Image of Hill's Prescription Diet s/d Urinary Care Canned Dog Food

Hill's Prescription Diet s/d Urinary Care Canned Dog Food Product Reviews

Your Comprehensive Guide To Hill's Prescription Diet s/d Urinary Care Canned Dog Food What Is Hill's Prescription Diet s/d Urinary Care Canned Dog Food? Is your dog having trouble passing urine? Does his vet say he has bladder stones? Are you plagued by struvite crystals in your dog? Hill's Prescription Diet s/d Urinary Care Canned Dog Food is for you! This is a specially formulated diet that can start working to dissolve those pesky stones less than a fortnight! What Are Bladder Stones? ... Read More

Rated 5 out of 5 by 37 reviewers.

PLEASE RESTOCK!
I would like to keep buying this product but it's been out of stock for two months! My pet really needs this and I worry what her "new" diet of regular food is doing to her insides! Please stock!!!! by on 01/20/2021
Successfully dissolved large amount of stones
Used for a month on our mini-schnauzer. Had surgery for stones on year ago and they came back in force. At least a dozen stones shown in the x-ray were dissolved after a month of prescribed use. by on 12/03/2020
It works!!!!!
This food has literally been a miricale worker! My 4 year old Schnauzer/lab mix was diagnosed with bladder stone about 2 weeks ago and I was dreading putting her through surgery. My vet recommended a less invasive route first so she prescribed this food and within 2 weeks the follow up X-ray showed no stones!!! My dog loves this food and I love that it actually works! by on 03/08/2019
Success!
Our 13 pound Miniature poodle was diagnosed with struvite bladder stones December 31, 2018. She had a bladder full. After a week's transition from her regular food, we immediately began seeing signs of improvement. We now have a medicine bottle with probably 10 or more stones that we have located. Her urination frequency has nearly diminished, she has started playing again, and is more herself than she has been in months. She goes in January 31, 2019 for a repeat x-ray, and we are hoping that these pesky things are gone! We will likely transition her to the c/d formula as her regular diet. by on 01/21/2019
NO SURGERY!!!
My little dog, Stormy, suddenly started having accidents in the house and there was blood in her urine. When I took her to the vet, she not only had a bladder infection, but a huge bladder stone as well, which was revealed in an x-ray - although it was so big the vet could feel it by palpating. Before opting for the $1200 surgery, we decided to try Science Diet s/d. It worked! After one month, there was no bladder stone at all! The x-ray tech even asked the vet what she was supposed to be seeing! Highly recommend! by on 03/31/2018
Excellent!
Molly is a very picky eater and LOVES THIS! I also give it to her as a treat several times a day. She's in doggy heaven! In order to get the appropriate amount of water in her, I add about a quarter to a third cup. Gobbles and slumps it down! Hoping her stones are gone by the end of this diet! I'll be feeding her Hills from now on! by on 01/30/2017
Just starting
My vet just recommended I start feeding Hills PD to my peke who was diagnosed with stones. He can be quite picky with what eats but so far he seems to enjoy it. My one problem is he is very treat motivated. Does anyone know if there are any treats Hills offers for urinary tract issues? Thanks! by on 10/31/2016
Great product, worry about cost for some families
Product works great and has maintained my dog. She is 16 years old and has renal issues. Her BUN and creatinine has decreased and stabilized. My only concern is whether the food is affordable for people struggling financially. by on 07/11/2016
Dissolved Huge Bladder Stones
My pointer mix was diagnosed with 6 fractures of the pelvis. The vet noticed that she had 3 huge bladder stones on the xrays for the pelvis (the bladder was visible on the pelvic xrays). After Biscuit had pelvic repair surgery ($5,000), our regular vet put her on s/d for 7 weeks. Biscuit wasn't crazy about the food but we were hopeful that the food was dissolving the stones. On May 21, she had post-op pelvic xrays taken and the orthopedic surgeon gave me great news. Not only did the pelvis heal perfectly but that there were no visible stones on the xrays. That just made my day! We just avoided another surgery and saved a few thousand dollars. The vet has now transitioned her to c/d and she loves it. Thanks for such a great product Hills! by on 05/24/2016
No surgery for Abby!
