O.N.E. Dry Advantage Hairball Formula Product Reviews

At Purina ONE, we believe that by discovering a cat's true nature, we can gain a better understanding of their needs. Nature shines through in our science when it comes to making Purina ONE SMARTBLEND Hairball Formula. The blending of both nature and science allows us to discover key ingredient and nutrient combinations that work together, like real chicken plus antioxidants and other high-quality ingredients. We used a natural fiber blend that helps minimize hairballs for a positive difference.... Read More

Rated 5 out of 5 by 71 reviewers.

Senior Siamese loves her Purina one

Our resident old lady Sasha came to us as a rescue. She was constantly hacking up hairballs everywhere. She's a picky eater so when I found Purina one hairball formula I didn't have high hopes. Turns out she loves it and it has already dramatically reduced the hairballs! by on 05/19/2016
Hairballs gone, Kitty Feels Better

My kitty is part maine coon, has long hair and weighs a touch less than 20 lbs. He is stubborn and honnary, and we love him to pieces. He rules our home. BUT, he was bringing up hairballs all over the house, and this was so agravating on my carpets, started using purina/hairball and the problem has all but totally vanished. Now, maybe once a month, he will toss one up. Would recommend this to anyone with such a problem. by on 05/17/2016
Great food

My Miss Kitty loved the food as soon as I put it in her bowl. Thank you Purina One. I adopted her from the shelter a little over a month ago and making sure she gets the right nutrition. She is about 1 year ago. by on 03/30/2016
Made the right choice to switch to Purina One

I have three indoor cats which I was previously feeding Purina Cat Chow Indoor Formula. I recently switched to Purina One Hairball Formula and immediately noticed a difference. They all are looking more healthy and satisfied than with the previous food. And I seen a 90% decrease in hairballs also since the switch. I would definitely recommend this brand to any other cat owners! by on 03/30/2016
3 Cats and 0 Hairballs

I've been feeding Purina One Hairball formula to all of my cats for the past 10-15 years at least. Rarely do they ever suffer from hairballs. My only question is why is this formula not available in many retailers in the 7 or 16 pound size bags? by on 03/21/2016
It works!

My 14 yr old cat has not left me hairy "presents" on the floor in two weeks! She enjoys the taste, and she is usually finicky about her dry food. Thanks, Purina One! by on 02/04/2016
Hairball cat food my cat meows for

I have tried other brands of Hairball food but this is the one my cat keeps coming back for more. If her dish gets low she will lead me to it and meow until I fill it. While not completely eliminating hair balls I have found a huge difference when she eats this product. by on 01/31/2016
Healthy cat

I rescued a four week old Maine Coon and he started eating Purina Kitten Chow right away. As he grew so did his fur and hairball issues began to arise. I put him on Purina one Hairball formula and it got the hairballs under control. He's been eating it for four years now, and I have a healthy, happy, active cat. by on 01/30/2016
high quality, great tasting

When I first bought this I thought my cat will not like this it probably tastes awful. Was I ever wrong, not only does she love it,so do the other cats that live here. Who would have thought such a high quality cat food would be the best tasting one we have tried, and we have tried a lot. I will be buying this cat food from now on. Next I am going to have to buy Purina One dog food and see what my dogs think, I am sure that they will love it. Not only that, it will be good for them too. I'm going to feed them Purina One brand from now on. I want my pets to live a long healthy life,so I choose Purina One. by on 01/27/2016
My cats love this food!!

I have two indoor cats, that are very picky, and they both love Purina One hairball cat food. I did buy the salmon flavor one time, but they didn't like it as well. I went back to the hairball formula and will continue to buy it for them. I will be sticking with Purina One. by on 01/15/2016
My cats love it

My cats love it, I love fewer messes from hairballs! by on 01/12/2016
Hairball formula covers all...

