Carprofen - Generic to Rimadyl, Novox PRODUCT REVIEWS PAGE 1 OF 1

Carprofen is the generic of Rimadyl, Novox , Carpaquin, Quellin, and Vetprofen. Carprofen contains a non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drug used to treat pain and inflammation caused by arthritis in dogs. They are fast acting and allow your pet to regain day-to-day mobility. Carprofen is sold by per caplet/tablet/pill.

Options Available: 100mg per caplet 25mg per caplet 75mg per caplet 25mg per chewable 75mg per chewable 100mg per chewable

Shop This Product

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 91 reviewers.

  • helps with pain
    good product by on 07/20/2019
  • Same Results Lower Price
    Same medication for much less than regular pharmacy or vet. by on 07/02/2019
  • Very Pleased
    PetCareRx is saving us money on this prescription. It is the same quality product as that we were getting from our local vet office at a higher price. Thank you PetCareRx. by on 06/01/2019
  • Great
    Thanks you for the fast service, my dog didnt miss a dose because of the fast shipping.Seems to be a good produce by on 05/18/2019
  • Carprophen purchase
    Called to order Carprophen for my dog. I was extremely happy with the efficiency and convenience in the entire process. Prices are so much better than my vet you would be crazy to not use Pet care RX! by on 03/31/2019
  • Great Stuff
    Works well and the Dog eats them up! by on 03/16/2019
  • Works as expected. Great value!
    This is the generic version of Carprofen and this Novox is the best. by on 02/22/2019
  • Does the Job
    My 8 year old dog was prescribed this by our vet to address some pain in her back. She has been taking this for about a year now, and is like a completely different dog. She is able to keep up with puppy, and go the distance on walks. I present it in a hickory pill pocket and she's happy to take it. by on 01/29/2019
  • Pet owner
    Reliable and fast delivery as always by on 01/20/2019
  • works well
    this product is just as effective as Rimadyl, yet not nearly as costly. by on 10/29/2018
  • Owner
    This is for chronic pain maintenance. by on 08/26/2018
  • Arthritis Relief
    My dog Roxy has has terrible arthritis to where she was getting very sedentary. With this, she isg etting around a lot better. by on 04/21/2018
  • My Old girl
    Novox gives my old girl painless days and for that I am extremely grateful. Leah's Mom by on 02/19/2018
  • Great Rimadyl alternative
    I've been using Novox for 9 months and it has seemed to slow down the progression of symptoms of arthritis and saved me money. This is one of the Rimadyl generics that is FDA approved. by on 01/20/2018
  • Better than name brand.
    My buddy won't eat anything that is supposed to be eaten -- flea, heart, etc. So, the name-brand of this drug was a massive pain in my ***. Quite big and hard to ram down his yapper. This generic is easier to administer and, frankly, I think more effective. by on 12/16/2017
  • Novox
    Great product! Works well on her inflammation, without it she swells up almost instantly. by on 12/04/2017
  • This product is just what our old "Chessie" needs.
    We started using Carprofen when our dog was recovering from surgery for a torn ligament, and later for occasional joint pain as our Chesapeake Bay Retriever got older. As Tug approached his 12th birthday we found that the once occasional dose was needed more frequently, and after consulting with our vet, we now give him Novox Caplets every day, so that he can more comfortably navigate 2 steps from porch to outdoors, and get on and off his dog bed with less discomfort. Tug also takes VetriSCIENCE Glycoflex Stage 3 Chews for joint support and VetriSCIENCE Composure when thunderstorms and fireworks are imminent, plus ThryoKare for his lifelong condition of under-active thyroid. by on 07/13/2016
  • It works
    Two years ago my dog had such bad arthritis in her hips she couldn't go up the stairs or barely walk. Between this and a dog vitamin for arthritis and aging she can walk the stairs again and has lived a lot longer then I would've expected. The name brand of this is easy to have the dog take because it tastes good. My only complaint is it's a pain to get the dog to take this generic pill by on 07/12/2016
  • This product has helped our dog have more quality in her life.
    The overall experience was great. Definitely a savings using PetCare Rx. by on 06/28/2016
  • Products works great for my Senior dog
    My senior gets longer walks in and I am very please with PetCare RX by on 06/15/2016
  • Works well for my dog
    Works well for me, too. Easy for me to break tabs in half to give to animal. by on 06/02/2016
  • relieves pain
    novox has helped relieve my dogs pain and stiffness. I really need to have safety caps removed and turned over because I can't open safety caps. by on 05/28/2016
  • Helps dog that is 15 years old
    I have a 15 year old cocker spaniel. He was starting to have trouble moving around so my vet put him on novox once a day. The precaution being this drug can be hard on the liver. If there is going to be a problem it happens in the first month, This drug has worked extremely well. He is back to doing things he was unable to do before like jump on the bed. by on 05/14/2016
  • Great Product!
