Merrick Grain Free Real Duck and Sweet Potato PRODUCT REVIEWS PAGE 1 OF 1

Options Available: 12 lb bag 25 lb bag 4 lbs

Shop This Product

Rated 5 out of 5 by 66 reviewers.

  • My Cockapoo loves it.
    I just bought Merrick's Duck and Sweet Potato kibble. My Cockapoo is incredibly fussy and I went through at least five dry dog foods the Dog Food Advisor recommend, but he wouldn't eat any of them I bought some Blue Buffalo wet food and he wouldn't eat that either. He eventually would eat Blue Buffalo puppy kibble but I had to take him off that because he is now two. I tried Merrick's but was sure he wouldn't eat it. He LOVES it and I no longer mix it with his old food to make the switch easy on him. I will buy this forever. by on 07/03/2016
  • amazing!!
    I was feeding my very picky boxer cooked chicken thighs during the winter months to help keep some weight on her, now its warming up decided to try a dry food. So one day I stopped at Petco and asked the Rep what she would suggest for a picky eater and she pointed out this product: Real Duck sweet potato, bought a small bag just to try and went back this week to get a big bag!! Baby girl loved it! I was amazed how she went right to it the first time. My mom's dog is a picky eater too, and I am taking her a sample this weekend when I go visit! by on 05/03/2016
  • Thank you Merrick!
    A month ago I started our 10 yr shihtzu, Max, on grain free kibble. The difference in 2 weeks was already noticeable. In the past 8 years Max was to 6 different vets. It started as occasional ear infections, vomitting bile frequently, sore swollen feet and pads. Then turning to red, sore, itchy skin that would get weepy, hair lose on belly and an awful yeasty smell. Vets would prescribe several different meds, ointments, ear drops, medicated shampoo, do skin scrapings that showed yeast, and last summer punch biopsies in 6 different locations. He was on prescription Royal Canine PD for several years. About all that helped with was the vomitting bile no longer occurred. This winter I was to the point of thinking maybe there wasn't much more that could be done for him. After reading your reviews I figured we had nothing to lose. Max is now a different dog! Active, happy, hair is growing back, skin is no longer irritated looking and the terrible odor is gone!! I wish I would have found it sooner and that just 1 of 6 vets would have suggested trying to feed grain free. by on 04/29/2016
  • Switched
    WOW!! What a difference this food makes. I switched from a very popular performance dogfood, that most exhibitors use, to Merrick and the difference in her skin and coat was outstanding. Although the other dog food was ok, I had to add canned food, just so they would eat the entire bowl. Most of the time I ended up throwing away almost a 1/3 of the food. What a waste. Not with Merrick. The minute they hear the velcro seal unzip, they stop whatever they're doing and high tail it straight to the kitchen. This is an outstanding product and I hope they're here to stay! by on 04/14/2016
  • Overall Amazing!
    I believe in good nutrition so I had my 8 month Blooodhound on a high end dog food since I got her. I eventually realized that even though the food was great, it wasn't agreeing with her. Her stools were much too loose so I figured that maybe it was much too high in protein for my bloodhound. So I switched her to Merrick Grain Free Real Duck + Sweet Potato. I wanted a food that is Grain Free and overall great for your pet. That is exactly was this food is. My Bloodhound is doing great! Stools are as should be and she absolutely loves the taste. So does my Yorkie mix. My little one has never had any problems or allergies with anything but usually takes a while to eat but with this food she gobbles it right up! by on 11/18/2015
  • Was great but they sold out
    I loved this product but will no longer buy since they sold out to Purina. by on 10/29/2015
  • Bella's Favorite!
    Just wanted to say how happy I am to feed my dog Merrick. Bella absolutely LOVES ANY of your Grain Free dry dog food... we give her a variety of the cans you have available as a topping for the dry food as well. I love how there are REAL chunks of meat in the cans, and you are guaranteed to have every ingredient come from the USA!! Bella goes to the bathroom less, eats less, and has WAY more energy! Her coat is amazingly shiny too! Also proud to say she had her yearly check up, and all is great! Thanks Merrick for helping me keep my dog healthy, and giving me a brand I can trust!! by on 07/15/2015
  • Thank You Merrick!!!
