Cart --
0 Items in Cart
Your Shopping Cart is Empty

Metacam

Product Reviews

More »

$31.09 - $179.29
Available Options:
Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 53 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product to be used with close veterinary supervision. Our 75 pound, 9 yr old golden retriever - border collie cross has improved dramatically after 6 months on liquid meloxicam. She has both hip dysplasia and spondylosis. In addition to diet and exercise, she has 20 mg of human famoditine (Pepcid AC) at least 20 minutes before the Metacam to reduce stomach irritation. In the evening, we also give her a human Tums. Never give meloxicam on an empty stomach and measure carefully. Now that the weather is warmer, she has lost 4 pounds and is no limping, we are going to reduce her meloxicam to every other day. She also gets a Dasuquin with MSM daily and Tramadol when she is limping. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Pain Relief Our 110 pound, 12 year old, black lab mix started taking this about 1 year ago, when we came home and he couldn't stand up on his own due to arthritis pain. I believe this medicine saved his life. In the past year he is back to daily walks, which has increased his hip and leg muscles. He's back to his younger health and muscle tone. We're at 70lb dose daily which seems to work. I squirt the liquid directly into his mouth before his evening meal. Couldn't be easier and he licks it right up. After reading some of the other comments I may try to reduce to every other day. This medicine is worth every penny! April 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 Great Medication for Arthritis Pain Our second dog, Honey, took Metacam for years and it worked well for her arthritis. Our 16 year old dog Lotto has taken it for most of his life for arthritis pain; his dosage was increased a bit this years and it has worked for him, too. And it is easy to take as it is in liquid form and I just add the correct dosage to his dog food. October 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Miracle/deadly My 7 1/2 year old male Maltese has vertebral disc disease and had a recent neck surgery. He also has torn Acls in both back knees(needs surgery) and was on this drug for a short period of time and completely bled out, no shock, blood pressure or anything(completely bled out). My awesome Vet saved him for a second time as he had a previous liver shunt surgery he did very well from. Be VERY VERY careful..do NOT fudge on the dosage. It was great until.....Riley is always in pain... September 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Buford Buford our Blue Heeler mix was abused as a puppy. We saw him thrown from a moving vehicle doing about 40 mph. He sustained front leg damage which resulted in joint pain after his first year. Even though he weighs now 61 lbs we only give him a 40lb dose 3 times a week and he is a happy dog! No more limping and whining from pain. We love our Bu Heeler and never want him to experience any pain so this is working wonders for him September 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Metacam My yorkie has a bad back and he was having a hard time getting around and I could tell he was in pain. The Vet gave him this med and he was almost like his old self. It costs alot but he needed this to help him not be in pain. August 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 METCAM My dog has hip dysplasia and is a very large , mixed breed dog. She weighs over 100 lbs. She has developed sterile nodular panickulitis and has been very ill. I was giving her Deramaxx which really kept her pain under control. I can no longer get Deramaxx so my vet recommended Metacam. It is very expensive and I am having to cut back on the recommended dosage. I really dont think there is a comparison to Deramaxx and I wish they would release the deramaxx again. I do not like the oral suspension in the Metacam. I have not seen anything really good with this med. August 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Metacam: worth every penny Our little Sadie has suffered with pain of arthritis in her hips for 3 years now. One sign of the pain and I give her the Metacam. She is much better in a matter of hours. May 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Miracle Metacam Our male Rottie developed huge knots on every joint on his body including his cheekbones. When biopsied results came back benign inflammation that is not rare in older large breeds at pressure points. We started Moose on Metacam 1.5 yrs ago in hopes to extend his quality of life for another year. In one month every knot was gone, he's been with us 1.5 yrs and still doing great. We are very grateful for Metacam! January 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 WORKED WONDERS FOR OUR DASCHAUND Our Daschaund's back legs went out on him. Our Vet did x-rays and told us he needed back surgery or he would be paralyzed for the rest of his life. We subsequently took him to a different Vet who prescribed this medicine. After 2-3 months, he began walking and then running again! That was 4 years ago. Since then, he has had one or two times when his hind leg-loss began to return, but we would give him Metacam, and he has gotten better June 5, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 For Cats too.... My wife's 16 year old Persian suffered a mini-stroke in her spine and had difficulty standing on all four legs, especially on hardwood floors. She had very little control of her rear legs. We've been giving her 0.15mg doses for two weeks and now she can walk much better, even run sometimes(she comes running to me every morning for her Morning Petting). The vet is having us reduce the dosage to 0.05mg every other day so hopefully she'll maintain her activity level. May 1, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 H'uni is bouncing around again! My 9 year old German-Shepherd/Doberman mix is back to playing and has made a HUGE improvement from standing up to playing with the other dogs. Metacam is pricey, but WELL worth it! December 20, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 Baby Doll Is Fetching again! I have a 1 yr old Chiuaua, she was from a local ani-shelter. She came to us w/ a sore hip. After 2 days on this med she is fetching and bouncing and going on long walks. It's just wonderful to see her playing. Thank you Metacam!!! April 30, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 mattie is back!!!! we have 3 malteeses mattie lexy and rocksy mattie is the oldest at 12 years. mattie started strugling to walk and ill never will forget her crys of pain as she tryed to get around.it looked as though the alternative would be to put her down.after a visit to our vet he gave us metacam for her to take once a day.after three days she totally turned 100% better . December 28, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 HAPPY HARRY JO I am a 10 year old (approx) Akita-Chow mix. My mommy is typing this for me because I lack opposable thumbs. A few months ago all of a sudden, I couldn't walk. My mommy thought I was paralyzed and took