Cart --
0 Items in Cart
Your Shopping Cart is Empty
TOGGLE

Product Reviews

Available Options:
Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 56 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Little Filter! I really don't understand why so many people claim to have issues. I have been utilizing different Penguin models for many years on several nano reef tanks and have yet to have issues with any of them. I'm currently maintaining a 10 gal nano (Penguin 150B) which has been in operation for about 5 years and have yet needed to replace any parts aside from the filter pads. I wonder when the impeller is going to fail but it is still running fine. I highly recommend this line of Marineland filters. May 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Filter Syatem Penguin 100 I am new to this hobby and i have a 10gl starter tank kit. I have never had a problem with this unit. great price and good size.Fish are loving it. I to did have that problem with my bio wheel but i cleand every thing inside and out and then cheanged the fileter and bio wheel and now works great. It seams the problem was with the bio wheel it was much heaver then the new one even when the new bio wheel was wet and used for 3 days. So what i am saying is if the bio wheel gets a lot of grouth on it it seams to slow down and can stop. And yeas sad to say i lost 3 guppies due to bio wheel stoping and not knowing what to do. Thanks to all at Marineland keep up the good work.. April 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Silent and powerful Penguin 200 Not sure why everyone is complaining about "noise" I know for a fact if you assemble the thing correctly you have no noise. This is true for ANY aquatic filter.Mostly what i read above sounds like a good 30% of them dont know how to take care of their fish. Lets hit the highlights of this filter: *Has a two part flip-top lid this allows you to remove your filters and wash them off easily without spilling any water or making a mess. *The suction tube has TWO places to pull in debris, one mid way, and one at the bottom like normal *Excellent splash guard! Remember the dual flip-top lid i told you about? This makes a near 100% splash guard there isnt a drop on the side of my tank ((Look at your filter doesn't it have white crusty stuff on it? This is from splashing a few drops now and then)) *It uses TWO filter pads NOT side by side but back to back This is just pure genius! Normal 50 gallon tank filters use two pads but place them side by side. But not marilands 50 gallon filter CONS: -Electrical cable is a bit too short for my taste -Water return is shot out through a small waterfall opening, which makes the water fall hard and fast. This might aggervate fish that are slow swimmers -Instructions were lacking just a bit they combined all 4 penguin models into one sheet of paper. the paper displays each model broken appart with arrows pointing to how everything goes. It gets the job done but i like to read about how each part works -The bio wheel is displayed in a fogged type clear plastic, for everyone to see how dirty the wheel gets when it has bacteria on it February 13, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Short life span I have had this for about 6 months. It has been filtering rather well which is why it has two stars. For some reason the bio Wheel just stopped turning and no one can tell me why. I tryed cleaning it several times and nothing helped, and now it seems to be getting louder. Piece of junk. February 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good, Not noisy just adjust this.. I like this filter. I have a 55 gallon aquarium it does a good job. I am thinking about getting a different filter now because of a new algae breakout. I had this filter for a while and it was quiet. I was giving it a thorough cleaning one evening and put it all back together and fired it up. It was VERY noisy. I figured the magnetic motor was messed up, so I kept adjusting it. I found MY noise issue to be the light gray piece (looks like a tab sticking out) on the shaft needed to move to cover the "vent" on the tube. I posted this review to hopefully help people with this issue because it was driving my wife and I crazy. The filter is a good filter, but I am looking into getting the emperor series for an upgrade. January 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Penguin 150 Three weeks old and the penguin 150 that came with my 28gal bow front is doing wonderful. Filter impeller is almost silent ( I have to strain to hear it) and I love the sound of the return flow surface agitation. January 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by ONE OF THE GREATEST FILTERS EVER MADE! I have tried a lot of filters on my tanks. Most of them filtered okay, but there was still that fish tank smell. These filters take away all those odors and keep the water so clear! They are nice and quiet too. I also like the fact that they feel well made and are reliable. I don't know much about the Bio-wheels but they must work because I have never had an ammonia or nitirite problem. I own 4 of these filters and when I get a bigger tank I am going with Marineland! A great investment! January 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by 150's & 350's I don't get it. Where do people get noise from with these filters. I purchased 2 350's and 2 150's and they are very quiet. My older ones produce the water trickling sound but no other impeller sounds. I am recently back in the hobby and have purchased 6 Emperors 4 pengiuns and have just ordered 4 more 350's. One thought I have on noise is if people are getting sand substrate in the filter which will ruin an impeller in no time. One other thing is if the carbon filled cartridges are not rinsed to remove the small particles, which will also destroy the impeller causing noise. I came close to ordering a different brand of filter because of a good deal but backed out before I put in the order. I started thinking about my old Penguins that my son has that are still running and have been for many many years. The price of these on line is like stealing and they're better than most all other filters out there.Sorry for the long rant but i hate to see a great filter beat up on. One more thing my experince on filtration is at least 8 x tank size.