    Thank you Merrick for being an awesome food for my Miniature Pinscher!! Tried so many different foods over the past 3 years of working at a Pet store and being educated on Dog foods. By far this is the best investment I have ever made for her. The duck and sweet potato she loves more then any other flavor and as soon as I am putting it in her bowl it is being eaten on the way in. Any customer I encounter asking me for a better food for only response from me is try Merrick its the best by far!!! by on 07/05/2015
  • No more itchy Bull Terrier
    Switched my itchy bull terrier to the duck and sweet potatoes and she looks great! It has three months now and she is looking shinny no more bald hot pink itchy patches popping up. And she even slimmed down a bit! This is my 7th brand I have tried over the last few years. Hopefully the last! by on 06/12/2015
  • Excellent food
    My Shih Tzus happily ate this several years (recently switched to Merrick Weight Management). I love the company and the ingredients they use, they love the taste. Both my dogs have no digestive issues at 10 and 11 years of age and I believe Merrick keeps them healthy. I usually mix their dry food with Merrick canned food. by on 04/22/2015
  • Helped with Tearing
    I have two Maltese Shih Tzu and had a hard time finding a food that would help with tearing and red discharge from glands. We started using Merrick and have found it to be the best for our dogs . Grain free is the way to go. by on 02/06/2015
  • Amazing Duck
    I run a dachshund rescue, plus have 2 Afghans, 1 Giant Schnauzer, 3 Chihuahuas and 2 Pekingnese. They all did wonderful on the Duck dry kibble...seen improvements in their coats....we have a lot of seniors with sensitive stomachs and they did amazing on the duck dry kibble. Also, add different canned flavors, about a tbsp. added to the dry. The only negative aspect, is the priced was raised approx. $10 a bag for the duck...now, our supporters do not buy and donate the duck because of the large increased price. Other than that, all our rescues did amazing on it. by on 02/06/2015
  • Bull Terrier Mom
    My English Bull Terrier has been very picky with his food since I got him back in May 2014. I've tried Blue Buffalo, Wellness, and then I decided to try Merrick. I bought him the Grain Free Real Duck & Sweet Potato and he absolutely loved it, and still does! I did try the Pork recipe but he hasn't seemed to like it unless i put salmon oil on it, which i didn't have to do with the duck recipe. I'm very glad he likes this brand and flavor! Its made in the USA, has great ingredients and that it is grain-free(since Bully's can have sensitive skin)! by on 02/06/2015
  • Amazing!!
    I have always been concerned about what I feed my girls. For years went with the brand that the vet carried with the thought that 'If the vet carries it it is good'.........wrong. My dogs were always scratching with dandruff. I found a website out by an independent scientist that tests dog foods and checked out my 'vet brand'. I was shocked that it got 2.5 stars and not recommended to feed my dog. So I did alot of research and tried other foods that were at least 4 start but the girls scratching didn't improve. I went back on to the testing website and found Merrick with 5 stars and grain free also. So did my research and found that it is american with no imported ingredients. I was ecstatic but then to try to find it locally was hard. I found a pet store that carries it locally and then found Petco. Petco is $10 more than the pet store so I went there and grabbed my first bag. WOW is all I can say. My girls have been on Merrick for 8 months now and they have so much energy and their coats are shiny with no dandruff! I couldn't be happier! Will not be feeding any other brand again......ever! Thank you! by on 02/06/2015
  • Great Food
    I have 2 rat terriers. ..Rascal has allergies really bad and Mr Peanut was overweight. We switched from blue buffalo to merrick grain free kibble because my guys would pick out the kibble from the blue buffalo and drop the life source bits all over the floor! They love Merrick. They clean their bowls...Rascal s allergies have gotten alot better and Mr Peanut has actually dropped some weight.Your food is Awesome. It is a bit pricey. The best part is NO ingredients from China !!!!!!! by on 02/06/2015
  • Best Dog Food out there!!!
