Purina Pro Plan All Life Stages Chicken and Rice Formula Dry Dog Food Product Reviews PAGE 2 OF 5

Analysis:Crude Protein (Min) - 26.0 %Crude Fat (Min) - 16.0 %Crude Fiber (Max) - 3.0 %Moisture (Max) - 12.0 %Linoleic Acid (Min) - 1.4 %Calcium (Ca) (Min) - 1.0 %Phosphorus (P) (Min) - 0.8 %Selenium (Se) (Min) - 0.30 mg/kgVitamin A (Min) - 15,000 IU/kgVitamin E (Min) - 460 IU/kgAscorbic Acid* (Min) - 70 mg/kgGlucosamine* (Min) - 400 PRO PLANmGlutamine* (Min) 1.0 %... Read More

SHOP NOW

Options/Sizes:

Rated 5 out of 5 by 405 reviewers.

The dogs love it!

Barely got the bag open and the pups were digging in! by on 11/07/2015
Best Ever!!

So I got a pit bull last year named Remi and she is a wonderful dog but she has a very sensitive stomach. We went through many dog foods and we finally tried Purina Pro Plan. She loves it and so do we. This is the one and only dog food she eats. Its honestly the best dog food ever. by on 11/05/2015
the dogs Luv it

Our dogs have been on it for a few years, they like the taste, the hair coat looks great, over all very happy with it. by on 11/04/2015
My dogs can't wait to eat when I buy this brand

My dogs love this food, their coats look great and their weight is perfect. by on 11/03/2015
Dogs love it!!

Another go to brand that we use...our dogs love it. by on 11/02/2015
KrisS

My dogs love this product and do great on it. Good stools and healthy coats by on 10/31/2015
dogs and puppies love

we always buy chicken and rice for our pups and adults and recommend this to adopters by on 10/26/2015
Another success story

Missy came to our rescue group severely under weight. Her coat was dull and thin. She loves the shredded blend chicken and rice! She's gained weight and her coat has improved. It's amazing what a quality diet (and a lot of love) can do! by on 10/24/2015
I've never met a dog that doesn't love this food!

I love dogs... I have three. All of them are picky eaters and all of them LOVE this food. It is the only thing they eat... and it is super healthy for them. Thank you Purina for the great product! by on 10/16/2015
Awesome!

We have 6 dogs, 2 of which are imported working Rottweiler's and one hunting dog and they do awesome! Energy, shiney coats and teeth and we can actually see the difference in food benefits from what we use to feed! by on 10/05/2015
worth every penny

I have always fed my dogs purina pro plan their whole lives. they never got sick, the only vet bills i have ever had is for vaccinations. also, my dogs live longer than other dogs. I attribute this to pro plan and pro plan only! by on 10/01/2015
new puffs

I have been serving Purina Pro Plan since 1990 to my dogs, I have always stood by your products and have recommended them to every person i have sold a puppy to or merely talked to about dog food. However I have to say that the newer Pro Plan foods that have the "puffs" in them my 3 shepherds and my 8 year old Golden all pick out and seperate refusing to eat. I am a member of your Pro Club and a breeder as well but am not happy with this current blend/product! I hope things change in the near future as I do not wish to buy food that my dogs only eat half of.. by on 09/20/2015
The Best

I would never feed anything else !! The Best,,,,,, by on 09/18/2015
DOGS LOVE IT!!!!

My dogs thank you!!!! They love this food!! I have Border Collies and we show and I get lots of comments on their condition and the lovely coats they have. I have fed Pro Plan for 12 yrs and although others are cheaper...my theory is...you get what you pay for!! by on 09/18/2015
Outstanding

We tried a number of high quality foods for our lovely Service Dog German Shepherd. Her coat lacked vibrancy, she had gas, and just never seemed to weigh enough regardless of how much we fed her. We went back to Purina, Savor Adult shredded Chicken and Rice, and she is truly Gorgeous now - outstanding skin and coat, perfect weight, no gas. by on 09/18/2015
excellent results feeding this food

We've been using Pro Plan for over 25 years... this savor chicken and rice shredded blend formula has worked very well for us since it's inception... great coats... superb palatability... maintains great performance in the show ring and around home by on 09/18/2015
17 years!!!!

