Purina Pro Plan Adult Large Breed Dry Dog Food PRODUCT REVIEWS PAGE 1 OF 3

Options Available: 34 Lb bag

Shop This Product

Rated 5 out of 5 by 203 reviewers.

  • Dogs love it!
    We have a Pointer that is thriving on this variety :) by on 07/02/2016
  • Good food
    I buy this food a lot for my dogs and they love it! by on 06/20/2016
  • Weight management
    We have been using the ProPlan Focus Weight Management Large Breed Formula since winter of 2015. We are very pleased with this formula. My Sammy has lost 4 lbs in the last 6 months. He is very active. I think with the ProPlan Focus Weight Management food and activity has proven to be a successful combination. by on 06/13/2016
  • Bugs in the food again!
    I have spent countless hours over the past year killing moths, and their larvae, that came from Pro Plan dog food, but because PetCo is so great about exchanging for fresh bags, and because my 10 yr old labs have eaten pro plan since they were babies, I've stubbornly kept buying it. That ends today! Last night I bought a bag of Focus and a bag of Bright minds and they BOTH had grain beetles! My husband exchanged the bags this morning and when I opened the new Focus bag tonight, a moth flew out. It seems from so many other reviews online that my experience is only unusual in that I've waited so long to give up on Purina. by on 05/25/2016
  • great product
    Ran out of regular dog food and had a sample of this and she loved it. by on 05/13/2016
  • Dogs adore!
    I like to switch the dogs food up a bit so that they aren't always eating the same product. by on 05/10/2016
  • The Dogs love this food
    We've been buying this food for the dogs for a while and they just love it. by on 05/10/2016
  • Good for big dogs
    Great balanced nutrition for larger dogs ...they find it very tasty too, by on 04/23/2016
  • Saved my Baby!
    I cannot begin to express my gratefulness for ProPlan. We have a 3 year Pit bull that has suffered skin allergies all his life. The vet could never do anything so we had almost given up. Our dog is so healthy and beautiful now it is unbelievable! Thank you so very much! by on 04/21/2016
  • Great
    Pepper has been eating since day 1 with us / love the product by on 04/15/2016
  • Pro Plan has been our choice for many years
    Outstanding food for our Rotte and Shepard They love it!! by on 04/09/2016
  • jagger
    my English bulldog did throw up every other type and flavor dog food until we started him on this sensitive stomach food. really agrees with him by on 04/06/2016
  • Great product
    I get this every fortnight my dog really enjoys it and gets a lot out of it by on 04/05/2016
  • One Happy Dog
    Our 3 year old Golden was not liking his food so we decided to try ProPlan Focus for Large Breed as recommended. ProPlan was the food he was first introduced to by the Breeder. We mixed it with his current food because of the change and he has been eating so much better. As a treat (on occasion not always) we also mix the ProPlan wet food (Chicken & Rice) with the ProPlan dry food and he loves that as well. by on 04/05/2016
  • Great food!
    Used for many years with both of my labs. They loved it and I never had any problems with the food. by on 04/01/2016
  • Not Just for Pedigree dogs
    After much research on "top" listed dry dog foods. Some I thought were great because of ads and being in vets offices but after seeing the ingredients, I marked them off my list. I have always used Puring for my cats so I researched ProPlan. I had to try our dogs on it. I was sold on the ingredients already.. AND they all loved it. They are clean platers..even the pinicky German Shepherd . by on 03/23/2016
  • Saved a sick puppy
    We recently received a puppy from the shelter who had an unknown leg condition. ALL 4 legs were bowed and having issues, he could not even walk properly on his paws. We took him to several vets and they thought he had a major bone deformity. We immediately asked for donations of this type of food, we wanted him to have the proper nutrition ASAP and we also scheduled him to see a specialist, but they were so full it was 10 days before he could be seen. The proper nutrition literally gave him back his quality of life. We don't know what the shelter was feed but it was literally bending and bowing his bones. By the time the specialist saw him his legs were nearly perfectly straight. She agreed that large breed adult food was what he needed for steady growth. by on 03/20/2016
  • Loves the size of the kibbles~
    Thank you for making so many breed specific foods! by on 03/14/2016
  • Tasty and healthy
    Purchased for one of our bigger breeds. She has weight problems and is usually very picky. She loved this product. by on 03/11/2016
  • I only feed my dog Purina!
