Sentinel for Dogs Product Reviews PAGE 2 OF 3

Rated 5 out of 5 by 214 reviewers.

Great price!

Heartworm preventative is an expensive part of pet ownership. I shopped around and got the best price from PetCareRx. by on 06/22/2014
Love this stuff

I used this for years and then my vet changed the dogs to Trifexis. My dogs hated it! They spit it out 2 and 3 times, and I mean from way down their throats!! There has never been an issue with the Sentinel, they will even eat it out of my hand if I forget to put it in their bowl with the food. It has been effective for heartworm and fleas for all of our dogs. by on 06/19/2014
Good Product

My vet prescribed this for my dogs a couple of years ago. Since I have been buying these from PetCareRx, my savings have been substantial over what the vet charged. by on 06/06/2014
No more 2 meds every month

finally I can give my 2 small dogs 1 pill a month that covers heart worms and the fleas etc. Trying to find the spot between their shoulder blades for the fleas etc. meds has been awful. They're happy campers and so is Mom :-) Thanks a lot! by on 05/15/2014
Not a flea/tick preventative!

Geez people do some reading. Sentinel doesn't prevent flea or tick infestations. It interrupts the flea life cycle by preventing the development of flea eggs. Adult fleas and ticks will still get on your dog. Sentinel is primarily a heartworm, hookworm, roundworm, and whipworm preventative. It is also the safest heartworm med for the herding breeds that may have MDR1 gene mutation issues. by on 05/11/2014
This product does not work

I have two dogs. We gave them this medication three weeks ago. While taking them for a walk, we get home and they have two fleas on them? My puppy has thicker fur and tends to attract the fleas more then the other one. Not only was it hard to give her the tablet, she kept spitting it out so we have to use a pill pocket, but it did not work. I paid all this money for yet another unsatisfied product! by on 05/06/2014
So glad they are available again

I used Sentinel from the start when I got my Shep-Colli-Lab mix 8 yrs ago and had no problems at all. Then they put the hold on the manufacturer for another product and I was forced to switch to another product which was way more costly and did not keep the fleas at bay. I had to first take care of the flea problem that then developed in my house (another expense) and then switch to another product. I was thrilled to see they started selling it again. Great value, easy to use and it works!Radio by on 05/04/2014
Good heartworm medicine

This product was not available for some reason. I used Trifexas in the meantime - it is wonderful that it is back since it quite a bit cheaper and the dogs take it well - in fact my collie takes it better (the Sentinel). by on 04/22/2014
very effective

very effective, less money than other brands, dog tolerates the medication well, dog heartworm test negative. difficult to find a heartworm chewable for dogs under ten lbs. This med works for both of our dogs. by on 04/14/2014
I like that it takes care of more than one issue at a time!

I have only given her the 1st dose, we live in Florida, the flea part of has not worked well yet, hopefully the 2nd dose works better. It would not be fair to say it does not work, not yet! by on 03/31/2014
Like once a month dosing and that it covers two areas in one pill.

Our vet introduced us to this product and we like how it attacks two things in one pill and you give it once a month. One less medicine to keep up with. by on 03/23/2014
Need crushed pill method!

My little Chihuahua will not eat Heartguard even chopped to teeny pieces & mixed with chicken! I guess she smells it.So the only way to get her heart worm medicine is with Sentinel. I crush the tablet into granuales & add it to her dinner.For some reason my vet doesn't stock it any longer so I have to now buy it online, no problem, arrived within a week. by on 03/22/2014
Sentinel Heartworm Preventtive

I have been using this heartworm preventative for a long time. I have never had a dog with heartworms and felt okay with not testing regularly - it didn't seem necessary- my dogs always are in peak condition. by on 03/14/2014
My dogs like it !

Gives great protection from fleas....ticks.....heartworms...and several other pests. Dogs like the taste and you can give it as a treat or put it in their food . It is a little pricey....but less than some of the combined meds. Buying them separate is more expensive. by on 03/05/2014
Highly recommend for all dog owners!

I have two dogs who play at public parks, the levee and swim in the Mississippi river. Sentinel is excellent for preventing heart worm and controlling or eliminating any problems with fleas. I couldn't be happier with this product. by on 02/21/2014
Vet recommended Med

Easy to use and my dog takes it readily. You only give it once a month. This is what my vet wants us to use. by on 01/21/2014
just as expected

This product is simple and gets job done. I am glad that it came back. Thank you by on 01/02/2014
Hands down best product.