My baby passed away a few months ago. She lived for close to 17 years. She first started on pro plan puppy, then was on the shredded chicken for maybe 7 years and then switched to the 7+. Just before she passed we tried bright mind. She was amazingly healthy and active through most of her 17 years and never looked or acted her age. I attribute much of her healthy life to the nutrition she received! by on 09/17/2015
must taste good

have very finicky dogs and they seem to like the shredded bits in this food by on 09/17/2015
Satisfaction guaranteed

Pro Plan Chicken with rice is a very good quality food that my dogs have been eating from 1999 to present. I fed my coonhound this adult food from age 1 until she was nearly 15 years old. R.I.P. Dolly. It's a highly digestible food with minimal stool and the dogs maintain enrgy and proper weight with this food. Thanks Purina for being trustworthy. by on 09/17/2015
Beautiful, Happy Labs!

We have two purebred Lab siblings who just turned 8 last week. We got them when they were 12 weeks old and began feeding them Purina Pro Plan's Puppy Formula. Between a year and a half to two years we started them on Purina Pro Plan's adult formula chicken and rice. They have had a steady diet of it ever since and they look better than either of their parents did. They are beautiful, happy and healthy dogs and they love their Purina Pro Plan! by on 09/17/2015
Dog Approved

I bought this food on sale off Amazon and I was worried my dog might not like it as he is a picky dog. I am glad to report he loved it! He ate up every crumb out of his dish and that was without any tasty toppers such as diced chicken, cheese, etc. I like that I can see the actual dried chicken in this kibble. I think that is why my dog ate it. He thought it already had mix ins. Usually most kibble only looks like dry kibbles, this did not, it has chewy dried chicken in it. by on 09/17/2015
Awesome food!

I have feed for about four years now and my four legged kids love it. by on 09/17/2015
Love this product

I buy dog food all the to feed all my show dogs. Wouldn't buy anything else. by on 09/13/2015
Dogs love it!

Started feeding this to a new rescue Pointer and within 2 weeks her body condition was remarkable. by on 09/13/2015
Infested with roached and spider webs

I bought this product and after a week of feeding my 2 year old dog this food I noticed something weird in his food. Spider webs with dead roaches in them!! As I kept searching I found LIVE roaches infesting the food!! How can such a Product not be aware of what they are packaging?? by on 09/03/2015
Affordable and Good Value

I love that Pro Plan offers quality product for an affordable price. I fed this to a foster dog with a pick appetite along with the wet food from Pro Plan and he loved it. by on 09/02/2015
my dog loves it!

When I first bought pro plan I wasn't sure if my pit baby I wasn't sure if she would like it because she is REALLY picky but when I put the chicken and rice pro plan in her bowl her who bowl was clean in a matter of minutes. She loves it. by on 08/31/2015
The only food my dog will eat!

My dog just had double hip replacement and this is the only food she will eat. She refuses treats but gobbles up her pro Plan :) by on 08/30/2015
High Quality

We provide Savor as our primary food. The quality is high and our pets rarely have issues eating this food. by on 08/23/2015
Great Dry Food

My foster dogs started eating this and they love it and their coats are looking great now. by on 08/21/2015
Dogs eat it up!

Our furry rescues love all of the Pro Plan varieties they have had the chance to try so far. Thanks for making a quality food we can afford! by on 08/19/2015
Clear labeling

My dogs are prone to soft stools but this blends is a perfect fit to their dietary needs and BM's by on 08/18/2015
Unfortunately....

I should have taken a picture but I didn't. I am on maybe my 3rd bag, everything was going great, and then I opened the bag last night to feed my cutie and her scoop was covered in fly larva (or at least that's what I think they were). I mean I plan to go buy another bag and cross my fingers this doesn't happen again! by on 08/15/2015
Awesome product

We have been purchasing this product following trial period with samples. Our dogs love it and there is not a single plate that is not clean to the rim.. by on 08/14/2015
Chicken & Rice.