    About a year ago I was looking for a grain free dog food for my spaniel mix. He was allergic to most everything. He was almost completely bald from skin allergies to food, grass, trees, and more. The Vet told me that there was nothing we could do for him because he was highly allergic to too many things. So, I looked for a dog food that had the least amount of allergic ingredients in it that "Yogi" could eat. We chose this dog food, Duck, and sometimes use Buffalo. Well, Within the first 3 months, I saw a dramatic decrease in Yogi's itching, and chewing. The soars diminished greatly. Now after about a year on this dog food, My dog looks Beautiful!!!!! His hair is back, he hardly itches, and most of all he is HAPPY again!!!! He does get some soars in the middle of summer bus 85% less than he used too. This food is a God send! Thank you Merrick and please do not stop making this dog food!!!! by on 01/27/2015
  • Sick Puppy Is Now Healthy!!
    I brought home a new 10 wk. old puppy back in December. She was underweight, full of protozoa, no sheen to her coat and was lethargic. She simply did not have the typical puppy "go go go" activity level for her breed. She had been raised on a grocery store brand kibble. I do not feed any of my other dogs that food and my new pup wasn't going to eat it either. I happened to try the Merrick GF Real Duck and Sweet Potato recipe for ALS. She is doing wonderfully now. The protozoa are gone after receiving treatment, which she responded well too!! My pup's coat is glowing and her activity level is now up to par at almost 3 1/2 months of age. It did not take her long to improve on your product. I'm thrilled. by on 01/19/2015
  • I trust Merrick!
    I was looking for a above average dog food for my dog with NO FILLERS, NO CORN, or any type of related ingredients that can cause diseases/infections down the line. Obviously Science Diet and Royal Canin is absolutely BAD when you really read the ingredients. Everything that is put into Merrick is U.S.A Grown, in which I really appreciate because it's hard to find a excellent based dog food that you can trust. I feed my Chihuahua home cooked meals along with this Merrick Kibble. I'm always switching dry grain free recipes and no problem at all! One thing though, I wish grain free recipes came in smaller bite sizes but it's okay. I just find myself softening my dog's kibbles in water and mixing it with home cooked meals. I totally recommend this dog food to every person that owns a dog or cat. It may cost a little more than some dog food brands, but just think about it, it's real food not fillers, that's the difference. You are paying the worth. Much luv! by on 01/04/2015
  • No more itching!
    My dog has been itching on various foods for two years. Even on raw :(. We found this formula to clear up his his and it's a protein he can easily digest. His coat is back, skin is no loger inflamed and both of is are happy!! by on 12/07/2014
  • Love this food but.....
    I love your food and so does my chihuahua! however..I wish the reusable bag would work! but other than that i can not complain! We love merrick! by on 11/23/2014
  • My 3 LOVE this flavor
    I started getting grain free because Dachshunds tend to have skin issues. They haven't had any issues while on this food. They sniff the bag when we get home and cant wait for me to open it. I buy my dogs food and supplies from Total Pet Care, Holbrook, NY. by on 10/16/2014
  • Turned my picky eater into a foodie
    So, I have an 8 1/2 year old cocker spaniel. Everyone who knows cockers know they are allergic to EVERYTHING. To battle this, we've been grain free and very concerned with only feeding him the best, most natural food we can. Even with high quality brands (Taste of the Wild, Wellness Core, Fromm, Natural Balance, Lotus...), this boy would hardly pick at his food. As he is getting older I became much more concerned with food intake, in adddition to quality. He needs to eat enough and regularly if we are going to keep him health . Merrick was a last shot at finding a food he likes before trying an inconvenient raw diet. Not only does he like Merrick; he LOVES it. He eats all his kibble happily and looks at me like it's the end of the world if he empties his bowl before I refill. He gets one can of a different flavor each evening and if I am even a few minutes late when its dinner time he let's me know. He spit shines his bowl after eating his canned food. The variety of flavors in the cans is what I think is our saving grace - keeps him from getting bored. Thanks Merrick! by on 10/11/2014
  • Excellent ingredients
    So far my dog loves several flavors and I also like the ingredients in this food, (although this is my #2 favorite dog food brand for cost reasons, my #1 favorite brand is Orijen). Merrick also offers great grain free canned food and moist treats. by on 10/10/2014
  • Duck and sweet potato
    Best dog food I've found yet! I have had dogs for 20 years and this is by far the best product I have found for any of my dogs yet. I read many reviews before finding this dog food company and I would suggest it to anyone. My sick dog was having trouble gaining weight due to food allergies and he loves this and has gained some much needed weight! by on 10/08/2014
  • The Chihuahua Loves It!!