Our cats love the flavor. This formula is easily digested and really does keep the hairballs in check. Also helps keep their coats silky and smooth. Have been using Purina One for both our cats and our dog for several years. If not on the shelf at the pet store, we ask the store clerk to check the storeroom. Would never settle for any other brand. by on 01/06/2016
Cats Prefer It

I have four cats. I previously had been feeding Purina Dry Indoor Formula Cat Food, which the cats enjoyed and preferred over other brands. However, I decided to try the Purina One Hairball Formula for my two long haired females. They definitely prefer it to the Indoor Formula, and seem to get by with eating less than they did before. Even though it costs more, I think I will switch all my cats over because they do eat less, so the cost should even out. I have happy, healthy cats thanks to Purina. by on 01/04/2016
OUR BABIES LOVE IT!

We have had a lot of problems with hairballs. We have tried other products but didn't get much satisfaction. Our vet suggested Purina so we started using it. We were afraid that our kids wouldn't like the change but to our surprise, all 4 of them dove right into the bowls as soon as we started pouring it out and they do that every time we open the container of food. It's so funny to watch and we're so happy that the hairballs have decreased significantly. by on 12/08/2015
Great cat food!

My cats love the Purina One Hairball Formula! I feel they are getting a quality food with the extra benefit of relieving the problem of hairballs in their digestive tract. by on 12/07/2015
No more hairball problems !!

I have a Himilian cat which means pretty fluffy long haired cat which always seemed to throw up hairballs right where I happened to walk. Since I started using the Hairball Formula Purina One I haven't found any, so that means it works. My cat is allergic to fish (can you believe a cat that can't eat fish) anyhow the One that I picked has no fish in it and she seems to love it. Only time will tell but so far so good. Thanks Purina !!! by on 12/01/2015
Hairball Formula works

I have 2 cats, one is plagued with hairballs and would throw up all her food. I even have to feed her Purina canned food to keep her weight up. Well, since I started using the hairball formula she has only had one instance of hairball and even then she kept her food down. I'm sold! by on 11/11/2015
It works and the cats love it

I have two Persian cats, and the older on was always having issues with hairballs. Since using this food, his issues have improved dramatically and we rarely find a hairball in the house. My cat seems very happy with the food, as does our younger cat. She has had no hairball issues whatsoever. These are very furry, long hair cats, so having a solution like this is wonderful as I struggled for year trying to find a food they liked, and that would help with their issues. My vet said THIS was the only over the counter food she recommended...and I am hooked. by on 11/10/2015
First Time User of Purina One Hairball Control

I have a 14 year old long hair that has always had problems with hairballs a few times each week. The regular food that I fed him was through a club and I no longer could get it. That was a good thing, as I found this product that worked immediately and my cat loves it. (No more trying to put hairball remedy gel on my finger to hope that he would take it.) After that bag was done I could not remember which one I purchased from Purina One. So I got the 7+ for Seniors, but find that it does not control the hairballs, so I will be going back to this one for sure! by on 11/06/2015
Satisfied Furbabies

My 2 girls love Purina One. My cats are indoor cats and they are happy and healthy. They run, jump and play a lot and I attribute that to a good diet. Their coats are very shiney and thick. I alternate between the hair ball formula and the chicken/turkey formula. I have compared the nutritional values with other brands before deciding to sticking with this brand. The girls have great appetites and love the food. by on 11/05/2015
nice and fresh my cat loves the food

My Siamese Himalayan loves the taste of Purina Hairball formula. She is always at the food bowl, she eats a little then comes back and this is all day and night. It is great to know that this formula is out there and she is not congested with hairballs. In fact my brothers older cat enjoys it as well. Instead of filling the bowl every other week I am filling it every week. by on 11/04/2015
Virtually No More Hairballs

We have had three cats over the years and all three had issues with hairballs. The Hairball formula of Purina One is the only dry cat food that has virtually eliminated the hairballs. The cats love it, and we love that there are no hair balls. by on 11/01/2015
Excellent for hairball issues!

