have not had success with this product. We have found, through human error, that consistency is a MUST. If you are faithful about giving this to your dog daily, it can really help. Wally is now 15 and has been on Anipryl 1.5 years. It gave him, and us, a new "leash on life". He is calmer, more alert, less clingy, and less agitated.*This is a prescription item by on 01/27/2005
Page 1 of 1 1
EV SSL Certificate

Want a treat?

Enter your e-mail address to get a secret discount
code for your first purchase:

X