I have used sentinel for years and now using pet care rx I have the convenience of home delivery at a great price. by on 12/29/2013
Sentinel

At first - the dog that I am babysitting spit out the tablet, then I placed it more deeply into a piece of chicken, and viola'. The scratching and biting stopped the next afternoon.Thank you Sentinel. by on 12/26/2013
great price and better dosing for very small dogs

Great price on a highly recommended dog heartworm med. by on 12/22/2013
sentinel flavor tabs

I feel this is one the best all in one flea and heartworm medications out on the market. by on 12/12/2013
Not Worth It

I bought this product because it stated that it is for the, "prevention and control of flea populations, the prevention of heartworm disease and the treatment and control of roundworms, hookworms, and whipworms in dogs." Turns out it didn't do a thing for fleas!!! My black lab is allergic to fleas and this product did nothing for her. When I took her to my vet, they told me that Sentinel doesn't actually prevent fleas, as the product review would have you to believe. So I now have 5 months worth of an expensive heartworm treatment, seeing as how I'm going to have to purchase an additional treatment for fleas. Will never buy this again and Molly will be back on Trifexis as soon as a months time is up!!! by on 12/10/2013
great features

I just started using it and for right now it seems to be as good as what I got from my vet before. by on 12/05/2013
Pleased!

I was pleased by the quick, attentive service of PetCareRx. I haven't had time yet to evaluate the product but based on previous orders with my vet the product is also good. by on 12/02/2013
one pill a month for heart worm and flea population

I would recommend Sentinal highly for your dog especially because of the price from PetCareRx. by on 10/29/2013
Sentinel is very effective in preventing heartworm and fleas

We have given Sentinel to our cocker spaniels since they were puppies. They have never had any problems taking it and it's very convenient to order online. by on 10/28/2013
Very happy

My Freddy love it. I love that he only have to take one pill a month. by on 10/22/2013
works great for my two dogs

My vet does not handle Sentinel and since it has worked so well in the past, I got a prescription for my two dogs andthe order was received within five days. by on 10/19/2013
Must taste good

My dog ate this without any problem. He didn't like his previous heartworm med. I've only given it to him once, and it did seem to upset his stomach, even though it was given with a meal. by on 10/17/2013
heart worm and flea meds

Very polite and professional. Super fast ddelivery time. by on 10/05/2013
Less than a Month

Puppy took this pill on 9-1-2013..Tonight in the car the puppy coughed up a tiny worm,,,,I'm trying to figure out what kind of worm it could be... by on 09/23/2013
works well

i have been using for many years, great product. heard a rumor wasn't available glad to see still here. by on 09/10/2013
Heartworm prevention

Great product. It also keeps fleas and ticks away! by on 09/05/2013
So far so good!

So far so good. This is the first month we've used it. We had been on Iverhart Max but had adverse reactions and had to switch. No reactions thus far, thankfully by on 08/07/2013
Better than expected

No stomach upset, just feed with your pets food. So far no fleas or ticks. Like that I don't need messy flea drops on my dogs coat each month. Money saver as well. by on 08/05/2013
great product

So glad its back. The only all in one product that actually works!! by on 08/01/2013
Gave Dogs Pills Two Weeks Ago & They Are Still Scratching

Part of the reason I got this product was to get rid of the fleas on the dogs. Despite dipping them with a Permethrin Dip, they are still chewing and scratching on themselves?The instructions say that this product will inhibit the eggs only and not kill the adult fleas. To be perfectly fair about this, the instructions said in order to complete the treatment, I would have to add CapStar Tabs to their diet once a week and treat the yard for fleas, carpeting, and bedding areas.So, I have ordered CapStar Tabs and Bifen Granules. Once I get all this, then I will systematically give them CapStar, treat yard, powder carpet, and wash bedding. Then hopefully, this will kill the darn fleas off completely! I am SO Tired of this!Since I am not sure of the outcome yet, consider this review incomplete on the outcome of this product. The reason I am listing a review is because they keep sending me all these emails asking for one. by on 07/28/2013
Gave Dogs Pills Two Weeks Ago & They Are Still Scratching

