Cart --
0 Items in Cart
Your Shopping Cart is Empty
TOGGLE
Get $10 Credit

Product Reviews

Available Options:
Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 55 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ok, a bit noisy Daughter bought a Marineland 20 gallon starter kit. Very nice kit for the money. But the impeller is a bit noisy. It was set up today we will wait a and see for a week if the noise goes away. March 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good filter, but SO LOUD I don't know how the people in other reviews got lucky enough to not have noisy filters, but I nearly cried for the first 24 hours I had my 100. You could hear the thing across my house, on a different floor! I looked up the problem online and found many other people with a similar problem and found that some were able to solve the issue by lubricating the inpellar with Stress Coat and making sure to place it back into its place completely straight. I did this with no luck. Thank goodness my father is incredibly handy and was able to use a thin razor blade to shave off a teeny tiny bit around where the inpellar is inserted so that it could no longer hit the sides as it spins. This fixed the problem, but I don't think I should have to do minor surgery to make a filter run without excessive noise, voiding the warranty in the process. I'm happy with how the filter runs now, but my goodness, I don't think I'll ever purchase this filter again. March 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by penguin 200 Not pleased at ALL. I purchased on for my 30 gallon tank and followed instructions to a T and when I went to plug it in , nothing happened and itssmelled burnt so I returned it for an exact product and the impeller on that one would run for 30-45 mins and then shut off , I'd have to adjust it and it would kick back on. Today I purchaseed a new tetra brand filter and would like my money back for this penguin filter. February 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Impeller worn out Two years ago I purchased a Penguin 350B HOB power filter. The filter has worked flawlessly until about two months ago. At that time the impeller began to make a rattling noise. After receiving a new impeller I carefully examined the new and old impeller. While holding each impeller by the two rubber bushings in one hand and spinning the impeller with the other hand I could definitely feel a slight wobble in the old impeller while the new one spun very smoothly. I carefully examined the metal shaft of the old impeller with a micrometer. There was no apparent wear in the shaft therefore obviously the plastic piece which contains the magnet and fins had worn to some extent and was causing the rattle. I replaced the old impeller with the new one and the pump was again very quiet. I am writing this review to caution owners of the Penguin and Emperor models HOB filters that as part of normal maintenance the impeller may begin rattling after 2 or 3 years and require replacement. As a side point after searching many sites on the internet I determined that the lowest cost for the Penguin 350B impeller was (believe it or not) the manufacture, Marineland at $11.97. Most mail order suppliers were between $15 and $20. January 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Functions as intended 95% of time Purchased a Penguin 350 under the duress of another brand's failure. Function very well except at times, one or more of the biofilters stop spinning and must have either the shafts cleaned or the part where the shaft rides in the housing cleaned or both. Regardless of filter brands, it is never a perfect world. I wish they would provide/develop a pre-filter screen to trap larger "stuff" before filter. However, if I was in the filter business, I would want the consumer to buy new filters (ie: ink jet cartridges). Never the less, a system of washable pre filter screen(s) would be nice. May just buy new filters rather than wash dirty ones to manage cost. January 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful filter I have a 50 gallon aquarium and recently just purchased this filter. My old filter was a millenium 3000 and it was starting to die. This filter is quite and it is easy to maintain. Ever sense I purchased this it has made the water crystal clear and it is and is safe for my live plants. The mechanical filtration is eliminating all of the debris and dust from the water and the bio wheel is working because my tank has never looked this healthy and clean before. This has to be one of the best filters that marineland makes. January 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Penguin 200 - Too Noisy! Not the best fine particulate filtration I have quickly learned that this filter is extremely LOUD! I have been running it for about a month now and at first it was just normally loud but last week the impeller started rattling. I took it apart and lubed it up with some petroleum jelly and that fixed it until my canister filter comes in the mail. But even with normal operation this filters motor and impeller make too much noise in my bedroom for my wife to sleep. Maybe fine if in your living room. It also disperses tiny bubbles constantly and slightly clouds the water. I have tried to adjust water height but that doesn't seem to work. I am still cycling my 29g tank and some cloudiness is expected but it doesn't seem to do a very good job with filtering the smaller particles which also are contributing to a cloudy tank and extreme Nitrite levels. I am now doing 50% water changes every day to keep my 5 Guppies alive and probably starving them slightly to keep from overfeeding. I am using conditioner and stability additives as well and I never wash