Tetra Whisper Power Filter PRODUCT REVIEWS PAGE 1 OF 1

Options Available: Model 30,10-30 Gallon Tanks

Shop This Product

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 10 reviewers.

  • I have been using these filters almost 2 decades and they are still the BEST!!!!
    I ventured away based on a recommendation of my LFS a few years a go for two new tanks but recently bought 2 new Tetra Power Filters to replace them... I never should have bothered with those other ones with the biological wheels.... The Tetra Power Filters have always been good reliable quite filters but most of all EASY TO DISASSEMBLE AND CLEAN!!!! And if you need replacement pieces they are readily available you don't have to buy the whole contraption! (but this will be years down the road) Very little has changed with these filters over the years (why would they? they work awesome!) so everything I've needed to maintain my more vintage ones still works and fit perfectly! Keep up the good work TETRA!!!! But don't change a thing! Two things I would like to see developed for this system is an accessory to allow it to be used as a vacuum on water change days so you can attach a flex hose of sorts to the intake tube and run the filter as a gravel vac! and I wish there was a ceramic or may be a titanium shaft available for the impeller Assembly as I do use this filter for one of my saltwater aquariums!!!! by on 03/18/2016
  • Great features, easy to use,price is good, easy to get filter bags, quiet.
    I have used Whiper Filters for over 40 years they're great, I've run 10, 20, 29, 72 tanks and now a new 60 gallon tanks and have used Whisper Filters on all of them. At this time ,I'm running 2 model 40's on the new 60 tank. I won't use any other brand. These filters hold up well and are so easy to use, and quiet by on 01/19/2016
  • Whisper filters are my absolute favorite...and I have used many brands.
    I bought my first Whisper almost 15 year ago...It is on my 20 gallon now and still running silent and strong. Fantastic filters and great prices led me to purchase a new Whisper on a new large aquarium I just bought. I will be purchasing more soon so all my tanks are filtered with Whisper filters. Quiet... Efficient and economical..great product. I highly recommend one to anyone with a aquarium of any size. by on 05/31/2015
  • This product needs revised.
    After a week or two the cartridge kind of gets backed up from good bacteria. And the way the filter is designed you get too much back flow instead of the bad water going through the cartridge, forcing it to go out the back. And you can't control the flow which is very strong, too strong to function properly. by on 04/04/2015
  • This products leaks around the plug area.
    I bought 2 and both leaked. ruined my floor! won't buy by on 09/22/2014
  • This filter is ineffective
    I have used the Whisper filter system for years and have been very pleased with them. Sad to see the old exterinal style phased out and had to purchase this in tank system. My tank developed a scum on top after a while and when cleaning out the tank after about 2 months of use (yes, I admit, I am a very bad fish tank caretaker) the filter still looked clean. The old style would have looked like a layer of mud caked on it. I will be looking for a new filter and it will not be a Tetra. by on 04/07/2014
  • Very loud
    I just purchased a whisper 60 filter and it is so loud I have to turn my tv up two times higher than normal cant here someone talk tow from across the room.it sounds like it is constantly trying to fill up with water like when you 1st plug the filter in an add some water that whirling sound but never goes away. I have had this product plugged in for two hours an it is going back to the store. I don't recommend this filter to anyone. by on 03/09/2014
  • Easy yo use and very economical.
    A quality little H.O.B filter that gets the job done. I have 10 of these filters ranging in size from a Jr. on a 5 gallon tank to a whisper 5 on a 75 gallon tank. Some of my filters are over 20 years old and still performing well. My newest filter is the Whisper 60 that is installed in a 29 gallon tank. I chose this filter because of my past reliability results and the ability to control the flow rate. Most filters on the market today do not offer adjustable flow rates and to me this is a very important feature. I purchase a larger filter than the tank rating so if I need more filtration I can simply turn up the flow. When I don't need it I can simply turn it down. I like being able to turn the filter to low during feeding time so I feed the fish and not the filter. Filter replacement media for these filters is widely available and very economical. by on 12/27/2013
  • Great Product, Quiet, Easy To Assemble
    I got my first (real glass!) aquarium in January. It was a 15 Gallon Kit. It came with a Whisper PF10 and Heater. It was so easy to set up and assemble. The only problem I had was that it made a grinding noise, so I looked back at the instructions I had missed the important step of filling the filter box with water! Haha! xD Now it is working great, and my aquarium is fully cycled and home to a small school of Zebra Danios and a Bristlenose Plecostous. Thank you, Tetra! :) by on 07/14/2012
  • CLASSIC POWER FILTERS THAT WORK!
    I bought my first Whisper power filter 24 years ago for my first fish tank. I still use them because they work! They are so easy to use and have a low price. Nice and quiet too! They come with Bio foam to grow beneficial bacteria. The filter cartridges are inexpensive and trap a lot of dirt and gunk. I own 4 of these filters and love them! They practically last forever too! Why buy some complicated over-priced filter? Get one of these! A great investment for your fishy friends! by on 01/07/2012
Page 1 of 1 1