Cart --
0 Items in Cart
Your Shopping Cart is Empty

Proin (Phenylpropanolamine)

Product Reviews

More »

$0.33 - $0.45
Available Options:
Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 34 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Preventing Accidents +++ After the usual test with the vet and a couple of months supply from the same vet, we had to find a better, cost effective source for this needed medication. As we are retired and low income, and everything else in life is high overhead, price is why we came to PET RX, receiving fast courteous service and quick shipping, and the price that works for us !!! December 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use It works great for our 11 year old lab. She has been on it for 3 years and when she doesn't take it we know it within a few days. December 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Carpet saver My 5 Yr old GSD mix started leaking urine. After lab tests showed no infection or other issues her vet prescribed Proin. Great product! She is now leak free. Petrx is saving me almost 1/2 the cost if purchased through my veterinary office. October 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Great Product! My dog has leaked since we adopted her (at about 9 mos old). Vet put her on Proin to help her leaking. Within 24 hours her leaking had stopped and her anxiousness subsided. She used to leak when she slept and when she got really excited. After 3 years of being on the medicine, she has not leaked once! We give her half a pill (50 mg) twice daily. Vet said this is common in spaded female dogs. July 24, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 Actually does help We have a 7 year old dobe that leaks on occasion. We started her on Proin about a year ago, and we have seen quite an improvement. It does take a while (a week or so) to start working, but keep at it. She has had a few times where she has leaked while on the medicine, but she has another health issue that might be contributing (going to a surgeon today for that). One thing I did notice shortly after she started taking the Proin was that she was so gassy!!! This did subside after some time. Our vet said this is not generally a side effect of Proin, but our dobe didn't smell that bad until after taking the pills. June 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 For certian situations only My lab leaked when asleep ever since she was a puppy. She started on one pill, three times a day. Decreased her to now one twice a day for 14 years now, she's perfect. If we tried to take her off it she would immediately leak while she slept and her bed would have a wet spot. Start her up again on the Proin and back to perfect. It does happen more in female spayed dogs. It has to do with hormones. This is not for every leaking situation. January 29, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 helps with effects of degenerative myelopathy I dont usually write reviews but i really believe in some cases this drug could save a dog's life. Once an elderly dog starts losing control of their bladder, most people will start thinking their time has come. This is a really hard thing to deal with especially with a big dog! My 14 yr old female german shepherd has DM and is losing feeling in the back end. She doesnt know she is going or if she does, its too late. On top of that, her difficulty in getting up and walking makes her not want to go out as often. We used a 3 pronged approach to deal with this: 1)Proin 2) rewards for going out and 3) a committment from everyone in the family to be sure she is taken out every few hours whether she asks or not. we realize we cannot rely on her judgment as to when its time to go out. She was having accidents once or twice a week. the drug took awhile to work but I honestly cant recall when the last time was. For now, its working and that has given us more quality time with her. August 10, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 Has worked well Our mixed breed pup would leak when she relaxed, usually in the evening. After she matured some, at vet's recommendation, we started her on Proin 50, giving her a half tablet, twice/day. Has worked like a charm. April 15, 2010
Rated 3 out of 5 Not totally satisfied My 15 year old Lab Scout has been on this med for 10 days and still has accidents. THE FREQUENCY OF HIM HAVING THE URGE TO GO HAS DECREASED, BUT ONCE HE GETS UP HE STILL LOSES URINE ALMOST IMMEDIATELY. December 26, 2009
Rated 3 out of 5 worked for awhile we've increased the dosage to (3) 50mg pills per day but she's still leaking. Proin worked for several months though, about 90% effectiveness then decreasing. September 23, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 Works Great! Our lab began leaking almost as soon as we brought her home at 10 weeks. After treating her for UTI's, the vet recommended we try the PPA. The results were immediate and 4 years later (25 mg a day) we can see no side effects. She does still occasionally "leak" in warm weather shen she has chugged a lot of water but otherwise, it seems to do exactly what it promises. April 6, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 no more leaking works great so far so far it has worked I have a 14 year old min. schnauzer and she has been leaking and she felt bad to the vet said to give her this med and sure does work after just 2 days.... April 3, 2009
Rated 4 out of 5 Only thing that works for us Our German Shepard, Brady, has had a "leaking" problem since we first got her at 6 weeks old. The vet did a surgery b/c her kidneys were not connected to her bladder. This still didn't make a difference. The vet put her on Proin shortly after and now it's not nearly as bad. She still has a problem every once in a while, but we're just happy we don't have to buy anymore carpet :-) Has anyone else noticed that this condition seems to be happening in female dogs? I wonder if there's a connection. October 29, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 neutered male My 12 year old black lab would drip on the floor whenever he got up.The vet warned that it doesn't always work on neutered males.Cody stopped leaking in less than 24 hours and has now been taking it for almost one year.We are very pleased with this product. October 16, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 No more accidents! I had to return to work full-time, after many years at home dealing with my own health