anything under tap water. Anyways I think if your serious about your fish you should shell out the extra dough and get a quality, silent, canister filter. December 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by product worked for about 2 months then stopped working. product worked for about 2 months then stopped working. bought another one I figured it was just a bad one and about a month and a half later it stops working this time killing a few of some very exotic and experience fish. Not Happy! November 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Found the fix for noise filter While the filter is running, try to lift up the intake tube from the top. Just a little bit. Or when putting the intake tube in, don't push the tube all the way down. November 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by verygood filter on my fresh water tank A+++++ would recoment marineland items any time. own several items my self. November 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by never again I bought the 350 just under 2 weeks ago and it just stopped working. I can hear the motor running and can feel the sucking power from the intake tube but it is doing nothing. I returned it to the place of purchase and switched it out for another one of the same. I got home and installed it and again the same problem. I'm just gonna give up on this brand and return this last one and switch it out for another brand. October 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great filtration I bought the Marineland 20Gal LED tank kit and the peguin 20gal filter. The ilter works very well even a year and a half later. I run two filter cartridges in it without any flow issues. The Biowheel is a good bonus to the system. Highly recommnd this brand for any tank. October 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poorly made I purchased a Penguin Power filter 150 and I have had nothing but problems! The impeller is garbage! As soon as you take the filter apart to clean it, it is never the same.. It starts making a loud grinding noise that comes and goes and eventually just stays that way. I have cleaned this product with vinegar but it doesnt seem to help. October 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Smmmmaaarrt Design! Mine has only been running 2 weeks, so long term reliability aside; the stacked cartridges, double adjustable inlet, & biowheel are awesome features. It's easy, quiet, & my fish favor the current on that side of the tank over the power head at the other (i'm gonna move it closer to the middle now). My 20gal salt cycled with 2 clowns, 8lbs of live rock, 10lbs live sand, & a bacteria dose in only 2 weeks! October 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product Purchased 2 Penguin 330's in April 2013 for a 70gl and I am very happy with this product. Very quiet and no problems except for a slow bio wheel which is totally fine. These replaced 2 penguin 300's that were still running fine after 12 years straight service on the tank. and are now in the boxes as back ups. Crystal clean water as always and didn't even look at any other filter product line on the market before my purchase. September 20, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Had this filter less than four months and it quit working I bought this filter back in May. I woke up two nights ago and it had died sometime in the middle of the night. I have cheap filters that came in starter kits that still work after 2 years. I will never buy or recommend another Marineland filter after this. September 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wicked Good Aquarium Filter and the product price is beyond fair! My last filter bit it when I came home to find at some point during the day my neighborhood had lost power. I have a very busy and somewhat hectic schedule and was only able to search for a replacement filter on line for short periods of time. Due to the fact the fish our my Son's goldfish, (dirty lil' buggers) I had to get a replacement ASAP as I do not have time to clean the tank a couple of times every 7-10 days. Within a few days I had narrowed down my choices to 3 different filters from 3 different competitors. Price, function and in store availability were my determining factors. With this information in hand, I headed out to the local pet supply store in search of a replacement filter. Once I had all 3 contenders in front of me for inspection, my choice was made easy by mainly the price of the filter, then the availability of replacement cartridges and lastly the fact that the particular filter I chose was the last one they had telling me I wasn't alone in thinking this filter is a good choice. So, I purchased the filter, brought it home, put it together, primed it and plugged it in. I had second thoughts as to my decision to not clean the tank prior to plugging in the new filter, but as I stated earlier my schedule is crazy busy and well, the tank was just a bit cloudy, not really dirty at all so I just left it be. When I woke up the next morning I was stunned at how amazing the tank appeared. It looks as though it had, had a thorough cleaning!!! The water is crystal clear and odorless and the fish, albeit are just your run of the mill goldfish are happy and thriving well. I am genuinely pleased with my choice of filter as are my Son's Goldfish! Given the price, availability and function, from here on out, I WILL only purchase Marineland products. THANK YOU for offering this filter and all the other products I've found in my search. Your products ROCK!!! :O) September 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by will repair and still use, if possible. the 330 filter has served me well, a good product, that is