Part of the reason I got this product was to get rid of the fleas on the dogs. Despite dipping them with a Permethrin Dip, they are still chewing and scratching on themselves? The instructions say that this product will inhibit the eggs only and not kill the adult fleas. To be perfectly fair about this, the instructions said in order to complete the treatment, I would have to add CapStar Tabs to their diet once a week and treat the yard for fleas, carpeting, and bedding areas. So, I have ordered CapStar Tabs and Bifen Granules. Once I get all this, then I will systematically give them CapStar, treat yard, powder carpet, and wash bedding. Then hopefully, this will kill the darn fleas off completely! I am SO Tired of this! Since I am not sure of the outcome yet, consider this review incomplete on the outcome of this product. The reason I am listing a review is because they keep sending me all these emails asking for one. by on 07/28/2013
Efficient and economical.

I liked that it was a combined flea & wormer And that there was not a oil residue on the coat. My collie had experienced some intestinal problems prior to use; that is cleared up now!! Easier to use than the skin application products, they ate it in their food without hesitation. by on 07/22/2013
Easy to administer

I hated the oily topical products and was glad when I found Sentinel Flavor Tabs. I have only used it one month but everything went fine and only one product to purchase instead of two. by on 07/21/2013
new, easier way to give monthly meds

I bought this product instead of Triflexis as it does the same thing but costs about half the price! We are only one dose in and dealing with a major flea infestation right now so cannot say YET how truly effective it is. Fingers crossed because the price and double-duty of this pill make it a winner... by on 07/20/2013
Great product

Great service..prompt order processing and delivery. by on 07/19/2013
GREAT PRODUCT

I have used this product for years and I live in the south with a lot of fleas. I have not had one flea problem in the house. I like this product over all the others on the market. My dogs health has been and still is perfect. I will continue to use and recommend others to use this product. by on 07/18/2013
1st time user

This month is the first time I gave my dog Sentinel. He took iteasily and I saw no adverse effects. I have seen no fleas on him, so I am pleased. by on 07/15/2013
Great price. Fast delivery.

They had a big selection, great prices and fast delivery! by on 07/15/2013
So happy to see this back on the market.

This product is great. For my dog: no upset stomach, no refusal to eat it and it has been effective against heart worm. by on 07/11/2013
used this for years

I used this for 12 years on my last dog. Now that I have I new puppy I am vary Happy I can get this product for him. This is the best price I have found. by on 07/10/2013
No fleas!yeah

My dogs had fleas really bad in may so since then I've been using sentinal and for over a month they have been flea free! I have 3dogs 2 dachshunds and a Great Dane and it worked on them all by on 07/09/2013
Good price for Sentinel.

Good service just slowed waiting for vet. Sentinel is good for fleas and heartworms. by on 07/08/2013
Awesome Product

This is the only heartworm protection that both of my dogs can take without it coming back up. I love the fact it covers more than just heartworms. I have given this to all my 4 legged babies. Best buy for the money I highly recommend this product!!!!! :) by on 07/03/2013
Awesome, and affordable price

So excited this product is available again. All others made our boys sick and were too big to swallow (as they did not want to chew them). by on 06/28/2013
My picky pup loves it!

I have one dog that will eat anything, and the other who will eat around pills - no matter what I put them in! Sentinel is like a treat to him!! He eats it right up! They never got sick from it. They don't have any problems with fleas or anything like that. Definitely recommend! by on 01/27/2012
GR FAMILY

We switched to Sentinal a few years ago after getting skin reaction to the topical preparations. With three Goldens, A Mom and two litter mates, we have had no problems except the price is exorbitant, twice that of a similar crewable, Hartguard. by on 08/21/2011
Flea-free Shelties!

