Cart --
0 Items in Cart
Your Shopping Cart is Empty
TOGGLE

Product Reviews

Available Options:
Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 46 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bring Back Chicken and Rice I am joining in with others who want the Chicken and Rice brought back. I've fed this to my cats for over 20 years, faithfully. Vet recommended also. The Chicken and Turkey appears to be tasty to cats introduced to Smart Blend, but not for cats that have been fed the Chicken and Rice for years. My cats also will not eat anything other then Chicken and Rice. We need your product development team to listen to us. We're not happy, our cats are quite hungry, and we have been put into a bind now. Happy cats eat Chicken and Rice! July 31, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Please Bring Back Chicken and Rice My 20lb cat has eaten Chicken and Rice exclusively for all of his 7 years, and in about a week, I think he's only taken one bite of the new Chicken and Turkey. We're going to have to start searching for another brand if they don't bring back Chicken and Rice, or at least modify the flavor so it matches the old product. July 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bring back the Chicken and Rice Flavor I have been feeding your Chicken and Rice Smartblend to my 2 cats for many years. Now that they have discontinued it, my cats are not very happy with the Chicken and Turkey. In fact, I may have to go to another brand of cat food because the one is a petite little cat anyhow, and now that she isn't eating that much of the hard cat food anymore I am starting to get worried. PLEASE bring it back!!! July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jake loves it! I've been feeding Jake (almost 14yr Tonkinese# Purina One Chicken and rice for quite a while. He liked it but still looked for more variety. I had to have 2 different foods in 2 bowls so he could pick which he wanted. When Purina One changed to Chicken and Turkey he loved it. I couldn't keep the bowl full. He hardly eats the other food #Purina Naturals) now. He's always been a very active cat, regardless of age but now he seems even more active. I don't know if the "finicky bug" will hit, but right now this is a winner. June 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by My cats want their Chicken and Rice back please My 11 year old cats have been eating Purina One Chicken and Rice their whole lives. I tried to change their food one time and it triggered IBS in one of them, so I immediately went back to Chicken and Rice and all was well. I was upset to learn that Chicken and Rice has been discontinued and replaced with Chicken and Turkey. I've tried giving my cats the Chicken and Turkey but they will not accept it and repeatedly cry throughout the night wanting their old food; it is clear they are not eating the Chicken and Turkey. I'm so worried my cat's IBS will be triggered again because I have to change their food, but I guess I don't have a choice. I'm very disappointed with this product and I hope that my cat does not become ill again because he can no longer get his food. June 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Food that all my cats like. I have 7 cats and they all like SmartBlend and there coats are so soft and silky, if they are happy then i'm happy!!!!!!! June 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worried about this change My 12 year old cat has been eating Chicken and Rice her whole life. 3 years ago she was diagnosed with kidney disease. First thing we tried was to change her diet! NO WAY! She will NOT eat ANYTHING but the chicken and rice. I've always said if purina stops making the chicken and rice she would die. Yesterday I went to the store and to my horror it was GONE!!! I just found out it is discontinued. I bought the chicken and turkey in hopes that she will eat it. However, it is also higher in protein which is not good for a cat with kidney disease. I'm going to try to find the chicken and rice still available and STOCK UP hoping to buy enough to last for the duration of her life. :-( I'm worried that after all these years, this switch in food will literally kill my sweet Pickles. We've been doing subcutaneous fluids at home daily for three years. She has been doing great and I'm just worried this will start her decline...oh, Purina one!!! I would give ANYTHING to have you continue with the good ol' chicken and rice.... June 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by WHY DID YOU CHANGE CHICKEN & RICE? I have two cats, a male and female, both age 6 years. They have not been eating well since you changed the Purina One Chicken and Rice formula to Chicken and Turkey. They do not like the Turkey. Please consider bringing back Chicken and Rice. I don't want to search for a new brand. June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by All 7 of my Cats Love this Flavor My cats are all crazy for the Purina One Smartblends Chicken & Turkey flavor. We have tried them all, but this one seems to hit a great balance. June 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by My cats hate Turkey and want their Chicken & Rice back Two of my cats are 13 years old and have eaten Purina One chicken & RICE since they were kittens (kitten formula first). Their day can only begin with their chicken & rice dry