My cat was new to me and unfortunately would throw up fairly frequently; about once a week and sometimes two days in a row. With this product throwing up has literally disappeared from her repertoire. It's a miracle. And she loves the taste. She took to it immediately. Trust me I hardly ever feel the need to write reviews, but this is an exception. by on 10/26/2015
MY CATS LOVE IT

GREAT HAIRBALL CONTROL FOR BOTH MY LONG HAIR CATS! by on 09/29/2015
My cat was sick and would not eat his regular food.

My cat was sick. He was vomiting and would not eat. I tried several well known cat foods-both wet and dry (including his regular food). Purina One Hairball formula was the only brand he would eat and he was able to keep it down. Thankfully, he is fine now. by on 09/24/2015
My cat prefers "purina cat chow complete"

My 14 cat has hairball issues so I'm trying Purina One Hairball formula. I have a younger cat who I started on Purina Cat Chow complete. So the older cat eats the Cat Chow. I started mixing a small amount of Cat Chow with the Hair Ball formula so he will eat it. There have been fewer throw ups since using the Hairball formula. by on 09/23/2015
good overall

My cats all like the Purina One Hairball formula--they clean it up and their coats seem to be very healthy. But they still get hairballs occasionally. by on 09/11/2015
Babies love the food

At first I did not think my babies would not like it but they did. I had to switch because of cost of expensive brands and then elimation of bands that they were use to. So I had to switch. They really love this kind and they have no yacking up at all! I was shocked! I will stay with this brand from now on. Hopefully they will not change the formula or switch it on them. by on 09/06/2015
Loves her food, lets me know when bowl is almost empty

My long haired calico loves her Purina One. We've tried other brands, but she would still cough up hairballs. She loves her food so much, she lets me know when her bowl is almost empty. No matter where I am, she comes to meow and runs to her bowl to say "I need more". We are vey happy with your product. by on 09/02/2015
still seeing lots of hairballs

I bought this hoping the hairball problem would be alleviated but i'm still seeing hairballs. about 1/2 the bag is gone. I wonder if I have to wait longer for it to work? by on 08/26/2015
Healthy and Affordable

I was looking for an affordable quality cat food and I found it with Purina One. I have 4 cats and they all do great on it. I have notcied a significant reduction in vomitting. by on 08/25/2015
Three finicky cats and all three love it!

Tried Purina One for the first time. All three of my finicky cats cleaned their bowls! Not one piece of food was left by any of my cats . Glad I finally found a food that they all enjoy . Thanks Purina by on 08/19/2015
my maine coon likes the taste

I have a 1yr old maine coon kitten who is having a weight problem. He's picky on what he eats, loves wet food and extremely picky on dry food, especially hates Costco maintenance and IAMS hairball and weight control. So I gave up and bought 1 bag of 3.5lb Purina One just to try out. Yes, he goes for it. As to the hairball control it's yet to early to review on this. But I've bought 2 more bigger bags of Purina One so will review it later. However I might go back to Cat Chow if the hairball control turned out to be useless and also for the price that I pay is much cheaper than Purina One. Well, we'll see. by on 07/28/2015
Purina One Hairball Formula made his coat soft and shiny.

Recently, I took in a friend's cat while he was in the hospital. The cat had a very dull, dry coat. After only about a week on Purina Hairball Formula, his hair became softer and began to show more color and shine. Also, he loves the flavor. Thank you Purina, and please don't change the formula. by on 07/26/2015
Scout's Only Kibble

We started feeding our little Scout Purina One Kitten Formula when she was just a few weeks old (a rescue) because she was barely touching the high-priced, nutrient-packed brand that was first recommended to us. At her first vet visit, the assistant laid a handful of the "One" food on the examination table in front of her #to see if the problem was food or her#,and she began to eat enthusiastically. When she reached her 1st birthday, we switched to Hairball Control to help her out #she's a medium-haired beauty#, and she took to that change with as much gusto as when she was a baby! It really makes a difference in dealing with her hairball issues. by on 07/25/2015
Hairball Formula

My cats love this brand of Purina HAIRBALL Formula Dry so much better then the Purina One Salmon and Chicken, I have to buy 4- bags of Hairball Formula for 1 of the other. Very Good!! by on 07/12/2015
Smokie is a happy hairball-less girl!

