Purina Pro Plan Shredded Blend Large Breed Dry Dog Food Product Reviews

Pro Plan Savor Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice Large Breed Dog Food for adult dogs offers the nutritional extras you've come to expect from Pro Plan specifically formulated for your large breed dog. We start with real chicken as the #1 ingredient in a multi-textured blend of hard kibble and savory tender shredded pieces--for an optimum combination of nutrition and taste. Then we added wholesome grains, including rice and whole wheat, which are highly digestible sources of carbohydrates for energy ... Read More

Rated 5 out of 5 by 60 reviewers.

Great dog food!

I have used this on 3 foster dogs 2 out of the 3 seemed to really like the food. Liked seeing real chicken pieces in the food. by on 07/07/2016
Helps those big bones grow strong

In rescue we see a lot of dogs with different needs. Usually when i write a review its pertaining to rescue dogs. But this is one product that I use for my personal dogs who range from 2 years to 8 years old. Most have been on the large breed formula for most of their adult life. Weighing in between 100 to 180 lbs each. This food has proved to be a great resource for keeping them healthy. On a solid diet, and maintaing weights. by on 06/18/2016
Great Food

I bought this for my smaller and older dog because of the shredded texture. He loves it! by on 06/10/2016
Love large breed!

I have several large breed dogs and they enjoyed this by on 06/08/2016
Exactly what you need for large breed dogs.

My vet is very specific that with large breed dogs you need large breed formulas. He doesn't trust brands that don't have records and research to back up their formulas...Purina does. So it's an acceptable brand to him and my dogs do great on it. by on 05/18/2016
Go To Food For Our Dogs

We run a small rescue for large breed dogs. Pro Plan Savor is our go to dog food. All of our dogs like it and it is a product we are comfortable recommending to adopters to continue to use when they adopt our dog. by on 05/16/2016
LARGE BREEDS!

PURINA has answered the call...A LARGE BREED DOG FOOD FOR THEIR SPECIAL NEEDS! by on 05/12/2016
We've got happy dogs!

Our dogs love this food, not a piece gets left behind. Their coats look great and they maintain a healthy weight! by on 05/11/2016
My dogs love the shredded blend!

My dogs seemed to be bored with their old food, so I tried this. They love the shredded blend. As a pet parent, I can be confident in Purina Pro Plan's quality. by on 05/11/2016
Wonderful food

All of our dogs who are fed "regular formula" are fed this and they love it so much better than the regular large breed formula. We are a firm believer in feeding size appropriate formulas. Purina has done lots of studies and research as to what their nutritional needs are. All of our personal dogs are large breed dogs. by on 05/06/2016
Added Glucosamine Good forJoints!

The greyhounds love the taste and seem to move better and are more supple after eating this formula. by on 05/03/2016
Great for large dogs

I was given a sample of this food and my Doberman loved it. by on 05/01/2016
Great Dane

This food has been an excellent food to put weight on for a Great Dane that has come in very thin. by on 04/09/2016
Yummy!

This savor blend seems to really fill up my dogs belly and not a lot of waste. by on 04/08/2016
Wonderful!

We use this product the most at our rescue. The dogs love it. by on 04/06/2016
scott kimmel's dog nutrition

Have been feeding pro plan for the life of my dogs. Recommended by my breeder. Economical and available. Most of all the dogs like and are healthy. I do recommend this food to friends. by on 02/26/2016
Terrible!

Hello, I recently bought two bags of the Shredded blend for large dogs and I was very unsatisfied! Both bags when you opened them had a terrible odor and the food was extremely hard, even for big dogs. When I went back to return them, they said I could not because I opened the bags and to contact you. I am very angry about this! I usually buy all of my pet foods from this brand but now I might stop because of this! by on 08/10/2015
Great Dane Approved!

We currently own 3 Great Danes and a weimeraner. They love this dog food. We had switched them to this brand when it first came out. They were on Eukanuba and wasn't gaining any healthy weight. Great Danes are lean but not where you should see their ribs. We switched them to Purina Pro Plan and they look perfect and healthy! We have also had two litters of Great Dane Puppies and recommend this brand to all the new owners! by on 07/12/2015
Just LOVE it

I am using pro plan for all my dogs. When i got a litter there a raced on pro plan puppy! by on 05/04/2015
Pro Plan Shredded Blend Chicken and Rice L-Breed

Dudley has been on Pro Plan since we got him at 7 months. Our vet suggested this. For a time he ate sensitive stomach, but for 5 years he has thrived on the large breed Savor chicken and rice. He has been healthy;his coat is velvety and shiny. I like the shredded blend because the pieces are big enough that he chews them (he eats fast and they fit into a kong - which prolongs the dinner time). by on 05/04/2015
Owner/trainer

