Purina Pro Plan All Life Stages Chicken and Rice Formula Dry Dog Food Product Reviews PAGE 1 OF 5

Analysis:Crude Protein (Min) - 26.0 %Crude Fat (Min) - 16.0 %Crude Fiber (Max) - 3.0 %Moisture (Max) - 12.0 %Linoleic Acid (Min) - 1.4 %Calcium (Ca) (Min) - 1.0 %Phosphorus (P) (Min) - 0.8 %Selenium (Se) (Min) - 0.30 mg/kgVitamin A (Min) - 15,000 IU/kgVitamin E (Min) - 460 IU/kgAscorbic Acid* (Min) - 70 mg/kgGlucosamine* (Min) - 400 PRO PLANmGlutamine* (Min) 1.0 %... Read More

SHOP NOW

Options/Sizes:

Rated 5 out of 5 by 405 reviewers.

Ok features

I bought this for some of the rescues and learned that they do not do well with chicken products. But for some of the others that are tolerant of chicken it was ok. by on 07/04/2016
My dogs love it - BUT

There are bugs in the food. It has white stuff and when separated there is either a worm or a bug comes out. by on 07/04/2016
Success

We feed this to our rescue collies with very nice results. by on 06/30/2016
Great taste and healthy nutrition

We purchased this formula for some Rescue transport dogs that were stranded mid-transport due to a wreck. Their sensitive digestive systems handled the food very well, despite it being a change from their usual diet on top of the stress from the wreck and transport in general. by on 06/11/2016
good food

I feed my personal dog this food and she does great on it! by on 06/09/2016
Great Product

I have a GSD that has been an extremely picky eater since we've had her as a puppy. We went through many brands of dog food before finally finding ProPlan Savor. Our dog loves it and will finally eat on her own without being enticed. She has finally put weight on and is at the weight she should be. We couldn't be happier! She also enjoys a variety of their treats! by on 06/06/2016
Savory sounds like it is really tasty

I do feed this food. My dogs love this food. I do switch between flavors though. by on 06/03/2016
You had me at Savor!

We have been feeding Pro Plan Savor to our own and the rescue dogs, all love it, especially the chewy chicken bits. by on 05/15/2016
My foster loves this food

My foster who this this food is no longer a picky eater by on 05/14/2016
Dogs love it!

We tried our adult dogs on this product and they loved it. They did tend to pick out the shredded pieces first! by on 05/12/2016
Great find

We were sent some samples of this food and it is the ONLY food one of our rescue dogs will eat. We are so glad we tried it.. it's now the only thing the foster will buy! by on 05/12/2016
Great Food!

Love that chicken is the first ingredient, the dogs love it as well. They really seem to enjoy the food. by on 05/11/2016
Great food at a great price

Being a rescue, we spend a lot of money on food and want to get the best quality possible. This achieves a great balance of quality and price. by on 05/11/2016
Pro Plan Shrdded Blend Chicken and Rice

We feed all of the Pugs that are not overweight or on special dietary restrictions this product. They all love it by on 05/10/2016
Great Food

Our dogs do very well on this food. Their stools are firm and they are able to maintain a good weight and wonderful coat condition. by on 05/10/2016
My dogs love it!

My dogs had been on a good-quality food, but they didn't seem excited about it. They like the Purina Pro much better! by on 05/10/2016
Well balanced!

Our rescued dogs love this flavor, its a great choice for general feeding. by on 05/10/2016
English Bulldog approved!

My English Bulldogs can not just any food because they are prone to food allergies. Once I find them a food their allergies agree with it seems their taste buds grow tired of it pretty quickly. This brand is not only great for their sensitive allergies, they love the flavor!! I am so happy I finally found a food I can stick with! by on 05/02/2016
Awesome Product

We feed our dogs this brand. They do wonderful on it and love the taste. by on 04/29/2016
disappointed

I never got my $5 coupon. My dogs love this food and they are a part of our 501c3 so need dogfood badly. by on 04/25/2016
Picky dog eats it!

Recently switched and Jesse is finishing his meals now when it used to be a struggle. by on 04/18/2016
Great food for nursing mom

We recently tried this food on a mama who came in with a litter of pups. She was refusing to eat until we offered this. She LOVED the chicken pieces. She kept her milk supply and gained some needed weight. by on 04/16/2016
Our furever friend gobbles it up!

Bought this for our rescue and she loves it. Not a piece left in the bowl. We can't imagine getting her any other kind! by on 04/04/2016
Great Food

This food is a very good quality. I feed it to my rescue dogs and they all love it. When the dogs come into rescue there coats look horrible. A couple weeks of eating Pro Plan Chicken and rice and they get a shiny healthy coat. by on 04/02/2016
35 years of breeding Quality dogs

This has been in my program since it came out. I believe in quality. by on 03/23/2016
Great food!