My rescue dog's love the Pro Plan it is such a good treat for them to have quality food. Chicken & Rice was a big hit! :) by on 08/10/2015
Great Ingredients, dogs love it

We tried this at our animal shelter. Our dogs loved it by on 08/08/2015
Energetic dog

When we rescued our dog Luna she had a few health issues but nothing serious. We kept her on the dog food the rescue had her on since it was a good brand. After a few months Luna started to have shaking and seizing issues. After consulting with our veterinarian it was determined that it was not a serious health issue it was just her dog food. She recommended to change her to the Pro Plan food and we have not had an issue since. We actually have a dog that has a tremendous amount of new found energy on this dog food!! by on 08/06/2015
great food

When my dog would. Ot eat any food I tried we tried some samples of this food and he loves it. It's all we buy now. by on 08/06/2015
Good food

We switched over to Purina Pro Plan for dogs, after trying several other brands (Nutro, Royal Canine, Primitive) because any other food Oreo was allergic to. For some reason, our dog, Oreo, doesn't have allergies to Purina Pro Plan, even though its not grain free. by on 08/04/2015
Awesome Food!!

I received a donation of this food and was very pleased with it!! We have a dog with sesitive stomach and he had no problems on this food! by on 08/04/2015
Love the Taste

Our rescue dogs love Pro Plan's - Savor Adult Shredded Chicken and Rice formula. They devour everything in their bowls. All of our dogs look suburb, they have beautiful, healthy coats and are in great physical condition. Thanks Pro Plan! by on 08/04/2015
Great Yummy Looking Title for the Dogs to Eat!

I bought this a month ago and my dogs loved it and they are doing great on it! by on 08/03/2015
Dogs love it!

We have been feeding our rescue dogs Shredded Blend Chicken and Rice for about 5 years now and they love it! by on 07/24/2015
Loving the results!!!!!

I have been feeding this for several years and love love love it for my Border Collies!! They always eat it without hesitation and their coats are magnificent. And one of the best things, the stool is always great and small. I will always feed Pro Plan!!!! by on 07/23/2015
Dogs love this

We had to switch from One to Shredded Blend due to lack of availability. I am so happy we did. The dogs love it. by on 07/21/2015
wonderful

Have been using this for several years for all my Shelties. Both Confirmation and Performance. Lovely coats. by on 07/21/2015
FANTASTIC FOOD

This was great quality food that we sent along with one of our fosters! by on 07/20/2015
My dog loves it!

I've been using this product since my dog grew out of the puppy stage, it was an easy transition and she's loves it. She's four now, her weight holds steady and she's full of energy and is able to hunt all day if need be. She is one fit and functioning dog. by on 07/19/2015
Pawsome FOOd

My girls run circles to be the first to get their bowl. Their fur shines and they are more active. by on 07/08/2015
The dogs go crazy for this formula!

We joke about this recipe - we don't know why but the dogs just go crazy for this food! They absolutely love it and if left to "free feed," everyone would be very overweight. by on 07/07/2015
Savor my dogs love it

As a rescuer of German Shepherds, I have been feeding my own personal dogs the Pro Plan Savor, they love it. by on 07/07/2015
great taste

the dogs LOVE this food, none of the dogs here have turned their nose up at it,. by on 07/02/2015
Dog gobbles it up

We got samples of this at an event and decided to try it. Happy to see that it comes in different meat flavors. My dog gets bored with the same flavor so we buy 2 bags at a time and rotate them every couple of days. She eats this better than any other dry food we have ever tried. Would love to see the shredded savor available in the buffalo too. She has trouble with the smaller pieces of the other varieties (7+ ). by on 06/29/2015
Superb!

We bought this dogfood for our finicky dog who loved it. by on 06/14/2015
Pro Plan

I am so glad I tried this My dogs love picking the ckn out first then eating the kibble by on 06/11/2015
Loved it!

We had some samples to try and out dogs LOVED it!! Will definitely get more! by on 06/07/2015
My dogs love the chicken chunks!

I bought this product about a month ago and fed it to my 5 dogs--they loved it!! They go through and pick out the chicken chunks first and then finish the kibble. I feel good about giving it to my babies--it's a Purina product so I know it's good food! by on 06/05/2015
Fussy dog

Try ed it he liked it hpoe he still dors my dod is fussy by on 06/04/2015
Delicious

Of all the Proplan dog foods, this is the favorite of my dogs by on 06/01/2015
Great Product

I tried a free sample of this and the dogs seemed to love it. by on 05/31/2015
Dogs Love It

Our rescue dogs absolutely love this product. We even use it for treats when training. by on 05/30/2015
Tasty morsels!