I highly recommend this product. I give it to my two Shelties, ages three and two and a half, and neither one of them has ever had a single flea. I live in Florida where fleas are a year round problem. by on 08/18/2011

I highly recommend this product. I have two Shelties, one is almost three years old, and the other is two and a half years old. Have never had a flea on either one of them, and I live in Florida, where fleas are a problem year round. by on 08/18/2011
Product Review

I highly recommend this product. I have two Shelties, one is almost three years old, and the other is two and a half years old. Have never had a flea on either one of them, and I live in Florida, where fleas are a problem year round. by on 08/18/2011
I trust this product

I am very pleased with Sentinel and completely trust this product. I used Comfortis for approximately 5 months and both of my dogs had seizures once a month for the 5 months that I gave them the medication. It was awful. After repeated trips to the vet and numerous tests we finally figured out the Comfortis was causing the seizures. I wasn't aware seizures are a possible side affect from that medication. I also tried Frontline and it seemed to really irritate my min pins skin when I applied it so I immediately stopped that. I haven't seen any side affects in either dog from the Sentinel and I have been using it for the past year. I have not seen fleas on either dog either. I'm not sure if certain medications affect certain breeds however I found it odd that both of my dogs suffered seizures approximately one week after the administration of each dose of Comfortis. by on 07/14/2011
Great Product!

Love love love Sentinel! Have used it on my Rat Terrier for almost 2 years now and have never had any issues. The convenience of one product for both heartworms and fleas is fantastic! by on 07/12/2011
No side effects

I had always used the liquid flea treatment for years on my dogs. The last two dogs I had, toy poodles BOTH developed cancerous tumors. The male used to scratch at the spot where I would put the liquid and it would get red and irritated for a few hours. He was 11 years old and she was almost 15.She tolerated the medicine better, but it still got her in the end. I totally believe its what gave them both cancer. One of the liver the other one his stomach cavity. I have 2 new dogs. They have been on Sentinal for 2 years as of Aug. I have had no problem and I like the fact that it protects for all the parasites and the fleas so I only have to give one pill to each of them once a month. I have not seen one flea on either dog. I highly recommend this product. by on 07/10/2011
Extreme Side Effects

I can not recommend this product. I gave it to my Choclate Lab at my vets recommendation. The first tab she took she became lethargic , could not eat within the day. She could not get up. Very hard to find ANY information as to the testing done. Got a refund. I went back to Heartguard and Frontline. I have used them for many years on several breeds with no issue. by on 06/21/2011
Bailey and The Jack Pack

I have a beagle and three jack Russells. WE Have used this product for over 5Years. I see an occassinal flea but never had a problem. Would not even try any thing else. by on 05/23/2011
Long-term solution, not a quick fix

True, Miss South Carolina, this product does not kill fleas. Fleas live just a short time (a week or so) and reproduce prolifically. This product prevents a flea colony from gaining or maintaining foothold in your home. We have three Jack Russells in a flea-infested, pet-friendly island community and have seen zero fleas on them in the past four years. The flea population where we live has apparently developed an immunity to Frontline as it has little or no effect here. Sentinel took about six weeks to begin showing effect but since then, it has been the complete and total cure we had hoped for. Best thing we have ever used, but it took some patience. by on 04/22/2011
15 year user of setinel

Used for 2 dogs large and small breed and had excellent results. I had next door neighbor who had regular flea infestations and my dogs never had an issue...not even visual fleas...even tho my vet does not carry it, in fact it's hard to find a vet who will carry it (contracts with competitors) but I rave about it and despite some vet critics, I highly recommend it by on 01/01/2011
prescription

Do I need a prescription when ordering Sentinal for my dog? I know the strength she needs as I have bought it from the vet before. by on 12/12/2010
Charlie & Harry

Charlie was our first pet in Florida, a Llahsa Apsa. He lived to be 18yrs. we gave him Sentinel tablets for at least 10 years. It was the best. Today we have a rescue dog, lab & beagle mix. His name is Harry & does not like the topical products so we put him on Sentinel, he thinks they are treats. No mess and no fuss. by on 10/28/2010
Charlie & Harry

Charlie was our first pet in Florida, a Llahsa Apsa. He lived to be 18yrs. we gave him Sentinel tablets for at least 10 years. It was the best. Today we have a rescue dog, lab & beagle mix. His name is Harry & does not like the topical products so we put him on Sentinel, he thinks they are treats. No mess and no fuss. by on 10/28/2010
Sugar/Bella

We have given Sentinel to our pets for the past 25 years. We have never had to worry about our girls using this product. We have had the pleasure of living with six loving girls in the past and now with two new toy poodles. This is a wonderful product!!!!! by on 05/13/2010
Easy and works!

