Atopica (Cyclosporine) PRODUCT REVIEWS PAGE 1 OF 1

Atopica (Cyclosporine) is a non-steroidal option for the treatment of your dog's dermatitis. Atopica (Cyclosporine) works by directly affecting the immune cells responsible for itchy allergic reactions to a variety of different substances.

Options Available: 4-9 lbs., 10mg - 15 capsules 9.1-16 lbs., 25mg - 15 capsules 16.1-33 lbs., 50mg - 15 capsules 33.1-64 lbs, 100mg - 15 capsules

Shop This Product

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 41 reviewers.

  • Good product
    has stopped the red irritated skin and itching from allergies! we are able to give 1 pill every other day. by on 07/23/2018
  • Strong Drug - Must Be Fed
    Drug is administered every other day for our dog, so consult your pet care physician/doctor/veterinarian. Usually sneak it into his canned dog food so he won't spit it out. Otherwise, due to the strong smell, he'll eat around the pill. Also, if you stop giving the drug, your pet will get itchy skin again within a week or so. Must be given consistently. by on 02/11/2018
  • Nancy Struever
    The atopica unfortunately promotes gross growth of the gums, and he is now having difficulty eating some things-- for a beagle that is truly odd by on 01/24/2018
  • 50/50 chance it will work good.
    Product is expensive for helping itching as much as it should. by on 10/04/2015
  • Great results with minimal side effects
    After months of painful scratching, ruling out food allergies and tired of routine steroid injections with messy side effects, Atopica has proven to be very effective at controlling symptoms with only mild side effects in the first week only. Strongly recommend to any pet owner looking to control atopic dermatitis for good. by on 05/22/2015
  • a life saver
    Before atipica my dog was miserable chewing on herself biting licking to the point of making herself bleed. after about a week she was not doing any of those things. its now day 17 and her furs grown back no itching, shes like a pup again. its expensive but if you get the pet plus you save 100 a month. i recommend wholeheartedly by on 04/27/2015
  • Our dog has perianal fistulas
    This is the best solution that we have found for him. The fistulas are difficult to diagnosis and difficult to treat.This is given once per day. Easy to dispense. We have noticed some improvement. Our vet said he may be on these the rest of his life. He is only 3! by on 04/08/2015
  • Best Price
    Great Price. Fast shipping this is the 2nd dog I have used it for by on 01/31/2015
  • Only Pill That Works
    Very expensive, but my dog no longer spends hours licking and scratching himself. He had terrible allergies and was so miserable that it was hard to watch. Now he is back to being a bouncy and happy dog. by on 11/11/2014
  • Pros and cons
    Atopica seems to work to help my dogs allergies minimizing his biting and scratching.What I don't like about this medicine, is that it is so expensive and I can't understand why pet medication is so much more expensive then human medicine?? by on 08/15/2014
  • This product helped me a lot.
    My little Frenchie has terrible allergies. We tried everything and nothing really helped. So our doctor turned us on to Atopica. And now she gets her shots twice a week plus the Atopica every other day and she never looked better. I would recommend this to anyone whose pet has severe allergies. by on 07/15/2014
  • DEFINITELY WORKS !!!
    I have a Jack Russell, rescue girl, had been treating her both with tradicional and chinese medicines, which were working some days better than others, but also a bath every 3 days for the last 2 years!! Finally, I started her on ATOPICA two months ago.....keep the pills in the fridge, no side effects, no vomiting or diarrhea....she takes one 25 mg every day, and no more scratching, IT WORKS!!! She still in on her chinese medicine pills, as a suplement, but I am very pleased with ATOPICA. by on 07/11/2014
  • Using with another product
    I did not see much difference when used alone. However using with ketaconazole (pill) and douxo chlorhexidine mousse (on paws) all is well. by on 05/06/2014
  • Good Product for Allergies
    This is a god product for a pet that has allergies. It would be great if they did not need it, but some have allergies severe enough they have to have medicine to function. by on 10/06/2013
  • atpoica - good stuff
    I like the product. My vet prescribed the medication for my dog's irritable bowl syndrome. by on 09/12/2013
  • Expeditious service, help available by phone, web site still needs some tweaking and mobile device "friendliness".