    My dog had hip surgery years ago and every now and then it will flare up and she will hop around on 3 legs. The vet prescribed Novox and it works great! It helps out with pain and inflammation. I give her a half tablet a day. If she's been playing around more than usual with the other dogs I'll give her a whole pill. I love the price for the amount you get! It would cost me $31 for 21 pills at my vet. I get more pills at half the price! by on 05/02/2016
  • Amazing results!
    My 13-1/2 year old Border Collie is like a puppy again!!! She can get up, move and walk with ease. We were beginning to think it was nearing "that time", but I can hardly keep up with her! by on 05/01/2016
  • To those of you who haven't ordered generic before and are worried
    This is my first time ordering long term medications for my dog. I'd only ever had to buy temporary medicine that they wouldn't need to take for long periods of time, so I always got them from the vet. I was worried initially, because the vet price was so high for the medication he needs, and I wasn't sure I could afford itThis medication came to the rescue. Half the price I would have paid for the brand name, and even less than that with a subscription to PetPlus. It works just as well as the non generic med. Haven't noticed any side effects at all. The pills are small and easily tucked into a piece of cheese.Also - I read caplets, and for some reason thought they were going to be capsules - not the case, just small hard tablets. They can still be cut in half if your pet needs a lower dose. Big fan over here. :) by on 02/19/2016
  • wonderful!
    This product tremendously helped my 9.5 yr. old aussie with his arthritis/joint pain. Within 2wks I noticed him to be back to his ol' self, happy & playful again without any apparent stomach upset too. Woohoo! by on 11/24/2015
  • Great product
    My aging dog Zoe has fused vertebrae and hip issues. She is now able to walk up stairs again and even hop up on the bed. And her favorite...chase/catch the tennis ball. It's truly amazing. by on 11/17/2015
  • Cheap and effective
    Works well but not as convenient as the chewable tabs. Have to hide in peanut butter for my dog to take. by on 11/16/2015
  • 50/50 chance it will work?
    For the price I think it's very questionable? Sometimes it works some what but most of the time hit and miss. by on 10/26/2015
  • Very important for one of my Dogs. (Oldest)
    Delivery time, from time of order, with no extra paid service, fantastic. This medicine is a Generic Rimadyl, and is by Prescription. If needed, just have Vet give you the actual Prescription, and the order through PetCareRx. If Refill required, but Prescription expired, they will even contact your Vet for new Prescription. I am able to order in 180 Pill Prescriptions, with an overall savings of at least 40%++. Then also receive Discount Coupons for future orders. by on 09/19/2015
  • Cheaper alternative to brand name!
    My dog takes Rimadyl for joint pain. Vet recommended we try the generic to save a bit of money as she is on several daily medications. Novox works as well as Rimadyl for a much better price! Madison, our 9 year old senior dog can't tell the difference and neither can her arthritic joints! Highly recommend this!! by on 08/15/2015
  • Seems to work
    Seems to be working, but it will take a while to know for sure. More economical than Rimadyl. Fortunately my dog will eat anything so I just tell her it's a cookie and she eats it. by on 07/31/2015
  • Carprofen is amazing
    This medication worked wonders for my 8 year old Rottweiler. She suffered from arthritis & a tendon injury for 2 years. In June, she was diagnosed with Osteosarcoma. They prescribed Tramadol which made her depressed & sleepy. Carprofen (Novox) provided the pain relief she needed, allowed her to get around more comfortably & her mood was much brighter & happier! I highly recommend this product. I was grateful to find this website because the price was much more affordable than buying it at my vet. Our most recent bottle, however, took over a week to receive because apparently the shipment for some unknown reason was redirected across the country instead of to my home in Philadelphia (it shipped from New Jersey!). That was very frustrating because, as a result, I had to pay $30 for a 5 day supply at my local vet to hold my dog over until it finally arrived. I feel that customer service should have credited me atleast part of my $ back because it was their mistake. by on 07/23/2015
  • Keeps my dog moving
    Definitely relieves pain for her arthritic joints. Would be nice if it weren't so expensive. by on 07/12/2015
  • Good Value For Effective Medicine
    My female boxer is 11 and has a lot of pain in her hips. This med has helped her regain a lot of mobility. by on 07/02/2015
  • Novox helps my arthritic dog! Need to make in chewy, though!
