Cart --
0 Items in Cart
Your Shopping Cart is Empty
Get $10 Credit

Product Reviews

Available Options:
Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 50 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful filter I have a 50 gallon aquarium and recently just purchased this filter. My old filter was a millenium 3000 and it was starting to die. This filter is quite and it is easy to maintain. Ever sense I purchased this it has made the water crystal clear and it is and is safe for my live plants. The mechanical filtration is eliminating all of the debris and dust from the water and the bio wheel is working because my tank has never looked this healthy and clean before. This has to be one of the best filters that marineland makes. January 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Penguin 200 - Too Noisy! Not the best fine particulate filtration I have quickly learned that this filter is extremely LOUD! I have been running it for about a month now and at first it was just normally loud but last week the impeller started rattling. I took it apart and lubed it up with some petroleum jelly and that fixed it until my canister filter comes in the mail. But even with normal operation this filters motor and impeller make too much noise in my bedroom for my wife to sleep. Maybe fine if in your living room. It also disperses tiny bubbles constantly and slightly clouds the water. I have tried to adjust water height but that doesn't seem to work. I am still cycling my 29g tank and some cloudiness is expected but it doesn't seem to do a very good job with filtering the smaller particles which also are contributing to a cloudy tank and extreme Nitrite levels. I am now doing 50% water changes every day to keep my 5 Guppies alive and probably starving them slightly to keep from overfeeding. I am using conditioner and stability additives as well and I never wash anything under tap water. Anyways I think if your serious about your fish you should shell out the extra dough and get a quality, silent, canister filter. December 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by product worked for about 2 months then stopped working. product worked for about 2 months then stopped working. bought another one I figured it was just a bad one and about a month and a half later it stops working this time killing a few of some very exotic and experience fish. Not Happy! November 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Found the fix for noise filter While the filter is running, try to lift up the intake tube from the top. Just a little bit. Or when putting the intake tube in, don't push the tube all the way down. November 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by verygood filter on my fresh water tank A+++++ would recoment marineland items any time. own several items my self. November 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by never again I bought the 350 just under 2 weeks ago and it just stopped working. I can hear the motor running and can feel the sucking power from the intake tube but it is doing nothing. I returned it to the place of purchase and switched it out for another one of the same. I got home and installed it and again the same problem. I'm just gonna give up on this brand and return this last one and switch it out for another brand. October 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great filtration I bought the Marineland 20Gal LED tank kit and the peguin 20gal filter. The ilter works very well even a year and a half later. I run two filter cartridges in it without any flow issues. The Biowheel is a good bonus to the system. Highly recommnd this brand for any tank. October 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poorly made I purchased a Penguin Power filter 150 and I have had nothing but problems! The impeller is garbage! As soon as you take the filter apart to clean it, it is never the same.. It starts making a loud grinding noise that comes and goes and eventually just stays that way. I have cleaned this product with vinegar but it doesnt seem to help. October 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Smmmmaaarrt Design! Mine has only been running 2 weeks, so long term reliability aside; the stacked cartridges, double adjustable inlet, & biowheel are awesome features. It's easy, quiet, & my fish favor the current on that side of the tank over the power head at the other (i'm gonna move it closer to the middle now). My 20gal salt cycled with 2 clowns, 8lbs of live rock, 10lbs live sand, & a bacteria dose in only 2 weeks! October 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product Purchased 2 Penguin 330's in April 2013 for a 70gl and I am very happy with this product. Very quiet and no problems except for a slow bio wheel which is totally fine. These replaced 2 penguin 300's that were still running fine after 12 years straight service on the tank. and are now in the boxes as back ups. Crystal clean water as always and didn't even look at any other filter product line on the market before my purchase. September 20, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Had this filter less than four months and it quit working I bought this filter back in May. I woke up two nights ago and it had died sometime in the middle of the night. I have cheap filters that came in starter kits that still work after 2 years. I will never buy or recommend another Marineland filter after this. September 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wicked Good Aquarium Filter and the product price is beyond fair! My last filter bit it when I came home to find at some point during the day my neighborhood had lost power. I have a very busy and somewhat hectic schedule and was only able to search