Smokie has been doing very well on Purina One Hairball Formula. She hasn't left any unwanted gifts since eating it. by on 07/06/2015
Leads to a long feline life

We fed our two cats who lived to be 17 and 19 years old Purina One Hairball formula dry food for almost their entire lifetimes. They would not eat any other dry food and we tried many others. We now have new feline members of our family and they too love this same blend. I would highly recommend it. by on 07/03/2015
puuurfect

This is perfect for my cat. After eating this for about a month I haven't seen any hair balls. Love hair ball formula best ever. by on 07/01/2015
good quality

my cat smelled it ate 1then another next I new the bowl was empty, filled it again later the bowl was empty again. As far as I can tell no hairballs after 2-3 weeks!!! GOOD PRODUCT!!! by on 06/20/2015
Senior Cat is doing awesome on Purina One

I just recently had my 12 year old cat get a complete physical and his blood work came back perfect!! He has been eating Purina One Hairball for a little over a year, so glad I switched, and so is my Carpet!! by on 06/18/2015
they love it!

I have had six cats in my lifetime but I have never had a cat food that my two cats both love. And all the hairballs have gone. by on 06/17/2015
Elderly Cat Who Was Losing Weight Seems to Love This Food

My 16 year old, long haired male cat has been losing weight over the past year and throwing up more frequently. I've experimented with many dry foods with no success and found at last that he will gladly eat the Smartblend Hairball dry food. At this point in his life, getting him prescription food he probably wouldn't eat seems ridiculous so I'm grateful that the Smartblend chicken appeals to him and he seems to be putting some weight on! by on 05/28/2015
3 Very Happy Cats!

I have 3 cats. I've tried different kinds of cat food including IAMS, Diamond, and my 3 cats absolutely love the Purina One. Diamond changed their formula, from Real Chicken as the 1st ingredient to Chicken meal. I was looking for a replacement, and some are very costly. I stumbled upon the Purina One, and saw that the 1st ingredient was Chicken. I figured I would give it a try. My cats loved it and scarfed it down. In fact, they don't even beg for the wet cat food much anymore if they have the Purina One dry cat food. It is very reasonably priced compared to some other major brands. I am sold on this cat food. Please DON'T change the formula Purina One. The current formula puts your cat food at the top of all others! My 3 cats thank you very much!!! by on 05/24/2015
Hairball formula

Our cat Precious will only eat this brand of dry food. She is a medium length hair cat but very seldom coughs up a hairball. I have tried to change brands on the advise of the vet as Precious was itching and they thought it could be her dry food. I tried changing but she refused to eat it. I told the vet and she said well just leave her be then and just put medication on the hot spots on her forehead and eyes as she may just be over-grooming. Sure enough that solved the problem and Precious, at age 10 can be happy with the chicken Hairball Formula that she has been on since adulthood. Sincerely, Kathy Mc by on 05/20/2015
Fluffy Cat loves Purina ONE Hairball Control!

I have an excessively fluffy cat, so naturally she requires food that aids with hairballs. Purina ONE Hairball Control formula is just what my cat needs to manage hairballs. It keeps her tummy happy and full! She enjoys the flavor. I have one happy cat thanks to Purina ONE Hairball Control! by on 05/19/2015
Kitty Approved

I received a free sample of Purina One Smartblend Hairball Control cat food to test and give my honest opinion. My cat loves the food. Right when I purchased the food and brought it home, she was biting the bag! I did the slow transition and she would pick out all of the Smartblend food & leave her old food in her dish. It is safe to say, she approves! She is now enjoying her new food. She munches the food right down. by on 05/06/2015
Excellent Product

My Calico cat has a huge problem with hairballs and since we have started trying the Purina One hairball formula we have seen a huge improvement! I would definitely recommend Purina One to anyone looking for great quality products for their pets!I received this as a free sample, but these opinions are entirely my own! #ONEswitch by on 05/06/2015
Talulah loves it!