Our foster dogs love this food and enjoy finding the special shredded pieces in their bowl! There isn't ever 1 kibble left over! by on 03/21/2016
Awesome food

We've fed several dogs this food. Every single one does great on it. They are healthy and they have shiny coats. by on 03/18/2016
Bayne loves this food

Bought the pro plan food for my baby and he loves it! He's a picky eater. by on 03/13/2016
Excellent Dog Food

I started on Purina Pro Plan Savor a year ago and I am very happy with the quality of food. I have multiple dogs, Australian Shepherds and Border Collies. Their coats and overall health is excellent and they love the food. We compete in different events, frisbee competitions are the main events but also do Agility and Rally Obedience. by on 03/09/2016
Great Product!

Great product. Dogs loving it and coats look great by on 03/08/2016
Pit Bulls Love It

This is the only food my dog will eat! She has tried several different brands and flavors, but this is the one I can be assured she will eat. by on 03/07/2016
fantastic diet

Our dogs do very well on this diet. They maintain their weight and have good energy. by on 03/07/2016
proplan

I have been feeding my own pets proplan dry foods for years and I confidentially always recommend it when my clients ask what do you feed your own pets. I have been very happy with the results and my pets have done well. by on 03/07/2016
Gentle on the Tummy!

I buy this dog food especially for my little Chihuahuas who have had stomach issues in the past. They love the chicken and rice formula, and it doesn't cause any digestive issues. I love it! by on 03/07/2016
Dogs Liked it!

I have 1 dog that is very picky but she really liked this product! by on 03/05/2016
dogs loved it

We bought this for one of our picky dogs and she loved it yay by on 03/02/2016
It jumps out at you

We've used this many times and the dogs like it a lot. by on 02/28/2016
great dog food

Great food easy to find in local stores. Affordable. by on 02/26/2016
hunting dog

My dogs that hunt in the field have plenty of energy even after a full day of hunting. While on feeding them ProPlan during the season they do not lose any weight and are as healthy at the end of the season as they when they started. by on 02/26/2016
Awesome Tasts

the rescues get this food and we don't need to beg them to eat anymore. by on 02/26/2016
propan chicken rice

Great all round food l switch to sport blend during hunting season just extra protein by on 02/25/2016
Excellent overall quality and price!

I feed this dog food regularly to my own dogs as well as my foster dogs. They all love this product. by on 02/24/2016
Keeps Dogs Happy

At the rescue, its easy for our dogs to get bored. They always light up with this food in their toys! by on 02/23/2016
I love the shredded chicken in this food

I just tried this food and the bright minds when i became a Purina Partner. I love it!!! by on 02/22/2016
Dogs love it!

Our large crew of foster dogs absolutely love the Pro Plan Savor line! It is by far their favorite! by on 02/19/2016
Happy Lab

We love that the first ingredient is chicken and so does Zoรƒยซ! by on 02/18/2016
GSD

My 7 year old GSD and 4 month old GSD (she is on the puppy formula) absolutely love ProPlan Savor! Good formula, and believe me when I say they always have the energy to prove it. No tired puppies after a meal in our household! by on 02/10/2016
pro plan is a pro for our champions

We have proudly fed our 5 dogs nothing but purina foods. we have taken in rescue dogs and strays at times and the nutrition they get from these products makes then strong and satisfied. We TRUST Purina to PRO-vide all our pets needs. by on 02/08/2016
Becky

Very palatable to all 3 of my dogs, and they have great improvement to their coats by on 02/04/2016
Love the chunks

The dogs love this food. The chunks are amazing. The food is used with us too in zip lock bags and used as treats during training. by on 02/01/2016
Amazing product!!!!

We recieved this product for our fall shipment and i have noticed a huge differance in the ones who switched to it. Our older girl was having digestion issues and sometimes throwing up when she ate. Since she has been on this product she has not thrown up since. The others seem to have more energy and are more playfull and not sluggish. by on 02/01/2016
Dogs loved it!!

I bought this for my boxer & he is a picky eater. He loves this food!! by on 01/28/2016
Never any complaints!!!

This is the brand of food we receive as a donation as a Rally to Rescue partner and we use it with our foster dogs. We never have any complaints. Even with the pickiest of eaters - all enjoy! Some warm water and Savor kibble with shredded chicken and rice makes for some happy pups in our program! by on 01/27/2016
Hungry Dogs

I started feeding Pro Plan Shredded Blend Chicken and Rice to all our rescue dogs over a year ago. The very first time I gave them the new food, they couldn't empty their bowls fast enough. They all love this food. I've not had one dog have an upset stomach on this wonderful food. by on 01/22/2016
Oh, those little chicken shreds!!

