Purina Pro Plan Adult Large Breed Dry Dog Food Product Reviews PAGE 2 OF 3

Why Purina Pro Plan Adult Large Breed Dry Dog FoodPurina large breed dog food is available in numerous collection types, all with different ingredient offerings. The Pro Plan Large Breed collection contains high quality protein as well as 100% natural prebiotic ingredients (for enhanced digestive health). Key Benefits of Purina Pro Plan Dog Food Protein-rich ingredients (mainly from chicken) Added prebiotics for improved gut and digestive tract health Formulated for consistent weight ma... Read More

SHOP NOW

Options/Sizes:

Rated 5 out of 5 by 203 reviewers.

Great food

I have been using Pro Plan for years. I raise German Shepherds for both conformation and performance. I have never had a problem with this food. The dogs do well on it, always in good condition. by on 04/29/2015
Love this food

Keeps our Master hunting dogs fit for competition and training. by on 04/28/2015
Easily found online

Dogs like it. They eat it everyday. Not much else to report. by on 04/28/2015
great food

My dogs Love this food they can't wait for supper or breakfast to eat there food. by on 04/28/2015
Excellent product!

Before switching my Daisy Mae (a rottweiler) over to Bright Minds she has always been fed large breed Pro Plan, first this product than we switched her to the large breed shredded blends when it came out. It is an amazing product; has the rite amounts of nutrients, proteins and glucosamine needed. by on 04/25/2015
love it

I HAVE ROTTS AND USED PRO PLAN FOR 20 YEARS USED IT FOR ALL MY PUPPIES AND MADE ALL MY NEW PUPPIES OWNERS USE IT TO I HAVE ONE ROTT THAT IS 12 AND STILL DOING GOOD by on 04/24/2015
Great Product

I have been feeding the product for over 2 years, our dogs perform. by on 04/24/2015
Vernon A. Harvey

We have been on the 30/20 Chicken & Rice formula for several years. We changed over from Eukanuba 30/20 because of inconsistency in formula since takeover by Kraft Foods. Pro Plan has been an excellent product for our Siberian Huskies. by on 04/24/2015
Show worthy

I have had my Collie smooth coat and King Charles Cavalier Spaniel on this food since puppy hood. My collie (Zorro) has become a champion, titled in herding ducks and sheep, Rally, Obedience and Agility. This earned him a Versatility award with the Collie Club of America. Eric (the cavi) has been fed this by the breeder and I will be entering him in many other activities. by on 04/23/2015
Great!!

I have been using this food for over 10 yrs. Yes it has changed names to Focus but still the best food for our dogs. by on 04/23/2015
Great booster to help regain coat after shedding

I am using this with my champion to regain her coat. by on 04/23/2015
lg breed proplan

Happy with the food and my dog loves it! I'm always looking at the quality. by on 04/23/2015
Awesome shine!

I started using Pro Plan with my Doberman because of her skin issues. Now with a 3rd generation and still dry skin issues, Pro Plan helps eliminate almost permanently all the issues and itchiness. by on 04/23/2015
Great Product!

Great product with fantastic results! Been using Purina products since 1999 and have been completely satisfied by on 04/23/2015
Great product!

I've been feeding Pro Plan Focus for 3 years now and I love it!! by on 04/17/2015
Best food for working dogs

I have been feeding my field trial / Bird dogs since its inception by purina. I have never had to add anything to it for nutritional purposes and my dogs love it . This food gives me the edge in competition and has helped me with my breeding program . I will never feed my dogs anything but Pro- plan by on 04/16/2015
wonderful food

started feeding my older dog focus about 3 months ago. his attention span seems to be improving. by on 04/15/2015
Great for Big Dogs!

Our larger breed dogs need extra nutrients to keep joints and muscles in optimal shape and Pro Plan large breed formula offers that. by on 04/08/2015
The dogs love it

The dogs in our rescue absolutely love this food and don't leave any pieces left! by on 04/08/2015
Great Food for the Big Girl

We recently took in a 90 lb mix breed dog. She had a dull coat and needed to gain weight but do it gradually. She was eating Sport when she arived and our vet suggested we put her on the ProPlan Large Breed. It is more tailored to her size. One bag later she is shiny and just the right weight. It works great for us. I would recommend this for anyone with a big dog. LuLu loves it and we love her. by on 04/03/2015
great features

Dogs love it and I buy it all the time . I have 8 dogs and they all get Purina Pro Plan by on 03/14/2015
awesome product!