I have been using purina dog food for 20 or better years. Would not trust any other food for my dogs. My dogs are working Irish Setter bird dogs. Four adult dogs are certified gun dogs and two 2 year olds almost certified. We are in the field a lot, and I find the savor works well for them. by on 04/23/2015
great product

good product-beautiful coat and great overall health by on 04/16/2015
great food for an affordable price

my dog(s) have been eating purina products forever. I trust purina and my dogs love the savor, they are very healthy, active and their coats are nice and shiny. what more can I say except I am a professional dog trainer who suggests the purina line to anyone who asks. by on 03/30/2015
Adult 7+

Just tried the new Savor Shredded blend chicken and rice for Adult 7+ years and the dogs love it. Have used Pro Plan for years, but this was a great addition by on 03/19/2015
A year on Pro Plan

We switched over our older dog (picky eater) after seeing how well the new puppy responded to the large breed puppy formula. The breeder said Bulldogs loved the Savor Shredded and he was right. He cleans his bowl now, acts like a puppy again and his coat glistens in the sun. Thanks Pro Plan. by on 02/25/2015
She loves it!

We had started our German Shepherd puppy on another leading brand of dog food and it was hard to get her to eat it. Once we switched to purina pro plan she gobbles it up every day! by on 01/29/2015
Great food.

Started feeding our Alaskan Malamutes this a few months ago. One is a very picky eater. We had tried all different brands I saw this and got a bag. They both love it. I like the bigger pieces thes big guys won't eat a small kibble. by on 01/09/2015
We only use Pro Plan

My large breeds love this food, especially the shredded blend texture. I have used only Pro Plan for all my dogs for 20+ years. They have all been healthy and happy! by on 10/18/2014
The Pack Gives Paws Up

I have seven dogs two small breeds five large. All of them absolutely love proplan. I used to buy the more expensive food but found it made them sick. Proplan keeps them healthy and happy! by on 10/11/2014
My Dogs Love your products

I have been feeding Pro Plan Shredded Chicken, Beef and Lamb all of their lives, they are all 5 years old. Not only do they love it, but they are healthy and happy dogs. Thank you. by on 10/06/2014
so far so good

I have tried the expensive brands on both my large dogs and they don't really seem to like it much, they just ate it cause that's all they had. i started a few days ago on pro plan savor, my dogs just love it. they normally eat like 2 cups twice a day and they eat out of the same bowl. Now i have to seperate them so the other dog doesn't steal all the food. It is a decent price and good for my boys, i believe i will continue to get this product.ร‚ย  by on 09/25/2014
Wonderful!

I had to change my dogs food after one of my labs' health started to decline. She was having trouble moving and getting around but I am happy to say with the large breed formula food her mobility has improved greatly!! by on 09/17/2014
My dogs are very happy with the Beef & Rice

This is the only dog food I buy. Meat is the first ingredient. My two dogs are very healthy, and their coat, and eyes are beautiful. by on 09/15/2014
pro plan

he enjoys it because its easily digestable..and has the flavors he loves by on 09/12/2014
My Rottweiler loves this food.

When she was a puppy I tried a product a friend recommended. Emma vomited after every meal. I switched to ProPlan and she loves it. by on 09/12/2014
Dog loves it

My dog somtimes dose not want dry food but she always eats the shedded chicken by on 09/12/2014
Great Product

I have been buying this product for years. Large Breed weight mgmt. formula by on 09/12/2014
Ava loves it!!!

Great food at a great price!! Started with royal canin and it was just too expensive and I didn't really think that it was any better quality than pro plan by on 09/11/2014
The best dry food!!

We have used this for our two labs. Their energy and glistening coats get positive comments from everybody. by on 09/11/2014
Mealtime enthusiasm!

We started our fur kid on the Pro Plan Savor and he loves it! Plain. We always had to add canned meat to his previous brand of dry, to get any mealtime enthusiasm before. He was practically snorting the first time we fed the Savor. Great product! Thanks Purina by on 09/06/2014
Our dog is in great condition

We started using Purina ProPlan because the breeder of our new puppy was using it. We always have continued to use a product with a new dog until we could slowly change over to what we were using with our other dogs. With this food we saw no reason to change. He likes it and he looks great; why mess with success? by on 03/24/2014
Loved by my dogs!

We have always had our German Shepard on this food on the recommendation of our vet, but our new German Shepherd puppy was on a different food. ร‚ย We were going to switch him slowly to Purina by mixing in small to larger amounts over a week or so. ร‚ย To our surprise, the new puppy would pick out the Purina and leave the old food in the bowl! ร‚ย He loves Purina as much as our other dogs! by on 03/24/2014
Pro plan review

My toby just gobble this up. Nice texture for his sensitive stomach will buy again which I have. by on 03/20/2014
Excellent product

We have three dogs, (1)144 lbs, (2) 75 lbs and have fed them Proplan since we got them 9 years ago. The dogs are healthy, have shiny and soft coats, and run through the yard like pups! They are as healthy as can be and we owe it to their diet! by on 03/19/2014
Great flavor

She loves it and eats it without any fuss. It is the perfect food for a busy dog. by on 03/19/2014
My dogs Love it!