I bought this food when my vet diagnosed my 3 yr old Beagle, Abby, with 5 bladder stones. Our options were to try the food to see if the stones could be dissolved or do surgery. These were the size of pencil erasers. After 36 cans of food (1 can per day) Abby went in for a follow up and all 5 stones were totally dissolved!! Wonderful product! This saved Abby from having surgery and saved me from paying out $1900-$2800 for surgery! Didn't have any problem with getting her to eat this food and I even sliced/cubed it for her treats! Thank you Hill's for a great product! by on 04/17/2016
My Review
My vet put my dog in this fir gall stones and it works. My dog loves the taste of it. by on 01/21/2016
Dog loves it
My Golden Doodle was recently diagnosed with bladder stones and is on S/D for 10 days. She abslutely LOVES the food. She is usually not a big eater, but when I open the can, she is right there and can't wait until it's done. I love the fact that it just smells like chicken rather than dog food! by on 09/02/2015
bladder stones
My pug was diagnosed with 1 large bladder stone. After being on the S/D diet for only 2 months, the stone is almost completely dissolved. Happy owner, happy pup by on 05/19/2015
Very happy with the results !!!
I am happy to say this product helped my 10 year golden retriever avoid bladder surgery. It dissolved her stones in less than 4 weeks. I was really worried about putting a dog of her age through surgery !! And thanks to science diet I don't have to !! by on 01/23/2015
dissolved bladder stone
My Shih Tzu had a big bladder stone and my vet prescribed S/D for three months to dissolve it. It worked. Totally gone in 3 month! Saved my dog from a very expensive and intrusive surgery. by on 12/23/2014
Dachshund stone is gone
Dachshund has had two operations to remove stones and then another stone occurred. The vet put Schultz on sd for about a month and the stone disappeared. by on 12/09/2014
Hoping this works to disolve bladder stones
The dog whom this is prescribed for, doesn't care for it, at all. I'm hoping it does the job and disolves her stones. On the other hand, I have another dog who doesn't need this food, and she loves it! I have to referee at mealtimes!! Only 1 more week to go to see if it did the trick. by on 10/16/2014
My dog likes it
I like the fact that my dog likes his prescription food. I feel that it is a bit expensive - but the fact that you have given out that great coupon of $7.00(!) it has really helped me in keeping the price down in this round of treatment. I really don't care for the smell, but since my dog likes it and it seems to be helping him, I don't want to have another surgery. by on 10/03/2014
How to get your dog to eat S/D - positive results so far.
My 12 year old maltese was recently diagnosed with bladder stones. I've had him on s/d for a month and return for another round of xrays in 30 days so I cant vouch for the reduction in stones BUT i can say this much: he no longer has blood in his urine and his urine stream is clearer and stronger. He also seems less lethargic. This is how I got him to eat the s/d food when he initially refused to: chop it into large chunks and place in a small food processor, sprinkle some chicken broth and blend for a few seconds. Viola! he loves it and eats it right up. I'm hopeful we'll see a reduction in the stones on the xray because i dont want to put him through surgery at his age. Keep us in your prayers! :) by on 10/01/2014
Good product. needs tweeking.
Really need a dry version of this product , my pet seems to not be satisfied and or always hungary. by on 09/20/2014
This product has helped my dog
We have been using this product for several months now to avoid a surgery we couldn't afford. We have definitely seen improvements in his condition from using this food. My only complaint is that it is very hard to get him to eat this food and it's a little pricey, however, your coupons have really helped out! Overall, we are very satisfied with the product and thank you for saving our baby! by on 09/05/2014
My dog was saved from a 3rd struvite bladder stone surgery.
My Shihtzu is 6 years old and has undergone two emergency surgeries for struvite bladder stones. I changed vets, and the new vet placed my dog on the s/d diet for 2 1/2 months as she had bladder stones and an urinary tract infection which required several rounds of antibiotics. The stones dissolved in the time she was eating this diet. If they come back, she will eat it again to dissolve the stones, but is currently is on the c/d diet and three month checkups for urine analysis. This s/d diet saved my dog from another surgery and painful recooperation. Thank you Science Diet S/D and C/D dog foods. by on 07/07/2014
Saved from surgery
Using this product has dissolved both my dogs' bladder stones and prevented us from having to go through another surgery! My dogs love it! by on 07/01/2014
This is a good product.
