Cart --
0 Items in Cart
Your Shopping Cart is Empty

Product Reviews

Available Options:
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 26 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by If it works don't change it. I just purchased a Mag 350 to go along with my C-360 in my 75gal freshwater tank. I've always been a "over-filter" type of guy and Marineland does the trick. The Mag.350 is a design that proves "If it works,don't change it". I'm glad you folks did not. July 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easiest filter (next to the emperor 400) I've ever used! I have a 60 gallon freshwater tank with a 350 magnum canister and the water is the cleanest I've ever seen in a tank! From the under 30 minute set up to the 10 minute cleanings no other filter is this easy to use. The micron filter's snug fit removes all particles from the water over night. The motor is virtually silent as well. I've even come up with a helpful tip to make it all the more quiet. After snapping the top into place on the canister take a measuring cup full of filter water from the old media and use that to pour into the intake tube. Do this until all air has been expelled from the canister through the intake tube. Tip the canister from side to side keeping the intake as the highest location so the the air will force it's way out leaving your canister fully "burped". Now just close both valves making sure the water is as full as you can manage in the intake side as air trapped under the cover will cause excess unneeded noise. This will also help seed your new media by restoring the bacteria to the "dirty" side of the system where it will be drawn into the new media to colonize. There's a simple fix to having to even do this if anyone there wants to email me for this simple redesign that would self evacuate all air from the canister. ;) June 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolute Best I hava had my magnum 350 for appx 18 years now and the only problem I have ever had was a bad o-ring on the lid. Simple to fix and it was just from multiple cleanings that the o-ring wore out. Note about every 7-8 years you should replace the impeller or if it becomes worn or noisy. If I had to buy another filter it would be the same thing! Hey why change it if it's already the best! April 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has longevity! After using my first Magnum 350 for the past 15 years it finally quit after three power failures and a miserable winter. Due to the failures I lost my large Tiger Oscars and had to make a decision as to what to start over with. I decided to start a African Chiclid tank with a Brand New Magnum 350. Let's see if I can get another 15 years out of a reliable product. Thanks Marineland! March 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 165 gallon tank with a trio of 350s running for almost 2 decades I don't get the "two days" set up either. Even my set-up, which was fairly complicated because I was running the discharge pf one filter into a roller filter for aeration, still only took about four hours total to set up. I've been running three of these guys for the last twenty years and about the only problem I've had has been the soft internal o-rings failing. But after two decades, what would you expect? The most challenging part of the Magnum 350 is deciding which filter media you want to use this month. Seriously, unless you're a complete idiot, this is probably the easiest system to set up. My recommendation - if you can afford it, get it. It'll last forever. March 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by It is a great filter for polishing gravel or as a filtration unit. I have had my HOT Magnum filter for 13 years. I have used it on 64,55 and 29 gal tanks. It keeps my tanks very clean and is easy to clean. January 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great filter After reading some of the other reviews I was shocked. I've had My 350 for 5 years, it took about 45 minutes, maybe an hour to set up. Cleaning is easy and take about 30 mins, I soak the sure fit filter then the media filter. after I reassemble it, I fill with water to just below the top and hook to lines, open valves, turn on and let run for a min., if there is any air in the system I shut it off, wait till I hear no bubbles then turn back on. This is the easiest and best filter I've ever used. I use it on a 55 gal tank with alot of goldfish. August 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best filter for 55 gal. Tank I have a 55 gal. Marineland tank led lighting and stand the filter makes no noise is easy to change , it matches the tank and hoods ,a great set up . The filter is easy to change the media .all of marineland filters Poweheads , bio wheels , aquariums , stands, led lighting, hoods and filters are state of the art, you cannot go wrong buying marineland . Boydtex. Cut and shoot Texas , yes that really is the name of the town July 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Running 24/7 since 2008 Matt from Washington I've been running mine since early 2008 twenty four hours a day with almost no down time! My intake and output tubes broke within the first 5 months of moving them and cleaning them, I was naturally disappointed that they had broke and I still have not ordered replacement parts. I found it difficult to find a replacement tube-set, I would image they are special order in most stores. I ended up using my own diy skimming box and a diy spray bar. The disconnect valves were thrown away within a few months because the -O rings needed constant replacing and started to fall apart and break. Again I used a diy solution for far less than the parts would have cost to replace which again was a disappointment. On a positive note nothing else has gone wrong with the setup. The filter media is easy to buy and cheap. in conclusion If you take care of your equipment it will last you for years to come. May 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by You Guys Rock I just joined because i wanted to say that I love this filter and had a problem with it recently! It is great to see that your company stands behind your product and resolved my issue with no problem. Speaking to your customer service was awsome and helpful!. Anyhow I had an issue with losing the prime with my filter and you guys sent the parts without a problem! Its a breath of fresh air that companys like yours still are around in this world! I am sold and will be a life long customer from now on. Thanks! April 30, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 Don't like this filter! I have been using H.O.T. Magnums for years so naturally thought this would be the replacement for the old fashioned wet/dry on my 75. The first time I hooked it up it took 2 hours to get it going. 