    I have a 10 year female chihuahua that has a long history of food intolerance. Once I found out that the L.I.D. diet she was on was bought out by an untrustworthy big name corporation, I started my research. Countless diet trials failed until I offered Merricks Grain-Free D/SP. Not only does she tolerate it well, she GOBBLES it down! She now BEGS for dinner! The downside of this recipe though is she is noticeably gassy and she gained 3/4 of a pound (which is a lot for a chihuahua who was only 5lbs) from the high fat/protein content. I just bought her the GF Healthy Weight recipe in hopes to bring her back to her normal weight. All in all, I highly recommend this diet! by on 09/17/2014
  • No More Bald Spots!
    I switched my american pit bull terrier, Win, to Merrick Grain Free back in early July 2014, and he's doing wonderful! He used to eat Diamond Naturals and would scratch all the time. He also had a problem with getting bald spots and rashes, but everything has cleared up now that he eats Merrick! We alternate recipes every couple of months to keep it from getting boring, and he loves them all! by on 09/15/2014
  • Product Review
    My Chihuahua was 5 when I got him. Had a terrible body odor, dry skin & scratching constantly. Vet said to give Benadryl & bath him twice a week. Did not want to medicate him. Bought the Grain free Duck & sweet potato dry food. After a few weeks noticed he had stopped scratching, coat was nice & shinny & stinky smell gone. Thank you Merrick ! Only bathe him when needed. by on 08/16/2014
  • Only food ill feed my dogs!
    My dogs used to be on Blue Buffalo, and i was having to buy two different types of food as, i have a senior dog,10, and a adult, 4 and when i found this food, I saw that the glucosomine was high, and that is good because the higher it is, the better, Senior dogs need at least 1000 mg, and this has 1200 mg! Blue buffalo senior brand only has around 600 mg! I love that you can feed this to all ages from puppies to seniors and not have to buy different foods! Thanks Merrick! by on 06/12/2014
  • WE LOVE MERRICK!!
    Billy, Ebbie, and I are thrilled with all your food products. We've tried most of them and there is not one that Billy and Ebbie won't eat. They especially like the Lamb Lungs, Cowboy Cookout, Wilderness Blend, and Duck and Sweet Potato --- all grain free. We can't wait to try the new summer recipes, especially Merrick an' Pie!! We also can't wait for the Kitchen Bites to be available through the online distributor that we use!! by on 06/05/2014
  • So happy with Merrick
    Absolutely the best premium dog food.  We have tried a variety of high quality foods but each had a response not favorable for our 3 year old dog.  When we started Merrick grain free duck he really enjoys it, had a great response, and is very healthy. GREAT product by on 06/03/2014
  • Yummy!
    My fiance and I rescued a Samoyed named Gus in Oct 2013. At first we fed him on a higher quality brand that the rescue place was feeding him, but we soon came to realize that he was allergic to grain. After doing some research we found Merrick and I'm so glad we did. Gus our samoyed, who is a tripawd also benefits from the Glucosamine and Chondroitin that is already in the food. Not only is the food good for his joints, his coat has gotten shinier and more silky. I would recommend Merrick to anyone in a heartbeat! by on 05/16/2014
  • Considering switching?.. DO IT!!!
    If you've been considering switching your dog to Merrick, or at least purchasing a bag to give it a shot... Do it! You won't regret it. I switched my doxies from a mainstream holistic brand that was decent but not on the same level as Merrick. There are decent holistic foods out there for cheaper, however, if you want a superior quality food that will reflect in your dogs overall health, look no further. I switched my doxies from the chicken and pea to the duck and sweet potato  bc the chicken and pea is recommended for larger breeds. They absolutely love it and gobble it up within minutes of me giving it to them.  Merrick is a great company.  by on 03/20/2014
  • No more itching!!!!
    A little over a year ago my dog, Zoey a female black lab. Was so itchy, stinky, and uncomfortable! We bathed her with oatmeal, sprayed organic sprays on her "hot" spots. Everything we could think of. My niece recommended Merrick grain free duck. She said best for dry itchy coat. Well I can not explain the transformation that happened to Zoey! with in a week she was not itching. The smell left! She was so much more playful again. She was back to her happy self! I thought this winter will be the real test, we live in the midwest and we have had a very cold, long winter! As dry as my skin is I thought here we go again. But nothing! No soars no scabs, no excessive itching! I am not going to lie, she is a dog she loves a good back scratch, tummy rubbed and hind quarters scratched. But she is not itchy and stinky like she was! I wish I would have taken before and after pictures. Her coat is shiny and she is healthy! I recommend this product to everyone I know with a dog! And we have even gotten some to try it...guess what their dogs coats are better too!!!! by on 03/14/2014
  • INCREDIBLE!