    This food has been the best diet for my Great Dane. He was never big on eating until I tried this diet. Now he eats readily and finishes all of his food! by on 03/08/2016
  • love proplan
    ProPlan has been the best food that i have given my dog. she has GI sensitivities and Proplan has been phenominal. by on 03/07/2016
  • Labradors Love It
    I work with Labrador Retrievers and have found that they enjoy this large breed formula. The kibble is just the right size for them. by on 03/03/2016
  • Great For The Big Dogs
    Used a sample bag for one of our permanent resident dogs at the rescue and it has made a world of difference with him. by on 03/02/2016
  • Great Product
    We love the ProPlan line! We switched out two dogs over to Purina after finding about the feed trials. We have seen less, harder stool in both of my dogs. More energy to play and work on commands in the field. Can't wait to start our new Viszla puppy on ProPlan!! Thanks for a quality product Purina! by on 02/26/2016
  • Our dogs love it!
    Our dogs love this food. It also seems to make their coat very soft and shiny! by on 02/06/2016
  • Excellent formula for large dogs
    I have used this food for awhile now and my large dogs look amazing. Their coats are great, they don't get upset stomachs, and they love their food. by on 02/02/2016
  • The Big Dogs Love It
    We bought this a couple of weeks ago for a few Large Breed Dogs in Rescue. Thank for a great foo. The gobble it right up and their coats are finally shiny. They are almost up to their desired weight too. This is great food for the Reall Big Dogs. by on 01/22/2016
  • Empty bowl and zero digestive issues!
    4 yr old Doberman with a picky digestive tract apparently. As a puppy he was fed Eukenuba and when we tried switching out to something else he was gassy with bouts of diarrhea. We tried Purina and he devoured his food faster than ever with zero digestive issues. Haven't fed him anything else since that day and couldn't be happier. by on 01/20/2016
  • Happy English Laborador Retriever!
    We recently transitioned Scarlett from another big name brand to Purina Pro Plan Focus Large Breed at the encouragement of our vet. Scarlett is a one-year-old English Labrador Retriever and was packing on the pounds with the other brand. Our vet's office (and all of their staff) use the Purina Pro Plan line and hailed how well the dogs do with it -- fantastic nutrition, superior calorie formula, great flavor, etc., etc. She has lost a few pounds already and seeing her sleek body and muscles is a beauty in motion. Major thumbs up! by on 01/19/2016
  • Big dogs love it
    I have been giving my large breed dogs this and they love it. by on 01/15/2016
  • Great kibble size and overall quality!
    I purchased this for my Newfoundland and he loves it! The kibble is a better size for him than other brands and his coat is beautiful! by on 01/13/2016
  • Focus Puppy
    My dog loved it. She is almost ready to begin the adult formula by on 01/13/2016
  • Tried this for the first time and...
    I really like this product for my Dog and she just LOVES it!! Over all to me her performance has improved since starting this formula. I am looking forward to trying all the flavors for her since she LOVES it this much she can be a picky eater, not with this thou she goobled it up and was very Happy and Satisfied. I am recommending this Formula, very good value!! Excellent Formula and better performance for you & your Dog!! by on 01/11/2016
  • great product
    It is a very good product It have a lot of nutrients, protein and dog's love it. The problem is that is too pricey by on 01/10/2016
  • Wonderful
    After feeding this for 1 month it has done wonders for my dog. I just love it. by on 01/10/2016
  • Good Dog Food
    My Golden loves the food. I was so excited when I got the email for the b1g1 free pro plan treats coupon. Only to find out it would not print. After two tries it says you have excided the limit. Didn't get a single coupon. Boo! by on 01/08/2016
  • Great food
    We used this food for a resuce dog and he did great with it. by on 01/03/2016
  • My GSDs love it
    I used pro plan when I had my huskies, they lived a long and healthy life. I started my gsds on a different brand (per breeder) they never cared for them, so I came back to proplan. Have been using ever since. Won't feed anything else. by on 12/11/2015
  • Dissapointed
    I bought it a month ago, and my dog (Goldendoodle) hated it. We had to force her to eat it. This dog food definitely is not for her. Unfortunately they don't sell samples or smaller bags. by on 12/04/2015
  • Drastic improvement in the poo-department!