issues and now a divorce. I had to hire a mid-day pet walking service for my almost 14 year-old Golden Retriever, Callie. She was recently diagnosed with Kidney disease, after many weeks of accidents in my home. My Vet changed her diet to Science Diet K/D and also prescribed Proin twice a day. She has stopped having the incontinence problems and seems to be doing much better. I am so pleased and so is she. I had no idea that such a product existed and it sure beats doggie diapers. She has very sensitive skin and the accidents were causing rashes and she was distressed by it. August 30, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 WOW!!!!!! I CANT'T BELIEVE HOW THIS INSTANTLY WORKED!!! THE DAY AFTER I GAVE MY 7 YEAR OLD BORDER COLLIE THIS MEDICATION, SHE WAS INSTANTLY DRY!!! SHE HAD PROBLEMS LEAKING ALL OVER EVERYTHING IN THE HOUSE. WE HAD TO THROW AWAY HER BEDS AS THEY WERE CONSTANTLY SOAKED AND WERE ABOUT TO MAKE HER "AN OUTSIDE DOG ONLY" :-( WHEN A NEW VET RECOMMENDED THIS MED. ALL I CAN SAY IS WOW!!! THE DAY AFTER I STARTED HER ON THIS, NOT ONE TIME HAVE I FOUND ONE SPOT ON MY FURNITURE OR HER BED. I EVEN RAN OUT OF IT AND DIDN'T GET MY ORDER IN FOR 2 DAYS AND STILL NOTHING. THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU. SHE HAS BEEN DRY NOW FOR 2 1/2 YEARS. July 14, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 No more embarassing moments My little yorkie, Tina, has spaying incontinence. It's definitely not as bad as it could be and the Proin has helped. She's been taking it since she was about 8 months and she's now 7 years old! She goes through her on and off the medication spells but as she gets older, it's a regular part of her life. When she wets herself ... I swear she gets embarassed. She hides, she mopes, she's miserable. She takes her proin and no more wetting herself and she's back to being a happy girl. I highly recommend this product! June 28, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 works well and she loves it. My dog is 13 years old and has a lots of health problems. she takes many medications on a daily basis. This is the only one that she is eager to take and wanting more. I recommend this medication although the cost is higher that other's in this class. May 31, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 No more pee My dog Molly is 13 years old and was having a problem leaking urine (incontinence). I took her to the vet and he prescribed Proin and it works beautifully May 27, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 what a difference!! my baby is a 11 year old mixed mutt who has been diagnosed a diabetic. She started dribbling and leaked at night and I thot it was just something I would have to put up with and clean up after. When I mentioned it to my vet, he told me that he could help me with that!! After putting her on one 50 mg tablet in the am and pm, she only has rare accidents (usually if I forget to give it to her). I would definitely recommend this to anyone that is having a problem such as mine!! April 19, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 Excellent product My 10 year old dog "Blinky" began to sporadically urinate on the carpet for no apparent reason. I thought it was a problem I'd just have to put up with because of her age. But the vet has her taking 1 Proin pill a day and there has been no problem! It's a great product! March 29, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 Formerly Wet Whippet Has Been Dry For Years Now Our Whippet Zoey started leaking where she was sleeping at a relatively young age (7 years old). The vet suggested we try Proin or a hormone. We opted for Proin (since we have to medicate Zoey daily anyway for other issues). She takes 25 mgs. in the morning and 25 mgs. at night. No more leaking. However, if she skips a day or more of the Proin, she starts leaking again. No apparent side effects. Zoey's dignity is restored and our furniture is dry. March 7, 2007
Rated 5 out of 5 PROIN - They WORK! Our Chow Chow "LAICA" is 15 years old and has been taking Proin 50mg for 5 years. She began with 1 tablet a day and as she grew older her condition became worse (leaking all over herself and all over the place) so the vet increased the dosage to 3 a day. The tablets work incredibly well and stops the leaking instantaneously. The only side effects have been that she does get overly excited every now and then. However, anytime she misses her dosage she begins leaking again. These pills have been a life saver for us, our pet and our furniture, floors and rugs. I highly recommend Proin tablets. Richie Montalvo - Drums, PA *This is a prescription item September 14, 2005
Rated 5 out of 5 Helping my German Shepherd I've got a 10-year old German Shepherd (Freida) who started "peeing" on herself while sleeping. My vet initially prescribed this as a twice daily pill, used until gone. With Freida, I found that if I gave her the pill for a couple of days, she would be fine. No problems for several months. Then it would happen again. I am working with my vet to figure out the correct dosage to give to keep her from having this problem but not over-medicating her. I write this review to urge anyone considering this product (and it does work) to work with your vet to determine the minimum/correct dosage to use. Or just work with your dog to see what's needed. Every dog is different.*This is a prescription item September 1, 2005
Rated 5 out of 5 Spayed Female Lab is Helped Greatly By This The vets tell me it's rare for a dog as young as Bali to get spay incontinence but it happened. Wetting her bed when she sleeps a couple nights a week was frustrating and heartbreaking for us both. My Vet recommened this brand and we started out with the smallest dose we could and went up from there until we got a response. We tried another brand that cost a little less and switch back to this one because the other one was not potent and she required almost twice as much to get the same response. This product restored happy nighttimes again and I never noticed a side effect but Bali is very mellow naturally also.*This is a prescription item August 24, 2005
Rated 5 out of 5 Proin eliminates incontinence in neutered female dog. Starting with a small dose twice a day for a week with no improvememt, we increased the dose to 1/2 tablet 2 times a day up from 1/4 tablet. We noticed an improvement very soon after that, and side effects do not seem to be a problem. February 3, 2005
<<prev2