Bought this product a couple of weeks ago and my dog loves it..finishes every bite every single time...I was worried switching his.food was going to affect him or he might like.it but boy was I wrong! Im glad I made the switch and not.going back to Ol roy... by on 03/02/2015
Perfect for my large Boxer!

We rescued a Boxer that was extremely skinny and needed to gain weight but not too quickly. This food worked great and his coat looks great too! by on 03/01/2015
Great food

My dogs love this food... and I like the quality the Pro Plan provides. by on 02/26/2015
Chow Chow - chow

I but 4 - 6 bags every 3 - 4 weeks, Large Breed Puppy, +6 Senior and Adult. by on 02/26/2015
Dog Lover's favorite.

I bought this for my German Shepherd and she loved it. Her coat's so much better than it was, unbelievable. by on 02/26/2015
Rottweilers love it!

Had problem with Chicken and Rice formula, my dogs shed a lot of hair on that formula, and not with Focus Adult Large Breed. by on 02/26/2015
Dog foods

I have used Purina Pro products for years. I have fed it to all my dogs, from puppies to adults. Show and breeding. I think it has great quality for reasonable prices and my dogs never refuse it. by on 02/26/2015
Interesting

Proplan for sensitive stomach was recommended by my vet. I have been very satisfied with this produce by on 02/22/2015
Perfect for my big babies

They are picky picky picky and would only eat this product. THANK YOU PURINA!! by on 02/20/2015
food for large dogs

Most of my experience has been with smal to medium dogs. I really did not think it made much difference. I have now come to realize that it does. Our rescue large dog seem to like the size and perhaps the texture of the large breed food. Thanks for making this for the big guys. by on 02/03/2015
favorite !

This one is definitely our favorite I have two dogs and both of them love this food by on 01/12/2015
Focus a favorite!

Our usual Pro Plan was not available so we decided to try the Focus variety. It was a big hit with our dogs. by on 12/30/2014
Perfect for giant breed puppies

Used it with my Great Dane puppy with magnificent results by on 12/20/2014
Great quality and taste

My labradors love the food and its great for the breed by on 12/14/2014
Good Stuff!!

We've tried a few of the Proplan foods for our dogs because we have dogs of all shapes and sizes. Our dogs love the Proplan food and we will continue feeding our big dogs Proplan Focus for large breeds. by on 12/09/2014
Vet recommended it for our Great Pyrenees

We rescued a 6 year old GP from our local animal shelter. When we took it to our vet for an exam, our vet suggested we feed Purina Pro Plan for large breed dogs. We have seen a visible difference in his fur and health since we started feeding him this food. by on 12/05/2014
Big doggies love it!

This bag was donated at adoptions. And our big dogs love it. It's great quality. by on 11/20/2014
Great addition for Large Breed Dogs

Not all dogs are the same size, nor is all dog food appropriate for each size dog. Pro Plan has produced a wonderful alternative for the larger breeds that help them thrive. The research provided by Purina Pro Plan to develop a great product based on size/age of dogs in outstanding. by on 11/07/2014
Great for joints!

We have 2 greyhounds with arthritis. We had been giving them joint supplements but our vet suggested trying this formula because the glucosamine and EPA would be better absorbed. So far, it's working! by on 11/06/2014
Need good food for a HUGE dog! Thank you Pro Plan

I have a 140 pound Saint... she eats a lot of food for that big body. I started to use Pro Plan Large breed and it makes it easy for me with my three dogs. 60 pounds, 75 pounds and 140 pound dogs here! One food for 3 large dogs! Love it! by on 10/17/2014
Made for large breeds

High quality food made to benefit the large breed dogs by on 10/10/2014
my large rescue dogs love this stuff

flavor is great and when you add the wet food tis eat up quickly by on 10/10/2014
Dogs approve!

My dogs like this food so I like this food! They thrive and are nice and healthy. by on 10/08/2014
Brittany loves it!!