    Our Ridgeback has such a sensitive stomach that it has taken us months to find the right food for her... Tried lots of top dollar brands, but nothing is better than the pro plan we have her on now! She loves the food and we are so grateful for the tummy-trouble fix!!! by on 12/03/2015
  • Dogs really like the taste
    We have used the Focus label several times and the dogs really seem to enjoy the taste and flavor. by on 12/01/2015
  • H & H = Happy & Healthy
    My daughter Lauren Mae has ordered this for our great dane, Murphy. He turned one year old 9/18/2015. I recently ran out and purchased a store brand. BAD move on my part. Murphy hated the food and began throwing it all up. He actually gave me dirty looks when I set his food dish down! Two days later he had his Pro Plan back and is happy once again. by on 11/22/2015
  • Zaz loves it.
    I always fed Pro Plan to my dogs. The large breed has the glucosamine combo for Zaz. by on 11/22/2015
  • Doggies love it!
    We buy this every two weeks. It cost more but better for your animals . by on 11/21/2015
  • Prop land plus
    I have been feeding my doberman lab mix this food since she was a puppy. First the puppy mix and now the large adult. I couldn't be happier. She is a lean muscular 90 lb girl who is happy, active and healthy. by on 11/20/2015
  • my Border Collie mix loves this food.
    I want to provide the best food I can for my older dogs, This one fit! by on 11/20/2015
  • exchange for another product of the same kind
    I purchased another Purina dry food that my dog seemed sensitive to her digestive trac. I called the company and they were very understanding and sent me a check so I could get her the old faithful Purina dry food she loves. Thank you so much, Purina by on 11/16/2015
  • satisfying and delicious!
    I feed my 4 dogs this food! They love it and are very healthy dogs. I sometimes mix it with the Pro Plan canned food. by on 11/16/2015
  • Lean Muscle food!!!
    Love the size and of the kibble and condition of my golden. by on 11/16/2015
  • Great option for large sized dogs
    Although my dogs are small breed, many friends ask if they could feed their dogs Pro Plan since there is a difference in size. I always recommend the Large Breed Formula to them. Their dogs enjoy the food and they have thrived on it. by on 11/13/2015
  • Qaulity ingredients
    Our rescue only feeds this to our large dogs. We love this product to get our rescue pets healthy. by on 10/28/2015
  • Outstanding Total Body
    I started using Pro Plan over 13 years ago with my first pair of German Shepherd Dogs. I heard about all the wonderful and healthy ingredients and how they work to improve your dog's performance, look and overall health. I've been using it ever since and recommend it to all my new puppy owners. I swear by Purina Pro Plan Focus for Large breeds. Outstanding food for my dogs and puppies. Thank you Purina! by on 10/28/2015
  • Great Food !
    We had trouble keeping weight on our Red Bone Coon Hound and this did the trick. She is a high energy dog and the Focus Large Breed Adult helps maintain her weight and give her a beautiful coat. by on 10/27/2015
  • Great food to keep my dog healthy
    Pro Plan was recommended to us to ensure our dog was getting sufficient nutrition without excessive fillers. He is satisfied after eating, has bright eyes, clean teeth, and healthy skin. We have continued to purchase the product, and now use Pro Plan with our cat as well. by on 10/26/2015
  • Soft peices
    I switched my Labrador Retirever to this a few weeks ago after I caught her eating my small dogs new food by on 10/18/2015
  • Labs love it!!
    I feed my healthy labs this and they live it. Again and again they choose this over other brands when given the choice by on 10/10/2015
  • Loving this product!
    We received this product as a free sample and are using it on several adult shelter dogs. Seeing improvements in their focus when learning basic commands. by on 10/06/2015
  • We always feed large breed formulas!