    LANA IS AN 8 YR OLD PITBULL (BIG BABY).  WE'VE BEEN FIGHTING SKIN CONDITIONS AND HOT SPOTS SINCE SHE WAS A PUP!  WE TOO HAVE ALWAYS TRIED VET SHOTS, CREAMS, PILLS, ETC.  JUST ABOUT 2 MONTHS AGO WE HAVE SWITCHED HER TO MERRICK GRAIN FREE DUCK AND SWEET POTATO, NOT ONLY IS SHE IN LOVE WITH THE FOOD BUT SO IS HER SKIN AND COAT!  NICE AND SHINY AND SHE'S DOING GREAT!  NEEDLESS TO SAY, LETS PRAY THIS STAYS ON THE MARKET A WHILE!!  JUST WISH THE PRICE WAS A TAD LOWER. by on 02/14/2014
  • Helped with Allergies!
    When I first got my girl, an Am Staff/Shar Pei mix, I put her on a different brand grain free to avoid any skin allergies that is common with both breeds. Turns out she had more that she couldn't eat. She was missing fur and had bumps on her head and snout, it got so bad it was all down her back. So our vet told us that chicken is the likely culprit. She was right she's allergic to chicken. (Really allergic, like if you touch chicken, then her she will break out). Well, I head to the internet. Look at ingredients, and reviews. dogfoodadvisor.com lead me to Merrick, which lead me to their Duck and Sweet Potato recipe . She immediately cleared up. It has worked so well, I have now become the un-official sponsor of the grain free dogs at the shelter I volunteer at, and purchase the grain free food. They all get Merrick Duck and Sweet Potato! This stuff is the best! Thanks Merrick for helping my girl and my shelter doggies too! by on 01/22/2014
  • Word of mouth
    I first heard of Merrick through a friend who has 6 cats and really done her research she says it's the most healthy and cost efficient of all foods on the market. Her word is good enough for me and my husband is out buying wet food to go along with the bag we already have...... happy kitty = happy family!! by on 01/04/2014
  • Great ingredients
    My schnauzers love this food. We were having trouble finding a quality food they liked. We tried a lot of different kind that they didn't care for. Thanks for producing a quality food they enjoy.  by on 01/03/2014
  • Awesome!
    When I first adopted my dog Dingo last year, we decided to go with grain free. However, the brand (Taste of the Wild) didn't have the proper quality of ingredients, and so his fur become very brittle and fine after a few months on it. We also had a pretty big flea problem. Worried about his health, I switched to Merrick's brand of grain free, and boy, was there a change! His coat is so shiny and thick now! I love to just sit and pet him for awhile every morning, his coat is soooo soft now. He loves the flavor as well, so much so that we give it to him while training for treats too! Also haven't had a issue since. (They say a healthy dog shouldn't attract them as much!) I'm really glad I found Merrick brand, because the quality of the food really does show. by on 01/02/2014
  • Simply the best
    Merrick Grain Free Duck and Sweet Potato is a winner in our home. We have two big dogs - one is an allergy dog and the other a senior, and Merrick GF has exceeded our expectations for both. This food is grain free, by-product free for the allergy kid and has good amounts of a glucosamine & chondroitin (supplements for joint health) for my senior. (Plus - and this might be TMI, our seniors stool is much improved on Merrick.) Our "kids" coats are soft and shiny and the vet says their diet is everything he could hope for for any of his clients. They just gooble this stuff up! by on 01/02/2014
  • Dogs favorite kibble
    This food is awesome. Both my 11 year old Rottweiler, and my very picky 4 year old Shiba Inu love it. Not only do they enjoy the palatable taste, but it reduces the death bombs they pass on some other foods. I also noticed less itching on this formula from both of my dogs, as well as smaller stools. My dogs are Merrick dogs all the way, its the only dry they eat, and thanks to all of the flavor profiles it's fun to rotate between the grain free ones. It fills them up and they always dance when they see the bag =D. I also like that it's protein content isn't as high as some other grain free kibbles, so it makes me feel safe to feed it to my senior. The vitamin content is also pretty good, and reduces the need for supplements. My only critique is that I wish it came in a bigger bag. The newer 29 pound bags, only last 2 and a half weeks between my two dogs. So if you have a bigger dog, be prepared to go through a bag or more a month (I cook for my dogs after the bag runs out to offset cost). by on 12/30/2013
  • Simply, AWESOME!!