    The reason I would not recommend this product is because it requires not only a prescription, but also very competent medical evaluation and specific indications for use, and cannot/should not be used without a veterinary thorough consideration. This product amounts to aggressive immunosuppression that cannot be taken lightly, less than sure success, has a well established profile of unpleasant side effects, some serious risks, and should not be subject of recommendation by non-professionals. by on 09/07/2013
  • Expeditious service, help available by phone, web site still needs some tweaking and mobile device "friendliness".
    The reason I would not recommend this product is because it requires not only a prescription, but also very competent medical evaluation and specific indications for use, and cannot/should not be used without a veterinary thorough consideration. This product amounts to aggressive immunosuppression that cannot be taken lightly, less than sure success, has a well established profile of unpleasant side effects, some serious risks, and should not be subject of recommendation by non-professionals. by on 09/07/2013
  • EXPENSIVE BUT GOOD!
    I have an 8 1/2 yr old 72 LB Border Collie/Lab mix who was a rescue and has itched since she was 2 years old (at least that when it was truly noticed). The visit to the specialized Dermotoligst revealed the solution was Atopica. Now keep in mind my dog has had (2) TPLO surgeries and also needs (100 mg) + (50 mg) of Atopica each day. Atopica works for the itching and to see my dog comfortable has been worth the expense. For those who not aware, Atopica offers a rebate for every 2 box purchase. This year, due to cost I am trying generic! by on 01/11/2013
  • Atopica
    As retirees with a much-loved little poodle, the price of Atopica is taking its toll on our budget! She is doing well on the medication, so we chisel out the $$$ somehow. Please consider the economy and revisit the outrageous cost of this medication...for the sake of our pets! by on 10/23/2012
  • Another Atopica positive review
    I turned to Atopica when my bichon's allergies were so bad he was constantly chasing himself in circles rubbing against everything he could find; I didn't want any more steroids which had worked for only limited periods anyway. The Atopica stopsthe itching except during the terrible months of September and October (when I also keep a hood on him) and even then it is only low-moderate, not intolerable for him or me. I only give him 25 mg/day. 50 seems to work better, but the diarrhea and "accidents" in the house are impossible. He doesn't have those problems on 25 mg, so it's a compromise. I expect in the winter he'll be fine on 25 mg every other day or even every 3rd day. Also, these are the first pills he has not shied away from taking. Don't know why, but that helps. They are cheaper from the online pharmacy my vet's website links to. by on 09/30/2012
  • Miracle??? Maybe!!!
    Although I hate giving my pups any medication, sometimes it's not an option when they are suffering. I went to both a regular vet and a holistic vet and both approved Atopica as safe. This stuff seems to be miracle cure for my pups! They too (as other reviews mentioned) had horrible and constant itching which caused lesions and sore spots all over their little bodies. You can play around with it to see if you can give it to them daily and then maybe go to every other day - whatever works best for your pup. But it is the only drug that seems to work 100% and not have the BAD side affects of steroid, prednazone (sp? HORRIBLE stuff!!), etc. on their organs. by on 08/02/2012
  • Finally something that wroks
    My girl Jetta has been apart of my life for now 11yrs. At about 10yrs old she started with this horrible itching over her whole body. It was so bad she would make herself raw and would give herself skin infections. Thankfully the doctor told us about Atopica. It's amazing to see my baby girl feel and look so much better. Too bad its so expensive....I hope these Doctor read these comments and realize they need to do something about the price, especially for all these pets that are on it for life. I gave 4 paws just b/c of the price of it. I don't even think humans pay that much for a month supply of allergy meds!! by on 09/03/2011
  • Heaven, not Hell on the end of a leash.