My 9 year old terrier mix has been raised on Pro Plan; just like my previous dog. The quality of your product is excellent. by on 10/06/2014
Purina Pro Plan Focue Adult Food

I switched ALL our babies over to Purina Pro Plan inspite of the increased cost because I KNOW what Purina Pro Plan can and DOES do for our babies! The healthy coates, eyes, bones, muscles.... They absorbe SO MUCH MORE than with other foods... I won't go back to any other food EVER! I wish the expence would go down, but the quality,... makes it worth it! by on 10/02/2014
Focas Adult large breed was perfect for our dog!

This product targeted the specific nutrtional needs of our large Golden Retriever, by on 09/25/2014
95 pound Goldendoodle thrives on proplan!

My dog BB loves to crunch his dry dog food nuggets. He not only loves to exercise with all the energy from his nutritious meal, he also sometimes loves to lie still and meditate on a full stomach. He looks so serene we call this activity "doggy zen" by on 09/22/2014
good quality

My very active German Shepherd loves this food. She maintains a good weight and stools are good as well. In regards to the person writing about her dog losing weight on the shredds, mine did too and many people I have spoken to do not like it for that reason. I recommend once your dog is at the weight you like try the chicken and brown rice formula. by on 09/18/2014
Awesome coat on Rottweilers

I have been buying feeding this product for several months now by on 09/15/2014
the dogs loved it

the rescued dogs love this food. didn't have to convince them to eat by on 09/15/2014
picky no more

my boyfriend brought his dog over here and his dog with such a picky eater now that he's been around here and I give buster ProPlan he doesn't leave the dish until it's gone, amazing by on 09/15/2014
Quality food!

This is all my parents use at their kennel so I started using it with my pup... while I'm pretty sure he'll eat anything (he's a lab), I feel really good about what he's getting with ProPlan! by on 09/13/2014
Tasty food

I have used ProPlan for years and very much like the results. The dogs like it, with nice shiny coats. I feed Focus, adult large breed formula but will be changing to a more senior formula. by on 09/13/2014
Love It!

My dog, Gunner, is a German Shepard/Lab mix, at 122 lbs of fun loving energy. He has been eating this since it came out and just loves it as do I. by on 09/12/2014
My AKC Champion Labrador loves her ProPlan

My 2 year old yellow lab has been eating ProPlan since a puppy.. she started on Purina One however we discovered ProPlan Focus Puppy Formula when Purina One was not available. Our dog loves her ProPlan and since has moved up to ProPlan Focus Large Breed Adult formula. We get our ProPlan from tractor supply which makes getting ProPlan very convenient. Our overall experience with ProPlan has been great and further our Labrador loves it while providing her nutritional requirements. by on 09/12/2014
ENERGY STRENGTH

IRON ( MY BOXER BOY ) GET EXITED EVERY DAY AT DINNER TIME, THIS PRODUCT OF PRO-PLAN GIVE HIM A LOT OF ENERGY AND STRENGTH IM A TRIATHLETE AND RUNNER HES MY PARTNER IN TRAINNING AND HE ALLWAYS WANT MORE, I TAKE HIM 2 TO 3 TIMES FOR A WALK OR RUN A DAY AND STILL STRONGER THATN EVER THANKS PRO PLAN FOR SUCH A GREAT PRODUCT FOR MY DOG =) by on 09/12/2014
GREAT FOOD

My German shepherd loves this food. He is very active. by on 09/12/2014
Wonderfully Consistent Diet for Our Big Dogs

We've been using Pro Plan Large Breed for 7 years; consistently! Very happy; our retrievers love it! We don't buy dog treats anymore; just give them these a few times a day! by on 09/12/2014
Eats it all and cleans the bowl !