3 days ago I took it apart to clean it and still do not have it going. If it didn't cost so much I would throw it out a window !!!!!!!!!!!!! Don't buy it ! April 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Great Value! Initial setup required about two hours, as hoses have to be measured, and service considerations had to be thought out. Once this was done, the rest was very easy for an average adult! I find the quick disconnects to be a great device for servicing the units. That, and the removable filter canister, allows me to take all the mess to a service sink for cleaning. Cleaning only requires a quick squirt with a hose, and changing the media. NO TOOLS REQUIRED! I also use polyester fiber fill (cheap fill from craft stores) for added filtration, and ONLY Marineland Black Diamond carbon. It is simply the best, (filling part way with fiber fill cuts amount needed to 1/3) and the brand name carbon is well worth the minor expense. You can also add whatever media you want to your filter. Lots of flexibility! Then I slip on the reusable "Right Fit" filter, pop the assembly back together, and use a small funnel to fill the canister right through the quick disconnects. This allows complete elimination of noisy air bubbles. If you do this, these units are near silent in operation. I have two Magnum 350's on a 75gal tank. My two very large, very dirty goldfish require this. The second one is set up as a polishing filter, with the pleated paper filter. Both filters get cleaned once a week, and it takes about an hour to do this. But then, I have very dirty fish, and am not as young as I once was. For a young person, it's probably a half hour task. The value of these filters is in the fact that they initially cost less that any comparable unit, and they seem to last forever! Mine have been in service since 2003, with no significant problems. The only parts that need to be replaced are the pleated paper cartridges and the "Right Fit" filter sleeves at about once every 1.5 years or so. This is the only poor feature I have found. They are a proprietary (Marineland brand only) pleated and filter sleeves. You cannot use a much cheaper generic 9" pleated filter or cut to size foam filter media. Guess they have to sell something to keep the doors open! Everything else seems to last forever! In all, this is a hard to beat filter system, especially for the price. The flow volume is more than adequate, servicing is easy, they run silently, and they trap even the finest of debris. what more can be expected? I'd recommend this unit to anyone. January 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Filter After getting the Magnum 350 and opening the box i realized that the instructions look like there written for a five year old. I gues that is a good thing because they made the system easy to instal. I took time to use gravity to my advantage to get the air bubbles out, a little common sense helps. This is a great filter and does great in my 65 gallon tank. I will deffinatly be getting more of these for my bigger tanks. December 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Marineland Magnum 350 Experience... I have used this filter for 16+ years. I initially bought this model after researching what brand of filtration the New England Aquarium uses to maintain its tanks. I have used many different brands and types of filters on my aquariums since my first aquarium as a child. Most fish lasted up to a few years at best. I have NEVER had my fish live as long as they have with the Magnum 350. To date, I have had 2 fish that lived for 13 years and I currently have a fish that is 14+ years, not to mention all of the other fish that have been thriving in my tank. Yes, this filtration system can be intimidating to set up and change media initially, but it gets much easier after you do media changes a few times, when you have become more familiarized with it. I wouldn't buy any other system. December 4, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sorry I purchased this I have only had this for a month now - I don't even have fish yet, and I've had nothing but trouble. I had a very hard time getting the air out of it when I set it up. I tried using the rock polishing portion of it today. I have been working for hours trying to get it to work. I have spent over 2 hours trying to get the air back out of it. I finally gave up on the rock polisher and am going to go back to Fluval. It is a little more expensive but definitely a better piece of equipment than the Magnum 350. Very poorly put together, cheap parts, and if I have to go through this everytime I have to open the cannister, I'll get rid of it. Charcoal container opens up and charcoal floating inside of the cannister. Waste of money!!! October 8, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Noise I am not sure this is the right place to put this, but didn't see a better spot. Just bought this yesterday. I initially thought based on photos that it was all together as one unit, not the "POLISHING" filter separate. In any event, it appears to be a very good filter. There are two problems. 1. The exhaust pipe is far too short. My tank is full to the brim, but with the plastic lip, it will not even go into the water all the way! This needs to have a optional part, or one that is adjustable. 2. It said on the box it was silent. ?? NOT! It is so loud I can hear it down the hall and into the next bedroom. Far too noisy to leave on a night. Is this a one odd out type deal, or are they all noisy? September 6, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome Once you get the hang of cleaning these beasts, what initially takes an hour eventually takes just 10 minutes. Quite a nice design, especially that the cannister lifts off the motor base. I own three of these and am purchasing a fourth. I haven't used the paper filter much, but the sediment cages are fantastic. My water stays quite clear, though with each cartridge change I gat a little murk from the hoses which resolves in a week. Excellent systems. August 26, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Product I have been using this product for about 6 years now and I love it! So do my fish. The maintenance is very easy and not time consuming. I would and have recommended this filter to my fish keeping friends! July 30, 2011
<<prev2