    Due to cost I tried to cut my 8lb shiu tzu dosage back. Wow, the effect was immediate. She was miserable and began scratching and chewing again (Hell). Watching her I began to itch too :) Had to cut a few things out of my budget but it was worth it to see her happy and itch free again(Heaven). by on 08/25/2011
  • What a difference
    my dog suffered terribly from spring to winter with such terrible itching she would scream, rub against the furniture, and get lesions. I tried steroids, allergy injections, food changes, etc. Nothing helped but this. Couldn't go anywhere because it was impossible to get someone to watch her. Now is a happy dog witth no itching, and I am a thrilled owner. by on 07/21/2011
  • atopica works great! may 12,2011
    I have a min pin that developed allergies at about 4 years old. His whole body looked as though he had mange. A visit to the vet concluded allergies. He has been on 50mg atopica daily for most of the year. Within days of starting the Meds his body started to heal and he stopped the scratching. He is now 11 years old and doing well. The pills are quite pricey at $4 a pill but as his owner I accept the responsibility of keeping him in good health. Im sooo happy that my vet recommended atopica. He also is on a special extra low allegen food. At a cost of approx $36 for an 8lb bag. I would highly recommend these two products as they have made my little luckys life so much better. :) by on 05/13/2011
  • Vet recomended for my cat!
    My cat scratched his head so severely he would bleed and have constant open wounds. He would chew on his front legs until they bled as well. We tried food diets and other prescriptions for years. Atopica has been the only thing that worked for us but it is difficult to remember to pill a cat every 3 days and he fights us on it. by on 07/03/2010
  • Miracle Drug
    Highly recommend. Sammy does wonderful while on Atopica. Only dislike is price. You can't tell me you cant't sell this for $1.50 per pill and still make a big profit. Shame on the company. by on 04/05/2010
  • works but expensive
    This is the only thing that works for my min pin who lost all the hair on his ears, off spots on his back, and chews his paws until they are raw. After recently having a baby I have difficulty affording to keep him on his meds so all his symptoms have returned. We went thru several perscription ointments, shampoos skin scrapes, skin biospy, and allergy testing before finding atopica. by on 01/31/2010
  • Million dollar dog!
    My german shepherd has been on Atopica for over 3 years and will be for life I suppose. It has eased his suffering. It works but is absolutely presents a hardship for my family. He takes 2 pills everyday for most of the year. Do the math, he is a car payment. In addition he requires perscription dog food for his allergies. I love my million dollar dog but in these economic times we make some tough choices to keep him well. by on 10/25/2009

  • I use Atopica for my cat! She was constantly scratching and irritated. She would cause scabs all over her neck and above her e1 rubbing her hair right off. She was miserable, I tried everything too. Steroids was only temporary, nothing would help not even a food diet. Then had to spend $600 to get allergy testing. The vet recommended Atopica. She was showing signs of improvement within a few days. She came back to life and was no longer tired and to her self all the time. I was so happy to see how much better she was feeling. Atopica is very expensive but well worth it if nothing else is working. Highly recommend! by on 06/16/2009
  • Product Review
    I use Atopica for my cat! She was constantly scratching and irritated. She would cause scabs all over her neck and above her eyes rubbing her hair right off. She was miserable, I tried everything too. Steroids was only temporary, nothing would help not even a food diet. Then had to spend $600 to get allergy testing. The vet recommended Atopica. She was showing signs of improvement within a few days. She came back to life and was no longer tired and to her self all the time. I was so happy to see how much better she was feeling. Atopica is very expensive but well worth it if nothing else is working. Highly recommend! by on 06/16/2009
  • Amazing
    Our Bishon Frise, Frankie is only 14 months old and he has been scratching himself so bad he bleeds above his e1 and under his snout since he was 6 months old ..it's been terrible and nothing would stop it. We have bathed him with prescription shampoo that includes cortizone and left it on for 5 minutes, we've tried oatmeal shampoo, changed his food to weed out food allergies, done skin scrapings to test for allergies and have had him on other meds to eliminate the scratching and nawing at his paws..but nothing worked until we got Atopica...3-4 weeks in we saw considerable improvement. Frankie has now been on Atopica for 3 months and he hasn't bleed in 2 months and his paws are dry!! by on 08/04/2008
  • Why so expensive?