Max has eaten this from 8 weeks,nice shinny black coat,gets many compliments on shape he is in by on 09/12/2014
Easy to choose

Been using this formula for 2 years and she still enjoys her 2 meals a day by on 09/12/2014
Great

Both my APBT's love this. I get great quality and they love it. by on 09/12/2014
My Dog Is Doing Great On It

I always highly recommend Purina products. Nutritional value is good, price is appropriate, and my dog loves it. My veterinarian feeds her own dogs ProPlan. by on 09/12/2014
Vitamins and Protein needed with flavor

I am pleased with ProPlan to meet the needs for my dogs. by on 09/11/2014
Three dogs enjoying life with Pro Plan

I started buying Pro Plan - Focus Adult 6+ for my three senior Labradors 9 ages 13, 11 and 9 years young) about 6 months ago and my dogs could not be happier. Up until then, my dogs became uninterested in their food and did not always finish it. Since introducing Pro - Plan Focus to my dogs, they now anticipate "meal-time" with barking and dancing around the kitchen, waiting to eat. My young grandsons are also thankful that the dogs energy levels have improved since switching to Pro - Plan which allows the dogs to be "Boys best friend's" by on 09/11/2014
Princess Cody dances for her dinner!

All we have to say is,"It's dinner time" and the dance begins. Cody has eaten Purina Pro Plan from Puppy to Adult and is a beautiful, healthy 10+ years old. by on 09/11/2014
I"m not sure how long my wife has been buying.

The product works really well for my dogs. they are labs. by on 09/11/2014
Our dogs

We have feed purina to our dogs from puppy on. Last August 2013 we had to put our 17 1/2 year old German shorthair to sleep she has cancer. This May 2014 we has to put our 16 1/2 year old German shorthair to sleep. Both dogs were feed purina from birth to the end and lived a very active life. Our other 4 dogs are still being feed the same. by on 09/11/2014
Focus large breed formula

Breeder recommended it so we started on Focus Puppy Chow then To Focus Large Breed Formula. As a puppy he liked it but when we got bigger had to switch to adult formula the pieces were to big took awhile to adjust to it. by on 09/11/2014
Best dog food

I have the pickiest dog ever. This is the only dry/wet food he will eat. After purchasing it and using for a few months I have noticed an improvement to his skin, his ability to focus and his agility. I will never use another product. by on 09/11/2014
Pro Plan

My dogs really loved the Pro Plan food. They tend to get bored with any type of food after awhile, but they actually seemed to enjoy this kind. by on 09/11/2014
Excellent food for the price

All of my pet dogs and dogs I've raised for a service dog organization have been fed this food. The dogs all have had beautiful coats and have been very healthy with very few GI troubles. I trust this food also because I've never seen a recall of the product. That's important to me. by on 09/11/2014
LARGE BREED FORMULA

LARGE DOGS NEED CERTAIN SUPPLEMENTS THAT THIS FOOD PROVIDES. by on 09/11/2014
dog food

my pet eats it fairly well as far as food goes thats it by on 09/11/2014
Happy Bulldogs

We have 2 English Bulldog rescues. Since we started them on Pro Plan they have never had any food or skin allergy problems. Our big boy was a mess and he is now a magnificent thriving Bully. by on 09/11/2014
no complaints

Our chocolate lab has been eating this since she was a pup 4 1/2 years ago by on 09/11/2014
This is a great food!

I tried this formula about two months ago, and I am pleased. My Briard rescue female was on another food and had some stool problems. This has worked for her. She loves the taste and it has extra vitamins for her arthritis which I wanted. I have also used other adult formulas which were also good. by on 09/11/2014
Food that my dogs won't play with.

the food was great for my dogs, they ate your food faster than with other brands, and didn't have to fight them to get them to eat it. by on 09/11/2014
Pro plan for large breeds

We have a beautiful English breed yellow lab who has been eating pro plan dog food for 13 years and we love it, his coat is silky and he has maintained his solid muscular body after alls these years! Our kennel where we board our dog recommended pro plan to us! The best!! by on 09/11/2014
Great variety!!

I alternate small bites for adult dogs. He enjoys all of the types of food that I've given him. by on 09/11/2014
Best big dog food

We have two 7 year olds a German short hair pointer and Weimaraner who rescued us my rescue weighed less than 55 pounds when we got him he has thrived on pro plan back to his ideal weight and looks great. Buy this food by on 09/11/2014
Great Dog Food

I buy this all the time for my 3 dogs, they love this. It makes their coat so shiny and healthy looking by on 09/11/2014
ok

Iggy likes it but can't eat it any more because he is allergic to one or more of it's ingredients by on 09/11/2014
pro plan dog food review

I am a breeder and believe that nutrition is very important for my dogs. When breeding, you want good nutrition for both mom and babies. You want to be able to send the puppies home on a good food; yet one that is not overly expensive that the new puppy owners can't afford to keep them on. So Pro Plan is a great selection for me; it's very good dog food reasonably priced so that the puppies will likely to be kept on a well balanced kibble! by on 09/11/2014
Great food for our dog

Our dog had hip displacia; and it has been difficult to find a food that he liked (he's a little picky) and one that was good for his hips. We have tried about 15 different brands and/or formulas before finding Proplan Large breed. The large breed formula is great for both! by on 09/11/2014
Healthy dogs live a long time.

