Image of Hill's Prescription Diet Metabolic Weight Management Canned Cat Food

Hill's Prescription Diet Metabolic Weight Management Canned Cat Food is a specially formulated dietary solution designed to address the needs of overweight cats and promote their overall well-being. This Metabolic Chicken Flavor Wet Cat Food goes beyond mere weight control, aiming to enhance the quality of life for feline companions burdened with extra weight. Developed by Hill's nutritionists and veterinarians with expertise in clinical nutrition, this canned food is a testament to the brand's ... Read More

Rated 5 out of 5 by 39 reviewers.

Maintained weight
I fed this to my overweight boy (9.4 kg) for just over 3 months and had no success with weight loss. It did however maintain his weight even on the desired weight loss feeding guide on the back. I will buy this product again if and when I need to maintain his weight as he is a hungry eater and this food seems to satisfies his bottomless tummy. by on 08/03/2021
I would love to buy this product again, but not available.
Product is great. My cat is diabetic and he has been on it for at least 5 years. I use with the dry metabolic. Problem is I can't get it now - off shelves for over a year. What's going on? by on 06/07/2021
Great Product not in production over a year!!
My cat was doing so well then Hills has not produced this product in over a year and my cat although eating the light food has lost all the ground of weight loss that she achieved. Since it is over a year I have given up hope that Hills will produce this any longer. :( by on 05/14/2021
Cat would not eat this
My cat needs to lose weight....badly. She is, but only because she will eat very little of this food. Part of it may be because it is not "pate." I don't understand it, but I've yet to have a cat that will eat anything but pate. All other forms the gravy is licked off the food and the food itself is left. I did try giving it to another one of my cats and she took one sniff and covered the dish with her blanket. Will be finding another food and hope "portion control" will help her to lose weight. I compared the nutritional info on the label to other foods. If your cat will eat this I am sure they would lose weight....mine just will not. by on 02/20/2021
Great Product
I have been feeding this along with the dry Metabolic to my 6 year old Main Coon for about 1 year now. He has had digestive problems his whole life until starting this diet. He is also wheat intolerant.... He has done very well on this diet! Please never change this recipe! by on 01/19/2021
Does what it claims
I have been feeding my boy this food for just over 12 months and in that time he has been slowly losing weight. He loves the taste and it seems to satisfy his hunger quite well. I would prefer the formula to be more chunky bite sizes rather than a pate formula but I am happy with the weight loss and will continue to use it after he has reached his ultimate weight due to the low fat %. by on 08/02/2020
Ocicat loves the chicken canned food
I just fed a small can of the vegetable and chicken to my Ocicat. He has been eating less of the canned food he's had for 10 yrs. He gobbled it up in one sitting! He obviously loves the taste. He can stand to loose a couple of pounds, even though he still has wonderful muscle tone. He has that indoor cat belly. by on 07/13/2018
Yumeow!
My two cats were a little overweight and my Vet prescribed Hills Metabolic wet and dry food for both of them. I thought my cats would turn their noses up but they love the chicken stew and the dry food also. I put the wet food one top of the exact amount of dry food they are allowed and they eat it very quickly. They are losing their excess weight and loving their food. by on 11/05/2016
Coupons
I think it really stinks that on your website you can only print a coupon twice and then you are cut off. Why so stingy? by on 07/16/2016
Refused canned food until now
Our vet recommended this along with metabolic dry food because our 12 year old cat's weight needed to be controlled. She refused all wet food prior to this which amazed us since our other cats had always favored the wet over the dry. She absolutely loves this and the chicken version as well. She also gets some of the metabolic dry. She consumes a lot less bulk than before and seems quite satisfied with what she gets. And, she is losing weight! by on 07/09/2016
my cat loves this including the carrots
My cat is a large tom cat and my Vet thought this would help lower his weight and protect his heart by on 07/09/2016
cat food
My cat just started on the Metabolic cat food and she loves it. Too soon to tell if it will help with her diabeties. Would love to see more coupons for Hills foods. by on 06/30/2016
Soft good flavor
Using it for over a year for my old cat?is great product a bit expensive.....coupons Great help! by on 06/29/2016
This product works well for my cats
This was ordered by my vet for my cats. They like the taste and the cost to order is less than getting it from the vet. by on 06/10/2016
Really Works!