    I have been blessed to find PetCare Rx. I have 2 English Springers almost 11. It gets very hard to afford things from the vet. The prices are good & the wait time minimal! I would recommend to everyone! by on 07/01/2015
  • I am Pleased.
    The price is good and the product is as described. I plan to continue to use Novox. I did not rate the effectiveness since I have just started using it and don't have a basis to judge as yet. by on 06/25/2015
  • It has made a big difference in my dogs mobility.
    I was so pleased to have found this product and as at a great price. It is definitely noticeable if he doesn't get his daily dose. I highly recommend it for anyone that has a dog with joint problems. It doesn't cure it but it lets him get around so much better. by on 06/22/2015
  • Helps my older Lab with his hip dysplasia
    There is a noticeable difference in my Lab's ability to move when he is not taking the medication. I wish it came in chewable form. by on 05/15/2015
  • Works well
    Queenie would groan with any small movement due to arthritis in hips (she's German Shepard). Novoa has worked wonders. by on 05/08/2015
  • Works as well as Rimadyl
    Our dog is arthritic and has issues moving around... our vet has suggested using one per day to reduce swelling so he get get around easier. I give him all his pills in liverwurst - so never an issue for him to take anything.Now he jumps, he plays and runs. He acts his age - which is 5 years old - instead of 15. This has given him a more active life and that is really all I can ask. by on 05/03/2015
  • Provides Great Relief For my Dogs
    I have two dogs that have arthritis and had a hard time walking. This medication, prescribed by my veterinarian has proved to be a priceless medication in that the dogs can now run and play without being in pain. It's important to follow your vet's instructions, and get the blood tests required to make sure your pet can still take the drug, but believe me it's a thrill to see my two dogs running and enjoying life once again. by on 04/03/2015
  • works for my dog
    My old boy needs pain relief during the colder days of winter, when his old bones just ache. He will not take a chewable, he has those figured out! So, this is smaller and easy to hid in some soft food and he will take them down. They also appear to provide the relief he needs, and do not make him seem out of it in any way by on 03/15/2015
  • Pet care rx customer service is excellent- their pharmacy is not
    I ordered this medication with a two week window for myself to receive it. My dog has been taking this for 6 months, so I know to order in plenty of time. The pharmacy that fills the meds for Pet care rx waited a full 5 days after I placed my order to even bother contacting my vet! I had to call customer service and complain about the wait time, and they were excellent. They sent my meds by two day air so that I would not run out before I got my order. I applaud the company itself, but the pharmacy that they use needs some work. by on 02/22/2015
  • Great Alternative to Chewable
    I really like these Caplets because my 16 yr old is a really picky eater. I had a hard time getting her to take the Rimadyl chewables the vet started us on. When I found these I knew I would be able to stick in peanut butter and have no problems! by on 01/20/2015
  • Novox is a great product.
    The product, Novox works great for our 100 lb. Golden Retriever who has problems with pain in his backend. He just finished having blood work done, and it all came back great. No problems with his liver. We are very happy with the product! by on 01/11/2015
  • Good Product
    Even though it is a generic for Rimadyl it works the same.Glad I found this product - has saved me a lot of money. by on 10/27/2014
  • Much less expensive than rimadyl and just as effective
    Initially the vet prescribed my 10 year old lab Rimadyl. Her increased mobility was dramatic. But 10 pills were over $40 and she was taking 2 per day. I decided to try Novax for a fraction of the cost and the same great results. The only draw back is that the Rimadyl was apparently tastier. My dog is not a picky eater yet frequently manages to avoid eating her dosage of Novax. I now have to hide it in wet food to guarantee she ingests it. by on 09/07/2014
  • great product good price
    I shopped around and pet care defiantly had the best price around. They verified my dogs script and shipped very fast. However there were a few broken pills when the shipment arrived but they did credit me back to compensate for the broke pills. The pills work just as good as the name brand and my dog can move around great again!! by on 09/03/2014
  • Generic rimadyl but works!
    This is a lot better to my wallet than rimadyl and it seems to work just as well for my baby who has chronic arthritis. by on 08/31/2014
  • Great generic of rimadyl.
    My dog has used Rimadyl for years and this is a great cost saver for us. by on 07/23/2014
  • Being used with other combinations of pain meds.
    My review is on pet care rx great prices they've beat out all other vendors to this date for my pet. The delivery service is good and easy to track and I receive a phone call after delivery to see if all is good by on 07/21/2014
  • Works like a charm!