We have had our golden retrievers on Pro Plan for over 16 years. My son's service dog lived over 11 years, our other Golden lived to be 13 and we just lost another Golden who also lived past 11 years. We have one Golden now and he only eats Pro Plan Focus large breed dry food. He will be on that food also for the rest of his life. He is 6 years old now. by on 09/11/2014
Dogs didn't like it

I tried this with two adult collies - one 4 year old and one 2 year old. They would sniff it and walk away. After several days, I started mixing in a few spoonfuls of wet food just to get them to eat. I had to continue this until the (very large) bag was gone. I then switched them over to the Adult Savor Chicken and they liked that better. I've also had problems getting my new collie puppy to eat the Large Breed Puppy formula. There's something about the Large Breed formulas that my dogs don't like. by on 09/11/2014
Large Breed Dry Food

Very important to any large dog breed owner. We feed this formula to all of our large breed dogs and recommend adopters to continue to feed it after adoption. by on 09/08/2014
Focus

The animals respond well to proplan food and we often use this at the shelter. by on 09/07/2014
Only thing I feed!

This is the only formula I feed my personal dogs, my rotties have been on this formula since they were babies. First they were on the Large Breed Puppy formula, then switched to adult. I highly recommend it to everyone, they really like the shredded blend large breed formula too. by on 09/07/2014
Focus on Focus

I have purchased this for the German Shorthairs that I have fostered and it is a great addition to their diet. by on 09/06/2014
Great food

We received this food from a donor, they dogs we choose to give it to loved it and they had more energy when they were on it. by on 09/05/2014
Wouldn't Switch For Anything

My German/Aussie Sherpherd mix has been on this food for 5 years. He has a nervous nature, so he has always had digestion and bowel issues. I have made the mistake of taking him off this for another brand, but I never will again. His coat is shiny, weight is regular, and he never gets tummy aches or loose stools. Oh and the price is very reasonable! by on 06/03/2014
Our lab can't wait for dinner time.

I tried the ProPlan focus for senior dogs because it had all the ingredients that would help to extend my dog life. It was a great switch.ร‚ย  by on 03/18/2014
Dogs love it

My dogs Labs and a mixed breed have been eating Purina Pro Plan for over 20 years. by on 03/17/2014
weight managment

He loves this food. Pro plan is the best will always buy it.ร‚ย  by on 03/17/2014
GREAT QUALITY!!

I have tried to most expensive and the cheaper kinds to make me female great dane happy so her hair wont fall out. turns out all my great danes love this food make their coats shine and the will finish all of it at one sitting.. by on 02/17/2014
Lots of compilments

Everyone loves Charlie! He's my 5 year old Yellow Lab. People often stop me to ask what we are feeding him, because his coat is always shiny, he's healthy, good natured and his weight is stable. I tell them about Purina Pro and that he has been eating it since he was a pup. I will drive 10 miles out of my way to make sure he gets his Purina Pro. He Loves it! by on 01/26/2014
Wouldn't switch!

I have a Cane Corso who had issues with gas. ร‚ย This is the only food that has controlled that issue. ร‚ย He is shiny and healthier than ever. ร‚ย He is well worth the few extra dollars to know that he is eating right! by on 05/22/2013
Energy plus!

I have two dogs-a chocolate lab and a golden retriever. The golden has always had energy, but the chocolate has been "lazy" from the day we brought him home. I switched to ProPlan about 6 months ago and my dogs act like young pups (they are 6 and 8). The chocolate now runs and (almost) keeps up with the golden. Their coats look great and you can just tell they feel better! by on 03/23/2013
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3