    My 5 month old Cane Corso "Mala" absolutely loves this food!! Very high in nutrition and one of the highest protein levels out in the market. We love you Merrick!! by on 12/30/2013
  • Miniature Schnauzer loves Duck !
    I started feeding my puppy Blue Buffalo Freedom after I got him but he soon began to stop eating it. I had to start adding water to it and hand feeding for him to eat it. He also developed a chicken allergy so it was time for a change. I chose the duck formula because it was one of the few formulas that did not have any chicken in it and it also had higher amounts of omega 6 than the pork formula. My puppy absolutely loves it. As soon as he sees us reaching over for his food he starts licking his mouth and sits patiently. Right before putting his bowl down he can never contain his excitement and starts jumping for his bowl. I am very satisfied with this product and wouldn't feed my puppy anything else. As portrayed in the photograph, he can't get enough of this food. by on 12/30/2013
  • I want my girl to love her food
    I adopted my dog, Gia, from a shelter at the end of October, and I want her to have a long, healthy life. Merrick got great reviews so I gave it a try. Gia loves her Merrick, both dry and wet, and I love that she's healthy, she's shedding much less and she smacks her lips after every meal. Gia and I, we're sticking with Merrick! by on 12/29/2013
  • Excellent Product
    I have been feeding the Duck and Sweet Potato for about two months now and I must say that my two dogs are doing wonderful on it. Bailey (pictured above) is my Brittany and she eats her food like she has never had a meal. She usually can't eat a grain free food, it usually makes her sick but since starting this she has had no problems what so ever! I can't be happy enough with this. My cat also will sneak over and eat the food as well, he normally won't touch too much dry kibble but ate half a bowl before I realized what he was doing. I love that this product has no chicken it the formula, the dogs don't seem to do good with chicken in their food so this was great! I have also been giving my friends samples of this food as well to a few friends, so far you have two people switching their dogs over to this formula as well! Thanks again. by on 12/29/2013
  • Happy Tummy
    This product was literally life changing. We adopted our sweet girl in February of this year. She was eating a popular (not healthy) dog food brand. Her stool was an odd color and she was constantly gassy. We decided to try a different food that had meat product as the first ingredient (still not Merrick). After a couple months her stool improved, but she was still so stinky. Again, we tried another food brand with the same results. We just happened to come across a puppy festival on our way out of town and decided to look around. There was a Merrick representative there who listened to our concerns, gave us a coupon, and advised us to try out the sweet potato and duck. Literally within days we could tell a difference!! She hasn't been gassy since we started this food four months ago and she LOVES the taste. Thank you Merrick!!! by on 12/29/2013
  • Duchess says this is YUMMY!!!!
    My Precious Duchess is now 12 years old and has been eating this for at least a year now. She has skin problems and is a very picky eater. Once she started eating this, she just eats it right up instead of letting it sit there all day. I also know what great quality your food is and love to feed it to her. When Duchess is happy I am so happy too. by on 12/28/2013
  • Success!
    my dog is a foodie. ever since he was a baby, 7 weeks old, he was quick to decide what he liked and what he clearly didn't (our local shelter benefited greatly from his refusal to eat multiple bags of food). Then one day I found Merrick, I was running out of options and the Whole Earth Farms was pretty much my only option. He seemed to like it more than anything else I was feeding but after speaking with a friend about grains in our pets dog food decided to move up to the Grain Free Duck. I picked duck over, pork, chicken and beef because Salmon was in the top 5 ingredients. And after adding Salmon oil to his food I could tell a huge difference in the health of his coat. Now nearly 3 years later, it's all he eats well occasionally he gets canned and love Grammy Pie's Sausage treats! by on 12/28/2013
  • If you love your dog
    We've always had dogs, but it wasn't until we decided to breed our Boxer that we took a good look at what our dogs were eating. Merrick Grain Free dog foods have ingredients that are real food you and I would eat. Our dogs are family, so why wouldn't we feed them as well as we feed our own kids? Our dogs get Merrick Grain Free Duck and Sweet Potato every day unless it is sold out, then the get Merrick Grain Free Chicken and Sweet Potato. On Thanksgiving it's Thanksgiving Day Dinner in the can and on Christmas it's Christmas Day Dinner in the can. Merrick is the only food our dogs will ever eat again. by on 12/28/2013
  • Quality food, a good value.