    In a matter of days, it was evident that this product had eased my molly's pain. by on 06/24/2014
  • Good product for arthritis
    My 13+year old Lhasa Apso mix has been on Novox for about 3 years and the product has worked fairly well. Last year startedgiving her a tablet in morning and at night. Was worried that two tablets would be too bad of side effects so am using Novox in morning and Tramodol twice per day and dog is moving much better. by on 06/10/2014
  • Easy to take, works well
    This works as well as Rimadyl for our older dog. She takes it easily even though it is not a chewable tab. by on 06/09/2014
  • This stuff really works!
    It seems to work better than Rimadyl. I would recommendthis product. by on 05/22/2014
  • Senior dog
    My senior dog is 14 years old and has arthritis in her hips and has difficulty walking. The Novox has done wonders for her. She is now able to climb a limited number of steps and take walks now. by on 04/25/2014
  • This product is easy to use and effective.
    Using this product along with Glucosamine my almost 16 year old pet gets around much better than before we started. Plus the value is terrific. by on 04/25/2014
  • Good deal for the money.
    it works just as good or a little better than the non generic chewable version but for ease o use, i wish they would make it in chewable form. by on 04/13/2014
  • Saves me money... Works as well or better than the name brand
    My dog has been on Rimadyl for years. It is costly. This cost significantly less and does the same job. I notice no differance in my pets behavior. by on 04/06/2014
  • Our 12 year old Rottweiler has benefitted greatly!
    We have a 12 year old Rottweiler with severe arthritis in hips.....we give him a tablet in the morning and one at bedtime and he moves around much better, than when he does not have this medication. It has helped him immensely. by on 03/19/2014
  • Works .... Somewhat
    This isn't the ''miracle drug'' that I was promised but it did allow my 14 yr old large breed dog to be able to stand up a little easier, and she had a shaking in her right leg that went away. It's expensive, and I'm not positive it's doing anything. But your dog really can't tell you when it's in pain or not so I give it to her every day in hopes that it will help relieve her pain a little bit. by on 01/31/2014
  • My dog seems to be in less pain.
    My 9 year old sheltie was diagnosed with severe hip dysplasia in September 2013. Before he started taking Novox daily he was panting very hard almost constantly. Now he seems much more relaxed. Granted, this is in combination with taking Glucosamine and Chondrotin everyday, but I believe the combination has really helped improve his quality of life. by on 01/08/2014
  • A miracle drug for arthritis
    My 11 year old Saint Bernard has advanced arthritis and having tried every other palliative and anti inflammatory drug, this Rimadyl generic works wonders and gives our beloved pet more quality time with us. by on 11/23/2013
  • Best meds, helps ease pain in my 13 year old dog - Max.
    I don't know what Max would be able to do without Novox and so glad his Vet recommended it. He goes from moving really really slowly to being able to walk around the yard enjoying himself. He's even able to chase the squirrel - but he doesn't bother catching him; just not what a distinguished senior dude does.I'm sure if Max could write this, he'd tell you how great it is and how much better he feels. by on 10/31/2013
  • Great results.
    My ten year old Dobie was having problems with her back legs - stiffness, difficulty jumping up on the bed, running, etc. After about a week on Novox, she is a new dog - galloping around her backyard. She is obviously pain free now. A little pricey but worth every penny to her and me. by on 10/19/2013
  • Value plus quality
    This product is wonderful. It is as effective as Rimadyl but costs less. I highly recommend novox caplets for your dog! by on 10/13/2013
  • Works just like Rimadyl
    My 12 yr old female pit mix has lower back and hip arthritis. She was taking Rimadyl chewable for about six months before I discoved Novox (generic). My vet switched her to this and the results are just as good as with Rimadyl...and I get to save money! She won't take the caplet whole, so I just crush it and mix it into her food. Give this a try :-) by on 10/12/2013
  • My dog needs to take this product 2/daily; it is effective
    I ordered my last Novox and realized it wouldn't get here in time for the regular 7-10 days. So I wrote to you and you got it to me in 3-4 days. I SO APPRECIATED THIS AS I WOULD HAVE RUN OUT AND THAT JUST ISN'T WHAT MY DOG NEEDS. SHE IS 13 AND HAS A RATHER LARGE SPLEEN TUMOR; I HAVE OPTED NOT TO OPERATE DUE TO HER AGE.THANKS AGAIN FOR YOUR SPEEDY ORDER TIME. by on 10/11/2013
  • Good Value
    so far so good, my rottie was taking rimidyl, and I thought to try this, even the vet said this may not work might be a little less effective.But it seems to be working. Her pain is gone, and she's now down to once a day vs twice a day by on 09/29/2013
  • Works very well
    Our 10 y/o black lab has arthritis in his hips and Novox is helping him very well. He is less painful now and able to walk more to build up his muscle mass in his hips and legs. The whole Rx process was so easy. PetCareRx did all the work by contacting my vet and filling the order quickly. by on 09/08/2013
  • Really helped my dog's pain
    My 95 pound 9 year old chocolate lab was really suffering with arthritis pain. We were reluctant to start him on a medication for fear of the cost and side effects. We decided to give it a try and it has made a HUGE difference in the quality of life and mobility for our dog. I would recommend this product to anyone with a pet suffering from arthritis pain. It is worth the investment to see your dog able to move again without as much pain. by on 07/31/2013
  • Treating my dogs arthritis.