We got some samples of this and the dogs just LOVE it! We will definitely buy some as needed by on 05/25/2015
Tasty Blend

Our foster dogs love the taste of this food! Not one of them has turned their nose up at it. by on 05/18/2015
our prime flavor

The chicken is by far a favorite amongst our crew. Even the picky eaters seem to love it... Great at helping put on weight for those that need to but also a great food for balancing things out for those who need a bit less bulk. by on 05/18/2015
Chow down

I have never seen your dogs dig into a food so fast. Way to go Purina. by on 05/17/2015
savor

It appears to be a great food. However I do have problems with my little dog picking out the shreds and leaving the rest. by on 05/12/2015
Good food, good price.

The dogs seem to love it and rarely have a tummy problem with it due to the added Fortiflora. :) by on 05/11/2015
Pro Plan Adult Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice

I buy this often and glad I do. My dogs love it and they look good. by on 05/06/2015
Pro Plan chicken and rice

Started using this after switching from Purina Healthy Morsels puppy chow, our dog loved the taste and has been the overall picture of health as he nears his fifth birthday. Would not change what has been so good for our Boxer by on 05/05/2015
what do I feed my dogs ?

When someone asks what do I feed my dogs I proudly tell them Purina Pro Plan Savor. My dogs love it, they look great and are very active (trust me).I have been feeding Purina for many years it is a food I trust and at a great price. by on 05/05/2015
I only use pro plan!

I started my chihuahua Pomeranian mix (14 pd) dog 2yrs on the adult focus chicken and rice, I tried to switch to the chicken and rice for small breed and my Charlie didnt like it as well. He loves the chicken pieces in the adult formula! He picks them out and eats them first! by on 05/04/2015
My picky small breed dog loves this food!

I have been through several kibbles (different brands and different varieties) over the last couple of years, because one of my dogs prefers wet over dry food and periodically refuses to eat his dry food. Cooper LOVES the Savor chicken shreds. The shreds are just enough to spark his interest in the kibble. He of course picks the Savor shreds first, but then he continues to eat the kibble after all of the shreds are gone and proceeds to lick the bowl when he is done! Additionally, after taking a small animal nutrition course in veterinary school (first year veterinary student here), I can say with confidence that this food is fully balanced in energy, protein, and vitamins, and I feel very good about feeding my own dog Pro Plan. by on 05/04/2015
Savor shredded

My dog is a very fussy eater. ever since I started her on the shredded blend she's eating her food without any problem. Can't wait to see if she lost weight on our next vet visit. by on 05/04/2015
Great health inside and out

I have been a loyal ProPlan feeder for many years now because of the many benefits that I see in my dogs. With the addition of Shredded Blends, my dogs are even more excited for meal time and just love the variety of textures as well the taste. I am always amazed at how shiny and soft their coats are as well as their obvious great health even in their senior years. I wholeheartedly recommend any ProPlan product to anyone looking to make a switch. by on 05/04/2015
Best Dogfood Available

Have been feeding my Tree walker coonhounds and the rest of the clan ProPlan for about 15 years. They are all slim and trim with beautiful coats. My only criticism is the bag weight seems to shrink with time and the bag itself is harder to open. by on 05/01/2015
Pro Plan is a VERY good food

I raise Jack Russell terriers and have fed Pro Plan for many years. Some of my dogs are over 12 years old and still running strong. Proof that it's a great food. by on 04/29/2015
outstanding product line.

outstanding product line for everyday consumer for the love of their pets. by on 04/29/2015
Dogs love it

All my dogs enjoy their Pro Plan Savor whether its beef, chicken or lamb. by on 04/28/2015
Good dog food

We have been feeding Pro Plan products for over 20 years. by on 04/28/2015
Great dietary blend

My husband and I recently adopted our first (more to come I'm sure) retired Greyhound. Because of their body build and dietary needs even after racing, I did ALOT of research to find the right food. Pro Plan Savor fit the bill perfectly! Smooth transition from the old food, no stomach upset, and the dog loves it! by on 04/27/2015
Wolfhounds with sensitive stomach