    Atopica would be the dream medication if it wasn;t so expensive. In this day , With the economy killing everyone, and pets being given up in record numbers by families who can no longer care for them, I urge the pharmeceutical companies who make all pet meds to consider pricing. This medication relieves so much suffering in these precious animals, and could be used by far more people if it was affordable. This drug has done wonders for my Shitzu who has seasonal allergies. It is amazing the relief we have seen to the constant bititng and itching. by on 07/05/2008
  • Only thing that worked for my doggie
    Moved to North Carolina and not only did my allergies return from coming out west, but suddenly my dog developed all sorts of problems. Itchy, red, swollen paws and ears; bumps on body that itched and oozed and the non stop licking, licking, licking...she was miserable! Vet had me do a food trial to see if she was allergic to dog food, nope. Did skin scrapings, checked for mange, bought an air filter...everything we could do to help! She was put on Predisone and Simplicef which did work "temporarily", but I don't like the effects of Predisone as it can hurt her liver. So, I went from Vet to Vet and was told about this product. At first I freaked about the cost, OMG, it's so expensive! That being said, it was worth it! Within 48 hours, my baby was not only looking tons better she was actually happy! I hadn't noticed how her mood had changed feeling so miserable. I actually cried seeing her bounce around a few days after starting this medication, it was like she was laughing! Since she is a large dog at 80 pounds, we had to adjust the dosage and 200mgs a day is what works best. Again, so very expensive, but how can I put a price on having my best friend feel good? by on 06/03/2008
  • Works Great!
    I have a Bichon Frise that has had skin problems for several years, and like the others here the vet was trying to control the itching, scratching, hair loss with cordisone ( this is not a long term solution) the shots are harmful to my Millie, and well we just cant have that. So about a month ago my vet suggested Atopica and after about a week she had almost completely stopped scratching, her hair is now growing back, she looks like a pet and NOT a stray now. I am so thankful to have relief for the constant itching, and I know Millie is. If you have this problem give it a try, you will be glad you did! by on 04/27/2008
  • english springer spanial owner
    After the first six months my springer developed hot spots and constant itching... after exhausting shots, creams, sprays etc. to no avail, my vet recommmended Atopica. After about 2 months she was a new dog... Her hair came back, was a " happy camper!". by on 01/04/2008
  • amazing!!!
    my dog would not stop biting and drawing blood, he couldnt breathe, his e1 were always red. he was found under a bridge on interstate 95 in ct. he had to have 7 teethe removed as a result of being homeless, steroids didnt help, nothing helped until atopica. within one day he made a 100% turnaround and i believe it saved his life!!!! by on 09/09/2007
  • wonder drug
    Works better than anything tried so far.Price needs to come down, not very affordable for long term use by on 04/11/2007
  • Worth the Price
    1 this stuff is expensive but it WORKS and I have found nothing else that comes close. My dog has suffered from severe inhalent allergies for almost two years. He took Prednisone, anti-histamines, and a topical prescription spray. And he still was scratching, biting, and getting infections from lesions. I noticed a differance after 7 days of using this product. No more lesions, biting, or misery! by on 03/16/2007
  • A godsend for my golden
    My 3 year-old golden retriever, Teddy, has had (non-food) allergies for the past two years. Before Atopica, I was giving him allergy shots, antihistamines, and tried just about every itch-relief spray on the market. After about 6 weeks of adding Atopica, there has been a night-and-day difference. No longer is Teddy scratching himself so hard I'm afraid he's just going to scratch himself raw! Or licking and chewing his paws non-stop. I haven't been able to give up the shots and antihistamines--which is the only reason Atopica is not getting the full 5 stars from me. It is expensive, but well worth it to see my little buddy finally get some relief!! by on 04/07/2005
  • Curb Skin Infection and Scratching
    Petie, my Shi-tzu, has constant skin problems that are commonly associated with the breed. My Vet was trying an occasional shot of Cortizone, but I was concerned about the long term effects. He put Petie on Atopica about two months ago, and the results have been great! I recently ran out and tried going without, but his problem returned. We will be using Atopica from now on!*This is a prescription item by on 04/02/2005
Page 1 of 1 1