    We love the large breed formulas, wish you still had giant breed for my mastiffs. We believe in using the appropriate formula because it meets the nutritional needs of the dogs. Especially in the puppies, the rite amount of calcium and protein is essential for forming bones. by on 10/04/2015
  • Excellent for Cocoa
    Cocoa is a female Aussie mix. Her coat and weight is perfect using it by on 10/02/2015
  • My Weims love it !!!
    I am a Weimaraner breeder and feed my dogs Purina focus with chicken. They love it and always clean their bowl. by on 09/28/2015
  • My husband and my daughter in-law are both Vets
    We have used Pro Plan products for the past ten years. I breed boxers and have a group of healthy active canines who all enjoy Pro Plan. by on 09/21/2015
  • seem to be good
    been buying for years and have good luck with it will contenue by on 09/17/2015
  • Large Dogs
    My wife and I rescue dogs thru our Humane Society. Currently have four large mixed breeds which are thriving on the PROPLAN by on 09/17/2015
  • Consistent, nutritious
    Been buying Pro Plan in all of its flavors since 1990 and I'll be buying it as long as I own dogs. Great nutrition, always dependable, and the dogs love it! by on 09/17/2015
  • Great Taste
    I had an adoptee buy this food for her dog. She said she has seen a difference in her animals behavior. She says her large dog enjoys the taste and while she wishes he would talk.... does seem to be more active than in the previous month. by on 09/14/2015
  • good food
    I tried this food for one of our rescues. after about 3 meals it seemed to be a bit rich for her stomach. She has sensitivity to foods so I do not fault this product. I will try the sensitive tummy formula by on 09/13/2015
  • Great food
    Have changed my Dog's to a happy and fun friends with energy to play all day. by on 09/10/2015
  • Great food!!!!
    I have been using this food for years.... When my Old English sheep dogs have puppies I buy the puppy food and continue to use it through their senior yrs.... by on 09/10/2015
  • Great for my pointers
    I like it because I can find it almost every where I GO AND IT IS CONSISTANT! by on 09/09/2015
  • Best For ALL My Dogs
    I have tried many different dog foods. As a breeder, you want the best for mom and pups. Purina Pro Plan by FAR, give me the BEST results always! I recommend all my new families to continue on Large Breed Puppy and then Large Breed Adult. The dogs look healthier and the puppies THRIVE! by on 09/09/2015
  • Great, but hard to find in stores.
    My dogs, who have seasonal allergies with itchy skin respond well to this food. They seem to enjoy the taste and their overall health is good. The biggest problem is finding this product in stores. I got the $5 coupons from Purina, but they are useless as I can't find it in stores and online sellers do not accept coupons. I wish this was more readily available. by on 09/07/2015
  • Dogs love it
    My own personal dogs prefer this food over any other by on 09/02/2015
  • Great for Joints!
    The added glucosamine and other ingredients are helpful to keep joints of large breed dogs supple. by on 08/31/2015
  • Great Food for dogs
    We use this food at our rescue and our dogs love it and do well on it. by on 08/31/2015
  • My Saint's Dream food! She loves it!
    My Giant breed dog says YUM! She loves this food and I am so happy that I tried it! by on 08/28/2015
  • Healthy!
    I bought this product and my dog seems to be so focused and happy! by on 08/28/2015
  • GREAT STUFF!
    As a rescuer, my large breeds are LOVING THIS FOOD by on 08/18/2015
  • Great Product!
    Large breed dogs have special needs and this is a great food for them! by on 08/05/2015
  • She likes it!
    Bought this for my lab, Dora, who at times can be a picky eater at times. She really liked the food. Evidence was her bowl has been licked clean. by on 08/04/2015
  • Dogs love it
    Dogs want stop eating the stuff, they really love it. by on 08/03/2015
  • Big dogs with big appetites
    I had fed the dogs the lower end dog food and was going thru 100 lbs a week. When I changed to the ProPlan Large Breed Focus I noticed a reduction in amount they ate. Any savings is a big help. by on 08/03/2015
  • Good for the money
    I bought this for my great danes and they seem to like ti but I do add canned to it by on 07/23/2015
  • belgan shepherd
    Hi I have more than 3 years using this product and my dogs love, their pooh is hard and shiny hair is placed in the first 15 days of using the product 100% recommended by on 07/21/2015
  • Great food!