My cat Talulah has long, thick fur and lately has been throwing up hairballs and pieces of hair. I've tried other, more expensive cat food for hairball remedies, and she doesn't like the taste and refuses to eat them. I purchased this on a whim, and she absolutely loves it! She gobbles it down when I feed her. She seems to have more energy now. And she has not had one hair ball or thrown up once since feeding her this!!! Will continue to purchase! by on 03/22/2015
My babies love this!

I have always been pretty picky, when it comes to my two kitties, and what they put in their tummies. I found Purina ONE, when the cat food they were on before was discontinued at the grocery store I buy my groceries at. Both of them tried this food, and the hairballs are a lot less frequent, because this food helps the digestion a lot better. Their fur is a lot softer, and shinier, and they can tell if I have given them something different. This is the only cat food my little guys like! :) by on 09/03/2014
Just not for Luna

I know she enjoyed eating it, and I have faith in Purina due to the use of other products of theirs. Unfortunately, I was hoping to stop her vomiting issues and while not the fault of Purina, it didn't work. It turns out that Luna requires a very low fiber diet. So yes I would recommend it because I've always been happy with Purina...but it's not for Luna. by on 08/14/2014
My cats love this stuff!

I have 2 cats and one is very old and the other a young one, the older cat has serious hairball issues and this wonderful product helped resolve her issues tremendously. I have recommended this to all my friends, with great results. by on 07/17/2014
Chekov gives it two paws up!

My Siberian, Chekov, is hooked on the hairball formula. I have purchased other foods on occasion if I was in a hurry and Purina One was not available at that store. He turns up his nose at the others or meows pitifully that he doesn't like it. As he has long hair, he still gets the occasional hairball, but it is rare (and, of course, always on the carpet). I have recommended this particular formula to friends who have medium to long hair cats. Purina One Is Number One. by on 07/17/2014
Happy and Healthy

Rocky Road is medium hair cat, and Hazel Marie short hair you wouldn't think a short hair cat would need cat food for hairballs. Since they do groom each groom each other Hazel needs it as much as Rocky. Rocky when she was not getting her hairball cat food she would get sick and so would Hazel. Plus this cat food has a lot of protein which cats need. They are happy and healthy cats now. by on 06/14/2014
our cats eat it up

Normally it is hard to find a "hairball" type food our finiky cats would eat on a regular basis that has good ingredients for them but when we tried this every cat enjoyed it and is still eating it after 6 months by on 06/14/2014
my cats love Purina

My cats love Purina hairball formula dry cat food. They shear all the time, now the very seldom have hairballs. Happy cats make a happy home. Our home is very happy. by on 06/14/2014
The only dry cat food my pet will eat

I have a very finicky cat. She was actually a stray that we adopted. We tried a few brands when we first brought her into our home. We took the Purina One challenge and that's when Gabby fell in love with Purina One. She has been eating it since. Her coat is much smoother and she would be considered a ferrel cat. She now has become our lap cat. i cant say enough good things about Purina One. its the best dry cat food to feed your pet. by on 06/13/2014
Cats love it and so do I

The cats love these morsels and since I have been feeding it to them we have not had any incidences with hairballs. My sons are thrilled that Nikita isn't leaving goopy balls of hair on their floors anymore and I am not getting yelled at with overly loud, panicky voices about the kitty getting sick. Who wouldn't love that? by on 06/13/2014
Love it

PurinaOne is a little more expensive than the other brands but not as expensive as some others. But having male cats who live indoors, hairballs are an issue and feeding them low magnesium cat food is highly important to me as well due to risk of urinary tract issues that can develop in males fed high magnesium food. One cat has been eating PurinaOne for years, the new cat is being fed the same. They both love it. Very little throw up with Hairball formula versus other types by PurinaOne blends. So we will stick with PurinaOne Hairball formula. (But Vinnie likes Purina Beyond Salmon flavor too). by on 04/03/2014
Purina is #1