food. Only 1 of my cats likes turkey flavor at all and even he won't eat the new chicken & Turkey dry food. I understand you need to evolve your products, but add it, don't remove a popular product. This is the 2nd time Purina has done this - Although my cats only like the CHICKEN friskies wet packs, you only offer variety packs, the ocean whitefish is of poor quality and they won't eat it. I'm ready to shop other brands if they can't have their Chicken & Rice with Purina One. June 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by My old kitty doesn't like the change We've had my boy on Purina One for years and years. The newer Smartblend flavors have been an adjustment. He doesn't like the Chicken and Turkey nearly as well as the Chicken and Rice flavor, and is losing weight. He still looks great, shiny, all that, but he is constantly begging for treats because he isn't eating as much of his food. Would you consider bringing the Chicken and Rice formula back? It's been weeks, and he shows no signs of relenting in his complaints. June 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by All of our cats love Purina One. We have been using Purina One for our cats for some time now and are extremely pleased with the healthy look and energy, etc. of our cats. June 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent in all respects I have used Purina One for years, No matter which flavor or age specific formula I use, it has always exceeded my expectations. It is an excellent food June 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by More Protein from a Brand I Trust I know there is never going to be a "one size fits all" when it comes to pet foods, so I can sympathize with some of the other reviews. I, for one, am really happy with the Purina One Chicken & Turkey. I just happened to come upon it when I was shopping for the Purina One Chicken & Rice. The store only had 2 bags of the Chicken & Turkey so I assumed it was something discontinued the other way around. I did my research just in case I wrong and found out the change was being made to Chicken & Rice -- sort of. I am thrilled that the PRIMARY INGREDIENTS ARE STILL CHICKEN AND RICE. We have 4 very active indoor cats -- 6 mo., 5 yrs., 7 yrs., and 14 years old. Our 18 yr. old passed away a couple years ago. Over the years, I have tried other brands, but keep coming back to Purina when the others don't prove better. All of their coats are even softer and shinier now. I've found the Purina that fits my 4! June 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by CATS HATE CHICKEN & TURKEY All 5 of my rescue cats have eaten Purina One Chicken & Rice for 10 years. They loved it! Now Purina switched to Chicken & Turkey. They will NOT eat it. They cry for their regular food. Now I have to switch brands. But I've never found anything they liked, besides Purina One Chicken & Rice. I'm sure turkey must be cheaper than rice. You lost me as a customer, Purina One! June 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by What happened to Chicken and Rice? After years of this flavor treating my three cats well, including one with a very sensitive stomach, now we are back at square one with a flavor that is not well tolerated. We are back on the lookout for another chicken and rice flavor--- Bye bye Purina One. June 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Flavor Not Appealing My two cats have been eating Chicken and Rice for years and doing very well. When Chicken and Rice first wasn't on my grocery store's shelf I purchased the Chicken and Turkey. To my surprise they were not enthusiastic and actually reduced their intake. Two bags later they are still resisting. What caused you to drop the Chicken and Rice? Marketing for people? I buy cat food flavors my cats like! June 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Only One that works for all 3 of my cats I have three adult cats, one of whom is a picky eater and another who has developed a sensitivity to some of the ingredients in the growing number of "designer" foods on the market. Purina One was the first food I ever fed my cats. After trying different brands for the past 2 years (including a number of the "natural" and "holistic" brands), I've found my way back. Having been back on Purina One for several weeks, my sensitive cat has stopped vomiting and all three of them are happy, healthy, and have soft coats. I highly recommend this food for families with multiple cats. It's affordable, nutritious, and works well for cats with different needs. Thank you, Purina! May 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not recommended Since Purina suddenly stopped making Chicken & Rice, which my two cats have been eating for YEARS, it has been horrible trying to transition my cats to this! I do not know why, but they do not like it. They are older cats; eleven and eight, so I suppose it is to be expected they would not like change. The food seems similar in texture and color and smell. But, to be honest, my cats aren't liking it. I have tried it on it's own, and they go hungry. I mix it in with what I have left of Chicken & Rice and they pick out parts and leave parts behind. The parts they leave behind seem to be Chicken & Turkey. I would not have thought they would notice it that much. May 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Boo, Purina! I