for a replacement filter on line for short periods of time. Due to the fact the fish our my Son's goldfish, (dirty lil' buggers) I had to get a replacement ASAP as I do not have time to clean the tank a couple of times every 7-10 days. Within a few days I had narrowed down my choices to 3 different filters from 3 different competitors. Price, function and in store availability were my determining factors. With this information in hand, I headed out to the local pet supply store in search of a replacement filter. Once I had all 3 contenders in front of me for inspection, my choice was made easy by mainly the price of the filter, then the availability of replacement cartridges and lastly the fact that the particular filter I chose was the last one they had telling me I wasn't alone in thinking this filter is a good choice. So, I purchased the filter, brought it home, put it together, primed it and plugged it in. I had second thoughts as to my decision to not clean the tank prior to plugging in the new filter, but as I stated earlier my schedule is crazy busy and well, the tank was just a bit cloudy, not really dirty at all so I just left it be. When I woke up the next morning I was stunned at how amazing the tank appeared. It looks as though it had, had a thorough cleaning!!! The water is crystal clear and odorless and the fish, albeit are just your run of the mill goldfish are happy and thriving well. I am genuinely pleased with my choice of filter as are my Son's Goldfish! Given the price, availability and function, from here on out, I WILL only purchase Marineland products. THANK YOU for offering this filter and all the other products I've found in my search. Your products ROCK!!! :O) September 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by will repair and still use, if possible. the 330 filter has served me well, a good product, that is why I would like a replacement part. August 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by bio-wheel does not spin. I have a bio-wheel 400 and it works perfect. both wheels spin. I have been through 2 bio-wheel 200's in the past 4 months and both work good for a couple weeks and then no wheel spin. how am I expected to cycle my 29 gallon tank if I can't get the main component to worh. August 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Always breaking We are on our 6th one. Plus how ever many filters we have bought thinking that was the problem. I wish someone could come out with a better product. So frustrating. August 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by These filters are great filters. These filters are great filters and they keep my aquarium clean and clear. July 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor filtration This just nit put out enough power to keep the water clean, I had to replace the first one that did not last a year June 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by didnt even work spent so much time trying to set it up, and it never even turned on. bio wheel doesnt spin, tube is way too long for my tank. now i have 3 fish stuck in measuring cups because the filter doesnt work April 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Average Filter I purchased a 200 Penguin Bio-wheel filter 4 weeks ago. PROS: 1. Good overall buy for the price. CONS: 1. You can't have a dual filter cartridge as the packing says you can. If you add a second filter cartridge then the water struggles to get through both filters, backs up, and just pours out through the water overflow chamber. This completely bypasses the bio-wheel which defeats the purpose of having one. It started working property when I removed the second filter cartridge. But now after a few days it started backing up again. So I rinsed the cartridge and it started working again. Then a few days later it started backing up again and the cartridge wasn't even dirty. But again it started working after I pulled the cartridge out of the slot a little bit. I'm not sure what the problem is with the filters. Perhaps too full of carbon or perhaps the water overflow chamber needs to be bigger. Not sure. January 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This product is not reliable I purchased the Penguin 200 Bio-Filter only two Months ago, and now it has started t fail. The problem seams to be that the flow of the water has been reduced to the point the Bio-Wheel will not turn. I have taken it apart to clean it, and it looks very clean, so something else is the problem. I certainly don't want to purchase another one, but will need a pump in the very near future. I don;t think I will get this brand again! January 2, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by lifespan of a mayfly My first penguin 200 filter lasted about 2 years. Not great, but okay for the price, so I bought another one. That one lasted 6 months. (The bio-wheel on both never turned, but I figured that was just a gimmick anyway.) I won't be giving this brand a third try. January 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by High quality filter for freshwater tanks I ditched the water filter that came with my 20 gallon tank because it was too small, too loud and did a poor job cleaning my tank. I couldn't maintain a healthy tank. I picked up a Marineland Penguin filter because I recognized the brand and knew they made premium products. With the BIO wheel and high-grade carbon filter that comes with the Penguin, I've been able to keep a clean, clear water tank. The Penguin is much quieter than the filter it replaced. The water is sparkling clear and my fish have never been happier. I recommend using two filter cartridges--when possible. This keeps the water very clean and my fish happy. September 28, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by It was quiet, especially when it stopped working I bought this on May 28th to replace a filter system that we'd been using for several years that finally gave out. We had had one with a bio wheel in the past and our aquarium has an algae issue, so we went with the 200 for the 2 filters and the bio wheel. Up until today (Aug 7th), it's worked fine, but I came home from work and could hear the motor as soon as I walked in the door which is highly unusual. I walked over and took to the top cover off to make sure that something hadn't gotten sucked up into it and the whole thing just shut off and wouldn't come back on. I couldn't find anything clogging the tube or the fly wheel, it's like it just decided "Well, it's been 2 months, time to shut down". August 7, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nice while it lasts (which is not long) I had a Marineland Penguin 100 B filter, nice little gizmo, quiet, good filtration, mainly i bought because i liked the biowheel. I was satisfied overall with the product until it stopped working, approximately 9 months after i bought it. Since i had to buy another filter anyway, i decided to go with another brand as i did not see the value due to lack of durability. June 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Little Filter! I really don't understand why so many people claim to have issues. I have been utilizing different Penguin models for many years on several nano reef tanks and have yet to have issues with any of them. I'm currently maintaining a 10 gal nano (Penguin 150B) which has been in operation for about 5 years and have yet needed to replace any parts aside from the filter pads. I wonder when the impeller is going to fail but it is still running fine. I highly recommend this line of Marineland filters. May 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Filter Syatem Penguin 100 I am new to this hobby and i have a 10gl starter tank kit. I have never had a problem with this unit. great price and good size.Fish are loving it. I to did have that problem with my bio wheel but i cleand every thing inside and out and then cheanged the fileter and bio wheel and now works great. It seams the problem was with the bio wheel it was much heaver then the new one even when the new bio wheel was wet and used for 3 days. So what i am saying is if the bio wheel gets a lot of grouth on it it seams to slow down and can stop. And yeas sad to say i lost 3 guppies due to bio wheel stoping and not knowing what to do. Thanks to all at Marineland keep up the good work.. April 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Silent and powerful Penguin 200 Not sure why everyone is complaining about "noise" I know for a fact if you assemble the thing correctly you have no noise. This is true for ANY aquatic filter.Mostly what i read above sounds like a good 30% of them dont know how to take care of their fish. Lets hit the highlights of this filter: *Has a two part flip-top lid this allows you to remove your filters and wash them off easily without spilling any water or making a mess. *The suction tube has TWO places to pull in debris, one mid way, and one at the bottom like normal *Excellent splash guard! Remember the dual flip-top lid i told you about? This makes a near 100% splash guard there isnt a drop on the side of my tank ((Look at your filter doesn't it have white crusty stuff on it? This is from splashing a few drops now and then)) *It uses TWO filter pads NOT side by side but back to back This is just pure genius! Normal 50 gallon tank filters use two pads but place them side by side. But not marilands 50 gallon filter CONS: -Electrical cable is a bit too short for my taste -Water return is shot out through a small waterfall opening, which makes the water fall hard and fast. This might aggervate fish that are slow swimmers -Instructions were lacking just a bit they combined all 4 penguin models into one sheet of paper. the paper displays each model broken appart with arrows pointing to how everything goes. It gets the job done but i like to read about how each part works -The bio wheel is displayed in a fogged type clear plastic, for everyone to see how dirty the wheel gets when it has bacteria on it February 13, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Short life span I have had this for about 6 months. It has been filtering rather well which is why it has two stars. For some reason the bio Wheel just stopped turning and no one can tell me why. I tryed cleaning it several times and nothing helped, and now it seems to be getting louder. Piece of junk. February 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good, Not noisy just adjust this.. I like this filter. I have a 55 gallon aquarium it does a good job. I am thinking about getting a different filter now because of a new algae breakout. I had this filter for a while and it was quiet. I was giving it a thorough cleaning one evening and put it all back together and fired it up. It was VERY noisy. I figured the magnetic motor was messed up, so I kept adjusting it. I found MY noise issue to be the light gray piece (looks like a tab sticking out) on the shaft needed to move to cover the "vent" on the tube. I posted this review to hopefully help people with this issue because it was driving my wife and I crazy. The filter is a good filter, but I am looking into getting the emperor series for an upgrade. January 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Penguin 150 Three weeks old and the penguin 150 that came with my 28gal bow front is doing wonderful. Filter impeller is almost silent ( I have to strain to hear it) and I love the sound of the return flow surface agitation. January 18, 2012
<<prev2 3 next>>