(30 gal = 240 gph filter) for healthy fish.Thanks Bob January 14, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Decent filtration, loud impeller I have had the Penguin 200 in my 30gal. freshwater tank for about 6 months or so and I will say the water does stay reasonably clean even with the large number of fish I have. The down side to this filter though is that the impeller makes a TON of noise. I have tried various ways to quiet the noise, but it will not stop. My last resort is to buy a new impeller and see if that solves anything. I personally wouldn't recommend this filter because the price does not match the quality and the noise is very irritating especially at night while I'm trying to sleep. January 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product - Penguin Bio-Wheel 200 I don't know why other reviewers have a problem with their Bio-Wheel 200 being noisy. I set mine up according to instructions and it's worked fine with very little noise. I installed a second filter in the slot closest to the Bio-Wheel and noticed that it was obstructing the wheel. Then, I realized that I'd put it in backward. I turned it around, re-installed it the RIGHT way and again, works perfectly and quietly. I would recommend it to anyone! October 3, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by I think the reviewers are using this product incorrectly... Since my boyfriend has moved in with me, he's made me add 8 fish, 2 cats, and a second chinchilla to my family. I had an Aquaclear 30 filter that was given to me with a 29gal aquarium, and he just wasn't satisfied with it (I saw no problem, but I guess that's how hobbyists are.) He suggested we get the Penguin 150 filter, and now I can see what he was talking about. We only use one filter slot at a time, and it gets disgusting!! Sadly, the filter cartridges are expensive. I try to rinse them out to prolong their life at least a few days, but it normally doesn't work. I'm going to have to look online for cheaper filters. However, the filter is silent! I don't understand all these negative reviews concerning the sound. The only time this filter gets loud is if the water level is too low (especially if the slits in the tube are above water) or if there is air trapped in the filter somewhere. The solution: Pour some water into it and make sure the tube is securely attached how it's supposed to be. (Meaning: just mess around with it for a few moments and you should have no problem.) However, for a while our biowheel would not spin even when there was adequate water flowing under the wheel. Out of the blue the wheel started to spin again and has been spinning like a champ ever since. In conclusion: Pros: works well, silent Cons: expensive filters, wheel sometimes doesn't work PS: why is my nickname "punky" and it had some weird email already typed???? July 25, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by It's just OK. This filter is just OK. If I were to do an HOB filter again I would go with the Emperor 400. I have the Penguin 350 and I'm just so-so with it. It seems flimsy when I clean it and I prefer the additional filter area of the 400. Wouldn't buy this one again. July 17, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by I would expect to be blending margaritas with something so noisy For the past 9 months this filter has done a great job keeping my 35 gallon tank clean. For this reason alone I have given this product a second star, but cant rank the filter as "average" due to the insanely short life span of the impeller. July 10, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by RIDICULOUSLY LOUD....Short life, BIO-Wheel 200 RIDICULOUSLY LOUD. I have used Marineland filters for 4years but no more. I have been through 2 bio-wheel 200s in about 1.5 years. They both started out quiet but slowly started to sound like they are chewing through gravel. I have tried cleaning the impeller housing but it was a waste of time. This filter does it's job but I would expect it to last longer and not sound like a rock tumbler. Also, the impeller it's self looks like it is corroding...... Why can't you buy just the impeller I'm not paying for the entire "assembly". July 3, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Penguin 150 is a great filter I have never had the noise problem with mine. But the water fall effect dose show up a little faster due to the outlet being a little shorter the aqueon's in my 75 gallon. Not big deal, just keep the tank full. Recovers faster than the aqueon's after tank cleaning. Over all im very pleased. June 28, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by PENGUIN 150 VERY LOUD Seems to be a problem with these filters. I have 2 of them, one is okay but after a few weeks the impeller bacame very loud in the second one. Everything I have tried ( cleaning, repositioning impeller and impeller housing and lift tube) has not helped. It does drive you crazy after awile. June 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best outside filter I have used. I currently use two of the 200s. They are very quiet and effective. The only negatives are that the flow rate can not be adjusted (minor issue) and that is not a refillable carbon element available. I would prefer a separate foam filter and separate refillable carbon cage or bag. June 12, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by LOUD, VERY LOUD. I purchased the Penguin 150, this thing is loud. I could hear it all over the house. I don't recommend it. At all! May 28, 2011
<<prev 2 3