My chihuahua-mix dog loves the Purina Savor shredded chicken and rice. He will take out the dog food chunks first and put them on the floor around his dish just so he can eat ONLY the shreds first. It is quite comical. by on 01/22/2016
Finally...he likes it!

I bought this food for our Sheltie, Monty, who would much rather have pizza or any people food. This food, though, has finally gotten him to eat his dog food with some enjoyment. He heads to his dish each morning and eats his breakfast until the dish is empty....a never before occurrence. Thanks, Pro Plan, for making a dog food that Monty enjoys every day. by on 01/21/2016
tasty

I use this diet with patients in the hospital . They love the taste. by on 01/19/2016
Great Features

I love Pro Plan. It allows Tony Montana to have a great shine to his coat, his bowel movement is not smelly, and his nails grow at a rapid rate. Pro Plan allows him to look very healthy and he enjoys its favor. by on 01/19/2016
good stuff!!!

Quality ingredients and highly palatable, a big hit with clients as well as my own dogs :) by on 01/18/2016
Love it!

This product works great for my dogs! They love the good taste. by on 01/18/2016
great food!

My dog loves it! She can't wait at meal time and literally runs to the food bowl. by on 01/18/2016
She loves it

I have tried about every dry dog food out there the rely expensive ones she didnt like at all. But she like the Purina Pro plan she picks out all of the shreds first by on 01/18/2016
very palatable

My dog's love the shredded chicken. Bland enough for pets with intermittent GI upset. I prefer purina products for my personal pets and professionally. by on 01/18/2016
my dog won't eat anything else

K9 chicken and rice blend is amazing. Very digestible and my dog loves the taste! by on 01/17/2016
Doggie food

Great product!! Dog maintains weight well and has no problems with flavor. He loooooves the chicken strips. One poop a day!! by on 01/17/2016
Great Food

I love this product. My dog loves this food, and I would recommend this to clients. by on 01/17/2016
Yummy

My dog did not like the lamb product so we switched to the chicken and he has been extremely happy with the flavor. I am happy with the nutrition content. Great product! by on 01/17/2016
Review

was donated this food and the dogs seemed to like it alot by on 01/15/2016
they love it!

We started feeding to some of our rescue's and they have done very well with the change by on 01/10/2016
Good quality food for good prices

The pups of A Tail of 4 paws Animal Rescue love their Pro Plan!! by on 01/08/2016
Great food, well tolerated

We use this food for a lot of the new dogs in our rescue. It is easy to digest and the dogs seem to love it. by on 01/08/2016
Great All Around Food

This is a very good basic food for dogs that have no special dietary needs. They enjoy the flavor, it is easy on their stomachs and we have had great success feeding it long term to a wide range of dogs. by on 01/08/2016
Rescue Dogs Love This Formule

The dogs in our rescue program love this formula and appear to thrive on it. by on 01/06/2016
Love the different shapes & textures

My dogs love feeding time now. I think the fact that the kibble is in different textures & sizes the food isn't boring. They seem to really like the taste of it! by on 01/01/2016
Buyer beware

Bought this for my dog based on Purina's recommendation. My dog eats all the shredded chicken right up but won't touch the triangles of kibble. 5 stars for the chicken, 1 star for the kibbles = 3 stars overall by on 12/25/2015
Love this food!

Before finding Pro Plan, Chance had allergic reactions to almost every food we tried. Once we switched to Pro Plan Savor, the allergies disappeared. We've been using this food for about a year now and only see problems if he gets into other foods. He's a service dog, so his health means everything to me. He has so much more energy and seems to be much happier. Thank you for making both of our lives more enjoyable! by on 12/21/2015
Feeding Error on Chart

Note, the feeding weight on web site chart says 13-30, should be 13-20 as next weight range is 21-35. This would match feeding label on actual bags. Note on Bright Mind web site it says 13-30 as well, and that probably is not right as well. by on 12/20/2015
Palatable, meets my dogs needs

I have used Pro Plan for more than 40 years with successful results. My dogs are healthy with healthy coats. My biggest concern is that the current packaging is near impossible to open. Prior to this change in packaging there was a red zipper strip that made it easier to open. I now have to use a box cutter to open the large bags. I would hope that the ease of opening would have been tested (by all age groups) prior to the change. by on 12/10/2015
what a great product!!