why I would like a replacement part. August 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by bio-wheel does not spin. I have a bio-wheel 400 and it works perfect. both wheels spin. I have been through 2 bio-wheel 200's in the past 4 months and both work good for a couple weeks and then no wheel spin. how am I expected to cycle my 29 gallon tank if I can't get the main component to worh. August 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Always breaking We are on our 6th one. Plus how ever many filters we have bought thinking that was the problem. I wish someone could come out with a better product. So frustrating. August 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by These filters are great filters. These filters are great filters and they keep my aquarium clean and clear. July 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor filtration This just nit put out enough power to keep the water clean, I had to replace the first one that did not last a year June 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by didnt even work spent so much time trying to set it up, and it never even turned on. bio wheel doesnt spin, tube is way too long for my tank. now i have 3 fish stuck in measuring cups because the filter doesnt work April 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Average Filter I purchased a 200 Penguin Bio-wheel filter 4 weeks ago. PROS: 1. Good overall buy for the price. CONS: 1. You can't have a dual filter cartridge as the packing says you can. If you add a second filter cartridge then the water struggles to get through both filters, backs up, and just pours out through the water overflow chamber. This completely bypasses the bio-wheel which defeats the purpose of having one. It started working property when I removed the second filter cartridge. But now after a few days it started backing up again. So I rinsed the cartridge and it started working again. Then a few days later it started backing up again and the cartridge wasn't even dirty. But again it started working after I pulled the cartridge out of the slot a little bit. I'm not sure what the problem is with the filters. Perhaps too full of carbon or perhaps the water overflow chamber needs to be bigger. Not sure. January 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This product is not reliable I purchased the Penguin 200 Bio-Filter only two Months ago, and now it has started t fail. The problem seams to be that the flow of the water has been reduced to the point the Bio-Wheel will not turn. I have taken it apart to clean it, and it looks very clean, so something else is the problem. I certainly don't want to purchase another one, but will need a pump in the very near future. I don;t think I will get this brand again! January 2, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by lifespan of a mayfly My first penguin 200 filter lasted about 2 years. Not great, but okay for the price, so I bought another one. That one lasted 6 months. (The bio-wheel on both never turned, but I figured that was just a gimmick anyway.) I won't be giving this brand a third try. January 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by High quality filter for freshwater tanks I ditched the water filter that came with my 20 gallon tank because it was too small, too loud and did a poor job cleaning my tank. I couldn't maintain a healthy tank. I picked up a Marineland Penguin filter because I recognized the brand and knew they made premium products. With the BIO wheel and high-grade carbon filter that comes with the Penguin, I've been able to keep a clean, clear water tank. The Penguin is much quieter than the filter it replaced. The water is sparkling clear and my fish have never been happier. I recommend using two filter cartridges--when possible. This keeps the water very clean and my fish happy. September 28, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by It was quiet, especially when it stopped working I bought this on May 28th to replace a filter system that we'd been using for several years that finally gave out. We had had one with a bio wheel in the past and our aquarium has an algae issue, so we went with the 200 for the 2 filters and the bio wheel. Up until today (Aug 7th), it's worked fine, but I came home from work and could hear the motor as soon as I walked in the door which is highly unusual. I walked over and took to the top cover off to make sure that something hadn't gotten sucked up into it and the whole thing just shut off and wouldn't come back on. I couldn't find anything clogging the tube or the fly wheel, it's like it just decided "Well, it's been 2 months, time to shut down". August 7, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nice while it lasts (which is not long) I had a Marineland Penguin 100 B filter, nice little gizmo, quiet, good filtration, mainly i bought because i liked the biowheel. I was satisfied overall with the product until it stopped working, approximately 9 months after i bought it. Since i had to buy another filter anyway, i decided to go with another brand as i did not see the value due to lack of durability. June 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Little Filter! I really don't understand why so many people claim to have issues. I have been utilizing different Penguin models for many years on several nano reef tanks and have yet to have issues with any of them. I'm currently maintaining a 10 gal nano (Penguin 150B) which has been in operation for about 5 years and have yet needed to replace any parts aside from the filter pads. I wonder when the impeller is going to fail but it is still running fine. I highly recommend this line of Marineland filters. May 15, 2012
<<prev2 3 next>>