My cats love the Tuna Stew, they lick the plate clean. I have seen the changes that were expected based on what the formula promised. I would recommend the Hill's brand to all of my friends who own pets. by on 05/21/2016
too expensive
My cat has been enjoying this food for three years. It really helps her to maintain her weight. Sadly, it has become outrageously expensive and I can no longer afford to buy it. I do recommend it to those who can afford it. by on 01/21/2016
This product helped to give my cats new bounce and vitality!
I had 3 overweight cats, and finally decided to do something to help them lose some weight. After getting them transitioned over to Hills Metabolic wet food, it was amazing the difference I saw in them after a few months. Not only did all three of them lose weight, but all three of them became like new cats. They seem to have so much more energy, are more playful, and just appear to look and feel better. I think that overall they are much happier, I know I am. by on 12/17/2015
Great for Weight Loss
I was having trouble getting my cat to lose weight on over the counter low fat foods. She has now been on the Metabolic diet for 6 weeks and has already lost a pound! This food is amazing as that would not have happened on any other food! by on 12/16/2015
My cat absolutely loves this food.
My cat Ashley loves this food and never leaves anything in her dish! by on 10/05/2015
Costly
My cat actually will eat this wet food, but with giving her only a teaspoon daily with her medicine the can last long and she refuses to eat after 5 day's of use of the can, so we end up always throwing them away. Wish you came up with a smaller size can for picky eaters like her. The price is a bit high and I never seem to get coupons that haven't expired already at the vet office. by on 10/01/2015
My cats became more active
After about a week of eating the Metabolic Feline canned and wet food, my cats started feeling and acting more energetic than they had in months. We noticed that as their activity levels increased, they started losing the excess weight they had gained prior to eating the Metabolic. by on 09/09/2015
At least it comes in a 3 oz can
This is the closest I can get to a prescription weight loss food our cat will eat. It has a gravy and comes in a small can, which is wonderful as he will not eat left overs. I do wish that the actual weight loss food came in a 3 oz can, and not just the large size. Until that happens this will have to do. by on 07/26/2015
Please make a pate formula!!
The only reason I gave a poor rating in the taste category is because my cats will only eat a pate formula wet food. Anything with chunks remains in their dish untouched. All they do is lick the sauce part. Thank you by on 05/23/2015
great product
My 2 boys really enjoyed the new metabolic canned food. Taste and texture were very acceptable. by on 05/19/2015
Takes time.
A couple of my dogs and cats are on the Metabolic. I will tell you that it takes some time to see a change. But once they start the weight loss, it happens pretty quickly after that, my cats love the taste and are liking the new stews. by on 02/14/2015
Does help with weight loss
My Cat lost over nine pounds using the Prescription Metabolic Canned food. The dry food, based on my trying the dry RD type the year before, did nothing to help. The Metabolic Canned version came to market and I then used that. Over nine pounds lost for my cat was an incredible result. I have now switched to the Science Diet Light canned for the future as the calorie count is similar. I think my cat would have lost the weight using the Science Diet Light Canned as well just because I never used canned food before. PLUS, I was dedicated to using just one 5.5 ounce can per day of intake. Nonetheless, the Prescription Metabolic Canned version is what we used and it helped us achieve this amazing result. by on 10/22/2014
This has been effective for my cat's weight loss so far.
Even though a little pricey, this canned food formula has already resulted in weight loss (along with the metabolic dry food), for my cat, who has only been on it for a month. by on 10/09/2014
I think this is a good product for keeping my kitty healthy
My cat likes both the dry & wet metabolic food. I know she rather have some of the store bought food better. But this is all I had feed her since I bought her from the shelter. She seems to like it very much. I have never have had a problem with her eating habits she always eats well but then again she is young still. Hopefully, she will stay healthy and active and live a very long life on this product. by on 10/08/2014
Cats love it!