    I began using this product when Purina first introduced it, and I am completely satisfied with the results. My dogs are maintained in correct weight and condition, they are active and their coats receive so many compliments. I also recommend the Large Breed Growth Formula until 'our' pups are two, as per Purina's recommendations. by on 07/17/2015
  • Amazing food
    I am a licences veterinary technician for 15 years. I have acuired my first purebred AKC Labrador Retriever. She is being trained as a service dog for my son who has mild autism but also she is being trained with my som to do search and recovery for hunters who cannot locate the deer they have wounded during hunting season. This food is all i recommend ( unless for health reasons a pet needs a special diet of course). It is a top notch diet. Has everything she needs, she fot, weight is ideal, strong, well muscled and her coat is to ie for. Love the Focus line!!! My girland my kitty are pro plan pets. My dog will always be a proplan girl. And once senior yrs set it i will probably transition to the right pto plan senior diet. Cant rave enough about the Focus!! by on 07/08/2015
  • ProPlan large breed
    Lulu came as a rescue quite a bit under weight. Since I was used to feeding miniature poodles and cocker spaniels, her size was quite daunting. However, after one month on the food her coat improved, her attitude improved and her weight is now a whopping 52 pounds! She is so excited when it comes time for feeding now! by on 07/08/2015
  • Great food!
    Our dogs love ProPlan and it is a very healthy food. by on 07/06/2015
  • Great product
    My dog LOVES the Pro Plan and I LOVE that it has decreased her shedding. Her coat (shepherd/husky mix) is now shiny and healthy. by on 06/27/2015
  • great food!
    my dog really loves this food, it's the only thing I feed him! Won't go to any other brand! by on 06/08/2015
  • Great time tested results for longevity & health
    I have been feeding Pro Plan diets, to my Rottweilers, for over 20 years, and I am totally satisfied with Pro Plan. Over the years, Purina has added the large breed formula for my breed. My dogs maintain proper weight and have plenty of energy, my OFA (hip, elbow and heart) results are great and I have never known Purina to have to recall any food. I highly recommend Pro Plan to everyone! by on 06/05/2015
  • Great taste
    I've been using this formula for a large breed dog who had some digestive issues and he is doing great. His coat is shiny and he loves the taste. by on 06/03/2015
  • Large Breed dogs love it
    Large breed dogs need special nutrition to fit their size. This food is perfectly balanced for them! by on 05/18/2015
  • Yummy Food dogs love
    Been using this for years and have been happy with it. by on 05/12/2015
  • Kibble size
    I love the kibble size on this food for my large breed dog. I try to brush his teeth daily but feel like the food is helping out if I skip a day. He also loved the taste. by on 05/12/2015
  • Cost effective
    After having a dog being put on Science Diet Vet It was become to costly and looked for other options to help with joints.. This large breed food had every thing we need for joint help.. by on 05/07/2015
  • Great food!
    Gus has been on Pro-Plan since he was a puppy and a friend of mine suggested it. While I really have nothing to compare it to since he's been on it most his life, I can say, however, it's nothing but a great brand of dog food! by on 05/06/2015
  • Happy Jake
    I have always fed my dogs pro plan ,for many years I am 78 and have had many dogs ,at first I fed cheaper food ,but I switched to Pro Plan .I believe it to be just great for my dogs,they are always healthy .and full of pep. by on 05/06/2015
  • Lego loves it!
    Lego really enjoys this his Pro Plan Focus Large Breed Formula. I fix the dry food and add some canned food to it. He wolfs it down. He has gone from an severely underweight dog with a lot of hair missing to a filled-out strong looking guy with a nice coat of hair. by on 05/05/2015
  • Great Features
    My dog loves Pro Plan! He found the sample bag that was sent to him and tore it up all over the floor. He couldn't seem to get enough when I bought it either! I noticed his coat was getting shinier and he was full faster too. Get your free sample at ProPlan.com. Your dog will love it too.. by on 05/05/2015
  • Great food, innovative!
    I am using this product right now on a 10 year old Irish Setter that just came into rescue. He hasn't had a good "start" in life, so this is a great food for him. by on 04/29/2015
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3