I started feeding this six years ago and have not switched since but would like to since feeding this to giant breed dogs is ultra expensive. by on 04/25/2015
If it's not broken, don't fix it

I have been feeding ProPlan Chick & Rice shredded blend for YEARS and every dog I feed it to does great on it. Beautiful coats and muscle and they love the taste. I show and breed Pharaoh Hounds and my puppies are also fed Puppy and all grow in wonderful proportion on it. by on 04/25/2015
Dogs like it

Use this along with premium performance for all 5 of my dogs and they have healthy coats and like the variable hard and soft blend in the food. by on 04/23/2015
Product Review

Chicken and Rice is a favorite among the dogs in our care. It's very economical for shelter and rescue use, too! by on 04/14/2015
My dogs love it!

Purina pro is our food of choice and our dogs love the product! The combination of soft and hard food makes them think they are getting treats with each meal. Highly recommend this food for our adopting families. by on 04/10/2015
Love the Savor Adult Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice

We gave this to some of the pets in foster homes and the other pets in the house ditched their designer food! The pet parents liked the way their pets looked and acted and switched over!! by on 04/02/2015
Awesome!

My dog loves the shredded blend since it's more than just the kernels of food, but I don't have to use canned food with it! Love it! by on 03/30/2015
Excellent Food

I just had to change my dogs to the Sensitive Stomach food and it has made my dog feel so much better! by on 03/30/2015
Great Food!

Great quality that I can always expect from ProPlan. Great taste the dogs love. by on 03/28/2015
Even the pickiest eater loves it!

My most pickiest eater seems to love this food, he will eat the other brands chicken and rice food but only for a day before he begins to refuse it. Not htis stuff, he loves it and so do I. Finally the search for a food that is not only good for him but that he enjoys and will eat is voer! Thank you Purina for making a food by picky eater loves! by on 03/26/2015
Good food

The dogs like the food very much. Their coats are shiny and very smooth. It did take almost 2 weeks for their systems to adjust to the food. At first their stool was very loose. by on 03/07/2015
Love the food

Love the chunks. My group loves everything about this food. by on 02/20/2015
Super food

I have fed this food for the past six years. I feed it to both my puppies and full grown dogs. I cannot tell you how pleased I have been with it. My dogs eat it better than any food I have tried. by on 02/16/2015
Best all-around food....!!!

The dogs love it...!! We can even pick out a few of the "shreds" to use as training treats in a pinch. They'll do anything for those bits. by on 02/12/2015
Dogs love it!

We feed our rescued dogs, the shredded chicken and they are always eager to eat, we have had picky eaters in the past but no more, the rescued dogs love their savor kibble they even lick the bowl, that is the best compliment anyone can get. by on 02/11/2015
All around great dog food!

Our rescued tried some samples of this product which is nothing amazing. But what is amazing is we tried it with 4 of our picky eaters with sensitive stomachs. This product is awesome. The dogs were begging for more and so eager at meal time! by on 02/05/2015
Even Old Dog Love Good Food!

Save1Pet has been feeding Pro Plan since 2005 and all our fosters LOVE it! There coats shine up and they feel satisfied. We've never seen a dog turn their nose up to the shredded blend. We have an old dog, Gramps that was living on the streets in Memphis, TN. He was eat up with mange, high heartworm positve but when it comes to feeding times he's all woof...woof...woof! Loves his Pro Plan....best he's ever had! by on 02/02/2015
Love it!!!

We just switched our dogs to the Chicken and Rice Formula and they love it!!! by on 02/02/2015
So glad I tried my latest foster dog on this food

It was been about three weeks since I started my latest foster a 5 year olds Brussells Griffon. She had been in a puppy mill and her coat looked terrible. good food and many baths laater she looks so very much better. She acts perky and seems to really like the taste. by on 02/02/2015
Pro Plan Savor Adult Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice

I purchase this product for all the rescues and personal Greyhounds. They do very well on this product without tummy issues. Coming from a race track it is very important to put the new Greyhounds on a quality product. Pro Plan is our food of choice. by on 01/29/2015