Cart --
0 Items in Cart
Your Shopping Cart is Empty

Proin (Phenylpropanolamine) PRODUCT REVIEWS PAGE 4 OF 6

We cannot ship this product to the following states: AR/IA/IL/KA/LA/OR/WV

Options Available: 25mg per chewable tablet 50mg per chewable tablet 75mg per chewable tablet

Shop Proin (Phenylpropanolamine)
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 66 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5by This product works for our dog.Some time after Ginger's operation to keep her from having puppies, we discovered her urinary problem. She couldn't keep from wetting herself and anything close to her. Our vet recommended Proin. We tried it, and had to keep changing the dose and when we gave it to her. When we finally got things right it was a miracle, No more wet spots. That was many years ago and we are still satisfied with the results. Ginger is a happy dog. We had trouble at first getting her to take the Proin. We tried the pill pockets, peanut butter, cheese, and finally Cottage cheese. Ginger loves it and no more problems. We give her (3) 75 mg tabs a day. Ginger is a 100 lb. Lab mix and a happy dog. We recommend Proin for leaking problems. 10/17/2013
Rated 4 out of 5by Works for us!I read the pros and cons on using Proin. For my girl, the natural product just wasn't effective and we returned to using the Proin. She does much better on it and I just put it in her morning meal and she eats it right up. We are both much happier with the results. 09/22/2013
Rated 5 out of 5by urinary controlWorks well at helping our 10 year old Bulldog keep accidents to a minimum. 07/24/2013
Rated 5 out of 5by This has been a lifesaverI have a 12 year old Corgi that I rescued about a year and a half ago. She didn't have much use of her back legs when I got her. She also weighed about 40 pounds and had to be carried out to potty. Her muscles have further atrophied and she now can't even crawl(she used to be able to drag the back legs behind her#. After recurrent UTIs and her urine scalding her skin just from contact, the vet finally suggested this med. I remember when it was a prescription decongestant for humans but it was pulled from the market due to the same side effects that ephedrine had. It is a weight based medication, we started at one 25mg tab twice daily, but that didn't work. The dose is 0.91mg/lb twice daily. My vet increased my dog to 37.5mg#1 and a half of the 25mg tabs) twice daily and she can now hold it as long as you want her to. One piece of useful info, I found out the hard way: If my dog misses a dose, the flood gates will open up. If she misses a dose, she will have several accidents. My dog ,according to vet, isn't able to concentrate her urine so whaqt she drink just goes through her. As long as I don't miss a dose, she's good to go and can go morning, midafternoon, and evening. She sleeps on incontinence pads, the kind used in hospitals for people. This drug is a lifesaver for her. I don't mind cleaning her up as many times a day as necessary, but even if she only lays in urine for a few minutes before I clean her and change the pad, it causes her skin to get red and sore and her girl parts look like a strawberry they are so red. The med is worth every penny 04/21/2013
Rated 5 out of 5by Preventing Accidents +++After the usual test with the vet and a couple of months supply from the same vet, we had to find a better, cost effective source for this needed medication. As we are retired and low income, and everything else in life is high overhead, price is why we came to PET RX, receiving fast courteous service and quick shipping, and the price that works for us !!! 12/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5by Easy to useIt works great for our 11 year old lab. She has been on it for 3 years and when she doesn't take it we know it within a few days. 12/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5by Carpet saverMy 5 Yr old GSD mix started leaking urine. After lab tests showed no infection or other issues her vet prescribed Proin. Great product! She is now leak free. Petrx is saving me almost 1/2 the cost if purchased through my veterinary office. 10/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5by Great Product!My dog has leaked since we adopted her (at about 9 mos old). Vet put her on Proin to help her leaking. Within 24 hours her leaking had stopped and her anxiousness subsided. She used to leak when she slept and when she got really excited. After 3 years of being on the medicine, she has not leaked once! We give her half a pill (50 mg) twice daily. Vet said this is common in spaded female dogs. 07/24/2011
Rated 4 out of 5by Actually does helpWe have a 7 year old dobe that leaks on occasion. We started her on Proin about a year ago, and we have seen quite an improvement. It does take a while (a week or so) to start working, but keep at it. She has had a few times where she has leaked while on the medicine, but she has another health issue that might be contributing (going to a surgeon today for that). One thing I did notice shortly after she started taking the Proin was that she was so gassy!!! This did subside after some time. Our vet said this is not generally a side effect of Proin, but our dobe didn't smell that bad until after taking the pills. 06/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5by For certian situations onlyMy lab leaked when asleep ever since she was a puppy. She started on one pill, three times a day. Decreased her to now one twice a day for 14 years now, she's perfect. If we tried to take her off it she would immediately leak while she slept and her bed would have a wet spot. Start her up again on the Proin and back to perfect. It does happen more in female spayed dogs. It has to do with hormones. This is not for every leaking situation. 01/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5by helps with effects of degenerative myelopathyI dont usually write reviews but i really believe in some cases this drug could save a dog's life. Once an elderly dog starts losing control of their bladder, most people will start thinking their time has come. This is a really hard thing to deal with especially with a big dog! My 14 yr old female german shepherd has DM and is losing feeling in the back end. She doesnt know she is going or if she does, its too late. On top of that, her difficulty in getting up and walking makes her not want to go out as often. We used a 3 pronged approach to deal with this: 1)Proin 2) rewards for going out and 3) a committment from everyone in the family to be sure she is taken out every few hours whether she asks or not. we realize we cannot rely on her judgment as to when its time to go out. She was having accidents once or twice a week. the drug took awhile to work but I honestly cant recall when the last time was. For now, its working and that has given us more quality time with her. 08/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5by Has worked wellOur mixed breed pup would leak when she relaxed, usually in the evening. After she matured some, at vet's recommendation, we started her on Proin 50, giving her a half tablet, twice/day. Has worked like a charm. 04/15/2010
Page 4 of 6 12 3 4 5 6
EV SSL Certificate

Want a treat?

Enter your e-mail address to get a secret discount
code for your first purchase:

X