My cat absolutely loves Purina ,she leaves a super clean bowl every time. by on 03/02/2014
Something that finaly works on hairballs

Moocher is 13 years old, he's long haired, and we've tried everything over the years to keep him from yakking hairballs. I used to have him shaved every spring, but as he's gotten older I don't like that he has to be sedated to have that done. Purina One had worked for my mom's cat's urinary issues so I thought I'd try the hairball control one for Moocher. And it worked! About halfway into the second bag, there hasn't been a single yakking incident for at least 2 weeks! This is great stuff! by on 02/26/2014
The Best !

I was feeding my Cat One when I first got her. She was very satisfied, Unknowingly, I switched to a "much better" cat food. Or, so I thought ! She just was not eating the food as she had the One. So, I went back to One and now she is eating as she should. She is now a happy cat! by on 01/16/2014
Safety is my concern

Purina One has NEVER been recalled due having chinese poison in it and I TOTALLY rely on Purina One to continue to be SAFE for my kitties. I give them half Urinary and half Hairball mixture twice a day and they love it and eat it all. It keeps them healthy and out of the vet's office!!! I have 8 rescue cats and would NEVER give them something that I don't trust........and I COMPLETELY TRUST PURINA ONE!!!! It is all about the trust of the company and the health of my kitties. by on 01/15/2014
Switched from Royal Canin

I was a vet tech for years and we got Royal Canin at half price... after using that over priced food for years, I discovered Purina One. I did MUCH research and have found that Purina One has all the best ingredients that the over priced food does, and lower ash, and higher protein than the expensive foods. Great food, Great Quality, Reasonable prices and my CATS LOVE IT!! <3 by on 12/05/2013
Love the Taste

My cats are super "cleaners" of themselves and each other. This formula has helped them manage what they do naturally and they love the taste. We have tried other products in past, even of the One Brands, but this is tops for them. Please try to keep the cost level down for us all for I hope to continue using this food for my pets. by on 10/04/2013
SWITCHED DUE TO IAMS RECALL

Purina hasn't always offered a hairball formula and I had to use IAMS. I was so happy that I could switch back to Purina when the recent IAMS recall occurred. My cats have always loved Purina, it's reasonably priced and I trust the brand. I've slowly transitioned them back to Purina and they love the Hairball formula. My seven cats began eating Purina when they were kittens, but I needed a hairball formula as they aged. I am so happy they are back on Purina! by on 08/23/2013
Makes my Cats MEOW!

A while back I switched from Salmon Flavored Purina One to the Hairball Formula. My cat was developing some hairball hacking and I thought it might help but I feared he might not like the change in taste. Turns out, he loves it even more! And his hairball hacking has notably decreased. I love Purina One because it has a food type for every stage of my cats' life. by on 08/07/2013
Works great.

Awhile ago my cat was throwing up hairballs so I tried this and he stopped throwing up. The grocery store was out of it at one point so I just got regular Purina ONE and my cat started throwing up again. I went to a different store and got hairball control right away and he has stopped throwing up again, so this product definitely works. by on 07/17/2013
What my older cat wants and needs.

My Cat doctor recommended Hairball formula for my 13 year old male cat who was throwing up most of what he ate. He turned his nose up at all other brands I tried until I got him Purina One Hairball formula. He lost down from 18 pounds chubby to 12 pounds healthy and happy. by on 07/06/2013
My cat is a big fan of yours

she's been eating this since she's 8 wks old and she's 7 yrs old now, apparently we ran out of the hairball formula and my friend bought her a different brand... my cat just stared and stared at her food bowl, not even touching a piece.. cant fool her..she just simply loves Purina.. she hate the other brand so much she would avoid her foodbowl altogether..I got to go now and get her a bag of purina. by on 05/06/2013
Great Product!!

I have two persians who both love this food and definitely need it with the amount of hair they have, they commonly get hairballs. It has helped significantly. by on 03/24/2013