I volunteer with a Siberian husky rescue group, Pro Plan is the only food we feed our rescues and even our rescues in fostering. Excellent Quality for our dogs! by on 03/18/2014
Great formula for active dogs

We have used Pro Plan from the puppy to adult stage. We have a vizsla and it fits his very active personality and lifestyle. It gives him all the nutrition he needs. He has developed a bit of a sensitive stomach lately, so we may be trying the sensitive skin/stomach formula. We would never think of going with a different brand, though! by on 03/17/2014
My dogs love it!!!

My very old golden retriever, never really cared what she eat as long as he ate, now she is dancing when she sees it. by on 03/17/2014
Raving Review from the Retriever

My have been feeding my golden retriever Pro Plan Large Breed since she came home with us. As she transitioned to the adult formula, she continues to be very excited to eat her food, enjoys both the kibble and the shred and offers a great experience for feeding between she and I. She is able to maintain a healthy weight on the formula as well, especially after her spay.ร‚ย  by on 02/04/2014
Great dog food

We have been feeding our Doberman since he was a puppy and he has done wonderfully on it. I searched high and low for the perfect food for our dog and gave many a try. Our Dobe is VERY picky and she did not really like รขโ‚ฌหœrawรขโ‚ฌโ„ข foods (weird, I know). We tried kibble, raw, freeze dried raw and freeze dried cooked foods. She always went back to the kibble. We happen to have an amazing dog/cat supply store near us, that carries the top food brands (amongst other things) and I was recommended to try Pro plan SAVOR. He loved it right away and I was pleased to purchase such a high quality, healthy food for him. by on 01/18/2014
Fussy dog loves this

ร‚ย I have 2 dogs and they both love this food. ร‚ย My lab has a very sensitive stomach and this is really the only food that I can feed him on a regular basis without him getting sick. ร‚ย I've tried other foods but both dogs refuse to eat it after a week or so. ร‚ย They are both healthy, full of energy and have great coats. by on 12/21/2013
The best food for Dogs and Cats!!

I have two dogs and thirteen cats and all eat Purina Pro Plan. My one dog is 14 years old and I nicknamed her the Pro Plan girl. She looks and feels beautiful. I tried other high quality foods, but the results I got from Pro Plan are amazing. Thank you Purina!! The only down fall is my bill is about 500 hundred dollars every 6 weeks. I feed them a combination of wet and dry food. They truly seem to like it and I'm loving the shine and health of my animals. by on 10/28/2013
Savor - Large Breed

My Alaskan Malamute loves the kibbles. I just wish it came in Giant Breed. I have to mix it with Giant. by on 10/18/2013
All around great food

I gave the Pro plan adult chicken to my previous retriever mix dog and after she passed I adopted an adult pit mix. There was nothing else I would even consider feeding him other than the Pro Plan Large Breed Adult Chicken. He loves it and he has great energy throughout the day. He is healthy, and everybody always comments about the beautiful shiny coat he has. Thank you Pro plan ! by on 10/13/2013
My dogs adore this

4 large breed dogs and they ALL just love this food by on 10/07/2013
Coat compliments

My 3-yr mutt has been eating pro plan since she was a puppy. ร‚ย She's happy, very active, white teeth, healthy weight & a coat that is shiny & soft...she gets compliments all the time on this feature. ร‚ย I attribute her coat & overall great health to this dog food! ร‚ย I especially like that animal nutritionists ensure a properly balanced diet in each bite! ร‚ย Thanks Purina Pro Plan, for contributing to the health of my fur-family :) by on 08/31/2013
good food

i have tried the more expensive foods and found my dogs eat more of that food than this food. this is the first time i have tried this food and yes my kids seem to like it and eat it but they dont gorge them selves.ร‚ย  by on 05/06/2013
My Dogs Love It!

I have given Pro Plan to my Golden Retriever and Great Pyrenees since they were puppies. I have also tried the more expensive brands, but after comparing ingredients (really comparing and researching) Pro Plan Savor Large Breed is an excellent choice for us. by on 02/02/2013
Disappointing

Any educated pet parent would pass on this based on the ingredients. There are much better dry foods available on the market for comparable price points. by on 01/24/2013
Great food

I have given this product to my German shepherd since the day I got her and let me say that she loves it. She has tried the most expensive dog foods that were ment just for her breed but this is the only dog food she has actually liked and eats by on 12/29/2012