    We feed this to our standard dachshund who couldn't tolerate Wee Bits Salmon and to our mini dachshund. I like that this food has quality ingredients and doesn't cause skin issues for our dogs. I wish that it didn't have the pea protein in it though - I understand that this is a specifically a way to increase protein content while holding costs down though. by on 12/27/2013
  • my picky puppies love this
    our dogs are on limited food choices because they have food allegies so i noticed this at petco what caught my eye was organic, no hormones, ect, but my pack is picky weve bought many kinds and failed they wouldnt eat it, they LOVE THIS after all the recent pet food recalls we are stickin with merrick, quailty food thats also AFFORDABLE :) by on 12/26/2013
  • Best balanced value, feed your pet with confidence
    starting with a puppy you only ever want to give your dog the best, and you can spend a lot of money trying to achieve that. But that doesn't mean all these supposed high food products make foods your dogs will love, except for Merrick. Until I found the Merrick grain free dog foods, both wet and dry I thought I had two picky eaters. Merrick gives you the best of all worlds, health, value, variety, and a taste dogs love! Merrick really make it easy to keep your pet happy by on 11/19/2013
  • Great healthy food
    We've tried everything with Sadie. She is a Border Colie, Husky mix. She has always had a sensitive stomach, periodically throwing up with diharea. We tried the Merricks product and it has been amazing. Better bowel movements and no more throwing up. She also doesn't scratch as much. I would have to recommend this product even if your animal doesn't have issues. by on 11/06/2013
  • Perfect food for any dog.
    I switched my Aussie/Cattle Dog over to this food a month an a half ago. Fromm had been the food she had been fed for 2 1/2 years before the switch. I noticed she was unable to gain weight, so I did some research, and consulted my local per food shop. After amazing reviews, I made the switch. She has been able to gain wait, loves the taste of the food, and is overall a healthier dog. Her vet was amazed at the results of the switch. I will recommend this food to everybody. It is a bit pricier, but it is worth every penny.  by on 10/22/2013
  • What a great food for dogs
    I have 2 older shih tzu girls and one of them has serious skin problems and digestive issues. The vet suggested buying a high quality dog food other than the common ingredients. So I bought a 4 lb bag and both girls love it. The girls eat it up and they stand looking at their bowls wanting more. The only problem I have is finding the 12 lb bag in the stores because the 25 lb is to much and it does go bad. I do recommend this brand to everyone I talk to about dog food. by on 10/05/2013
  • Our pack of 10 LOVES this food
    I have changed our entire pack of rescue giants <Newfoundlands and Great Pyrenees> over to Merrick grain free, primarily because of the great reviews I've read about it, but also because it's processed not far from us and I wanted to keep my money local.. we go through 4-6 bags a months, and use it for ALL stages in our dogs lives, from puppy through elderly.... The dogs LOVE it, we cycle through all of the grain free flavors... their coats look wonderful... and no one ever turns up their nose at feeding time! thanks Merrick... any chance of getting coupons at some point? by on 10/04/2013
  • Awesome Dog Food!