We started buying this good about a year ago when I had a couple of dogs that wouldn't keep weight on. They were thon and their coats were course and brittle. After to weeks on this product the coats were shiny and I noticed a little weight gain. After a month we were definitely on the right path. Both dogs had gained about 10-15 pounds and were very healthy and more energetic. Must say I love this product. We don't feed our dogs anything else. by on 12/08/2015
Digestion

I have several dogs that actually were on a grain free. Everytime i fed them something else thry would get diarrhea. Funds were low in reacue and we had recieved our pallet of Proplan savor and fed it to everyone and NO diarrhea. I'm so happy to feed the same thing to everyone and their able to digest it by on 12/06/2015
Good food

I changed my dogs food a few weeks ago and my dog absolutely loves it! by on 12/04/2015
Dogs Love It!

I just received 500 lbs of large breed food from Rally to Rescue and the large dogs absolutely love it! by on 11/23/2015
Received as sample

Received as a donation to our rescue and used a bag to feed my Foster. He loved it and didn't skip a beat at every feeding. by on 11/23/2015
After trying others, we came back

I fed Purina ONE and Pro Plan for a couple of years and was talked into trying other brands. I was told they were higher quality, far better for my dogs and well worth the cost. However, the costs were a concern and the more research I did, the less I could justify the expense. My dogs were not doing any better. There were formula changes to several brands that lowered the quality while costs were raised. With one dog, I could not keep weight on him with one of these foods. A little over two years ago, I went back to Pro Plan and ONE. I have four dogs, two of whom are show dogs and one of these two we hope to start Lure Coursing with this spring (CAT for non-sight hound breeds). My dogs are in the same condition as dogs I know fed on "niche" brands of dog food that are not easy to get. Pro Plan and ONE are a good value, good quality and easy to get in most areas. My dogs also love the shredded bits mixed with peanut butter, cheese or the Purina Beyond Purees. by on 11/21/2015
Easy Transition

Our greyhounds have sensitive stomachs. The transition to Pro Plan Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice was smooth with no issues. by on 11/18/2015
Happy with Food

I am a handler and have been showing sporting breeds for 22 years. We've always fed Pro Plan. Our dogs have great coats and great stools. by on 11/16/2015
Brenner

Our American Eskimo dogs LOVE Savor shredded chicken and beef. They usually eat the shredded first but always finish every bite. I thoroughly appreciate the ability to switch types of food without EVER a stomach upset. sometimes weight management is order and never a worry about my dogs digestive system. THANKS PURINA. by on 11/16/2015
great all dog food

breeder, owner handler. feed to my six dogs show and companion pets by on 11/16/2015
excellent results!

we feed wirehairpointing griffons and they just love the foood! i have recomended this food to a number of my friends and they now use pro plan. Our dogs live on a farm and run daily. we are owner /handlers and have made 2 grand champins. they also are now working on their hunt titles. we thank pro plan for their excellent product. by on 11/16/2015
they go crazy over it

they do lot of walking and run around and their coats are so shiny by on 11/16/2015
since 1989

for Pharaoh Hounds, ProPlan Rocks! Too much protein for Pharaoh Hounds is a bad thing......this product has consistently been the correct nutrition for avoiding too much protein. The Protein to Fat ration is perfect for the breed. by on 11/16/2015
I Always Recommend Purina

I am an employee at a major pet store and a dog trainer. My personal dogs are on the Savor - they have beautiful coats, they are active - everything about them stands out and that all has to do with the nutrition they get from Purina Pro Plan. by on 11/16/2015
love this product

have fed this formula for years to our danes and, for the first time, weaned a litter to this. no problems with stool and everyone loves it. by on 11/16/2015
Pro. Dog Handler 25 years

The Chicken and Rice has been a go to food I have fed most of my dogs for many years, I have found my dogs have been blessed with Healthy coats, and i believe it has assisted my animals with great health. I have recommended this product and all the Purina products to clients and dog enthusiast alike for over 20 years! by on 11/16/2015
A Happy Convert

We transitioned our three Rat Terriers from a high end designer dog food to Pro Plan about 6 months ago and have had great results since then. They have had less digestive issues and more energy since the switch. Pro Plan provides the balanced nutrition that highly active dogs need with the Sport and Focus formulas. Thanks for the research and integrity with which you present your food. by on 11/16/2015
my dogs love this

love it our 3 dogs love this we have used this product for 3 years now. by on 11/16/2015
Very Satisfied

Conformation exhibitor and have been very happy using ProPlan dry for 20 years. Always great coats on my English Cockers. by on 11/16/2015
Great food!

It is great for my retired dog. It has good nutrition without too many calories and helps to keep my dog in good weight. by on 11/15/2015
Love The Food!

works great dogs look good and race and show awesome by on 11/14/2015
Favorite Food

Life Long Rescue received Savor Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice as a donation from Purina. My dogs love this flavor of food. They eat ProPlan anyway but this flavor is their favorite. Thanks again Purina. :) by on 11/09/2015