    My oldest girl, Julia, has potentially debilitating arthritis in her back legs. NOVOX has helped her tremendously. NOVOX gives her the ability to romp and play with my younger dogs. Without NOVOX she is very quiet and it difficult for her to get up and move around. I truly LOVE NOVOX. NOVOX will be a part of Julia's day till the end. by on 07/31/2013
  • This products really works well. GREAT VALUE
    Novox Caplets works well in relieving my dogs arthritis pain and discomfort.It makes it easier for her to get up stairs. It also helps her to get up and down on her pillow. Couldn't ask for anything any better to treat my 9yr. old Akita/wolf. by on 07/31/2013
  • excellant service
    I have been ordering my pets meds for several months now. They are always sent without hassels. They contact my Vet and take of e verything then ship them to e. by on 07/08/2013
  • Good generic alternative
    Seems to be as effective at name brand NSAID at a much better price. I wish the chewable version was a bit cheaper, but I put these in cheese and Honeybear gobbles them up no proble, by on 07/04/2013
  • Easy to give to your dog
    The price is right and it does work for my dog. It easy to give to my dog. by on 07/02/2013
  • Novox
    Novox which is generic Rimadyl works very well for arthritis on my large breed dogs. by on 10/28/2012
  • Novox
    Novox has really helped my 13yr old Jack Russell, who suffers from arthritis.....I would recommend this to everyone by on 08/30/2012
  • Novox
    Re-ordering was super easy and I love the free shipping. by on 07/27/2012
  • my dog has had seizures every sence 2 years old
    does anyone out there have a dog with seizers my dog is on a pill called phenobarbital and possium bormide is there anyone out there know i good drug to help my baby bear my email is [email protected] by on 10/16/2009
  • Quick delivery
    The prices are great and the delivery time exceptionally quick. by on 07/19/2008
  • A++++
    A wonderful company to buy dog medication from. Prompt shipment on receipt of perscription from vet's office. Excellent customer service. Overall great company.Recommend this prduct to anyone with a dog with hip dysplasia. Works like a charm. by on 05/15/2008
  • Good stuff
    My dog is 16 years old and what a difference this medication does for her. She can actually get up and move. by on 04/26/2008
  • Novox - Very Effective Pain Med & Great Price
    Our dog has severe hip dysplasia (born with it) and does very well on the Novox. It is less expensive than Rimadyl and just as effective. She's a happy dog now and waits for her medication every morning and evening. It makes a HUGE difference for her. Thanks, PetCareRx for providing this quality medication at such a great price. You make it easy to order and it's great having it shipped right to my door! by on 03/24/2008
  • Novox - Very Effective Pain Med & Great Price
    Our dog has severe hip dysplasia (born with it) and does very well on the Novox. It is less expensive than Rimadyl and just as effective. She's a happy dog now and waits for her medication every morning and evening. It makes a HUGE difference for her. Thanks, PetCareRx for providing this quality medication at such a great price. You make it easy to order and it's great having it shipped right to my door! by on 03/24/2008
  • Novox - Very Effective Pain Med & Great Price
    Our dog has severe hip dysplasia (born with it) and does very well on the Novox. It is less expensive than Rimadyl and just as effective. She's a happy dog now and waits for her medication every morning and evening. It makes a HUGE difference for her. Thanks, PetCareRx for providing this quality medication at such a great price. You make it easy to order and it's great having it shipped right to my door! by on 03/24/2008
  • Works Great
    Helps my dogs pain. He has bad hips and is great for him. Wish it was chewable, but for the price it is worth the extra effort. by on 06/14/2007
  • What a difference
    We ran out, and wow, what a difference. She could barely move. Once back on them, she got her "pep" back, and was able to get up easier. by on 05/16/2007
  • wonderful
    Enables my dog to keep the quality of life he has always enjoyed by on 04/15/2007
Page 1 of 1 1