me to the doc who, with laser therapy and metacam, has made me feel much better. Without it, I get really stiff. It's palatable, which is just as important to me as it being effective. I only wish it were less expensive because it's really hard to pay for. But, my mommy loves me and she always finds a way to provide for me no matter what! Thanks metacam! And thanks for letting me share my expert opinion. A fan of metacam -- Harry Jo Parker August 24, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 Miraculous Metacam On Friday morning, my 10-year old Sheepdog X was walking fine. Upon return from work, he had a limp. I tried Aspirin for a couple days with little success. On Monday, I took him to the vet, who prescribed Metacam because vet thought perhaps due to his age he could have mild Arthritis. She suggested that I start him on Metacam before going to work on Tuesday, since he had Aspirin in his system on Monday. Upon return from work Tuesday, he had no limp. It showed success immediately. Vet suggested that after a time to take it "as needed". I bought the 100ml bottle that is quite expensive. However, I'm amazed at how effective this stuff appears to be in such a short time. As recommended, bloodwork will be done every few months, as this med affects the kidneys and other vital organs. As a note, I'm amazed that so much can be done for Arthritis these days, as there did not appear to be the options in the past. August 21, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 First time user Very easy, quick and efficient...only time spent was waiting on our Vet to OK...tried to offer us a reduced cost and still couldn't beat petcarerx. August 9, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 It helped my old Basenji My 13 1/2 year old Basenji had been limping for a while and when he started getting grouchy, I knew he must be in quite a lot of pain and probably not sleeping well. Another Basenji owner recommended Metacam and so I went to the vet and asked for it. He's been using it for almost a month and the limping is gone and he has times when he plays like a puppy. I just want him to be as comfortable as possible in his older years and I believe this product has really helped. Thank you! August 2, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 Will use it again! This was so easy to order after I paid $13 more for the same thing from my VET, I will certainly do all of my ordering from PETCARERX. July 29, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 Great Pricing I really enjoy shopping at PetCareRx, and now a days that is hard to say. The value you can find at PetCareRx is awesome. June 2, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 Max is back to Normal This past January, I came home from Work to find Max, 13 year old Yorkie, not being able to walk. Although, he was not jumping on the Sofa for the month of December, Everything else was fine. I did find him looking at me at night and not sleeping like normal. That night, I took him to the Hospital and they told me he had very bad Arthritas and put him on Metacam. The first night, He slept so hard that I thought he was passing. The next day, he was starting to feel better. The Dr. told me that he slept so deep because he thinks that Max was not sleeping good for a while and that the Metacom in his body gave him relief. Within 2 months, Max was back to normal and finally started to bring his Play Toy "Yellow LALA" to me. May 27, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 Back to her old self Our dog Roxie will be 16 yrs old this Nov and has developed osteoarthritis. Trying to get up or even standing was an effort. It got to the point that we thought she would have to be put down. METACAM to the rescue! As soon as we started her on this medication she bounced back and is running around like a puppy again. This medication is unbelievable, if it can do this for our pets I wonder if they can create something for pet owners that suffer this terrible disease. April 26, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 Miracle Drug My dog was in so much pain and was limping all of the time due to the arthritis in his legs and shoulders. Since starting him on Metacam there is no more limp, and he has a ton of his energy back. April 22, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 Saved our dog! Roxie was born with hip problems and only got worse. At 2 years old she was so stiff in her hips and hind legs that getting up and trying to walk was agony. We seriously considered putting her down. She had gotten especially bad and at another trip to the vet we were told that she had a broken pelvis. The doctor put her on Metacam and within a week she was like her old self. We were told that she would have to be on Metacam for the rest of her life as a maintenance dose. She has never shown any adverse effects from the drug. She will still show some signs of stiffness when she has lain to long but once she is up and moving she is fine. Metacam is a wonderful drug and I have recommended it to other dog people with the same issues. April 13, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 12 year old Doberman does well We tried many other types of anti-inflammatories but they were very hard on her stomach.....Metacam is the best medicine of this type because of the liquid form it gets out of their stomach and into their system very quickly. April 12, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 A Miracle Mary -My 11 pug was really loosing the use of her back legs. After two doses of this medicine she had improved to a point that she was like a puppy again! I would pay whatever it took to see this turn about but this is quite a savings. I would highly recommend this medication to anyone whose pet is older or in pain.Portland, OR April 2, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 I can Play again I am a 11 year male lab that loves to play ball, tug of war ( I would win a lot) and go swimming. But my old bones started to hurt so Dr. Tom put me on Metacam. I feel like a puppy again, I chase the ball I go swimming, I can even chase the ladies, sometimes! If my owner could get past the smell I think he would try it. March 4, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 Help for sore doggies! My vet has prescribed this and it works like a miracle! I give it to my 70 lb. mixed breed male and he acts like a puppy again. When I have run out of it, he is very sad and not active at all. It is worth the cost and wish my husband could take it for his knees!!!! February 14, 2008
Rated 3 out of 5 Great for one, not so well for other dog We have 2 goldens with dysplasia (mild and moderate). The female with the mild dysplasia is responding wonderfully. However, the male with moderate dysplasia is reacting to the medication and no improvement has been seen. I'm hoping the vet can locate something that he won't react to and that works. January 6, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 my dog is back to being a puppy now My dog has improved 150% this product has exceeded all my expectations December 4, 2007
<<prev2 3 next>>