    I've been using the Merrick Duck & Sweet Potato food for a month now and my itchy Weimaraner has had a complete turn around! She was miserable and itching all the time. Since changing to Merrick, she has more energy, barely itches anymore and seems much happier! I'll never change dog food brands again!  by on 09/07/2013
  • Product Review
    Samson is the sweetest little boxer ever and since he was a puppy we've been through numerous food transitions (which we all love) I am so happy to say that Merricks Real Duck and Sweet Potato is our food! He loves this food and I love that his tummy agrees with it! Thank You Merricks for putting an end to our quest for the perfect food! by on 07/16/2013
  • Product Review
    My Havanese, Joey, is a picky eater, with a sensitive stomach and allergies! Ugh! We visited my sister one day and I had to pull Joey out of her dogs food dish...she told me that she was feeding her dog Merrick Grain Free Real Duck and Sweet Potato so I checked it out online then promptly located a store where I could buy it! It's a little pricy, but he eats less of this food than the other brand I had him on and eats well! He also has less waste, which is great when we go on our daily walks. Started to mix in wet food as well during the a.m. feeding and his favorite is the Cowboy, so far! by on 07/12/2013
  • Product Review
    After doing research on dog food about 6 years ago and realizing we were feeding our dogs crap, we made the switch to BG Buffalo. We had a chow chow and lab mix at the time and they tore this stuff up. We've lost the lab due to old age and our one chow is now 17 years old so she is going strong. We've "acquired" another chow and an english bulldog so you know with all their inherent allergies this was the right food. They can't decide which is their favorite, buffalo, duck, or beef; although they are loving the beef at present. Good quality food, not the cheapest but worth it for our family. by on 06/19/2013
  • Product Review
    I have three bully-breed dogs; as is common, they all have some type of allergies/skin issues/sensitivities. I was feeding Purina Dog Chow, and I stumbled upon DogFoodAdvisor.com. This really opened my eyes to the garbage that I was feeding them. I started looking for the "5-star" foods as recommended on the site, and I decided to give Merrick Grain Free a try - it seemed to have the least questionable ingredients and it was one of the most reasonably priced (even though it's still pretty expensive for a 25 lb bag). I tried the Buffalo, Chicken and Pork - as I was switching the dogs over, they didn't really like the food. Finally they settled on the Duck and they won't eat anything else. Their allergies and dandruff have calmed down and they seem much happier eating it. They also seem to be a much healthier weight and overall more active. I would recommend to give it a try - especially if your dog has any skin issues. by on 05/05/2013
  • Product Review
    I have been feeding this to my GSD Molly since bringing her home at 8 weeks. I transitioned over to it over a week and she loves it! Oddly duck is her favorite flavor although I did start her on chicken. She was not a fan of pork or buffalo. This is my brand and I love it! I would recommend this as a very healthy and balanced food. I was reading reviews online and one thing to consider when selecting dog food is content. An easy test, aside from reading all of the nutritional information, you can do to convince yourself is to mix your dog food with a cup or 2 of water and see how much it expands over night. Naturally it should expand as it gets wet but you will notice this does not expand all that much. That is a reflection of the meaty ingredients with limited fillers. Go try a bag! by on 04/24/2013
  • Product Review
    Augie is a 10 year old Shih Tzu and we have been dealing with skin problems for three years now. I have tried everything from Orijin and Blue Wilderness to grain free Kirkland. And the vet routine of shots, pills, and creams which worked for about 3 weeks and then the irritation came back worse than before. He's been on the Merrick grain free duck and sweet potato for two weeks now. His itchiness is down about 90%, he isn't licking and creating hot spots and seems calmer. Keeping my fingers crossed that this improvement continues. Plus he is waiting in the morning for his breakfast and eats every bite. That has never happened before. Ever. by on 03/11/2013
  • Product Review
    My dog goes crazy for this kibble. I mix in the grain free can as well. I used to feed him Blue Wilderness but after researching Merrick I switched and couldn't be happier. His coat has more shine and its softer. He doesn't itch as much as that's a problem with his breed (he's a Bichon Frise) He's a very picky eater and would always leave Blue leftover, not with the Duck and Sweet Potato he eats all of at once. I highly recommend it there isn't a better made dog food out there, do your research like I did, I also like that they only use human grade meat, that's a big plus. by on 02/09/2013
  • Product Review
    This is my dog's favorite food, even though they're chow hounds and with eat anything, getting this stuff in their tummy's has now become their main concern anymore, and I couldn't be happier about it! by on 01/19/2013
  • Product Review
    I have a 7year old and 5 month old active Australian Shepherds. The older one seemed to vomit at lease once a week. Once I changed him to this no more vomiting. Best of all is that both ages get the same food. and They both love it. by on 11/04/2012
  • Product Review
    Trace loves every bite! by on 10/12/2012
Page 1 of 1 1