Cart --
0 Items in Cart
Your Shopping Cart is Empty

Product Reviews

Available Options:
Rated 2.7 out of 5 by 14 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hunk of junk I have, for now, a 350. It's a filter, many companies make them, and this one in no way stands out in filter performance. The only thing that stands out about it is that when I am home, it sounds like I am back at work at the factory. It might run silent for a couple days, then out of nowhere the impeller will begin making the most horrendous noises and no amount of messing with it will shut it up. My options are turn the filter off and kill my fish, or give them a heart attack and irritate the entire family. I'll go back to a cheaper brand, at least my others ran quiet. February 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Quality has taken a nose dive These used to be great filters, now the quality has dropped significantly. The flow adjustment is gone, the wheels make noise, and it as a whole, is much louder than it used to be. The cover now also fits very poorly. December 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by My Third Try The filter works well. The replacement filter media is very expensive and the impellers wear out alot. The replacement impeelers are not cheap either. November 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by The impeller fails I have purchsed 3 of these filters (the 200 and 400) and 2 of the 3 have problems with the impeller rattling and banging around. Not happy with them at all! November 16, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worked Well the first month The first month, this thing was relatively quiet and ridiculously POWERFUL! Its had crazy suction, cleaning power, BIOWHeel was spinning so fast, and way too good! As the months went by, I kept up with maintenance, and the thing kept getting louder, and less effective. Right now, at Month 9, my Emperor 280 is less powerful, and louder then my Penguin 200. As the thing is a shadow of its former self, its only a few weeks away from the trash. October 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by i can hear it from across the room this is the noisiest filter i've ever heard i've checked and rechecked it and cannot find any reason it's making so much noise, it has to bother the fish worse than it bothers me. it's going back tomorrow January 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best HOB filter on the market. This is the best hang on the back filter available. The bio-wheel is in my opinion is genius. The spray bar is incredible always making sure the bio-wheel is spinning so it doesn't dry up. I have two of these on my 75g malawi cichlid tank and they are incredible. The water is crystal clear and the ammonia and nitrite both at zero. May 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not so great features I have three Emperor Power Filters. Two 400's and one 280. The one plus is the Filter Cartridges have great capacity. The negitives are the filter cartridges lose the Black Diamond Carbon through the ribbed backing putting unwanted carbon in the tanks, also the carbon gets in the Flow Manifold Housing causing noise and I assume wearing out the Impeller and also the carbon gets inside the Spray Bars causing them to plugup more frequently. Also the filter will not prime itself if the water level is just down slightly. Also requires time consuming maintainance too often due to the Spray Bars plugging up and disassembling and putting back together. All in all I'd give it a two on a scale of one to five. May 8, 2012
2 next>>