I love this. My dogs will eat it no problem and so much easier than messing around with topical solutions. On large dogs the topical meds are hard to apply, you have to spread it over the whole body and it is hard to judge how much to apply to each area, I always have some left over because I am afraid I won't have enough at the end. Also it is difficult to part the hair on very short haired dogs. I made sure the dogs were flea free with Advantage and then started this pill, haven't seen a flea since..it won't kill adult fleas so it is best to get them off first. LOVE PetCareRx paw points and coupons...saving a lot of money, PLUS their prices are the lowest to begin with !!!! by on 04/19/2010
Does Not Kill Fleas

Purchasers should be aware that this product will NOT kill the fleas you see on your dog. It sterilizes the fleas and prevents them from reproducing. If you are looking for something that will kill the fleas you see on your dog, you should get Frontline Plus for Dogs. After my vet explained this to me, and online reasearch easily backs it up, I quit using this product since it won't do what I need. by on 12/02/2009
Worked up until now

I have three dogs and have been using this product for over a year. I just found fleas on one - she has white hair so it was easy to see them crawling around. I am considering switching back to Heartgaurd and just using a topical flea medication now. by on 08/21/2009
No More Fleas!

My dogs are on Sentinel now and Program the year before. Prior to discovering this medication, I tried every available spray, powder and spot treatment without luck. The fleas in South Tampa, Florida can reproduce amazingly fast and nothing worked - until I used Program. Because of it, I switched to Sentinel for the heartworm protection instead of using separate drugs. Both of my dogs love the flavortabs and consider them "treats". It's always good when the dog likes it, right? by on 08/03/2009
Great Product!

I've used this product for 2 years now and I love that I do not have to worry about fleas and paracites on my dog. I have never had any issues with my dog bringing any "buddies" from the outside! by on 06/04/2009
great stuff!!

I have had my American Eskimo Spitz all of his life (14 years) and have had him on Sentinel tabs from the beginning. It is really a good product and does exactly what it says it will. He has never had one flea, to my knowledge. And of course no sign of heartworm, through all of his testings. Receiving this medication through PetCareRx is faster, cheaper and very reliable. The coupons are a great bonus!! by on 04/22/2009
Schnauzer mom pleased in GA

My two dogs are 7 and 8 and have been on Sentinel since birth except for about a years timespan when the vet switched them to Heartgard and Frontline plus because they had had a few tics and the Sentinel isn't for tics.Big mistake! During that time we had a flea infestation. We switched back to the Sentinel and haven't had fleas since. The only problem I have with Sentinel is that one dog loves it and will chew it right out of my hand. The other one avoids it after sniffing it and I have to crush it and put it in some other food that kills the smell for her to eat it. AND, ordering through PetCareRx is easy and less expensive than at the Vet. Keep the coupons coming! by on 09/02/2008
Fast, easy, and personal

The people at Pet Care Rx showed that they care about service. I received very personal care and the products I ordered, arrived in record time. The products are exactly as I have purchased at the Vet, but half of the cost. I am very happy, and my four legged friends are happy and healthy...and that is the reason I will only order from Pet Care Rx by on 08/16/2008
Sentinel

We have a Sheltie which has a lot of hair! Our vet uses this product on his dogs. We have never had a problem with fleas since using Sentinel ( 10 years ) . To save some money , it would be good to send the product in a padded mailer vs a big cardboad box! I love all the coupons. We saved quite a bit of money and received free shipping! by on 08/16/2008
great product great service

PetCareRx has superior customer service and very quick delivery. It is cheaper than buying at the vets. Will visit again! by on 07/07/2008
Sentinel

I have had my two yorkies on Sentinel for years and it is the best heatworm/flea control medication I have ever used. One pill does the trick instead of using two separate medications which can result in higher costs. The pill is very tiny making it so easy for even the smallest dog to swallow. by on 06/21/2008
Good product, better price than vet or competitors

My two dogs have been on this medicine for about 7 years now without a SINGLE problem. Keeps them flea and heartworm free. I was quoted $80 from my vet for a 6 month supply. With a discount coupon, I just paid $101 including shipping for a 12 month supply! A huge savings! Service was great, they contacted my vet for me and shipped it in a few days. I've previously considered 1-800 Pet Meds, but the prices were never worth it compared to my vet. PetCareRx has changed all that. This is where I'll buy my pet meds from now on. by on 06/15/2008
Best Choice