The cats really enjoy the metabolic formula wet food and it has helped them lose weight. Only downside is the expense of the food. by on 09/11/2014
It's cat food!!
This is diet cat food, which our vet recommended (& prescribed) for our overweight cat. It seems to be working, as - slowly but surely - she's dropping weight. The most positive aspect of this product is that the cat seems to really like it, which is a lot more than we can say for most human-targeted diet food. That being said, the cat became overweight in large part because she enjoys just about all food. ;-) by on 08/31/2014
My cat's coat never looked so good!
My cat's big to begin with, so extra pounds don't help her overall health. Our vet recommended Metabolic, and I decided to give it a try--even though I wasn't thrilled about the likely higher ongoing cost, the extra trips to the vet to purchase it, and the very real possibility my cat wouldn't like "diet" food. I was wrong all the way around! My cat loves her Hill's wet and dry Metabolic, her coat is soft and silky, and she's lost a little weight. I pre-order my cat's food through my vet's office, and they even take the great coupons Hill's offers (making Hill's much less expensive than the brand I used to buy). My cat, my wallet, and I are very happy! by on 06/23/2014
This product is the best for your cat to lose and maintain
My cat loves her wet food, she licks it clean. She is healthy since I changed her food from regular advertised cat food to your brand. When we go to the vet she gets a clean bill of health. by on 04/29/2014
Cats seem to like it!
It's always a feeding frenzy when our three cats get their wet food at dinner time. They love this food! It seems to be helping with wait loss too! by on 04/27/2014
It is helping my cat lose weight
I started with R/D dry, but my cat wasn't losing weight. I switched to prescription Metabolic wet and dry food, and after a few tries, got the right mix, and Oliver is losing weight on it. While it is pretty expensive, it is doing a good job and as long as he continues to lose weight, I will use it. He loves both the wet and dry food. I would recommend it to anyone who has tried other food, with no results. This seems to do what others (even Hills) did not do. I am very pleased with the results and Oliver loves it. So all is well. Thank you, Olivers' mother by on 02/14/2014
excellent!
my cats are losing weight. their coats are looking better.they are also more lively. excellent product. by on 11/23/2013
metabolic wet cat food
My two thirteen year old cats love it. It's pricey, but at least I know I'm giving them quality soft food. I've always been a fan of Hills. I'm hoping that this weight loss diet really works! by on 11/20/2013
No weight loss
My cat is extremely over weight at 21 lbs. I've tried several different low fat cat foods, both prescription and over the counter. I started my cat on a combination of Feline Metabolic can and dry food a year ago. Unfortunately she has not lost any weight even with lowering the amounts that I feed her several times. The only good thing is that she has not gained any more weight. I was just advised by a Hill's customer service agent to go back to my vet to get a better understanding of what type food and how much my cat should be eating. I'm very frustrated that I can't find any cat food that works for my sweet girl! by on 10/24/2013
This product REALLY works
We have had our 8 year old overweight cat on this food .Not only does he love the taste of both the canned and dry formula but he has been Very successful in losing weight every month . He has now lost a little over 6 pounds . Yeah Loki !!!The first time in almost 2 years and he can jump up on our bathroom cabinet again for water from the tap. by on 08/07/2013
My pet lost weight
I feel that Metabolic Diet worked better than typical low calorie or low fat poducts. My cat lost significant weight in a relatively short amount of time. She became more energetic which, I think, added to the weight reduction. Her coat also became very shiney. The science that went into choosing the ingredients for this product really seems to be working. The reasons that I did not give 5 stars are these: 1) it is a little pricey, 2) I don't think my cat really loves the taste because she was reluctant when switching and she usually eats anything (therefore the weight issue), 3) the nuggets for the dry food are too large; she is a cat that swallows pieces whole and vomits food that has large pieces, and lastly, 4) I personally dislike the smell. I've served other canned foods that smell much nicer. by on 06/29/2013