just found out today that Purina One Chicken & Rice dry food has been discontinued & apparently replaced with Purina One Chicken & Turkey. Although I feed my cat both canned & dry foods & I regularly have to find new canned foods to accommodate his changing tastes, I have never had to change dry foods in the seven years he has been eating the chicken & rice blend as he loves it. Unfortunately, he doesn't like turkey so I really don't know what I will be doing about dry food going forward but I guess he will no longer be exclusively a Purina cat. I am really disappointed w/this change. May 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by My abyssinian cats love this food, but... the new packaging has me looking for a replacement. April 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Product! My kitty loves Purina ONE. I feed her the Chicken & Rice Formula. She always enjoys mealtime and I am confident that she is being fed nutritious food. With real chicken as the first ingredient, this food is very nice. It is a little more expensive than some cheaper brands but when it comes to your pet's health, it is worth it!!! And, it's still cheaper than some other brands. I love how the pieces are tiny and bite sized. This food is amazing. My veterinarian even recommended Purina ONE and then I knew my choice was smart. February 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I'll Never Use Anything Else!!! I don't have cats, but I use this food for my hedgehog, and let me tell you; it's absolutely worth it. A lot of foods I've seen people "swear by" and trust with their pet's health, don't have any real meat ingredient, some even have "blood meal" and "animal plasma" inside. I came across this food early on in my hegdie parenthood because this brand of cat food (and most cat/dog foods) are more nutritious for hedgehogs than actual "hedgehog food" sold in supermarkets and so on. Protein is the main factor in determining a great hedgie food, and I was SO glad that PurinaONE Chicken and Rice had a minimum of 34%. Other than the ingredients and the fine details, my hedgie is in LOVE with this formula. She's been on it since birth, and she won't eat anything else, not even to try. She's never had any issues from this food and I'm hoping my supermarkets will keep carrying this brand, it's done wonders for my little bundle of prickles! thank you PurinaONE! January 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome The cats love this but I also feed it to my entire family! My daughter's hair has never been shinier/softer. My son is able to leap very high since we started him on P1 and he even is better about cleaning himself regularly. Thank you Purina! November 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Purina One SmartBlend--Indoor,Hairball & Weight Control My Cat-Ming enjoys this Brand of Purina Dry CatFood! I was feeding her a more Expensive Brand-Natural Balance Indoor Formula. We will stick with--Purina One SmartBlend (Indoor) It's less Costly than her other Brand that Ming was on before Purina One SmartBlend!! Ming's Happy! I'm Happy : ) Lori Collier October 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just plain AWESOME cat food :) We adopted a 9 year old cat, who is just a love, from a cat rescue organization. The one thing we noticed about Oreo was that his fur did not shine like Hazmat's (our other tuxedo cat). We fed Oreo the "Smartblend" and within two weeks the difference in his coat was astonishing! The "Purina" cat food lives up to it's promise. I would highly recommend this product. October 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality food my cats love. I think your cat food is awesome. I feed my cats your chicken and rice formula and they love it. They are doing so well on this food that they won't eat anything else. Thank-you so much for your care that you put into your products. June 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mia loves this!!! I've had at least one or more cats most of my life. Mia, my most recent, came to our home almost a year ago from a shelter. Scared of everything she would only come out to eat for the first 2 and half months. Every night a bowl of the Chicken and Rice dry food would disappear. I was so happy that at least she was getting the nutrition she needed. Now well adjusted to our daily routine she still comes running when she hears the bag open! June 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing My 13 year old cat suddenly began to each time she ate, after trying 3 prescriptions from the vet a friend recommended Purina one smart blend Chicken and Rice. Since we started this she has gained back 3 of the 5 pounds she lost and has the shine back to her fur!! June 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by You can SEE the difference in their fur! PleaseSaveAcat.com houses cats for military personnel serving overseas, and pulls from high kill shelters. Most of the cats that come here have not been PurinaOne. But, after a time here we can SEE the difference in their fur. It become shiny and softer. Our pet parents who return from serving overseas all have commented on the improvement. We highly recommend you try this. We feed 80 cats a day, and wish PurinaOne was sold in larger size bags. We can occasionally find 22lbs, but mostly only 16lbs anymore. April 23, 2013
<<prev2 3 next>>