Over the past 15 years we have rescued dozens of speical needs greyhounds and others. We alway depend on Sentinel to keep the dogs and our home environment healthy. I do not know how many hours we spent combing and bathing before this product was introduced. Especilly for former racing greyhounds who are exposed to many tick born diseases and given no prophylactic care. It is exceptional to be able to protect these good animals from so many potential parasites with an easy once a month pill. by on 06/07/2008
Thank You PetCareRx

I've purchased Sentinal for my Yorkshire Terriers for years but this is the first time I've used PetCareRx. I placed my order on Monday and received my shipment on Friday....and this included PetCareRx contacting my vet for a prescription. PetCareRx is fast...! by on 06/06/2008
Fit for a Diva

Our Maltese Poodle Diva has been on this product since she was a puppy. She has a luxating patella and the Synovi has helped her stay active and without pain for almost 6 years now. It is a super product! by on 05/17/2008
Sentinel is the best

Sentinel is the only medicine that I buy for my Dogs. I think it is the best heart worm medicine that you can buy because it also controls fleas & worms. PetCareRx is where I buy everything. They offer a great price & fast shipping. by on 05/10/2008
No Hassel Ordering

PetCare RX has a large variety of flea and tick medications.I've used Sentinel before. I like the combined treatment and onece a month dose.We have not seen nor had problems with fleas in over 2 yrs. My dog's last heart worm check up had a clean bill of health.I Found Sentinel to be a few dollors less here, than at my vet. My shipment arrived fast and was packaged securely . My pet's name, vet's name and instructions were on the box. by on 04/19/2008
Great Service

I was very pleased with the fast service and shipping. I received my order within four days of of ording. It was flawless. I will definitely order again. by on 04/19/2008
Best I have found

I use Sentinel for all 4 of my dogs and it is great. Besides keeping fleas from breeding, I love that it prevents heartworms. by on 04/16/2008
Great Product

I have always used Sentinal for my dog. It works very well for fleas - haven't ever seen a single one, even on the indoor cats and I don't use a preventative on them. This might not be the case for areas that are high flea areas, but it's the case for us. I like purchasing it from PetCareRx because they are a few dollars cheaper than the vets and they deliver to my door! by on 04/04/2008
Very Satisfied

I highly recommend getting your pet's need from PetCare.The price is within my budget. They ship it quickly.The product is as good or better then what you get from you vet. by on 04/03/2008
Works Great!

We have used this product with our Boxer for two years since we got her and she has never had a flea. I love this product and so does she. She eats it like a treat. I have her do a trick first so she knows it is a reward not a medication. by on 04/02/2008
Easy. No problems

Have a mini-dachshund and have had no problems using this medication. Great that it is a 2 in 1 pill (flea & heartworm). by on 03/25/2008
Best on the market

We've used this product for our older dog, now gone and now for our puppy. It is great and we've not had any problems with it so far. by on 01/20/2008
No Problems

My dog bullet gets great check ups at the vet. No worms, and No fleas or ticks. We live in an area with trees and water. He does not mind eating the tablet but he is finiky. A dab of peanut butter does the trick. by on 12/05/2007
Rescue dog miracle

I rescue special needs greyhounds and small breeds. This is the only way to be safe and sure that they are paricite free. by on 11/29/2007
easy to administer

Our vet recommended this product because it prevents numerous parasites. Our dog just eats the pill from my hand with no fuss. He loves it and thinks it's a treat. by on 11/12/2007
best product

this is the only product i would use on mydogs, it is safe and it works by on 09/08/2007
Works great on both our babies!!

We give this product to both our babies and they are well protected, which gives us satisfaction knowing they are growing up safely covered by the bad things that could hurt them... by on 09/03/2007
Excellent protection

This stuff works great, all issues that can affect my dogs are taken care of in this one pill. Our puppy got a few fleas on him at the groomers and within 24 hours they were dead. Love this stuff! by on 08/23/2007
It really works.

I have been using this product since it first came out. I have always had a multi-dog family of as many as 5 dogs at a time and currently live with 3 dogs. I have never had a problem with fleas and the additional parasite medication is an added bonus to this product. by on 07/26/2007
only stuff that really works

I have tried so many products for fleas and this is the only thing that works by on 07/12/2007
Highly Recommended

I have never had a flea or worm problem and have been using this product for over 5 years. by on 07/07/2007
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3