This is a good product. My only complaint is that the consistency of the food varies by can/case. When it is flakey and very, very moist my dog doesn't eat it as well. by on 05/26/2014
Eliminated bladder crystals
Our female English Bulldog had 3 very large bladder crystals that caused a UTI and frequent urination. Our Vet put her on s/d and antibiotics. After a few months, I was amazed that the last X-ray revealed just a tiny piece left. I was certain that surgery would be required to remove the crystals. I am a very relieved dog owner with a very relieved dog. by on 05/16/2014
Overall the product is great
Product is a little pricey for a dog to be on very long. much better than surgery though. My beagle loves the food. Never have problems getting her to eat it. Has worked well on her bladder stones. Would recommend owners to use if their dog has bladder stones. by on 04/23/2014
Wonderful alternative to surgery!
I have a 6 year old dachshund mix that was having obvious urinary issues. I took her to the vet and through ultrasound, discovered that her bladder was full of stones (most likely struvite crystals, per her previous history). There were 2 options for treatment- either have surgery to remove them or try the Hill's prescription diet s/d. I took her back in for a re-check 30 days later and she only had 6 stones left. I am confident that her next ultrasound will show that all of the stones have been dissolved! A much cheaper and safer alternative to surgery!!! by on 04/20/2014
Has worked well for my dog
The only problem I have ran into is, I have had to return a few cans cause there was a lot of water and the food wasn't the same by on 04/08/2014
This product helped cure my baby.
I know that's a major claim to make, but all I know is Sydney, my miniture Schnauzer was sick and having problems with constant urination. I had always fed her like alot of people do, the cheapest dog food and supplement that with table scraps and big bags of dog treats. The Vet diagnosed Gall Stones which I would never have believed until he showed me the x-ray! Cortizone injections and Hill's Prescription Diet S/D was the treatment. I went home opened up the first can thinking the whole time, as picky an eater as Sydney will never eat this food. Well to my amazement she loved it and wanted more. A month later Sydney is back to normal but I have continued feeding her Hill's Prescription Diet S/D. I will never again repeat the mistake of feeding her bargain dog food and dog treats. I will soon take her off Hill's Prescription S/D, but I will continue to feed her Hill's brand. I am sold on the quality of your food and Sydney loves the taste. So, I still stand by my original statement, "This product helped cure my baby." by on 03/29/2014
s/d
Our golden doodle (95 pounds) has had two bouts with bladder stones. In each case, we have used Hill's S/D and it has done the trick avoiding expensive surgery. To me, the cost of the S/D was worth it as Nora is one special dog. by on 02/21/2014
poor
My dog would not eat the product had to turn unused case to vet. she had to put on another product that she is eating. This product looks and smells like can dog food. by on 02/07/2014
this product is tasty & great for finicky dogs.
My dog is finicky when it comes to her dog food,some she refuses to eat. But I was very surprised that she enjoys eating this prescription dog food on her own without any fuss.Many times I had to feed her by hand to get her to eat some other dog food brands which can be a messy affair.So having her eat her dog food on her own & looking forward to dinner time made my life a little easier by on 01/25/2014
This product saved my dog from surgery
My miniature schnauzers are prone to bladder stones and have been on the C/D diet. One of my dog had stones last year and had surgery to remove them. That same dog got stones again this year. We put him on the S/D diet and my vet told me to be patient. It took about a month but now the stones are dissolved and he doesn't have to have surgery again! I am so thankful! I wish it didn't cost so much, or there were more coupons available. Keeping 2 dogs on the prescription diet for life is quite expensive. by on 12/02/2013
Actual results are yet to the determined.
We had 2-different vet offices advise us to us the s/d can food for our 11-year old Shih Tzu female dog. She has some small stones in her bladder. We have only fed this diet for 6-days now and have another 24-days to go prior to really knowing how her health will be. Hopefully the stones will be dissolved and passed with us not having to go through a full blow surgery procedure to remain them. That the best we can do right now with our summary/review/comments. Thanks. by on 11/20/2013
It sure works!!!
It was a bit of a problem getting our dog to eat it, but it worked miracles! It's not even a month since she started eating it and she's doing so much better! by on 10/07/2013
She loves the taste.
This product was recommended by our veterinarian for bladder and urinary track issues. The problems have since stopped, and have not returned. "Highly Recommended" by on 08/13/2013
This product is great.
This product works well with my pet dog. She goes crazy when we are chopping it up for her. She tries to eat it off the plate before we get it into her bowl. by on 07/30/2013